Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

Gov’t to revise, reclaim ‘illegal’ radio, TV licenses

PRIME MINISTER Moses Nagamootoo, who is also the Minister of Public Information, has promised to revise and reclaim radio and television licenses that were doled out under the previous People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government to “relatives, cronies, and friends” of the party. During his budget address after midnight Friday, Mr Nagamootoo promised to rework the country’s spectrum for television and radio licenses.
In 2011, just as former President, now Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo was ready to demit office, he had doled out a number of TV and radio licenses to persons close to his party.
The PM said the revision and possible reversal of the licenses is part of his efforts, as Public Information Minister, to reorganise the public broadcast media.
“I have now decided to professionalise the public information service to bring a new module for public information, where journalists working in the public media must be required to exhibit only one quality, which is professionalism,” the PM declared.
He is optimistic that he will achieve this development, even as he has requested the budgetary allocation to his office be cut from $1B, as in the previous administration, to some $300M.

NATIONAL BROADCASTING AUTHORITY

In September 2011, former President Bharrat Jagdeo signed the Broadcasting Bill into law, setting up the National Broadcasting Authority.
That Authority, under the Chairpersonship of Bibi Shaddick, former PPP MP, distributed some 22 radio and television licenses, just two months before the November elections which saw the then governing PPP/C losing their majority in the National Assembly.
Eyebrows were raised when it was uncovered that licenses had been given to friends and close relatives of then President Jagdeo.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yes...they need to do this and privatize Chronicle.

HAHAHA Chronicl and GINA will NOT be privatize.  Al YUh was hollering fuh dat to be done prior May 11, INCLUDING HOUSE SLAVE MOSES, what happen NOW????

Originally Posted by TK:

HAHAHA Chronicl and GINA will NOT be privatize.  Al YUh was hollering fuh dat to be done prior May 11, INCLUDING HOUSE SLAVE MOSES, what happen NOW????

I said Chronicle...don't see how you can do that for GINA.

Good move to reclaim the frequencies.

The chronicle needs to be handed over to a public broadcasting system where it is user supported. We need to develop our own software for us and only a public broadcasting system can go in that direction as non profit with some government subsidies

Originally Posted by TK:

I said Chronicle...don't see how you can do that for GINA.

Maybe you are suffering from Alzheimer.

Only PNC activists will be entitles to TV licenses. Once you are an indian, then you do not qualify.  Moses's law.

Moses is doing what the PNC wants him to do.  Granger will blame his PM for the failure of the government and then he will be force to implement certain conditions in order to climb out of the gutter, where Moses sits.

Moses is unproductive as he seeks to destroy the country the PNC way. 

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Only PNC activists will be entitles to TV licenses. Once you are an indian, then you do not qualify.  Moses's law.

So you are on sack cloth and ashes lamenting your misfortune at not getting you fingers on the nations assets! The PPP stole those frequencies. The Mirror got 5 Robert Persaud and his kin got another 5. The Bobby the boob got his... You did not open your filthy mouth then so why now?

Originally Posted by Danyael:

So you are on sack cloth and ashes lamenting your misfortune at not getting you fingers on the nations assets! The PPP stole those frequencies. The Mirror got 5 Robert Persaud and his kin got another 5. The Bobby the boob got his... You did not open your filthy mouth then so why now?

Robert..the smart man cash in on his gift.

What the PPP did was very progressive.  The PNC is destroying everything the PPP built.  The PNC are the real thieves.  During Burnham's reign, the PNC stole US$2.5 billion dollars and claimed that they spent it on National service.     What a waste. 

Originally Posted by asj:

As I see it, this will be a long court fight.

These are licenses with a duration. Normally they are renewed routinely. These are not getting renewed.

They will lose revenue which one more step to bankruptcy.  let's be frank, black people don't know how to do business. This ' choke and rob'  government is stupid.  Jagdeo was right about them.

What the PPP did was very progressive.  The PNC is destroying everything the PPP built.  The PNC are the real thieves.  During Burnham's reign, the PNC stole US$2.5 billion dollars and claimed that they spent it on National service.     What a waste. 

As long as it is coolie benefiting it is fine! I hope your generation passes away completely before the PPP ever sees office again. Yours is the diseased generation.

The PNC only borrowed 800 million. The rest is interest and penalties for defaulting on debt. For t he 800 million you got 2 bridges, 2 technical institutes and 2 highways. They did not formalize seaside dachas on the nations dimes for PNC elites. The PPP created Pradovilles I and II. Sorry to inform you, burnham was beat badly by the PPP on every metrics.

As long as it is coolie benefiting it is fine! I hope your generation passes away completely before the PPP ever sees office again. Yours is the diseased generation.

The PNC only borrowed 800 million. The rest is interest and penalties for defaulting on debt. For t he 800 million you got 2 bridges, 2 technical institutes and 2 highways. They did not formalize seaside dachas on the nations dimes for PNC elites. The PPP created Pradovilles I and II. Sorry to inform you, burnham was beat badly by the PPP on every metrics.

In 1992 the national debt was US$2.8 billion.   The PPP paid that off and completed 5000 projects. 

Some were debt write off.

Originally Posted by Django:

Because the country was bankrupt.........case closed:

It took brains and a wise Government, to get Guyana back on its feet.

Now the PNC/AFC took over a country with billions of dollars, I do hope that they put it to good use.

As of now, they do not have any clue of what to do..............

What they should all take a good salary increase so that they can satisfy their imaginary vision of the shitty work that they are doing.

Screwed up the Old Age Pension

Screwed up the Berbice River Bridge Crossing

Screwed up the median Salary Increases

Just in three month, and two Ministers for one Minister portfolio, one would think that these PNC/AFC has brains..........

Is guyana on its feet? Surely you jest.

SO WHAT? Alright, we agree, PNC screwed up the country and Jagan got it back on track.

Jagdeo the Tief took over the reins, let's go from there.

How many projects were completed and beneficial to the country and list them?