As an additional boost to mobile fleet... Police get more vehicles worth $61M - compliments Ministry of Home AffairsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Michel Outridge   
Tuesday, 21 May 2013 23:15

THE Guyana Police Force (GPF), yesterday, received an addition to its mobile fleet, compliments of the Ministry of Home Affairs, to fulfil
it’s mandate.

alt

‘TIMELY DONATION’: Minister Clement Rohee, Police Commissioner Leroy Brumell and Assistant Commissioner George Vyphuis with the new addition to the fleet of police vehicles (Cullen Bess-Nelson photo)

It included two Canter trucks, two minibuses, three pick-up vans, six cars, six all terrain vehicles (ATV) and one motorcycle, all worth approximately $61M.

The GPF received them at the Tactical Services Unit (TSU) Drill Square, Eve Leary, Georgetown, where Minister of Home Affairs, Mr. Clement Rohee addressed the gathering.
He said it was an important and historic event in which the premier law enforcement agency is the beneficiary.

Rohee noted that the Government has always tried to equip the law enforcement agencies with the relevant mobility to make them effective and recognisable.
He disclosed that the vehicles were procured from the 2012 budgetary allocation passed by the National Assembly and the handing over is a demonstration of Government’s commitment to equip the police with assets for them to do their work.

alt

Minister Rohee as he handed the keys of the vehicles to Acting Commissioner of Police, Leroy Brumell yesterday

Rohee urged the Public Accounts Committee to be vigilant with respect to accountability for the purchase from public funds.

NECESSARY TOOLS
He pointed out that the GPF must have the necessary tools with which to work, since the demand on it is increasing and the responsibility becoming greater. As such, moves are apace to modernise it and the proposal for the name change is before Parliament.

alt

Minister Clement Rohee accompanied by Acting Commissioner of Police, Leroy Brumell standing by as one of the ranks tested one of the ATVs yesterday at TSU Drill Square, Eve Leary

Rohee observed that the vehicles will be deployed to all divisions and he encouraged the ranks to utilise as well as take care of them.

Also making brief remarks on the occasion, Acting Police Commissioner, Leroy Brumell thanked the Government, through Minister Rohee, for the gift of the vehicles after he received the keys to them.
The Top Cop assured that the vehicles will be used for the purpose intended, mostly to respond to reports and provide service to the community and the nation.

He described the donation as timely and needed.
Assistant Commissioner (Operations) George Vyphuis, who also spoke at the event, said it is with joy that the GPF is on the receiving end and the gift vehicles will strengthen its mobility to serve the community.

All of this is not going to amount to nothing. You can equip these incompetent pricks with the best hardware and vehicles money can buy and it will all come down to the mindset. They are not a professional force. not by a long shot. These guys are more interested in a "small piece" than fighting crime.
But the question should be, when you call them, will they respond?

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

All of this is not going to amount to nothing. You can equip these incompetent pricks with the best hardware and vehicles money can buy and it will all come down to the mindset. They are not a professional force. not by a long shot. These guys are more interested in a "small piece" than fighting crime.

I have to agree with you. GPF is a bloody Joke. Lil Fry RIce and Couple Banks, you can do almost anything.

They are striving to be the best and people put them down. They will never be a professional force if we don't encourage them. Folks like you who speak ill about the force would still seek their help when you needed it. Right?  

Originally Posted by Prince:

They are striving to be the best and people put them down. They will never be a professional force if we don't encourage them. Folks like you who speak ill about the force would still seek their help when you needed it. Right?  

Are you in your right mind, paul. Do you have the slightest idea about these people you're talking bout? The answer is a resounding 'NO'
YOU are so out of touch with the way things run in Guyana that no amount of imformation gleamed from the tabloids would enlightened you to the facts. Doan fool youself bai, the GPF is just a paycheck. To protect and serve is only face value,. You need to go down there an see how dem bais does operate then come back and tell us better. But wait!! you can't do that. too many black people there.
Now, about me calling the police should the need arise; I might. but only to me a report. I don't expect them to catch anyone.

DAT bOY rOHEE GUN TEK gUYANA TO THE mOUNTAIN tOP.

with the help of lil fry rice an a couple banks.

Banna, you out like South, fly-lice and Banks wah PNC days.  Abie pon tap now, New Thriving....jess fuh starters.

Are you in your right mind, paul. Do you have the slightest idea about these people you're talking bout? The answer is a resounding 'NO'
YOU are so out of touch with the way things run in Guyana that no amount of imformation gleamed from the tabloids would enlightened you to the facts. Doan fool youself bai, the GPF is just a paycheck. To protect and serve is only face value,. You need to go down there an see how dem bais does operate then come back and tell us better. But wait!! you can't do that. too many black people there.
Now, about me calling the police should the need arise; I might. but only to me a report. I don't expect them to catch anyone.

HOLD YOUR HORSES!!!!!!

Where do you get off thinking Guyana's Police are supposed to catch crooks? Stuuups!!!!

HOLD YOUR HORSES!!!!!!

Where do you get off thinking Guyana's Police are supposed to catch crooks? Stuuups!!!!

Beg pardon, Cain. Ah fugget
Bax haan money
Chile mudda money.
Beer money.

I can't help but feel sorry for Paul. I am almost certain that he honestly wish to see Guyana progess in all aspects of society; and that's a good thing.
But the reality of the place eludes him.

Why Comrade Rohee wearing a pink shirt-jack? 

Seein you smart, you tell us nuh, I know you won't like my answer.

I called that "fishing" to catch morons. I am not surprised you get entangled in my net.

Stupid answer!

Now, will you answer the question, why do you think the man wore a pink shirt-jac?

I'll say the white and the black one both in the laundry and all he had left was the pink one.

Stupid answer!

Now, will you answer the question, why do you think the man wore a pink shirt-jac?

I'll say the white and the black one both in the laundry and all he had left was the pink one.

You are still on crack! 

Stupid answer!

You are still on crack! 

Yeah, yours.