GO ‘PLASTIC’ - Top Cop advises business community, civilians to be more security conscious - says it is time to use less liquid cash and more ‘plastic’PDFPrintE-mail
Written by Michel Outridge   
Wednesday, 17 July 2013 23:32

FOLLOWING Monday’s spate of armed robberies in Georgetown, in which several businesses were invaded and robbed of varying amounts of cash, acting Commissioner

of Police, Mr Leroy Brumell urged members of the business community to be more security conscious, noting that it’s time to do less liquid cash transactions and utilise ‘plastic’ to transact business.
H

alt

In photo, Acting Commissioner of Police, Leroy Brumell (centre) and seated beside him is Crime Chief, Seelall Persaud flanked by other senior officers of the GPF during a press conference yesterday at Police Headquarters, Eve Leary (Sonell Nelson photo)

e explained that the maximum use of ‘plastic’ will definitely impact on robberies and the violence associated with armed robberies.
The Top Cop made these remarks at a press conference in his boardroom at Police Headquarters, Eve Leary, yesterday in the wake of concerns expressed in various quarters in light of the apparent spike in criminal activities.
Also making remarks was Crime Chief, Seelall Persaud, who said that cash transactions are the largest motivator for armed robberies that include violence. However, he added that there is no direct link to the recent criminal activities leading up to Hits and Jams mega event ‘Jamzone’ and the imminent arrival of foreign artistes to Guyana.
The Deputy Commissioner of Police said that police have measures in place to police the events and when questioned he said there is no pattern in the upsurge of criminal activities as it relates to drug busts locally.
alt

Plastic Cards

According to the Crime Chief, the use of ‘plastic’ can reduce armed robberies in which violence are associated but, at the same time, “we may see an increase in fraud”.
Brumell disclosed that, overall, the crime situation is not at the level as perceived according to articles in the media and he pointed out that the statistics show up to July this year, there has been a decrease of 3% in murders, an increase of 1% in armed robberies where firearms were used by the perpetrators and a decrease of 9% in armed robberies where instruments other than firearms were used such as knives, cutlasses, ice-picks, etc.

FIREARMS RECOVERED
Brumell said that for the year, so far, the police recovered 49 firearms that comprise of 19 revolvers, 18 shotguns, 10 pistols, one sub-machine gun and one rifle.
The Commissioner noted that there have been a total of 14 persons who were killed during armed robberies, which is of great concern to the GPF and within the past two weeks they recorded six murders, five of which occurred during robberies.
Brumell stated that the GPF has in place various strategies in the fight against crime and have been grappling with the situation to ensure the maintenance of public safety and security in keeping with its mandate.

TRAFFIC SITUATION
The Top Cop yesterday said that they have recorded 56 accidents that resulted in 59 deaths this year compared with 43 accidents with 45 deaths last year, noting an increase of 31% in deaths.
Brumell said, “This is also of concern to us and we have increased traffic presence on the roads as well as enhancing our traffic education via the media, schools and other initiatives. We have recently launched ‘Operation Road Order’ which focuses specifically on speeding and driving under the influence of alcohol which are the main causes of fatal accidents.”

GPF MODERNISATION
Brumell pointed out that the GPF is going through a modernisation process with emphasis on the five-year Strategic Plan, 2013-2017, with focus on operational priorities, developing their ranks, partnerships, performance and the infrastructure.
He added that the Strategic Management Development that comprises of several qualified civilians is already in place and they have started work in earnest and baseline surveys at all levels of ranks have been conducted, along with a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) and processes and system audits of several departments which they hope will lead to efficient and effective performance in those areas.

