Govt reportedly taps Riyad Insanally for U.S. mission

GOVERNMENT has reportedly nominated Dr Riyad Insanally, current OAS Representative to Trinidad and Tobago as its next ambassador to the United States.

Government is still awaiting agréments from Washington for Insanally’s appointment as well as for several other diplomatic postings. In a letter to the Editor of this newspaper, Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge in referring to the appointment of new ambassadors, said that among Heads of Missions to be appointed, or for whom agréments have been requested, are a few former members of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, who returned to contribute to the national struggle after extensive service abroad, or in the Region on the diplomatic circuit.
Prior to his appointment as OAS Representative in T&T, Insanally was an adviser to the OAS Assistant Secretary-General. A national of Guyana, Insanally has also served as a Senior Foreign Service Officer in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guyana, as a political adviser to the first two Secretaries-General of the Association of Caribbean States and as Guyana’s Sugar Representative in Europe. He studied Modern Languages and Latin American Studies and holds the MA and MPhil degrees from the University of Cambridge, and received his PhD from Harvard. He is married with two children.
Two weeks ago the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced six diplomatic appointments to the United Kingdom, Canada, China, Belgium, Cuba and Suriname. The announcement came 10 months after the APNU+AFC coalition government took office. In a statement to the media, the ministry had said that David Hales will serve as Guyana’s Ambassador to Belgium. Hales was a Director at the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat. Businessman and long-standing People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) member Frederick Hamley Case, will serve as Guyana’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom, replacing Laleshwar Singh, who had served in that capacity for over 20 years under the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP) administration.
Meanwhile, former Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly under the People’s National Congress (PNC), Shadow Foreign Affairs Minister and Attorney Clarissa Riehl has been appointed Guyana’s High Commissioner to Canada. She replaces PPP/C member Harry Narine Nawbatt. Also appointed Ambassador is Bayney Karran, who will serve as Guyana’s Ambassador to China. Karran has a wealth of experience in foreign policy and diplomacy and has served as Ambassador to the U.S., the Organisation of American States (OAS), Venezuela, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Mexico. Former Political Assistant to President Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, Halim Majeed, has been appointed Guyana’s Ambassador to Cuba. He replaces Attorney Mitra Devi Ali, while Esther Griffith will hold the post of Consul-General, Nickerie, Suriname. No appointments have been made to the United States and Brazil.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has also announced that Ambassador Ivan Evelyn, former Ambassador of Guyana to Brazil, will replace Griffith as the Chief of Protocol. In January, Greenidge had told the Guyana Chronicle that the delay in the announcement of the diplomatic appointments was a result of the non-receipt of the host countries’ agreement to accept those persons identified by Guyana to serve as diplomats abroad.
He described the process as a “tricky one,” noting that it should be dealt with delicately. Last month, Guyana’s Ambassador to Venezuela Cheryl Miles was accredited by that government following a prolonged wait due to an age-old controversy with this country over ownership of two-thirds of Guyana.
Ambassador Miles presented her Letters of Credence to Venezuela’s Minister of People’s Power for External Relations Delcy Rodriguez, on February 17. Meanwhile, President Granger had said that his government wants to ensure “that there is balance, that there is competence and the interest of the country would be put first above party or other interests,” in selecting the local diplomats. “If we are to advance that thrust of economic diplomacy, we have to look for the best. That’s why it is taking so long,” he told the Guyana Chronicle.

So I await baseman and others screaming their usual nonsense. At least in its diplomatic appointments APNU/AFC has sought to get some of the best available, including this appointment.

Really!!! 1 to 25. How you justify that. 

ian posted:

Even when the facts are before you, you still cannot see through your bigoted blinders. The PPP never hired one black person to be the diplomatic face of our nation for 22 years!

ian posted:

Even when the facts are before you, you still cannot see through your bigoted blinders. The PPP never hired one black person to be the diplomatic face of our nation for 22 years!

You need to remove your black blinders. Just for start,  Is Elisabeth Harper brown .

The fact that you say PPP never hired a black person prove you are a dunce and  speak from your Ass.  

ian posted:
ian posted:

You need to remove your black blinders. Just for start,  Is Elisabeth Harper brown .

The fact that you say PPP never hired a black person prove you are a dunce and  speak from your Ass.  

Where was she ever the face of the country in an ambassadorial capacity? And what smarts do you possess to make the complaint above about one when the PPP never had one until Suriname and there is a handful on indians in very important postings...in fact plum postings above?

BTW, I happen not to have any black blood in my veins but is commenting on fairness which you miss because you presume by I am speaking from that miserable biased place that reeks in your own soul.

ian posted:
ian posted:

Ian, you do know about Elizabeth & Rohee?

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/is...7#445610807399973477

Last edited by Mitwah
ian posted:
ian posted:

Where was she ever the face of the country in an ambassadorial capacity? And what smarts do you possess to make the complaint above about one when the PPP never had one until Suriname and there is a handful on indians in very important postings...in fact plum postings above?

BTW, I happen not to have any black blood in my veins but is commenting on fairness which you miss because you presume by I am speaking from that miserable biased place that reeks in your own soul.

