June 5, 2017 Source

After years of pleading by residents for work to be done on the East Bank Berbice main access road, Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, yesterday announced that the project will commence today.

He said  that the project will be done in phases, noting that phase one should begin today and be completed in eight months’ time. He made the announcement to residents at Overwinning, Market Square,  East Bank Berbice. According to Patterson, initially when they were in talks with the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) to fund the project it was estimated to cost some $1.8B. However, he said that after they did not receive the necessary support from the IDB due to many reasons, he took it upon himself to work out a lower cost and pleaded with the Ministry of Finance for funding. The project now costs some $1.2B and is being funded by the Government of Guyana.

He told those gathered that the project will commence at Stanleytown and conclude at Everton Village, covering some 5.5 kilometers of road. However, he said, eventually all the way to Mara Village, will see reconstruction.

From left are Ministers David Patterson and Khemraj Ramjattan

He said, “The overall objective of this project is to provide a solution to the current difficulty of using the roadway safely and comfortably due to its deteriorated state”. Patterson further noted that with the exception of the Stanleytown, New Amsterdam section, the road is generally in a poor state.

He highlighted that the road supports two lanes of traffic from the township of New Amsterdam all the way to Mara Village, while noting that it provides access to the adjacent housing scheme as well as the agriculture-based communities, which have several drainage structures and bridges with outfalls into the Berbice River.

Patterson told the residents, who were elated by the news, that the deplorable state of the road affects farmers tremendously from accessing all the agricultural lands towards Mara Village. “The general feeling is that there would be significant economic opportunities in agricultural growth if a better road was constructed”, he said.

A section of the gathering at the meeting

The works that will be done include site clearance and earthworks, sub-base and base works, pavement works, minor drainage works, incidental road works, traffic signs and road markings and bridges and box culverts.

Patterson further told the residents that they will be given many opportunities as well to be part of the project. He noted that the minor works will be tendered out to the region’s contractors. He added that whenever material needs to brought to the site, trucks from the area will be hired. He also said that some employment will be available to persons in the area.

Patterson noted that protest actions were staged in 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014 due to the deplorable state of the road.

The residents gathered were also given the opportunity to ask the Minister questions and make  suggestions in relation to the road project.

Most residents told Stabroek News that finally they are witnessing progress, as they feel the minister was genuine in his announcement and that they truly believe that the reconstruction will finally begin.

Also present at the meeting was the Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

The people who support the PPP would benefit more from this road, because near Mara is Highbury, where the first indenture labourers landed on the ship Hyprus? This  occasion is celebrated every year in May, with hundreds present.  

Similar to Babu Jan where many visitors go to see  the cremation site of Cheddi and Janet Jagan, they also want to go to Highbury, but the road was also too bad.

The PPP had promised to repair this road many times, but it never materialized, due to not much personal bank  benefits to regional officials.  

Last edited by Tola
Tola posted:

The people who support the PPP would benefit more from this road, .  

I guess you trying to make yourself feel better for your role in the wicked deed perpetrate on the Indians of Guyana!  Somewhere in that comment shows how shallow you are.

So the build roads, but choke the life out of the Indians and force them out of the land!  Do they take the road with them?

If I remember, Burnham rebuilt the road but then proceeded to brutalize the Indians masses creating mass exodus!  This is just an encore!  Smiling snake Granger can easily fool dumbos like you!

June 5, 2017 Source

After years of pleading by residents for work to be done on the East Bank Berbice m

As they say, a picture tells a thousand words.  According to [dumbo], Indians will benefit, yet look at the crowd!  Tells of the mood among the Indian masses.

And the dumbo will now say coolies ungrateful!!

Dem nah gatt lil shame fuh show lil coolie face, guess why, there was none!

ba$eman posted:

June 5, 2017 Source

After years of pleading by residents for work to be done on the East Bank Berbice m

As they say, a picture tells a thousand words.  According to [dumbo], Indians will benefit, yet look at the crowd!  Tells of the mood among the Indian masses.

And the dumbo will now say coolies ungrateful!!

Dem nah gatt lil shame fuh show lil coolie face, guess why, there was none!

You  believe in digital photos Baseman, you better get your head examined and get someone to teach you a thing or two about photography.  

You must be one dumb ass Indian to think that only black people live at Stanleytown and Everton. How about Highbury, how many blacks live there to benefit from this road  ? 

You are too stupid to think that all black people  attend the May 5 celebration at Highbury and live along the road, to benefit from this project.  

Like  many in the PPP, you better stop your racist shit against blacks, before they kick your ass back to India, where they will do the same.

Maybe the Granger government is right to screw Indians like you, after what the PPP did to blacks in Guyana.

What is right Baseman, they had a turn at us, now its abie turn at dem ?

Your racist shit displayed on this board is not helping anyone.

Tola posted:

Maybe the Granger government is right to screw Indians like you, after what the PPP did to blacks in Guyana.

What is right Baseman, they had a turn at us, now its abie turn at dem .

What did the PPP do to blacks in Guyana again?

The question should be, What did the PPP do for them?

bai the ppp build pradoville that when ever them collie pass they stop and bow and pray for their leaders thanking god that they can live in palace 

warrior posted:

bai the ppp build pradoville that when ever them collie pass they stop and bow and pray for their leaders thanking god that they can live in palace 

That place is a junk, you ever actually been there?

"ask not what your country can do for you—ask what you can do foryour country.”

PPP provided an environment conducive to business expansion. Today we see the investors fleeing in droves under the PNC as blacks cry out after have to resort to eating shine rice and plantain chips.

What sort of Business may i ask.

bai cocaine is not a business 

All the small business that have now fled. Rice mills, furniture makers,  swimming pool makers and the list goes on and on. The only thriving business now under the PNC is the drug business as we see cain suspected family Joy Caines being nabbed as the trade goes on unabated. Only yesterday I say cocaine from Guyana intercepted in Jamaica as other govts are wise to the Granger's administration side business.

you mean now they are being caught

warrior posted:

you mean now they are being caught

bai like yuh gone stupidie or what.  Remember all the busts under the PPP when you folks claimed that it was evidence of drug runnings supported by PPP. Now the shoe on the other foot. 2 years in and still drug operations going strong strong in Guyana. Granger et al have to show some profit, so they choose the most profitable path, drug runnings. They bust a few small timers and keep the big drug lords safe to continue the revenue stream. 

correct, them bais now reporting to Granger directly as he provides protection for their products to final destination. Once in a while the PNC will throw one of their own to the fire to make a show of fighting the drug trade.

you is one of the wise men from the east 

All the small business that have now fled.Rice mills, furniture makers,  swimming pool makers and the list goes on and on. The only thriving business now under the PNC is the drug business as we see cain suspected family Joy Caines being nabbed as the trade goes on unabated. Only yesterday I say cocaine from Guyana intercepted in Jamaica as other govts are wise to the Granger's administration side business.

Me thinks you can do better,scratch yuh head some more.

All the small business that have now fled.Rice mills, furniture makers,  swimming pool makers and the list goes on and on. The only thriving business now under the PNC is the drug business as we see cain suspected family Joy Caines being nabbed as the trade goes on unabated. Only yesterday I say cocaine from Guyana intercepted in Jamaica as other govts are wise to the Granger's administration side business.

Me thinks you can do better,scratch yuh head some more.

you have to get a rake to help him scratch that head