TRAINING
Brumell said, “We have been focusing on training to enhance our professionalism and quality of service. A number of ranks have attended training in Jamaica, Russia, USA, South Korea and Trinidad, in areas of cyber crime, anti-corruption information technology and financial investigations.”
He stated that they will continue to aggressively pursue training locally at the Felix Austin Police College and at the newly-commissioned Guyana Police Officers Training Centre.
The Commissioner added that they have completed programmes that include electronic intelligence operations which were conducted by the Brazilian Federal Police, staff development, financial procedures, disciplinary procedures, traffic investigation, crime investigation and fraudulent documents.
Brumell said that a maritime training programme aimed at equipping ranks to deal more effectively with piracy is now on stream and several other programmes scheduled that include the Station Management Course, Special Prosecutors Course, Junior Officers Course and Domestic Violence Seminars.
The Commissioner noted that they expect to improve their capability and capacity building with the continued significant support of the government by way of equipment that include motor vehicles, water transport, radar guns, breathalysers and forensic equipment and facilities.
At the press conference yesterday, other senior officers of the GPF were also present and some made remarks.

FOLLOWING Monday’s spate of armed robberies in Georgetown, in which several businesses were invaded and robbed of varying amounts of cash, acting Commissioner

of Police, Mr Leroy Brumell urged members of the business community to be more security conscious, noting that it’s time to do less liquid cash transactions and utilise ‘plastic’ to transact business.

The afc/pnc will complain because using plastic will mess with their income from robberies. 

Good idea but not good enough to fight crime. The Guyana police force need to implement new crime fighting strategy to contain the killing and robbing of hard working people.

We as Guyanese must not deny or be ashamed to accept that we have a crime problem. This problem is getting worst rather than getting better. We must tell the government to shape up or get someone who can do a better job, even if it means Rohee must go.

We as Guyanese must not deny or be ashamed to accept that we have a crime problem. This problem is getting worst rather than getting better. We must tell the government to shape up or get someone who can do a better job, even if it means Rohee must go. This is getting very embarrassing. 

Yu calling for Gajraj?  Things were too quiet when he was around

What about Commissioner Brumel and all the lower levels of managements in the police force? Are they not accountable? When Rhoee tell them how to do their jobs the afc/pnc cry that he is micromanaging and that the GPF is autonomous from government. You expect Rhoee to go around fighting crime by himself? 

When the police shoot or arrest the bandits, the afc/pnc rush to the defense of the criminals with claims of police brutality.

Originally Posted by TI:

Yu calling for Gajraj?  Things were too quiet when he was around

really now?

this alternate reality thing must be catching on

I use plastic all the time in Guyana. 

I got a Republic bank blue machine card I use, but very few gas station takes it. I use my regular Visa card for most hotels like the Pegasus, Princess and Tower and they also takes it but not all supermarket and stores and especially the government like licene department or customs, GTT,GPL etc does not take it. The Government would not take it because it will make it difficult to collect bribe...

What about Commissioner Brumel and all the lower levels of managements in the police force? Are they not accountable? When Rhoee tell them how to do their jobs the afc/pnc cry that he is micromanaging and that the GPF is autonomous from government. You expect Rhoee to go around fighting crime by himself? 

When the police shoot or arrest the bandits, the afc/pnc rush to the defense of the criminals with claims of police brutality.

It's a technical job but someone have to step up to the plate. Rohee need to be more forceful and stop worrying about the opposition. Everything starts with Rohee and ends with Rohee. If he can't handle the pressure, let him resign. he is making the PPP look bad in the light of crime. This shit has been going on way too long.

You seem to have your head in the sand. You forgot how they sanctioned him in parliament when he was forceful. How they burn and riot when he turn the pressure on. You forgot Agricola and Linden? He tried to bring crime fighting bills in parliament and they would not let him speak.  The bottom line in fighting crime comes down to the rank and file in the police force and not Rhoee. You letting Brumel and company off the hook. 

Listen, don't talk to me like a little street boy. I know everything you know and I didn't forget anything. I am not going to use what I know to excuse a bloody problem that is getting out of hand. I supported the PPP too but I am not going to make excuses for them. They're weak in crimes for as long as they have been in power. The PPP should get rid of Rohee or let him resign immediately. It's about time Indian stop being cowards in the eyes of blackman. 