The fact that you don't know she was a ambassador , prove your lack of knowledge. Do your research before you say anything.  

I don't care if your veins have no black blood.

You need to have a paternity test base on your bigot views on this forum . 

KUMBAYA!!!

Yes! Dr. Riyad Insanally is a great choice for this post. Most qualified.

I think he is "bandit" Insanally"s son, the QC teacher who later gave lessons from his home in Brickdam and Marc Reza's brother. 

ian posted:
ian posted:
ian posted:

The fact that you don't know she was a ambassador , prove your lack of knowledge. Do your research before you say anything.  

I don't care if your veins have no black blood.

You need to have a paternity test base on your bigot views on this forum . 

KUMBAYA!!!

According to Cochore News, her appointment came after many years of being involved in a clandestine extramarital relationship with  Rohee.

susan posted:

Yes! Dr. Riyad Insanally is a great choice for this post. Most qualified.

I think he is "bandit" Insanally"s son, the QC teacher who later gave lessons from his home in Brickdam and Marc Reza's brother. 

correct susan . . . u know some stuff deh

Vish M posted:

Finally the GOG is finding talented people.

Bandit was in the wings for decade!

Looking forward to his US stay!

Vish...your slip is showing...finally finding talented people presumes that previously  there were no talented people. But each of us have our chains we drag about like old Marley in the scrooge story!

ian posted:
ian posted:

Ian, you do know about Elizabeth & Rohee?

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/is...7#445610807399973477

No Mit, will look it up.  

FACTS ABOUT ELIZABETH HARPER

[1] She started working at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1976 under the Burnham administration.

[2] She served as a Consular at the Guyana High Commission in London from 1991 [under Hoyte] to 1995 [under Jagan].

[3] She was Guyana's Ambassador to Caricom from 2003 to 2015 as well as Director-General of the MOFA.

FACTS ABOUT ELIZABETH HARPER

[1] She started working at the Minister of Foreign Affairs in 1976 under the Burnham administration.

[2] She served as a Consular at the Guyana High Commission in London from 1991 [under Hoyte] to 1995 [under Jagan].

[3] She was Guyana's Ambassador to Caricom from 2003 to 2015 as well as Director-General of the MOFA.

Thanks for the update. I am speaking or the face of the nation before another nation as an ambassador that was directly installed by the PPP.  They did not see fit to post one black person as the face of the nation as a representative of to that country.

ian posted:

You are incorrect:

In 1992, with the return of democracy to Guyana, the PPP were returned to office by free and fair elections. Benn acceptedPresident Dr. Jagan’s offer to be on the PPP’s list of candidates and won a seat in Parliament. He was later appointed Guyana’sHigh Commissioner to Canada, a position he held with distinction from 1993 to 1998.

AJ
. Just for start,  Is Elisabeth Harper brown .

She wasn't sent on an overseas assignment, and some might argue that people of much greater talent were dismissed by the PPP.

BTW where is she? She didn't fool blacks to vote PPP, so they dumped her?  Or she suddenly found the PPP milk to be poison?

Abu Jihad posted:
 He was later appointed Guyana’sHigh Commissioner to Canada, a position he held with distinction from 1993 to 1998.

So a devout PPP loyalist was rewarded with a post.  Once his time was up he was replaced by an Indian. This being typical of the PPP in that era.

By 2000 they had "cleansed" out the blacks, except for one or two, who remained serving in an "acting" capacity. 

I remember hearing the poor "acting" ambassador to the UN, delivering a PPP propaganda rant, at an event to celebrate Guyana's independence.  The vast majority of the crowd being quite insulted, given that they were hostile to the PPP, and were angered by the PPP usurping an event that should instead of been used to UNIFY Guyanese.  The poor guy being visibly discomforted when he read his speech.  No doubt threatened with never receiving an appointment, should he have refused to engage in this travesty.

To Bayney Karran's credit, on the several occasions where I saw him speak, he SPOKE as a GUYANESE, realizing that as a divided people he would be doing damage by injecting politics, rather than seeking unity.

The Indo supremacists can jump and scream but we have seen several Indians selected as overseas based diplomats.

Riyad aka Bandit would be a good choice for this position.  He has a long track record in the foreign service, a sound QC and Harvard education, and has served his country well.  He is also multi-lingual.  I would have picked this guy to be the Minister of Foreign Affairs. 

This is what the PNC has always been good at - finding highly educated people to work as ambassadors and diplomats even though they were a major drain on the country's financial resources and brought nothing to benefit the people of Guyana.  It's a big show-off thing to present themselves as world class leaders when their people were starving and the country was going downhill to achieve the status of the second Haiti in the Western world. Congratulations to Riyad. I hope he can influence foreign nations in bringing another bonus  like what we got from Norwegians for our commitment to preserve our pristine tropical forest.

This is what the PNC has always been good at -

No you would rather then incompetent, drunkard, criminals who the PPP often sent as heads of mission.

Note that Norway thought that the PPP was corrupt so insisted that others determine how these funds were going to be used.  They saw Guyana as another Haiti.