Good Hope Housing Scheme residents are appealing for access to Public Road

May 11, 2011 · By

Dear Editor,

Please permit us a space in your daily newspaper to voice our grave concern. We the residents of Good Hope Housing Scheme on the East Coast Demerara are begging and pleading with the relevant authority to construct a road so that residents of Good Hope can access the Public Road. The Good Hope Housing Scheme, which is located South, of the railway embankment, was established under the housing programme by the current administration fifteen years ago, however, to date our community does not have access to the Public Road which is causing many to suffer from long walks and the financial burden of taxi fares.

In order for fifteen hundred and more residents to get public transportation and access the Public Road, they would have to walk to the neighbouring community’s Melsha Road in Mon Repos or Lusignan Golf Road in Lusignan. Alternatively, residents would have to pay six hundred dollars in taxi fares to get to and from the Public Road daily, which many are unable to pay.

For many years, residents of Good Hope have been pleading and complaining to several ministers and past ministers who visited the area for a road to be built, so that our suffering of long walks and financial burden can be eased.

All we have been given so far are promises that never materialized; residents are suffering from exhaustion daily and are finding it very unaffordable to pay taxi fares because of the high cost of living and the rising transportation cost. We have written this letter to document what we have been asking for in the past ten years and we are calling on our President and the relevant Ministers to heed our community’s cry.

Yours faithfully,
Residents of Good Hope
E.C.D

Bridge to Good Hope New Scheme is sinking

September 12, 2013 · By

Dear Editor,

Kindly allow me a space in your newspaper to bring to the attention of the authorities the plight some of the residents of the Good Hope New Scheme are experiencing. The bridge to the new scheme is sinking and is in urgent need of repairs.  Editor, every day it is a scary experience to drive over the bridge. The residents end up driving on a new path to get out of the village, impeding pedestrians in the process, also damaging the shoulders of the road. Efforts to contact engineers in the ministry have proved futile, since they all are promising to look into the matter.  Since we the people don’t have a voice, I hope through this paper someone responsible will urgently attend to this matter.

Yours faithfully,
N Bacchus 

Who is the chairman of the Better hope NDC?

Good Hope residents peeved at roads, drainage in village

January 8, 2011 | By | Filed Under News 

Garbage being dumped without care into the canal

Residents of Good Hope, East Coast Demerara, are peeved at what they describe as neglect by the Neighbourhood Democratic Council and the other relevant authorities responsible for maintaining the roads, drainage and surrounding areas of the village.
According to residents, the entrance into Good Hope is filled with many ‘craters’. Taxis working in the area are “charging $400 just to drop anybody inside. They say they road breaking up they cars that’s why de fare so high.”
It was also underscored that there is a serious problem with the drainage and irrigation in the area which causes flooding whenever there is any amount of rainfall, “people don’t have any back drains in day yard so there is no proper drainage.”
Other issues raised were the huge clumps of bush in the area and the garbage that is being dumped in the nearby canal.
“The bush, when you coming in, so big that bandits can be hiding inside to pounce on you when you coming in at night. When something happen then you gun see something being done.”
The chairman of the NDC does nothing much in the area because he passes the garbage every morning, and does nothing to stop persons from dumping in the canal. They just throw some loam on the road and water wash it away as soon as rain fall.” One resident said.
When this newspaper tried contacting the Better Hope NDC it failed.

Good Hope road returns to disrepair two months after rehabilitation

February 10, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

After being renovated two months ago, the access road in to Good Hope, East Coast

One of the many potholes at the entrance to Good Hope Housing Scheme.

Demerara, is in a state of disrepair. Residents are peeved at what they describe as shoddy work carried out by a contractor.
“We don’t even know is which contractor, but they just come and throw some sand, loam, stone, crusher run and little tar and when rain fall, everything wash away,” the residents collectively agreed.
“This is what we paying taxes for. Now more money got to spend on the same thing when it could have been used for something else.”
According to residents, the entrance to Good Hope is filled with many ‘craters’ although the road was recently renovated. Taxis working in the area are “sometimes overcharging passengers just to drop anybody inside. They say the road breaking up they cars that’s why de fare so high.”
Another issue raised was “serious problem” with the drainage and irrigation in the area, which causes flooding from “any amount of rainfall.”
“People don’t have any back drains in their yard, so there is no proper drainage.”
Seven bids were opened for road works, drainage in May 2011 for similar works at Good Hope, East Coast Demerara. The Engineer’s Estimate that was given at the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) was $72,020,940 and the bids submitted were:

BidderAmount
Mack Junior Int’l$62,947,384
Chung’s Global Enterprise$62,797,884
Courtney Benn Contracting Services$63,661,125
Horizon Electrical$67,576,690
KB&B Construction$59,331,008
Handel Garnett Construction$59,356,457
Dwarkanauth Contracting Service$58,552,120
Romel Jagroop General Construction$62,120,275

Meanwhile, the Lusignan/Mon Repos Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) joined with residents of Mon Repos to repair the existing bridge that was dilapidated.
This was done through self help by villagers last Sunday.
The NDC donated some of the material to do the bridge along Melsha Road.

The bridge that was recently renovated by villagers and the Lusignan/Mon Repos NDC

It was further disclosed by residents that the respective NDCs needs to give villagers the opportunity and assistance to develop where they live and not “only help their friends and take taxpayers money and do their own thing.”
One resident said that the Chairperson for the NDC was cooperative and this motivated persons in the area to come out to assist.
“One resident even spent $120,000 to purchase materials for the bridge. These are the type of things that we need".

Keep hope alive! Someday, something will happen!

This was done through self help by villagers .
The NDC donated some of the material to do the bridge along Melsha Road.

The bridge that was  renovated by villagers and the Lusignan/Mon Repos NDC

We need more of this, Mitwah! I strongly believe in self help. People getting lazy and complain more. Guyanese are behaving like American and becoming couch potatoes. Too many fat batty around. 

mjuanita and company will promise these villagers the moons only to then illicit campaign funds and sport out the money. It is well known that the afc have no accounting procedures in place to track campaign contributions, they collect people's money and fill their own pockets fuh full them big belly and sport. 

Mjuanita use his share fuh pick up lil bais. 

We need more of this, Mitwah! I strongly believe in self help. People getting lazy and complain more. Guyanese are behaving like American and becoming couch potatoes. Too many fat batty around. 

mean while their raxes biulding proper drainage, briges and roads in Pradoville 2

Pointblank