Govt hogs mega oil profits

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

… stifles economic growth with high fuel prices

The Mid-Year economic report just released by the Government confirmed that it has been raking in mega revenues from lower world oil prices by not passing the savings on to consumers and businesses as has been the norm in other countries.

The Government has rather chosen to increase the duties collected by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) on the commodity as well as allow the State-owned Guyoil Company to make windfall profits.

The Mid-Year report stated that while overall “Customs and trade tax collections remained stable at $5.9 billion, in the first half of 2015… Excise tax collections totalled $15.2 billion, an increase of $2.9 billion. This resulted from a $3.2 billion increase from petroleum products.” The report continued, “Increases in petroleum products were due to increase in excise tax rates applicable on imports of gasoline and diesel oil in 2015 when compared to the rates applicable in 2014. During the period January to June 2014, the excise tax rates applicable on gasoline and diesel oil were 20 per cent and 15 per cent respectively as compared to 50 per cent and 45 per cent, respectively, from January 20 to June 31, 2015.”

What this means in essence is that the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Administration had more than doubled the taxes on gasoline (20 per cent to 50 per cent) and increased by almost than 100 per cent the taxes on diesel (25 per cent to 45 per cent). The new A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Administration has since continued that policy although since the change in government the economy has flattened out and badly needs stimuli from all quarters to get it moving upwards.

Cheaper fuel would allow businesses, especially manufacturing concerns, to improve their cash flow positively and be in a position to ride out the incipient recession. The rice industry also uses large quantities of fuel and the lower prices would have meant the difference between the losses presently being felt greater than profits.

Many businesses bypass the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) and generate their own electricity, and lower fuel prices would have had a direct buoyant effect. GPL bought most of its fuel from Suriname at the world market cheap prices, and it also was allowed to make huge profits, since its rates were approved by the Public Utilities Commission two years ago when fuel was more than two-and a half times costlier.

All of these pressures have helped to dampen business activity in comparison to our competing economies even in the region.

To add salt to the fuel ‘wound’, the Mid-Year report also revealed that Guyoil, which was formed specifically to induce competition in the consumer petroleum market by selling gasoline at the cheapest possible prices also refused to pass on savings at the gas pump and raked in record amounts.

The report stated, “Public enterprises recorded a surplus of $4 billion, in the first half of 2015, compared to a deficit of $2.5 billion recorded for the same period in 2014. This is mainly on account of improved performance by Guyana Oil Company Ltd. (Guyoil) which realised an overall surplus of $1.7 billion for the period under review compared to a deficit of $0.9 million reported in first half 2014. The main contributory factor to the improved performance by Guyoil was the reduced cost of fuel. While there was a 16.7 per cent decrease in the sale of fuel products, this was compensated by a $5.3 billion reduction in the payment to creditors as a result of a significant decrease in the acquisition costs of fuel in the first half of 2015.”

What this means is although less fuel was imported, Guyoil made a profit of $1.7billion as opposed to a loss of $0.9billion in the comparable half year of 2014. This means that Guyoil took in $2.6 billion that could have ended up in the pockets of Guyanese car and bus owners. This would have been pumped into the economy in consumer spending, creating a virtuous cycle as a stimulus for other business activities.

The present Government, as did the PPP/C Government, has made a perfunctory gesture to reduce gasoline prices but nowhere near what is justified to get the economy going, according to economists.

The Government has rather chosen to increase the duties collected by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) on the commodity as well as allow the State-owned Guyoil Company to make windfall profits.

Originally Posted by asj:

Where was the guyana times when this was the practice of the last regime? The government cannot pass on all the savings. The Us does not. It has heavy tax of fuel.

Are we now crying for the same thing the PPP was doing?

When are you going to  ever say what is right is right for the Guyanese PEOPLE.or are you just blind sighted.I guess they have to pay the FAT PIGS.

Originally Posted by kp:

When are you going to  ever say what is right is right for the Guyanese PEOPLE.or are you just blind sighted.I guess they have to pay the FAT PIGS.

This is not presently rice for oil where farmers are owed. The state is not getting oil  on  barter a scheme. We have to pay hard cash. The monies is for all of Guyana. The PPP used the farmers rice to bootstrap their for profit oil trade. They got rich and the farmers got screwed.

