Govt insists that GRDB is not mandated to find rice markets

The role of GRDB was to ensure markets were found for the Government to supply other countries with rice, Minister Holder said. Panama and Venezuela were two of Guyana’s Government-to-Government markets

Rice crisis

…even as harvesting of “big crop” begins

By Kristen Macklingam

Contrary to the common belief that the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB) is responsible for securing markets for rice millers and/or rice farmers, the Administration is contending this is not the case.

Many farmers in general and the Rice Action Committee in particular have demanded that the GRDB use the $500 million it receives annually from rice exports to secure new markets. These calls have intensified after the cancellation of the Venezuelan market for 200,000 tonnes annually.

Agriculture Minister Noel Holder, in a telephone interview with Guyana Times last week, however, stated that the role of GRDB was to ensure markets were found for the Government to supply other countries with rice.

He explained that the entity which falls under the Agriculture Ministry was to facilitate this by engaging importers from different parts of the world in what he deemed “a government-to-government approach”. For stance, recently a market for 10,000 tonnes of rice was secured from Panama.

This newspaper was told that the Rice Board had to ensure that whatever agreement was contracted between the importers from different countries and Guyana was honoured by “selling what is agreed to be sold”.

Minister Holder further emphasised that in this regard, quality control was of vital importance to securing and maintaining markets whether they be new ones or markets that have already existed. The GRDB is supposed to monitor the quality of rice shipped from local ports.

“Quality control in the rice shipments is important so as to not let Guyana suffer. If the rice being supplied as per contract is not up to standard as agreed, then we could lose the contract. In fact, Guyana could end up being blacklisted by the country/countries should this happen, hence more focus is being placed on quality control,” he posited.

He also stated that although much attention was being placed on the PetroCaribe deal and the loss of the Venezuelan market, it must be realised Guyana supplied rice to a number of other countries.

These markets have already been in existence, the Minister noted.

It was divulged that in 2009 when Venezuela first began the “rice for oil” exchange, the Spanish-speaking country used to contract almost 70 per cent of the rice which Guyana exported, because at that time Guyana was shipping a smaller overall total.

As time went by, this percentage dropped to 30 per cent and Guyana was already shipping its increasing production of rice to other markets.

Holder clarified that the GRDB was never mandated to aid local farmers in obtaining international markets for their rice, although many would believe otherwise.

This newspaper also understands that while rice farmers are being plagued with a number of difficulties due to the low paddy prices, they are expectant that GRDB would relieve their burden by offering its assistance, financial or by aiding in securing higher paying markets.

Meanwhile, in Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam), where harvesting has already begun for the “big crop”, reports are that some Essequibo rice farmers are complaining about the type of seed paddy being sold by the GRDB in their region.

The argument is that if these farmers are given ‘bad seed paddy’, then their produce would not be of high quality, and as a result the prices they would be offered per bag of paddy would be extremely low.

However, when Guyana Times contacted the GRDB in Essequibo on Sunday concerning the issue, a representative from the agency stated that he has not heard of any such claims concerning bad seed paddy from rice farmers.

“We have had no reports of any bad seed paddy that farmers purchased from us. What we are selling is sourced from the Burma Research Station and that is what we sell to the rice farmers. But so far, no reports have come from any farmers that the seed paddy that they are purchasing is of bad quality,” said the Essequibo GRDB official. (kristenm@guyanatimesgy.com)

AFC/PNC destroyed the rice industry and abandoned farmers in less than 100 days.

During the PPP days AFC supporters stripped naked and insist that the PPP helped them. The PPP complied.

Today the rice farmers are left naked, poor and abandoned by the PNC.

What is interesting is that President Granger showed up in Linden and promised huge amounts of monies for Linden.

PNC screws rice farmers again and offers Billions in funding and electricity subsidy for Linden while Indo Rice farmers are screwed over by the PNC.

Welcome to change, PNC style.

Moses Kakamootoo was the one who said that he would pump billions into the rice and sugar industries.  A campaign promise that he failed to keep. Instead he spent Billions trying to p[rosecute Jagdeo for crimes he did not commit.  There is no evidence of any crime that Moses said Jagdeo  committed.  Jagdeo is still walking the streets and whatever he did may not be criminal.

AFC/PNC destroyed the rice industry and abandoned farmers

And what's your opinion about the bauxite workers being abandoned.  Rice is the ONLY privately owned industry in Guyana where they think that it is the role of the gov't to find markets, and to receive guaranteed prices.

They are abandoning the bauxite workers.  They are abandoning the sugar workers.  They are abandoning the rice producers.  I am not knowledgeable about the sugar and bauxite.  But in the case of the rice industry, I can tell you that Nagamootoo had campaign meetings with rice farmers on several occasions and told them that he will be the new Minister of Agriculture and when that happens they will get $9,000 per bag for rice.  So - they all voted for him!!!

