Glorifying criminals is setting a dangerous precedencePDFPrintE-mail
Written by NEIL ADAMS   
Thursday, 20 September 2012 21:06

I would like to live in a society where there are no police commissioners, no home affairs ministers, no governments; a place where we will live and never die in that city where only peace and happiness reigns.
But before I get nostalgic about that utopian place spoken of by Sir Thomas Moore, I

must remind us that we live in a reality world where there are guns - when I say guns I
mean plenty of these things - and people who are not afraid to use them.         

We live in a world where there are criminal elements and an opposition that are willing and able to defend them. So, while my mind is somewhere airborne I must come to grips with the fact that I am also a terrestrial being having to live and work among a selective few who do not want to live by the rules. And this is the problem when one has to live in a society where some believe it is their right to live as they please, go contrary to what constitutes decent and lawful existence, terrorize the community and nothing should be done about them. Then I hasten to say something has to be done about that lawless living.

I turn your attention to the incident that took place in Agricola recently. There is no question in my mind that the police encountered a well armed hostile group of individuals when they entered that community; the mini arsenal recovered from the scene is testimony to this. However, the fact that the police were able to get the upper hand in the encounter is fuel for the opposition to make a mountain out of the issue. It is unfortunate that someone should die, especially when you visualize that person leading an otherwise meaningful and productive life, however, glorifying criminals is setting a dangerous precedence.         

These guys are no choir boys and police going into a nest of this kind are duty bound to do whatever it takes to subdue them; should I remind those who were not even remotely close to the scene about police-work. To conjecture or make wild unsubstantiated claims only serve to make a bad situation worse. Consequentially, if a policeman was killed as is the case engaging the lawmen in Moleson Creek then there would not be any comments coming from the opposition.

Let me refresh our memory with a story that came out of the dark era of the crime spree years. One morning we woke up to the sad news of Detective Inniss's demise, having met a horrible end at the hands of criminals. I remember meeting a criminal sympathiser whose words to me were "we get another one." I took off my glasses to see if I was "hearing" the exact words from his lips. When it dawned on him that he was speaking to me he immediately changed the sentence to "Brother Addie what is the world coming to all this shooting and killing something got to be done about these boys." Like a sympathetic Judas he changed his story.         

In the first place he was not in any way sorry that the lawmen were dying, he gloated in the thought that they were. In fact, there was a song penned around that time glorifying the criminal - the lyrics went like this "Bad man a bad man bad man a Buxen man oh, bad man a shoot man bad man a kill man."  And this is my point there is always an amen corner for the opposition and its criminal confederates when things are going their way but a big hue and cry when the tables turn. I do not want us to return to those days.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Remember these guys Sir Francis Drake, Sir Henry Morgan and Sir John Hawkins.  All three were hardcore criminals who murdered many people.  They were knighted by the British Monarch for services to the crown.

in your typical poorly-thought-out way, I think you trying to make a point in defense of the ruling party;

however, the moral relativism you seem to support is undermining the 'PPP position' as indicated by "Neil Adams" in his lame, confused article.

heh heh heh

"'I turn your attention to the incident that took place in Agricola recently. There is no question in my mind that the police encountered a well armed hostile group of individuals when they entered that community; the mini arsenal recovered from the scene is testimony to this"

What mini arsenal?  According to the the police press report, a .38 smith and wesson  revolver was recovered from the scene. Anybody in their right mind should know that the GPF reports may not exactly be on the money.
This place Agricola like Buxton had a history of violence back in the day, but even though things a more peaceful now, the stigma attached to it will forever be its down fall. So whether you're liming on the corner, bubbling a pot or climbing a mango tree, the botton line is you're up to no good. And as such, you must die.
These are the very things that the internet carrion crow cobra loves to feed on..