New govt. to get UK help that PPP turned down

October 12, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
British High Commissioner, James Gregory Quinn

‘Better late than never’, is probably what the new government had in mind when it approached the United Kingdom’s High Commissioner to Guyana, James Gregory Quinn seeking to access the Security Sector Reform Action Plan (SSRAP) that the previous PPP/C government turned its back on. Back in 2009, the UK had offered a hefty sum for the SSRAP but the previous government refused it on the grounds that the British law enforcement had too much of a big a role in the implementation of the plan. On Friday last, Quinn hosted the media at his Bel Air, Georgetown residence for a briefing. At this forum, he said that the complaints by the previous government about the plan were completely baseless. “To be honest, the claims of 2009 that we were seeking to impose and basically run Guyanese law enforcement, in our opinion was without basis.” During an interview with Kaieteur News after the press briefing, Quinn said that his main focus at the time is on the Security sector as it is a specific request from President David Granger. Quinn said “there is a very clear interest and desire on the Guyanese government’s side for help on SSR (Security Sector Reform). Certainly as we move on from the election period our focus may be on what we can do in this sector.” He pointed out that the UK already does work with the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) “which you can argue is part of that 2009 programme.” Quinn also said that he and his team will have to finalize the Terms of Reference (TOR) for the needs assessment.

The British High Commissioner told Kaieteur News that the team will be looking at the Guyana Police Force to see what is lacking, identify the gaps and then strategize what could be done to address those gaps. As for allocations for the project, Quinn said he is not sure of the amount but “there will certainly be some British money involved…Once we have an idea what the plan is, then there will be British money available; how much that is going to be, I do not know.” Quinn added that the 2009 programme will definitely be updated and will include training that is expected to improve the capabilities of local police to handle crime scene investigations. The original plan was developed in 2006 and was to be implemented in 2009; together with a three-year capacity building plan for a National Security Committee in the National Assembly between 2007 and 2009. Parliamentary Oversight was described by the plan as being at the core of democratic governance and management of the security sector, and key to the success of the programme. Security Sector Reform was seen as a critical component for the attainment of good and democratic governance and was twinned with the Commonwealth Secretariat’s sponsorship of the needs assessment of the National Assembly conducted by Sir Michael Davies and the recommendations, which flowed there from 2005.

The inextricable link between governance and security was recognized, assessed, and addressed through the recommendations made. The SSRAP had highlighted that “Guyana remains dangerously close to tipping point. The consequences of failure – of the various stakeholders to seize the moment, to engage and initiate decisive action – may well be the transformation of Guyana into a failed state and/or haven for international criminality, with all the regional and international implications that this may entail.

This is a development that should be avoided at all costs and will entail some give and take and flexibility on all sides, in the interests of the long suffering people of Guyana.” The then Bharrat Jagdeo administration’s had initially agreed and supported the recommendations and this led to the mobilization of funding; the identification and utilization of experts, and the activation of the National Assembly to pass Bills and Motions. During the National Stakeholder consultations held at the then  Office of the President (OP) in the aftermath of the Lusignan and Bartica massacres, Jagdeo extolled the virtues of the action plan as being the panacea of the ills within the sector.

But subsequently, the then head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr. Luncheon, said that the plan will not be implemented because of “ulterior motives” on the part of the British Government. This led to speculation that the then administration was not interested in genuine, comprehensive and transparent reform of the sector.

Yes, as they seem incompetent to handle it themselves.  If the PNC cannot bring security, then what could they bring.  They are outsourcing their only "strong point".  Maybe they should ask UK to recolonize Guyana.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

Nah, is alyuh looking stupid.  I mean WTF are you people good for anyway?  You were good at spreading terror, now it ran away from you.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

Nah, is alyuh looking stupid.  I mean WTF are you people good for anyway?  You were good at spreading terror, now it ran away from you.

how u now figure de coalition "looking stupid" when dis was one of the open and significant things they ran on

Freedom House enablers and y'all narco-associates bt prappa biting, eh?

heh heh heh heh

Not only bitter for losing the government, the PPP must be worried with DEA in GY and now  a tighter security method will be implemented.

How will the PPP operate in Guyana when there is seldom corruption.  

Good idea! Their heart is in the right place on the security matter. They don't believe the drug pushers bring in revenues and hurt America...as out boy in PPP believed when he was junior MOF. Everything I see says crime will be down in 2 years.

I hope dey revamp policing methods in Guyana. Somehow, I think this scheme is a half azz method. Ramjattan gave a brief statement on it on Saturday. They are planning a war-room approach. Every street in GT will be monitored and viewed in that room.

That is not fighting crime.

Nothing was said about fighting crime in the other parts of the country.

