Govt to relaunch Agri and  Industrial Bank

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo engages in discussion with a young entrepreneur during his tour of the JR Building Supplies booth at the Berbice Expo [GINA photo)

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo engages in discussion with a young entrepreneur during his tour of the JR Building Supplies booth at the Berbice Expo (GINA photo)

…to intermediate funds for economic expansion

In pointing that Government must play a key role in ensuring that local investors enjoy favourable benefits and concessions and there was “ample opportunity” for investment in both agriculture and aquaculture, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo announced the reestablishment of an Agricultural and Industrial Development Bank. With Guyana having a comparative advantage over many countries in agriculture, funding has proven to be a major constraint in the sector not moving towards diversification and vertical integration.

The Prime Minister was at the time making the feature address at the opening of the Berbice Expo on Friday at the Albion Community Centre Ground, Corentyne, Berbice.

The Prime Minister highlighted the bounty of nature that Guyana was blessed with, saying that he was proud that Berbice in particular produced some of the finest agricultural produce. He noted that Guyana had a high rate of unemployment and the Development Bank would provide seed capital and financing to the Agricultural Sector, which would boost entrepreneurship.

“Our Government recognises that entrepreneurship is necessary in getting young people into small businesses as self-employers and as creators of wealth. We recognise also that Government must play a key role in ensuring that local investors enjoy the same benefits and concessions as foreign investors,” the Prime Minister stated.

He said Government hoped that the Berbice Expo would “inspire new entrepreneurs to come forward and occupy the space for more investment”, as he reaffirmed its commitment to the development of micro enterprises in Guyana which are critical to strengthening and sustaining the country’s economy, the Government Information Agency (GINA) reported.

The Prime Minister acknowledged that serious challenges were being experienced in the traditional export sectors – rice, sugar and gold, with the loss of the Venezuelan market and low paddy prices, continued problems in the sugar industry and the plummeting world gold price.

Nagamootoo told the gathering at the Berbice Expo, “…the answer lies in diversification…You have signalled that we must not depend only on rice and sugar to create or maintain employment. We need to get into other types of business to create wealth, to promote jobs and offer a better life in our various communities.”

The announcement of an Agri Bank was applauded by the hilt to the Private Sector Commission (PSC), who was present at the Berbice Expo. While the Private Sector banks have been very forthcoming in supporting the Agricultural Sector, the risks involved have evidently proved to be too great for a more expansive lending policy that could be undertaken by a development bank. Such institutions normally charge lower interest rates than the commercial banks.

While this initiative is much welcomed by the Private Sector, it is not a new idea, the Guyana Agricultural and Industrial Development Bank (GAIBANK) was established many years ago, but was closed down over a decade ago. One of the problems was in collecting outstanding debt that was extended. In the present climate of higher liquidity in the banking community, however, the Agri Bank would be able to intermediate funds to the sector in a more focused manner because of its specialisation.

It should be noted that proper management will be crucial in order for this bank to survive especially now, given the state of the economy and the plight which those in the agricultural sector was currently facing.

For a number of years, the privately-owned Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry (GBTI) has been in the forefront of providing loans to rice farmers and other persons involved in agriculture.

Didn't the PNC Government had an Agricultural Bank during its heyday, and this went belly up, these people don't learn.

Another entity that will be jobs for the boys.

Originally Posted by asj:

Didn't the PNC Government had an Agricultural Bank during its heyday, and this went belly up, these people don't learn.

I know why the bank failed.  An employee of the bank who migrate to Canada said that The PNC employed party hacks who know nothing about accounting and agriculture.  He said he himself turned away Indians who had wanted loans to buy fertilizers and equipments because he was told to do so.  They had to show party cards or their loans were not approved.

That's the PNC for you.

I know why the bank failed.  An employee of the bank who migrate to Canada said that The PNC employed party hacks who know nothing about accounting and agriculture.  He said he himself turned away Indians who had wanted loans to buy fertilizers and equipments because he was told to do so.  They had to show party cards or their loans were not approved.

That's the PNC for you.

The Finance Ministry was in control of the Agri Bank, at the time Green was the the Chairman, my Friend who was a Loan Officer were called to his Office mant times to be told to approve Loans for Party Members who were NOT qualified.