Originally Posted by kp:

Since when the PPP/Crooks care about the rice farmers?

When the PPP/C were doing it, it was wrong then, just as it is wrong now.

The PPP had an obligation to spend the earnings in the rice industry. The made millions and stuffed it in their pockets. This government is truly free to spend the money on whatever project it chooses

Listen to this coolie hater, PNC barking mongrel. What an educated failure!

You do know that for most of the first half of the year the PPP was in power. In fact this even acknowledges that it was the PPP which increased taxes and fees, with APNU/AFC merely continuing this policy.

The Indo KKK is quite active, and increasingly looking quite foolish.

I am sorry you do not see the difference. I am indeed sorry that  being a moron is a chronic disposition.

Where was the guyana times when this was the practice of the last regime? The government cannot pass on all the savings. The Us does not. It has heavy tax of fuel.

They need to impose a higher tax on cassava bread, that would get you where the sun don't shine!

And yet the Indo KKK said nothing then.

So why the screams now?

Dumb kraut, because the low oil price has been sustained.  The plummeting oil prices has been a fairly recent event.

So why the screams now?

Dumb kraut, because the low oil price has been sustained.  The plummeting oil prices has been a fairly recent event.

Plumeting prices were evident since late last year.

You really need to try harder to establish the case that the PPP were better managers of the economy than the current gov't.  From what I see, they are equally incompetent.

So why the screams now?

You really need to try harder to establish the case that the PPP were better managers of the economy than the current gov't.  From what I see, they are equally incompetent.

The PPP did reduce fuel by 30 percent under their watch, so how is that "equally incompetent"? Where is the current administration attempt to adjust fuel tax to current market prices? Now go ahead and perform your usual Carib dance to support the incompetency of current government. 

I am sorry you do not see the difference. I am indeed sorry that  being a moron is a chronic disposition.

Do you know the difference between a sakawinki monkey and a parrot? Hint..it has nothing to do with piwari and cassava bread.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

So why the screams now?

The PPP did reduce fuel by 30 percent under their watch, so how is that "equally incompetent"? Where is the current administration attempt to adjust fuel tax to current market prices? Now go ahead and perform your usual Carib dance to support the incompetency of current government. 

And how much has the cost of oil dropped since then?

Looking forward to you telling us what an excellent job the PPP did with sugar, and how brilliant they were in concentrating rice exports into the hands of a belligerent nation, which under their watch committed numerous acts of hostility against Guyana.  Guyana has lost preferential access and guaranteed prices for sugar and rice into the EU. What was the PPPs response.

I mean you all scream that the PPP were brilliant managers.  I have been very vocal in my position that APNU/AFC have not been brilliant.  I have said that there were dunces BEFORE the election, and my position still stands.

So the onus is on YOU to prove your point.  YOU are the one who defends incompetence for racial reasons. I don't.

They need to impose a higher tax on cassava bread, that would get you where the sun don't shine!

Would that be in addition to a tax on rotie?

So why the screams now?

Taxes   are set arbitrariily. Also, the US does not reduce tax on gas because price falls. The tax falls precisely because it is less to tax.

The previous administration bartered oil for rice. The price they set on par with market prices had in large margins. They kept it. When price fell, they were obliged to lower their price and they did so temporarily.

Presently, prices are pegged at market prices and oil are bought in direct transaction.  They do not have the margins as the previous administration. The reduction is already built in as will the increase if prices go up

What oil profits?  None before 2021.

Who wins the 2020 elections got money.

I think Bharat is a lucky SOB.

He ride out the mess as the Government continue to make elementary mistakes in an economy in the dustbin.

Who put the economy in the dustbin - Bharat.

Who got to tek it out?  Bharat.

2020 elections will be sweet sweet.

What oil profits?  None before 2021.

Who wins the 2020 elections got money.

I think Bharat is a lucky SOB.

He ride out the mess as the Government continue to make elementary mistakes in an economy in the dustbin.

Who put the economy in the dustbin - Bharat.

Who got to tek it out?  Bharat.

2020 elections will be sweet sweet.

suh . . . u sign on officially fuh PPP 2020 yet?

