Granger calls for collision-free Parliament in 2014

Opposition Leader David Granger

Opposition Leader David Granger is calling for 2014 to not be a year where government and the opposition parties collide in Parliament, but rather one of cooperation and transparency.

Speaking at a press briefing on Friday at his Hadfield, Georgetown office, Granger said the administration should start by respecting the decisions made by the National Assembly as he pointed to the bills passed, but not assented to.

“We want President Ramotar to assent to the bills that the assembly has passed, we want President Ramotar to implement the resolutions of the National Assembly, we want good governance, that’s what we are fighting for,” Granger said.

The opposition leader is also calling for the establishment of a new social contract that will pave the way for national unity, guarantee human safety and foster economic development growth.

He said major sections of society, including the government, political opposition, trade unions, private sector and civil society should seek an agreement on a broad national programme to accelerate growth of the country over a two-year period.

Combined talents

The contract will combine the talents of a wider constituency and simultaneously create conditions for social cooperation and economic progress as it fulfils its objective.

“The three-fold purpose of such a contract would be to reach a broad consensus on the goals of national development; to establish a sustainable institutional architecture; and to create effective policy instruments for the achievement of the objectives of the contract,” Granger explained.

Questioned whether the call is a realistic one, the opposition leader said he is more than optimistic. “Bearing in mind what the president had to say in his New Year’s address, he seems to be very worried because he himself acknowledged that there were obstacles to what he calls the transformative agenda.

“Well, if he wants to remove those obstacles, let him come to the negotiating table, sit down with the opposition and let us decide how the country will move forward.”

In justifying the need for a new social contract, Granger opined the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) administration has demonstrated an inability to address issues of national interest, noting that the economic crisis has lowered workers’ standard of living.

“Protests by two of the country’s largest trade unions, the Guyana Public Service Union and the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union, have demonstrated how labour relations between the state and its workers have degenerated. The ranks of unemployed young people are increasing. Poverty is rampant,” the opposition leader noted.

Unimpressive rating

Reference was also made to the World Bank 2014 World Development Report which rated Guyana as the second poorest country in Caricom. According to the report, Guyana’s Gross National Income (GNI) of US$3410 per capita is unfavourable when compared with The Bahamas, which has a GNI of US$21,280 per capita.

“The security crisis has disproportionately hurt the poor. Guyanese are pained by the surge in serious crimes last year, 2013, representing a seven per cent increase over the same period in 2012,” Granger said.

He added that there was an increase in the number of armed robberies involving the use of firearms by 16 per cent while contending that other serious crimes include banditry in the hinterland, murder, piracy, fatalities on the roads and interpersonal violence.

Granger told reporters that the PPP/C administration should start addressing issues affecting Guyanese by honouring its obligation, noting that tripartite consultations with workers’ and employers’ organisations should continue in an effort to promote increased production and productivity.

APNU is also advising the government to establish a framework for genuine consultation among social partners and to implement national economic and social programmes, in keeping with the Caricom Charter of Civil Society for the Caribbean Community.

Why Nehru and Rev Al are the only two people that think the opposition don't have any love or interest for Guyana? They don't want the PPP to give an inch to the combined opposition and take mile. Like I said before, Ramotar is not working hard enough to reach out to Granger. He only thinks like a rice belly kullie and want all for himself. If there is no unity and cooperation between the government and the opposition, there will be no peace and fulfilled promises for Guyanese. You can't gamble on the 2016 election to win and take all. Those day are done. Mr. Ramotar, you need a new advisor and reformed supporters. The people on this board are greddy just like you. They want to reinvent slavery for the black people under your administration. Your fellow kullie friends on GNI are no good.

iN 1963 bUNHAM DID AND SAID THE SAME THINGS, THE REST IS history. STUDY YOUR history.

If there is no unity and cooperation between the government and the opposition, there will be no peace and fulfilled promises for Guyanese.

Cooperation means absolute control of parliament and all things in Guyana by the PNC.

1964 to 1992 is an explicit period to reflect on the PNC's time in government.

iN 1963 bUNHAM DID AND SAID THE SAME THINGS, THE REST IS history. STUDY YOUR history.

Should we ask the UF? Oh Peter D'aguiar is no longer alive.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Granger wants good governance?  What is this? Sounds good to ears of the naieve. 

Granger wants good governance = PNC's absolute control.

Dem APNU/AFC people in the parliament want to give $1 to run the office of the president and they expect the president to support it.  Can such a thing prevent collision it parliament?  It's like driving a car without brakes on the highway and expect not to get into an accident.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Dem APNU/AFC people in the parliament want to give $1 to run the office of the president and they expect the president to support it.  Can such a thing prevent collision it parliament?  It's like driving a car without brakes on the highway and expect not to get into an accident.

you was born by a accident

 Like I said before, Ramotar is not working hard enough to reach out to Granger. He only thinks like a rice belly kullie and want all for himself. If there is no unity and cooperation between the government and the opposition, there will be no peace and fulfilled promises for Guyanese.  
19 April 2012 17:44

The Ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) have agreed to a gradual increase to electricity tariff in Linden and selective application following second rounds of talks between President Donald Ramotar and a delegation and Opposition Leader David Granger’-led team on Thursday at the Office of the President.

Opposition agreed to integration of Linden supply into national grid.

Also special financing facility to be explored for Lindeners was part of the talks.

And additional TV stations for Lindeners was another agreement that came out during the discussions.

The talks forms part of a process of dealing with opposition concerns regarding the National Budget

Mr Nehru and Rev are here to apologise for stealing. 

JB, Gal whole day meh bin ah look out for you. Meh miss yuh bad bad. Meh heart ah Chuchwai fuh yuh.

Low class!

Mr Nehru and Rev are here to apologise for stealing. 

JB, Gal whole day meh bin ah look out for you. Meh miss yuh bad bad. Meh heart ah Chuchwai fuh yuh.

Low class!

ell we can try to equalize things, yuh high class can complement meh low class if we become one.