GRA demands millions in taxes from Irfaan Ali

September 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
Former Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali

Former Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali, has reportedly received a letter from the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) to pay up to$40M in taxes for a Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) he imported last year.

Click on link for complete article.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....xes-from-irfaan-ali/

On my recent short visit all the talk i am hearing

is millions i hear so much till i get bassidy.

Here is the truth:

β€œI was shocked when this officer approached me… after the Parliament to inform me that I will be receiving a letter from GRA…asking me to pay taxes on this vehicle.”
Ali claimed that the issue is really about β€œwitch hunting” and β€œvindictive action” aimed at members of the former Government, which β€œwill not move me and my convictions”.

The GRA letter that Irfaan Ali said granted him exemptions.

β€œAll my actions have been consistently within the laws of Guyana and as such, I am putting the country on notice that these targeted actions to silence me will not succeed.”
Ali insisted that he is prepared to deal with and have all the documents to justify the facts.
β€œI anxiously await the purported letter. I have nothing to hide or fear so would never succumb to any threats.”

Fat cow Moses can drive in his 22 Million SUV while Ministers who are entitled by law to have tax exempt are now victimized because they are Indo.

He nah get de $22 million SUV yet. When it comes it will be the property of the GOG, not MVN.

Irfaan's SUV is registered in his name. He already had one duty-free but ordered another prematurely.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Danyael:

US$20K=GUY$4M...KN say GUY$40M in taxes for SUV

so them add a zero to the $4M.

Sometimes I have difficulty with KN reporting. It often shows the inexperience of reporters, like stating its '0700 in the evening'.

Its like a cane cutter all dressed up, with new wrist watch at a wedding. When asked the time, he said ' Its five minutes past half past four'.

De cane cutta na from Albion.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Sometimes I have difficulty with KN reporting. It often shows the inexperience of reporters, like stating its '0700 in the evening'.

Its like a cane cutter all dressed up, with new wrist watch at a wedding. When asked the time, he said ' Its five minutes past half past four'.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

That canecutter either has Dutch or Surinamese connection. The way he told you the time is the Dutch method.

Or he got the watch from Suriname.

BaiTola, dis cane kuttah sound like me nana(my parents told us this). He had a wrist watch on. A man asked him waht time it was. His reply was "watch deh pan me haan, wah raas me gat fuh tell you wah time now".

Fat cow Moses can drive in his 22 Million SUV while Ministers who are entitled by law to have tax exempt are now victimized because they are Indo.

He nah get de $22 million SUV yet. When it comes it will be the property of the GOG, not MVN.

Irfaan's SUV is registered in his name. He already had one duty-free but ordered another prematurely.

According to the letter Irfaan  was entitled to two motor vehicles, he served as an officer  for more than eight years.

BaiTola, dis cane kuttah sound like me nana(my parents told us this). He had a wrist watch on. A man asked him waht time it was. His reply was "watch deh pan me haan, wah raas me gat fuh tell you wah time now".