So why the screams now?

Taxes   are set arbitrariily. Also, the US does not reduce tax on gas because price falls. The tax falls precisely because it is less to tax.

The previous administration bartered oil for rice. The price they set on par with market prices had in large margins. They kept it. When price fell, they were obliged to lower their price and they did so temporarily.

Presently, prices are pegged at market prices and oil are bought in direct transaction.  They do not have the margins as the previous administration. The reduction is already built in as will the increase if prices go up

I don't think the US has a government control 'Guyoil' theres the difference, the US government is not in the same position to set prices and pocket the profits. I can only stress whats reality - fuel prices not only in US all over the Caribbean is at an all time low. Guyana with like any other commodity mirrors the US, when oil prices climb they were matching prices on the dime now gas dip below 2.00 but consumers are still paying US5.00 per gallon. 

They can continue to fill their pockets rationalizing they can because the PPP did it but I can tell you this as a rice farmer - if they continue to deny rice farmers market prices on diesel they are only shooting themselves in the foot....  

So why the screams now?

I don't think the US has a government control 'Guyoil' theres the difference, the US government is not in the same position to set prices and pocket the profits. I can only stress whats reality - fuel prices not only in US all over the Caribbean is at an all time low. Guyana with like any other commodity mirrors the US, when oil prices climb they were matching prices on the dime now gas dip below 2.00 but consumers are still paying US5.00 per gallon. 

They can continue to fill their pockets rationalizing they can because the PPP did it but I can tell you this as a rice farmer - if they continue to deny rice farmers market prices on diesel they are only shooting themselves in the foot....  

I was giving a comparison. The tax is a percentage of price and the price is set by the market. The tax is for specific expenditures. One does not lower the tax because prices fall. One would lower the tax, maybe, if prices are too "taxing".

Guyana buys oil at market prices and have to sell at a margin. I do not know the purchasing price and transportation costs but that is what you need to speak to. Since Guyoil is a monopoly and that monopoly exists because of the oil for rice system there is no need for it. That is what the ask should be not for cheaper oil from a government monopoly. The market should be liberalized.

All I was saying is that with the petrocarbide deal grounded in the rice barter system the government had lots of margin to lower prices. The present regime does not given costs are higher. The price with the petrocarbide deal cannot be compared to now. But you are right, 5 dollars appears a bit steep but consider europe is paying around 6 dollars.

So why the screams now?

Looking forward to you telling us what an excellent job the PPP did with sugar, and how brilliant they were in concentrating rice exports into the hands of a belligerent nation, which under their watch committed numerous acts of hostility against Guyana.  Guyana has lost preferential access and guaranteed prices for sugar and rice into the EU. What was the PPPs response.

I mean you all scream that the PPP were brilliant managers.  I have been very vocal in my position that APNU/AFC have not been brilliant.  I have said that there were dunces BEFORE the election, and my position still stands.

So the onus is on YOU to prove your point.  YOU are the one who defends incompetence for racial reasons. I don't.

Sooo Whats your excuse for defending incompetence? Who give hoot if its racist or not. Bottom line you are different Baseman and others you accuse of indo KKK - PNC rig election = right for PPP to deny LGE, PPP use government control Guyoil to set prices and rake in profits = to [according to you] same rights for the current regime. Are you now a black KKK in the making?... 

1.  The PNC didn't rig the election in 2015.  Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP, just as they did in 2011.  How can the PPP have been the sitting gov't and allowed rigging AGAINST them to occur?

2.  All of this PPP screaming is hypocrisy and motivated by racism.  The PPP was incompetent, corrupt and racist.  They were INEFFECTIVE in dealing with Venezuela, and furthermore mortgaged the rice industry to the ramblings of a lunatic.

Other Caribbean countries can play footsie with Maduro as he has no claims on them. For the PPP to have fallen for this scam is pure FOOLISHNESS.

3.  I have had lots to say against APNU/AFC terms of the pay increase, as well as in terms of their lack of transparency, coherency, and innovativeness in managing Guyana. I DO NOT support a party because of race. YOU DO!

I suggest that you look at many of my exchanges with redux since the beginning of this year, and you will see that I can be very critical of APNU/AFC when I see fit.