Good Hope pastor robbed, gun-butted after airport trip

July 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

An East Coast Demerara pastor is counting his lucky stars after bandits attacked him yesterday on his return from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.

An injured Pastor Sewnauth Poonalall

Pastor Sewnauth Poonalall of the Good Hope Missionary Baptist Church was badly gun-butted and forced to seek medical attention at a private hospital after the traumatizing incident. The Pastor said that he had gone to the Cheddi Jagan International Airport for some overseas guests and returned home with the luggage around 04:00hrs. His guests were planning to donate the contents of the suitcases to a local orphanage. Poonalall is the husband of former Member of Parliament for the Alliance For Change, Latchmin Poonalall. According to the Pastor, he came out of his Toyota Hilux Surf and opened the gates to the churchyard. He lives upstairs of the church. He had just parked and was about to close the gates when he saw a young man, no more than 20, in the yard. There was a gun in his hand. The man motioned him to be quiet, struck him on his face with the gun and took away the keys to the vehicle. The gunman attempted to open the tailgate of the vehicle but failed. Meanwhile, a car had reversed to Pastor Poonalall’s gate at great speed. In it were three other men, one of whom joined the bandit in the yard. “There was another man with the gunman and he told him to kill me. I asked them if they wanted to kill someone in the church.” The armed bandit hesitated and I walked to the side of the church to pray. The gunman then started to fetch out the three suitcases from the SUV. The guests who had just entered remained seated in the vehicle. The gunmen turned their attention to them and relieved them of their jewellery and everything that they had. “All they were left with were the clothes on their backs.” “I stood at the side of the church and prayed as there was nothing much that could be done.” Poonalall said there were others outside in the vehicle. They reversed into the yard taking the suitcases. The Pastor said the gunman could not be more than 22 and had his hat pointed backwards. It is not the first time that the Pastor had been robbed. A car load of gunmen had stopped his vehicle in the 90’s on the access road to Good Hope and robbed him. On another occasion a group robbed him as he was heading home. His church was also broken into several times and equipment stolen.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Obviously these gunmen are hindus. That means PPP criminals.

Everytime you open your mouth, you reinvent the meaning of a few words: Stupid, Dumb, What an ASS and a few more.

You are a classi AZZ Mr. T.  You better look after what the PPP doing to Grainja record as the boss man in the GDF when Brother Walter Rodney dissapeared?

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

You are a classi AZZ Mr. T.  You better look after what the PPP doing to Grainja record as the boss man in the GDF when Brother Walter Rodney dissapeared?

Who is Grainja? Never heard of him.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Who is Grainja? Never heard of him.

There are lots of things , if not everything you do not know BUT think yuh kno. It shows in your postings  Stay off the weed man.

Didn't the police say some time ago that they were going to increase patrols around this time when those late nite flights were schedule to come in. I bet this was CAL. Still, it doesn't alter the fact how dangerous a place guyana is. Even a man of god is not immune to this sort of barbaric treatment.
I feel especially sad and disheartened for the incoming passengers. They were probably scared to death. Not the kind of reception one would like upon arrival in the homeland.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Didn't the police say some time ago that they were going to increase patrols around this time when those late nite flights were schedule to come in. I bet this was CAL. Still, it doesn't alter the fact how dangerous a place guyana is. Even a man of god is not immune to this sort of barbaric treatment.
I feel especially sad and disheartened for the incoming passengers. They were probably scared to death. Not the kind of reception one would like upon arrival in the homeland.

Bhai Sheik, I AGREE with you and would go further to say that if the situation remain the same, then Rohee MUST find other work to do. He had enough time to prove to us that he can fight Crime and make Guyana a safe place. The time for TALK and Plans are over. I say give him 3 months, if the situation does not change drastically, I hope the President do the right thing. Even if that mean hiring a Commish of Police from England or America.

WE see a no-nonsense Ambassador coming and that is a good thing. OBAMA!!!  OBAMA!!!  Hope he can help us not only with Drugs but Crime as a whole. It is time to eradicate the Hogs.

the ppp breed criminals,i know lots of people that commit crime and the ppp get them out of jail so they can use them to do dirty work  

Bhai Sheik, I AGREE with you and would go further to say that if the situation remain the same, then Rohee MUST find other work to do. He had enough time to prove to us that he can fight Crime and make Guyana a safe place. The time for TALK and Plans are over. I say give him 3 months, if the situation does not change drastically, I hope the President do the right thing. Even if that mean hiring a Commish of Police from England or America.

Please, no foreign intervention. We have good men in Guyana who can perform better than Rohee. I agree that the crime is uncontrollable under the current Minister of Home Affairs. 

maybe nehru,we have a fool nehru will make us have a drunk 

Good men like who? Seelall persaud? Your Albouystown hero?
Listen up snake! It's not the robbery, it's the trauma that goes with it. Then we must vector in fact that life is cheap in guyana. I'm willing to bet that two patwa from the princess street trench more expensive.

Good Hope pastor robbed, gun-butted after airport trip

July 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

An East Coast Demerara pastor is counting his lucky stars after bandits attacked him yesterday on his return from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.

Pastor Sewnauth Poonalall of the Good Hope Missionary Baptist Church was badly gun-butted and forced to seek medical attention at a private hospital after the traumatizing incident. The Pastor said that he had gone to the Cheddi Jagan International Airport for some overseas guests and returned home with the luggage around 04:00hrs. His guests were planning to donate the contents of the suitcases to a local orphanage. Poonalall is the husband of former Member of Parliament for the Alliance For Change, Latchmin Poonalall. According to the Pastor, he came out of his Toyota Hilux Surf and opened the gates to the churchyard. He lives upstairs of the church. He had just parked and was about to close the gates when he saw a young man, no more than 20, in the yard. There was a gun in his hand. The man motioned him to be quiet, struck him on his face with the gun and took away the keys to the vehicle. The gunman attempted to open the tailgate of the vehicle but failed. Meanwhile, a car had reversed to Pastor Poonalall’s gate at great speed. In it were three other men, one of whom joined the bandit in the yard. “There was another man with the gunman and he told him to kill me. I asked them if they wanted to kill someone in the church.” The armed bandit hesitated and I walked to the side of the church to pray. The gunman then started to fetch out the three suitcases from the SUV. The guests who had just entered remained seated in the vehicle. The gunmen turned their attention to them and relieved them of their jewellery and everything that they had. “All they were left with were the clothes on their backs.” “I stood at the side of the church and prayed as there was nothing much that could be done.” Poonalall said there were others outside in the vehicle. They reversed into the yard taking the suitcases. The Pastor said the gunman could not be more than 22 and had his hat pointed backwards. It is not the first time that the Pastor had been robbed. A car load of gunmen had stopped his vehicle in the 90’s on the access road to Good Hope and robbed him. On another occasion a group robbed him as he was heading home. His church was also broken into several times and equipment stolen.

As much as I support the PPP, I have consistently said that the PPP is weak in fighting crime. I hope that the Pastor recovers and the criminals are shot and exterminated.

We must condemn that attack on a man of faith.