That's the PNC for you.

The Finance Ministry was in control of the Agri Bank, at the time Green was the the Chairman, my Friend who was a Loan Officer were called to his Office mant times to be told to approve Loans for Party Members who were NOT qualified.

you had a friend he was probably drunk all the time  

That's the PNC for you.

AHOLE , yuh come back fuh licks?? Good luck you PIECE OF RAW SEWAGE.  Thank you for coming back to sweeten meh Kafee!!!!!

That's the PNC for you.

AHOLE , yuh come back fuh licks?? Good luck you PIECE OF RAW SEWAGE.  Thank you for coming back to sweeten meh Kafee!!!!!

a drunk is a drunk is a drunk always a drunk i miss you bitch did not had a laugh for a while now 

That's the PNC for you.

a drunk is a drunk is a drunk always a drunk i miss you bitch did not had a laugh for a while now 

YUh still ah tyek Kaak ah Canada and on Food Stamp????

That's the PNC for you.

Bhai.. lots of people including Indos borrowed from the

bank and did not pay back.

That's the PNC for you.

YUh still ah tyek Kaak ah Canada and on Food Stamp????

food stamp yes i leave the ****** part to u and the snake

Originally Posted by Django:

That's the PNC for you.

Django, Dont be confused, many Indos were/are Party Members of the PNC

That's the PNC for you.

No disagreement bro,i know that era.

i see we come to a foreign country and turn stupid i guess u two never try to borrow money from the commercial banks 

What! The commercial banks abroad asking for party cards?

Z

That's the PNC for you.

No disagreement bro,i know that era.

we all fight in that era for a better government but then we get the ppp and bar-rat and we hold we head and halla 

Originally Posted by Zed:

i see we come to a foreign country and turn stupid i guess u two never try to borrow money from the commercial banks 

What! The commercial banks abroad asking for party cards?

no bai the interest rate in them nice guyana bank to do business 

Rice farmers must also enjoy the benefits of their hard work.   Moses is a talker and not a doer.  Nothing will come out of his conceited tour.

Here is what rice farmers need.

1.  Regulations which force millers to pay them within a stipulated number of days after satisfactory receipt of product.

2.  Assistance with reducing their costs of production.  This can range from technical assistance, help with drainage and irrigation issues, and tax and import duty concessions.

3.  Access to cheaping working capital financing, to help them mobilize to plant. harvest and to sustain them until they get paid.

What they should NOT get are guaranteed prices.  Rice is a commodity, and the price fluctuates.  Commodity producers have to deal with this, and no other commodity producer in Guyana demands, or expects this.

So you rather farmers get loans from loan sharks.

GAIB went belly up because of corruption.

Rice farmers must also enjoy the benefits of their hard work.   Moses is a talker and not a doer.  Nothing will come out of his conceited tour.

Here is what rice farmers need.

1.  Regulations which force millers to pay them within a stipulated number of days after satisfactory receipt of product.

2.  Assistance with reducing their costs of production.  This can range from technical assistance, help with drainage and irrigation issues, and tax and import duty concessions.

3.  Access to cheaping working capital financing, to help them mobilize to plant. harvest and to sustain them until they get paid.

What they should NOT get are guaranteed prices.  Rice is a commodity, and the price fluctuates.  Commodity producers have to deal with this, and no other commodity producer in Guyana demands, or expects this.

According to the Rice Factory Amendment Act of 2007, millers are required by law to complete payment to the farmers for their produce within 42 days of receipt of product.

It appears the millers are not adhering to the law.

So to continue they criminal, corrupt ways, the PNC wants to bring back such a Bank!!

yes bai yes when you get sober you will see why they want to bring back the bank to rob it and also help the farmers not pradoville 

So to continue they criminal, corrupt ways, the PNC wants to bring back such a Bank!!

yes bai yes when you get sober you will see why they want to bring back the bank to rob it and also help the farmers not pradoville 

You cant see anything, yuh gat to sit in the Basement till yuh get the OK to go back up in the kitchen.

I pray that some of the money reached the farmers and not all are going to be stolen.  First you will have to consider who is going to deposit large sums of money into the bank.  I was told that the people from Brooklyn will rather invest in Guyana than the USA.