Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang will commence hearing into a lawsuit brought against Opposition Leader David Granger and House Speaker Raphael Trotman, by the Government over the 2012 budget cuts on June 11 2013.

The Government represented by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall contested that the cuts made last year were unconstitutional and must be reversed through the respective.

Speaking to the media, Attorney General Anil Nandlall said he is hopeful the matter will conclude within the shortest possible time.

The Opposition Leader is represented by Basil Williams and Debra Backer while Khemraj Ramjattan is representing the Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman.

Mr. Chang delivered a preliminary ruling on the matter last year and the government contended that the ruling vindicates their position that the cuts were unlawful.

Daa..Da...Daaaa....Da....Daaaaaaa.

Lets see what Councie is talking about here.....

Which Budget Cuts???...... 2012 budget cuts

Attorney General Anil Nandlall said

he is hopeful the matter will conclude

within the shortest possible time......

What is the Status of this case????....Hearing is yet to begin...

Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang will commence hearing into a lawsuit...

When will the Hearing on the 2012 Budget Cuts EXPECTED`to begin????

on June 11 2013.

Can anyone say Councie is so Excited now....

Is it because eeee $hiting eee skin...

and eee don't have on de panties?

Councie gwan da side....

don't tell we about your problems...

Until after June 11

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Ian Chang is not a credible person.

He has been described as the most corrupt member of the judiciary in South America, and easy to bribe.

Hey T,

Can you give us any written documentation to support your accusation?

He has been described as the most corrupt member of the judiciary in South America, and easy to bribe.

Somebody gotta pay for this massive building Chang putting up. Is so it go in Guyana.

Hey T,

Mr T and Chief are empty headed IDIOTS!!!

Hey T,

Pull yuh head out yuh kakahole and take a look at the hotel he build on public servant salary.....
Last edited by sachin_05
Originally Posted by sachin_05:
Hey T,

Pull yuh head out yuh kakahole and take a look at the hotel he build on public servant salary.....

Very impressive Hotel indeed.  Ah weh Gad find dem Larwa dis from???

2012 budget cuts……This is wha Councie making all da noise About....

AG gets 5 days to file statement of claim

May 9, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Attorney General (AG) Anil Nandlall will file a statement of claim within five days to show the wrong committed by the Opposition when they made cuts to the 2012 budget.

The AG was ordered to do so by Chief Justice Ian Chang when the matter of the Government versus A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Speaker of the National Assembly was called at the High Court yesterday.

Representing the Speaker, Raphael Trotman, the first named defendant, are Attorneys at law Khemraj Ramjattan and Christopher Ram;

for the second-named defendant, APNU, Deborah Barker and Basil Williams were in appearance. 

Attorney General Anil Nandall

The AG is for the complainant- the Government and.....

Senior Counsel Ashton Chase is appearing for the Minister of Finance Dr Ashni Singh.

After a short period of back and forth between the two parties on a previously filed issue, it was highlighted that the AG had not filed the statement of claim which would thus lead to a statement of defence from the defendants.

Lawyers for the defendants thus agreed that within 14 days they would file a statement of defence.

The AG also expressed that within three days he would be ready with a statement of reply.

The parties will return to court on June 11 when the AG will begin with his claim.

The 2012 budget cuts came to the attention of the courts after the Administration sought legal intervention to replenish the $21B cut from last year’s $191B budget.

The AFC and APNU had used their one-seat advantage to slash the Government’s allocation for the country’s agencies, stating either that there was no need for the funds or that there was no result despite the revenue being injected in certain agencies. Agencies affected were the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC), Government Information Agency (GINA), National Communications Network (NCN), the Low Carbon Development Strategy and the Guyana Power and Light (GPL).

The AG had said that it is the government’s view that the National Assembly, like every other creature of the Constitution, must act and function in the manner provided for and contemplated by the Constitution and opined that this was not done.

He had stated, “It is also quite unfortunate that the Honourable Speaker, an attorney-at-law, has seen it fit to conclude that the very decisions of the National Assembly which are the subject of the legal challenge are “legitimate” and that the challenge itself is “unconstitutional”, when these are the very issues that are before the Court for the Court’s determination.

By so doing, the AG said that the Speaker violated certain trite and axiomatic legal principles.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The joint opposition could only approve or disapprove the National Budget, cutting it is unconstitutional

The joint opposition are only door posts as far as the PPP is concerned. They harp on the one seat majority without focusing on the one seat defect that made them a minority looking to dominate all power in unrestrained ways in the state.

Constitutions stand on the legitimacy of the authority of the people and this one is, as the PPP themselves complained about for over a 2 decades, a totalitarian constitution. It has as much authority and backing of the people as a roll of toilet paper.

Originally Posted by God:

Somebody gotta pay for this massive building Chang putting up. Is so it go in Guyana.

You liar, this is not Chang's property, it is another person, a businessman in fact whose name I will not call but let you relent in case Chang sue you for slander.

Originally Posted by God:

You liar, this is not Chang's property, it is another person, a businessman in fact whose name I will not call but let you relent in case Chang sue you for slander.

I've known Ian (aka Patch) and his younger brother Trevor since we were teenagers. In fact, I saw Trevor on my most recent trip to Guyana a few months ago and we chatted for a while including the mention of this building.

Stop with your barefaced lies. Nobody believes you on this forum.