Guyana has a unique dilemma, its solution must be a Guyanese equation.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

how u now figure de coalition "looking stupid" when dis was one of the open and significant things they ran on

heh heh heh heh

Crime soaring since alyuh tek over, now alyuh running for help, the tough bai experts at security running fuh help.  If you cannot fix that, what are you good for.  But let them come and fix.  Most criminals are Afro and victims Indians, so I have no issue as long as the PNC implements fully and not selectively.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

heh heh heh heh

Crime soaring since alyuh tek over, now alyuh running for help, the tough bai experts at security running fuh help.  If you cannot fix that, what are you good for.  But let them come and fix.  Most criminals are Afro and victims Indians, so I have no issue as long as the PNC implements fully and not selectively.

You are  a racist piece of shit.

We can't deny that crime has increased after the new government fired all those PPP criminals on the PPP government payroll. These criminals are now running riot. The government should arrest the ring leaders.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

heh heh heh heh

if incoherence paid dividends, u would be a rich man rather than a barefoot soldier running inteference fuh PPP tiefman

keep scratching yuh bt

Ease up on your dog whistle. The nation is always on the begging bowl having never balanced a budget in its history. The PPP left an infestation of drugs and drug culture sufficiently so that it us a drag on everything in the society.

The Brits are stepping in to help with technical resources and personnel we cannot remotely provide to fight the crime in general and the drug culture specifically.

The Americans are already in the queue to provide the necessary ancillary support of investigative skills and monitoring resources. We present a threat to them being a corridor for movement of goods and people from the mouth of the Rio Plata to the Caribbean Atlantic coast.

The PPP refused help because the Security forces convinced Jagdeo that they can do the Job.

uh huh

is that what jagdeo told u while on your knees between mouthfulls . . .?

Originally Posted by TK:

Good idea! Their heart is in the right place on the security matter. They don't believe the drug pushers bring in revenues and hurt America...as out boy in PPP believed when he was junior MOF. Everything I see says crime will be down in 2 years.

This drug culture brings in lots of cash to be laundered. This sniffles the efforts of small entrepreneurs who possess the skills and the drive to create niche industry but the never get the chance since they are always undersold by the launderers. The drug culture makes real business costly since it is layered by bribes and payoffs for simple processes  that legitimate business cannot sustain as a business expense.

It is the reason the only new businesses under the PPP is fast food joints and retail outlets because these idiots with the cash  are not driven to create any of the niche industry that sustain a society and would be the bedrock for a proliferation of a strong small business community.

The drug culture is responsible for the gaudy buildings springing up everywhere and the lack of any pride in anything. You need a moral framework and a creative subculture of interested and driven people  for society to grow organically. Money heavy drug economy can never bootstrap a society.

ow! these cock suckers can't refrain from vulgar two line comments.

u sound like u in pain

wuh happen . . . yuh "Nigerian" pastor not using vaseline during 'service'?

You will regret the day that APNU/AFC reduce crime to tolerable levels.  Then you will no longer be able to scream "dem blackman a kill ahbe,"  this while Indo pirates harrass Indo fishermen.  Or Indos pay blacks and Indos to kill other Indos.

Ramjattan gave a brief statement on it on Saturday.

Part of their recommendation will be to fire Ramjattan from being the Home Affairs minister.

The man has yet to show that he has a clue.  He actually makes Rohee look good, showing how bad he is, given that Rohee is a complete jackass.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

We can't deny that crime has increased after the new government fired all those PPP criminals on the PPP government payroll. These criminals are now running riot. The government should arrest the ring leaders.

The Phantoms are now unemployede, and are putting the guns issued to them by the PPP to use.

We told the PPP taht playing with criminals and rogue cops was a bad idea.  The PPP was afraid that some stupid Brit would have told Rohee who to arrest, and that person might have been one of Jagdeo's business partners.

The PPP refused help because the Security forces convinced Jagdeo that they can do the Job.

Jagdeo told Indians that the security forces would rape and rob them, so try again with another lie.

The drug culture is responsible for the gaudy buildings springing up everywhere

the joke is that these buildings are shoddily built, and are empty.

Baseman and company will blame "blackman" for that.  Guyana was a laundermat for people who were part of the "PPP Friends and Family" plan.

If UK is going to be in charge of the local security, then we should fire Ramjattan, he failed thus his job becomes redundant . Remember there are 60+ criminals that were PARDON by Granger are roaming the country. PNC let the Guyanese people know who are these criminals, what crimes they committed, and where they live, if they can be accounted for on a regular interval , then some of the crimes will be down.

Originally Posted by kp:

If UK is going to be in charge of the local security, then we should fire Ramjattan, he failed thus his job becomes redundant . Remember there are 60+ criminals that were PARDON by Granger are roaming the country. PNC let the Guyanese people know who are these criminals, what crimes they committed, and where they live, if they can be accounted for on a regular interval , then some of the crimes will be down.