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

They are abandoning the bauxite workers.  They are abandoning the sugar workers.  They are abandoning the rice producers.  I am not knowledgeable about the sugar and bauxite.  But in the case of the rice industry, I can tell you that Nagamootoo had campaign meetings with rice farmers on several occasions and told them that he will be the new Minister of Agriculture and when that happens they will get $9,000 per bag for rice.  So - they all voted for him!!!

Well, DEm seh when a House Slave outsmart you then ah stupid yuh stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nice mouth to suck a dick

Warrior..why you so rough on the newbie,damn

bhai wha wrang with you.

Originally Posted by Django:

bhai wha wrang with you.

Bhai, Warrion cant help but talk in such a manner.  He is the Ambassador for Canada Gay/Lesbian Society.

bhai wha wrang with you.

newbie have to learn the rules if you report lies u will pay the price 

bhai wha wrang with you.

Bhai, Warrion cant help but talk in such a manner.  He is the Ambassador for Canada Gay/Lesbian Society.

u giving me too much credit drunkie just the lesbian society 

bhai wha wrang with you.

There are many ways you can refute the lies,than

being so harsh,just saying bro.

bhai wha wrang with you.

There are many ways you can refute the lies,than

being so harsh,just saying bro.

noted but its a harsh site wake up or die

Cut your crap.  The majority of the rice farmers did NOT vote for Nagamootoo.  They voted Jagdeo.  The PPP INCREASED their share of the votes in those areas.

Also Nagamootoo was NOT authorized to commit the gov't to anything, given the minority status within the coalition.

Given that the PPP abandoned the bauxite workers, just be happy for what ever help the rice industry gets. 

Linden has already put Granger on notice that they voted for him, and were a very important part of why he won, and they expect more attention from him than what they got from the PPP.  Granger excluded Sharma Solomon, and Vanessa K, leaving them to be a thorn on his side if Linden begins to sense neglect.

I do hope that Warrior doesn't speak to his mother or sisters like that.  He behavior is a demonstration of who is, not who I am. 

To address the gentleman who said, "Rice is the ONLY privately owned industry in Guyana where they think that it is the role of the gov't to find markets, and to receive guaranteed prices."

When the RPA was formed in 1946 in Wakenaam it was a private group who represented the rights of the farmers.  Over the years it was politicized by the government who passed laws on the governing of the Rice Board.  For example, the government appoints the members of the Board of Governors.  They wrote amendments to control all decision-making within the RPA.  As such they gave themselves the power to decide the markets and the prices in an effort to weaken the power of the farmers and determine the profits.

Both the PPP and the PNC were guilty of this.  However, what is happening now is just plain cruelty to the rice farmers.  If this continues they will squeeze this whole industry out of business

Cut your crap.  The majority of the rice farmers did NOT vote for Nagamootoo.  They voted Jagdeo.  The PPP INCREASED their share of the votes in those areas.

Also Nagamootoo was NOT authorized to commit the gov't to anything, given the minority status within the coalition.

Given that the PPP abandoned the bauxite workers, just be happy for what ever help the rice industry gets. 

Linden has already put Granger on notice that they voted for him, and were a very important part of why he won, and they expect more attention from him than what they got from the PPP.  Granger excluded Sharma Solomon, and Vanessa K, leaving them to be a thorn on his side if Linden begins to sense neglect.

And Al YUh thought I was lying, now Moses has been CERTIFIED as a HOUSe SLAVE!!!

I do hope that Warrior doesn't speak to his mother or sisters like that.  He behavior is a demonstration of who is, not who I am. 

To address the gentleman who said, "Rice is the ONLY privately owned industry in Guyana where they think that it is the role of the gov't to find markets, and to receive guaranteed prices."

When the RPA was formed in 1946 in Wakenaam it was a private group who represented the rights of the farmers.  Over the years it was politicized by the government who passed laws on the governing of the Rice Board.  For example, the government appoints the members of the Board of Governors.  They wrote amendments to control all decision-making within the RPA.  As such they gave themselves the power to decide the markets and the prices in an effort to weaken the power of the farmers and determine the profits.

Both the PPP and the PNC were guilty of this.  However, what is happening now is just plain cruelty to the rice farmers.  If this continues they will squeeze this whole industry out of business

bibi i am one of those people that will do anything to get the ppp out of power and you full of shit in fact you sound like shit the rice farmers was going through the same crap under the ppp and they did not change it u want the new government to change to it in 3 months as for my mother and sisters they did not sell their soul to evil now use that mouth for what i suggest and u might make a honest living 

Punctuation please.  What are you trying to say? 

u get the massage being a prostitute is better that help stealing the tax payers money try it 

Judas KakaMotoo lied. This will come back to haunt him at the polls.

LOL.

This is as good as he gets. Please forgive him.

Thanks Django.  I will definitely read it tonight.  Oh gaad, you giving me homework now!!  Lol.

