Shot policeman calls for assistance from Police Force

May 1, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

ElvisSamuel Elvis, the 23-year-old policeman who recently had his leg amputated, is calling on the Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud, to look into his plight and offer some assistance.

The Lot 4 Bella Dam, Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara resident told Kaieteur News yesterday that ever since he was shot on March 20, no one from the Guyana Police Force has visited him.

“I was not doing my own thing when I get shoot, I was at work, and nobody come forward yet to tell me anything. I was injured on the job, so as far as I know, I’m entitled to some form of compensation or so.”

The man recalled it being sometime after 01:00 hrs on March 20, when he and another rank were asked to uplift a lost weapon belonging to the Guyana Defence Force. Elvis said that he and his colleague were at the base waiting to lodge the weapon when a Corporal picked it up and cranked it.

The father of one said that after the gun went off, he realized blood was pouring from his right leg. Elvis was shot at the back of the knee.

“I can’t really say if it was intentional, but I know that me and de Corporal had a li’l talking a while back, suh I don’t know if he coulda shot me deliberately because of that. The whole incident is 50-50. It could ah been both; an accident, or something deliberate.”

Elvis told this publication that the errant officer has not made contact with him since the episode.

“If it wasn’t intentional, the least he could’ve done was call and say sorry. But nobody did that. I just here with one leg and nobody ain’t seem to care,” Elvis lamented.

Elvis said that sleepless nights have become the story of his life, since he is not sure how he would be able to take care of his family, especially his one-year-old daughter.

“I can’t go back to being an active policeman. I lose my leg. Me ain’t de same way I was before, and is nah my fault. I waiting to hear something from the Force. I need to know wha my next move is,” Elvis said.

He noted that after being shot, he and his family were informed that the Commissioner of Police would soon be visiting his home.

“That’s why I didn’t really fight up much to get help, because I seh he gon visit and I gon know wha I deh pon, but I waiting and waiting, and till today, after all that happen to me, nobody ain’t come.”

Elvis said that he has been hearing from friends that he is being considered for a desk position within the Force, but this has not been confirmed.

“I would love if they give me any kind of a job. I know my life ain’t gon be the same anymore, but I have to stop crying and get on with my life…take care of my daughter and so.”

The injured cop said that so far, he is being taken care of by his parents. However, as school reopens, his mother, who sells eatables at a school, would have to return to work.

“Plus my father take leave, and he gon have to go back soon. My condition coming around, but I still getting bad pains, and I have to use taxis and so now, so it hard on me all round,” Elvis said.

He is calling on the Commissioner of Police and Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, to look into his plight and lend some assistance.

“I can’t help but say that I was shot on the job, and I am asking for something that they should have done ever since the incident. I am asking that they provide me with some compensation and a desk job. It’s all I’m asking.”

Nehru as the article clearly stated that no one has contacted him.

Should he get an attorney? Does he have the money to retain a lawyer? Does Guyana has the facilities to provide him an artificial limb or does he have to travel overseas?

This young man is only 23years and he has his whole life ahead of him.

Nehru as the article clearly stated that no one has contacted him.

Should he get an attorney? Does he have the money to retain a lawyer? Does Guyana has the facilities to provide him an artificial limb or does he have to travel overseas?

This young man is only 23years and he has his whole life ahead of him.

i HEAR YOU AND AGREE WITH YOU, i WAS SIMPLY SUGGESTING SOME POSSIBILITIES.

I feel sorry for this young police officer. I honestly believe the police commissioner should have shown genuine concern for an injured officer and offer some sort of compensations for his injury. I need to wait and see what will happen in the near future before I pass judgement.

The GPF is obligated to assist. Also, NIS should be helping.

The Police commissioner MUST help this young police officer. The minister needs to get involved. These policemen put their lives on the line to server and protect Guyanese citizens and should not be treated like this.

Let us stay on top of this matter and let the minister know that we are concerned for this young policeman.

The policeman suffered injuries discharging his duties for the people of Guyana. If he needs help getting a prosthetic leg and WE on this board can offer some help,  please let us do so. Put yourself in his shoe. Government red tape can be very slow. If you are so concerned about the welfare of the Guyanese, you should not hesitate to volunteer any help you could afford.