(Eyewitness)David Granger wants to be leader of this country. The entire country. But yet he’s the individual who’s been behind the movement to highlight the commemoration of the Son Chapman tragedy back in 1964. And what’s the Son Chapman?? A bomb of unknown origin blew up the ship that ferried persons between Georgetown and what is now Linden. About 43 souls perished.

Now this Eyewitness doesn’t have any problems with the commemoration per se. But in the divided politics of Guyana – it sends the signal that the PNC only cares about one segment of the society. Fact of the matter is that all the persons that perished aboard the Son Chapman were African Guyanese. But just two weeks before, there’d been a terrible ethnic cleansing in the same area – when 3000 Indian Guyanese residents – practically the entire community – had to be evacuated after 200+ homes had been torched, two killed and several raped. Shouldn’t the PNC talk about a memorial to them also?? And the five killed after the Son Chapman explosion? Are they not also Guyanese? Don’t they and their descendants have feelings also??

Conscience, Eyewitness has a cock-eyed view of history.

In 1948 the colonial police shot and killed 5 Indian sugar workers at Enmore Estate.

In 1976 Granger's PNC party built a monument at Enmore to those martyrs. The PNC-built monument is standing tall up to today and that is where PPP and GAWU leaders laid wreaths only last month.

Eyewitness failed to see something else. It was Granger's PNC which legalized Phagwah, Diwali, Eid-ul-Adha and Youman Nabi as national holidays.

Eyewitness deliberately sees only one section of history and is showing only one segment of the picture.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

(Eyewitness)David Granger wants to be leader of this country. The entire country. But yet he’s the individual who’s been behind the movement to highlight the commemoration of the Son Chapman tragedy back in 1964. And what’s the Son Chapman?? A bomb of unknown origin blew up the ship that ferried persons between Georgetown and what is now Linden. About 43 souls perished.

Now this Eyewitness doesn’t have any problems with the commemoration per se. But in the divided politics of Guyana – it sends the signal that the PNC only cares about one segment of the society. Fact of the matter is that all the persons that perished aboard the Son Chapman were African Guyanese. But just two weeks before, there’d been a terrible ethnic cleansing in the same area – when 3000 Indian Guyanese residents – practically the entire community – had to be evacuated after 200+ homes had been torched, two killed and several raped. Shouldn’t the PNC talk about a memorial to them also?? And the five killed after the Son Chapman explosion? Are they not also Guyanese? Don’t they and their descendants have feelings also??

Bhai Conscience,

And we now see pictures of Ramjattan and Granger posted on this BB and declared as a dream team. I wonder what Moses is thinking these days ? Moses brought the most votes for the AFC but the PNC does not see him as a part of their dream team.

Interesting political times ahead.

In 1948 the colonial police shot and killed 5 Indian sugar workers at Enmore Estate.

In 1976 Granger's PNC party built a monument at Enmore to those martyrs. The PNC-built monument is standing tall up to today and that is where PPP and GAWU leaders laid wreaths only last month.

Eyewitness failed to see something else. It was Granger's PNC which legalized Phagwah, Diwali, Eid-ul-Adha and Youman Nabi as national holidays.

Eyewitness deliberately sees only one section of history and is showing only one segment of the picture.

Bhai Gil

You are talking like a PNC these days. 

Bhai Gil

Truth is truth, yuji. Truth is not partisan.

Same old PNC.........Same old PNC

Correct. PNC is the same old PNC. 

Indos beware. You will once again be treated as second class citizens by the PNC.

I see 54 dead but they don't matter because they are BLACK.  That incident should be written out of Guyana history, as should all other attacks by Indians on blacks, like that train on the WCD, which was stopped by PYO savages who attempted to slaughter every black man, woman and CHILD on board!

How many Indians died in Wismar?

Same old PNC.........Same old PNC

Correct. PNC is the same old PNC. 

Indos beware. You will once again be treated as second class citizens by the PNC.

Just as how the PPP now treats blacks as second class citizens, but you don't care about that do you?  Even as the Indian population implodes and the probability of a PPP loss looms large.

The gov't. of Guyana nor the East Indians mistreat Africans. Over 80% of civil service are Africans. D2 argued that gov't. is fattening the civil servants. Well, the civil servants are overwhelmingly AFros.

I see 54 dead but they don't matter because they are BLACK.  That incident should be written out of Guyana history, as should all other attacks by Indians on blacks, like that train on the WCD, which was stopped by PYO savages who attempted to slaughter every black man, woman and CHILD on board!

Carib, I recall a personal experience that may be related to the one highlighted above.

I was a 12-year-old schoolboy traveling shortly after midday on a Saturday from Vreed-en-Hoop to Uitvlugt.

Between the Cornelia Ida and Anna Catherina platforms the train quickly reduced speed and halted. There was a log across the tracks. Suddenly some black women in my carriage started panicking and shrieking. I looked out the window and saw Indian men emerging from the cane field with sharpened cutlasses glinting in the sunlight.

Because I am Indian I knew they would spare me but still, the thought of them boarding the train and chopping up people before my eyes sent shivers down my spine.

Luckily there was a police escort on the train. I watched him step down and aim his .303 Lee-Enfield rifle with bayonet at the cutlass crew and ordered them to back off. Slowly, one by one, the Indian men with cutlasses retreated and disappeared into the cane field and the train resumed its journey.

One of the unforgettable events of my life.

How many Indians died in Wismar?

That is why I support a truth commission so that Guyana can heal. Both sides will go back and forth until this matter is laid to rest.

I condemn the killing of Afros by Indos during those riots. I have never heard you condemning the killing and rape of Indos by Afros.

Let us not forget that declassified documents revealed that the riots were started by the PNC and supported by a foreign government.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The gov't. of Guyana nor the East Indians mistreat Africans. Over 80% of civil service are Africans. D2 argued that gov't. is fattening the civil servants. Well, the civil servants are overwhelmingly AFros.

D2 NEVER said that the civil servants were being fattened.  Africans accounted for most of the civil servants under British colonial rule in the 19th century.  Should we then infer that the British treated them well.  OR should we admit then as now, that the vast majority were located in low and poorly paid positions and the leadership of the nation was in the hands of non Africans.

Eyewitness is Ravi Dev. Yuh cyant expect betta fram him. 

Bhai Gil

Truth is truth, yuji. Truth is not partisan.

Correction - It was Burnham PNC which legalized Phagwah, Diwali, Eid-ul-Adha and Youman Nabi as national holidays.

That is the truth. Don't stifle you conscience.

It was also hell to get the PPP to recognize Indian arrival day, which they watered down to "arrival day". 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Many civil servants who would be career employees with the protections of unions etc are turned into contract workers with no job security just because the PPP turned their job offering to that of contract workers. It is a shrewdly crafted scheme to create a class of serfs who are beholden to one man or women  because  he/she can do with them what they will. The PPP's religion is to make their friends and family fat. All others can eat cake.

"Danyael" the self proclaimed atheist should be the last to mention the word religion, one day it is hope that God revel himself to "Danyael" and cause him/her to stop being an atheist