Nah..me does try to dig up facts it is from the 1996

policy statement,i trying to figure out what is

hampering the industry.

Thanks Django.  I will definitely read it tonight.  Oh gaad, you giving me homework now!!  Lol.

hampering the industry.

Actually, I just read it.  I was just about to ask you what year it is from so you answered my question.  It is a good needs assessment article.  What we are experiencing now is somewhat different.  It's pure politics.  Perhaps we need to privatize the industry but who will do that?  Any party which is in power will try to control the RPA and in neither case will it be for the benefit of the farmers.

Where will one get 9000 a bag in this market. In the marked with PertoCarbide where the government was siphoning 150 million while making oil brokers and shippers rich he could. That market is gone. They cannot do as the prevailing scenario at campaigning predicated. It is simple as that.

Bobby the Boob and Reva Dev are simply continuing their punanie dialogue with one or two made up columns of agit prop on nonsense everyday.  Plain and simple, the prevailing market place cannot sustain subsidizing rice to three times it is worth.

And this is the problem with Guyana. 

Guyana has an elected dictatorship.  Politics is based on exploiting (NOT creating) ethnic paranoia.  Each party seeks to get the paranoid out to the polls.  In 2015 it was the PPP which engaged in the most obvious paranoia aimed at East Indians and Amerindians, with APNU/AFC seeking (and only minimally, and I mean VERY minimally) cross ethnic support.

So a party wins, with international agencies certifying that the elections have been relatively fair (even if the losing party disagrees with this assessment).  They proceed to run Guyana from a top down basis, appointing the party loyal (and in the case of the PPP) friends and family to dominate the various state boards, and in the case of the RPA, what should be a PRIVATE entity. 

The realities of Guyana suggest ethnically based patronage, and not competence, will be the criteria.

Sadly Guyanese have accepted this.  What is worse is they even wish to WORSEN this elected dictatorship by naively believing that a govt of National Unity will solve the problem.  They think that assuaging the wounded pride of the losing party will lead to less bickering.

RPA should ONLY consist of those in the rice industry.  They could have an ADVISORY board, where political representatives can be placed.

Rice is a PRIVATE industry, and should be 100% managed by those DIRECTLY involved in the industry.  Clearly its economic, and even more so its social significance (and politicanl sensitivity) will suggest that gov't should have an interest, and even input, but it should be controlled by those in the industry.

I suggest that RPA immediately restructure, and change their attitudesm unless they wish some G/T bureaucrat to run the industry, as occurred in the 70s.  Does the industry really want to see control fall again into the hands of some one like Claude Saul?  It will get that if it continues to behave like a ward of the politicians!

hampering the industry.

Actually, I just read it.  I was just about to ask you what year it is from so you answered my question.  It is a good needs assessment article.  What we are experiencing now is somewhat different.  It's pure politics.  Perhaps we need to privatize the industry but who will do that?  Any party which is in power will try to control the RPA and in neither case will it be for the benefit of the farmers.

Wait a minute me thinks it is private the farmers are independent.

The RPA always leaning towards the PPP.

And this is the problem with Guyana. 

Guyana has an elected dictatorship.  Politics is based on exploiting (NOT creating) ethnic paranoia.  Each party seeks to get the paranoid out to the polls.  In 2015 it was the PPP which engaged in the most obvious paranoia aimed at East Indians and Amerindians, with APNU/AFC seeking (and only minimally, and I mean VERY minimally) cross ethnic support.

So a party wins, with international agencies certifying that the elections have been relatively fair (even if the losing party disagrees with this assessment).  They proceed to run Guyana from a top down basis, appointing the party loyal (and in the case of the PPP) friends and family to dominate the various state boards, and in the case of the RPA, what should be a PRIVATE entity. 

The realities of Guyana suggest ethnically based patronage, and not competence, will be the criteria.

Sadly Guyanese have accepted this.  What is worse is they even wish to WORSEN this elected dictatorship by naively believing that a govt of National Unity will solve the problem.  They think that assuaging the wounded pride of the losing party will lead to less bickering.

RPA should ONLY consist of those in the rice industry.  They could have an ADVISORY board, where political representatives can be placed.

Rice is a PRIVATE industry, and should be 100% managed by those DIRECTLY involved in the industry.  Clearly its economic, and even more so its social significance (and politicanl sensitivity) will suggest that gov't should have an interest, and even input, but it should be controlled by those in the industry.

I suggest that RPA immediately restructure, and change their attitudesm unless they wish some G/T bureaucrat to run the industry, as occurred in the 70s.  Does the industry really want to see control fall again into the hands of some one like Claude Saul?  It will get that if it continues to behave like a ward of the politicians!

Good points!!

Why did Moses promise the rice farmers in Berbice to invest in the rice industry?  It is now the Prime Minister's responsibility to keep his promise.

The rice farmers who voted for the AFC knew that Moses is judas and neemakaram, so they get what they deserve.