Ramjattan is instrumental in soliciting their help. They will not take the lead but help their guyanese counterpart with training and equipment.

Granger is correcting a wrong. Prison is not rehabilitory to the young non violent offenders but incubator.  They need a chance to get out of the system and some training to keep them on the straight and narrow.

Baseman and company will blame "blackman" for that.  Guyana was a laundermat for people who were part of the "PPP Friends and Family" plan.

I hope yuh know is black people who doing all the masonry. Suh if the buildings fall down, is dey to be blamed. 

Originally Posted by kp:

Ramjattan is instrumental in soliciting their help. They will not take the lead but help their guyanese counterpart with training and equipment.

Granger is correcting a wrong. Prison is not rehabilitory to the young non violent offenders but incubator.  They need a chance to get out of the system and some training to keep them on the straight and narrow.

I understand what you are saying. But don't you think he should go a little bit further, give them employment too. There is plenty work around-weeding, cleaning drains, etc,etc. The government must show the people the way.

Originally Posted by kp:

I understand what you are saying. But don't you think he should go a little bit further, give them employment too. There is plenty work around-weeding, cleaning drains, etc,etc. The government must show the people the way.

I do not know what he is doing. My wife used to work for a large  foundation that oversaw funding for these kinds of social issues in the international arena. I am sure if he has a definite and public plan he can secure funding for it. I believe UNDP is helping him but that is speculation since what they do seems to be state secret. 

Originally Posted by kp:

I do not know what he is doing. My wife used to work for a large  foundation that oversaw funding for these kinds of social issues in the international arena. I am sure if he has a definite and public plan he can secure funding for it. I believe UNDP is helping him but that is speculation since what they do seems to be state secret. 

You and yuh wife should be given a chance to run this World cause it seems Al YUh 2 in everything, know everything, gat all the answers that mankind need.

Originally Posted by kp:

You and yuh wife should be given a chance to run this World cause it seems Al YUh 2 in everything, know everything, gat all the answers that mankind need.

Dont know what u mean. I am an unemployed street bum....per you. I am sorry you file forms..,could be a street musician like me....got a few old guitars I am getting rid of...let me know your address I will send them to you. I will take a pic of them from my porch and post it for you...got too many...doing fall cleaning.

I hope yuh know is black people who doing all the masonry. Suh if the buildings fall down, is dey to be blamed. 

Clearly you know nothing of construction.  The fault lies with the architects, engineers and contractors.  The humble mason merely follows orders.

Given that these buildings were for laundermat purposes, who cares whether the building is still standing in another 10 years. 

You do not limit those who are already on track to be career criminals low end, low paid jobs.  You provide them with training, so that they can upgrade their skills and hopefully earn higher pay. 

Once trained, you then engage them in activities so that their friends will see what they are missing if stealing the occasional cell phone is how they make a living.

The goal is to keep non violent (or minimally violent) people from graduating into hard core criminals.  If they benefit from all of this, and still prefer crime, then find a prison where feces over flows and the prison guards "forget" to feed them, and then throw away the keys.

Originally Posted by kp:

He cannot give them employment, He can prepare them for for the market place by affording them some tools ie vocational school to get jobs to keep them on the straight and narrow. There is no need to be insulting. Let the hardened prisoners do the weeding if it comes to that. I am however against prisoners working except if it is instrumental in them acquiring useful life skills. Otherwise you create another horrible tradition that abused people ie chain gangs etc.

Ease up on your dog whistle. The nation is always on the begging bowl having never balanced a budget in its history. The PPP left an infestation of drugs and drug culture sufficiently so that it us a drag on everything in the society.

The Brits are stepping in to help with technical resources and personnel we cannot remotely provide to fight the crime in general and the drug culture specifically.

The Americans are already in the queue to provide the necessary ancillary support of investigative skills and monitoring resources. We present a threat to them being a corridor for movement of goods and people from the mouth of the Rio Plata to the Caribbean Atlantic coast.

Parrot man, actually, I would love the US apply US policing tactics in Guyana. You all will be dancing.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

heh heh heh heh

Well, but even you know it's the inconvenient truth.

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

heh heh heh heh

if incoherence paid dividends, u would be a rich man rather than a barefoot soldier running inteference fuh PPP tiefman

keep scratching yuh bt

alyuh worried nah?

doan be bitter bai

heh heh heh heh

Well, but even you know it's the inconvenient truth.

All I know is that you are a worthless piece of racist shit.

20151013_155108

here you go...let me know if you want to be a street musicians like me..

I will take them all you Bum.

My dog will piss on all three of them.