  It's about time Indian stop being cowards in the eyes of blackman. 

I am Indian and I was never a coward in the eyes of any blackman.

Why do you make a statement like that?

You are not a coward, just a katahar.

You are a racist, a coward and a jackass. GO fornicate yourself.

If you analyze this statement, you will note that it is designed as such whereby indians are the victims and the blackman are always the perpetrators. This is not altogether true, criminals comes in all races and the same can be said for the victims as well.
You ought not to be surprised by such a response from this poster, after all, what did you expect from a certified racist who is totally out of touch with the reality of what happens in guyana.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

If you analyze this statement, you will note that it is designed as such whereby indians are the victims and the blackman are always the perpetrators. This is not altogether true, criminals comes in all races and the same can be said for the victims as well.
You ought not to be surprised by such a response from this poster, after all, what did you expect from a certified racist who is totally out of touch with the reality of what happens in guyana.

There is no science behind it, just behavior.  True, there are criminals of all races however, the USA, Guyana, etc one ethnic group perpetuate the vast majority of crimes.  It's an issue of values at the heart of the matter.

On the topic of using plastic. I'm all for it. And based on what I've seen, quite a great deal of people do use them in the Republic; myself being one of such whilst there.
However, there's a small percentage who don't, prefering to keep large sums of cash at home be it for a lack of trust of banks or other. This no doubt invites danger which leads to brazen daylight robberies as we have seen. I would hope, that people who deal in large sums of cash see the convenience of going plastic. But in the meantime, old habits die hard.

On the topic of using plastic. I'm all for it. And based on what I've seen, quite a great deal of people do use them in the Republic; myself being one of such whilst there.
However, there's a small percentage who don't, prefering to keep large sums of cash at home be it for a lack of trust of banks or other. This no doubt invites danger which leads to brazen daylight robberies as we have seen. I would hope, that people who deal in large sums of cash see the convenience of going plastic. But in the meantime, old habits die hard.

It has NOTHING to do with trusting or not trusting Banks. It HAS to do with Tax evasion, these PRICKS rather get robbed that help build Roads and Bridges!!!!!

All the way in Richmond Hill and you know this for a fact.
I'm impressed. Lend me dat crystal ball when you get a chance. I need to peer into a coupla things as well.

Hear some more facts about the World. Snowden is isolated at a Russian Airport, Cubans are not allowed to Travel out of the Island, WI tied with Pakistan and right now England batting at Lords. Yuh want know how I know these things???

Why don't you shut your rass and send the crystal ball my way. You're wasting my time.

Meh Rass shut tight. Cant buse yuh behind is Roja time.

Nehru, you keeping roja or you going to Players?

Listen, don't talk to me like a little street boy. I know everything you know and I didn't forget anything. I am not going to use what I know to excuse a bloody problem that is getting out of hand. I supported the PPP too but I am not going to make excuses for them. They're weak in crimes for as long as they have been in power. The PPP should get rid of Rohee or let him resign immediately. It's about time Indian stop being cowards in the eyes of blackman. 

You apparently think too highly of yourself to be beyond reproach. If you really believe that Rhoee is the root of Guyana's crime problem then you not only have your head buried in the sand but are completely submerged in it. 

We had the same issues when Gajraj and Textiera were Home Affairs ministers. Gajraj used phantomizing to neutralize the afc/pnc supported criminals. Textiera sat on her hands and did nothing during her tenure. Rhoee is pretty much in the same position. First you must acknowledge that 99% of the police are afc/pnc operatives. When you acknowledge this then you also need to acknowledge that PPP supporters need to join the force to balance the ethnic and political makeup. But even with the finest police force, as long as people continue to deal in cash, robbers will continue to have easy pickings. Look at the US and see who gets robbed, convenience stores, gas stations, bodegas and other cash and carry establishments. Even the PNC/AFC operative Brunel is saying that part of the solution is to move to plastic as the title of this thread states.