President invites Granger to dialogue

Posted By Stabroek editor On November 19, 2014 @ 1:16 pm In Local News | No Comments

Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr Roger Luncheon today said that President Donald Ramotar sent a formal invitation to the Leader of the Opposition David Ganger yesterday requesting dialogue in the wake of Ramotar’s suspension of parliament two Mondays ago.

Luncheon said at his post cabinet press briefing earlier today that the invitation did not have particulars in it and that the invitation was just extended and an official response is yet to come from Granger.

The Head of the Presidential Secretariat noted that should Granger respond then the details of where and when the meeting will be held would be discussed.

Both Granger’s coalition, APNU, and the AFC have said there will be no talks until Ramotar reconvenes Parliament. There have been many calls since for either the reconvening of Parliament or fresh general elections.

Ramotar suspended Parliament to thwart a motion of no confidence against his government which would have triggered early elections.

Originally Posted by Sheik Ally:

I am in full agreement with His Excellency Donald Ramotar to engage the Opposition APNU/AFC, with a clear understanding that the Guyanese Nation comes first, money Laundering Legislation, the economy, education, Health, transportation, Cheap Eco Friendly electricity and the Indigenous Rural Development. Sheik. 

He should take his own advice. Go back to parliament where the formal forum for debates exist.

The nations comes first only if those handling it treat it so and not as their personal piggy bank. Further, all government business must be transparent and even the secrets are not PPP secrets but must include commissions whose members include the opposition. Why is it we know nothing of these mega deals made by the PPP. How can they for example build a hotel with the states money and and no one knows what is happening there. NICIL must come under a commission and its head must be a cabinet position voted on by the legislature.

I am in full agreement with His Excellency Donald Ramotar to engage the Opposition APNU/AFC, with a clear understanding that the Guyanese Nation comes first, money Laundering Legislation, the economy, education, Health, transportation, Cheap Eco Friendly electricity and the Indigenous Rural Development. Sheik. 

Why did they not do so when parliament was in session.  The MONC came as the opposition became frustrated at being ignored by the PPP, despite having the support of the MAJORITY of Guyanese voters!

THe PPP is a scam party. I hope the opposition doan tek the bait.

YOu dont threaten THE BIG GUY and not expect a reaction.

Don't you have anything sensible to contribute to this discussion? Sheesh....

What is it yuh lack understanding of. I can help.

Just help yourself to some aspirin when you're in the middle of your drunken stupor. Everytime I see a fellah around Liberty Ave staggering with a drunken gait Ialways think of Nehru. I hope I do not insult those fellahs.

YOu dont threaten THE BIG GUY and not expect a reaction.

Don't you have anything sensible to contribute to this discussion? Sheesh....

What is it yuh lack understanding of. I can help.

Just help yourself to some aspirin when you're in the middle of your drunken stupor. Everytime I see a fellah around Liberty Ave staggering with a drunken gait Ialways think of Nehru. I hope I do not insult those fellahs.

But you still lack basic understanding. ESL is FREE at CUNY.

Well done Mr. Granger thanks for extending the low low to Ramo.

Opposition Leader, David Granger has rejected President Donald Ramotar’s invitation to high-level talks, a move that appears to inch Guyanese closer to the polls very early New Year to elect a new government of their choice.

A spokesman for Granger’s A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) told Caribbean News Desk following an executive meeting of the parliamentary alliance that a decision was made not to accept the invitation. Granger has previously insisted that Parliament must be reconvened because that is the highest decision-making forum.

Meanwhile, the Central Executive of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) was up to late Wednesday night meeting. Among the items down for discussion was Ramotar’s letter to Granger dated November 18, 2014

APNU and AFC should stop lying and fooling the Guyanese Electorate that they are interested in inclusive Governance what ever this means. History has proven PNC motives, they used the UF to get power and kick then out. We all know what the PNC did; rigged elections,  murder etc. for 28 years. Wake up my Guyanese Brothers and Sisters, PNC and AFC do not have your interests at heart, they want power at all costs. They illegally cut the last two budgets denying the masses needed funds for economic and social development.The President of Guyana for the longest time keep calling on the PNC and AFC to discuss policies/projects to benefit the country. They have not honestly fulfill the mandate given to them in the last election. They concern themselves in confrontations, media lies, accusations, and rigged election in their parties etc. May God remove the evils of these people and guide them. Sheik.       

APNU and AFC should stop lying and fooling the Guyanese

When the PPP mounts ahigh horse of moral virtue they look quite silly.

Few Guyanese are old enough to remember the days of Burnham.  What they do know is that an AG stole money and wasnt punished.  That same AG threatened to kill the owner of a major media outlet, and wasnt arrested.  The Minister of Finance cannot account for missing funds.  The same minister drove drunk, hurt some one and then intimidated that person's family to drop the case. G/town and other parts of Guyana are replete with structures built for money laundering purposes.  A major PPP affiliated drug dealer allegedly killed a PPP minister and the then president screamed that he knew who ordered the killing.  No one punished.  A major act of brutality on several communities  throughout Guyana, and one of those involved is walking the streets as free as a bird outside a cage.

ANd I can go on.

The point being that the days when the PPP could have pretended that they stand for law and order and morality have LONG gone.  Given that Burnham died 30 years ago what concerns people is what the PPP is doing TODAY!

APNU and AFC should stop lying and fooling the Guyanese Electorate that they are interested in inclusive Governance what ever this means. History has proven PNC motives, they used the UF to get power and kick then out. We all know what the PNC did; rigged elections,  murder etc. for 28 years. Wake up my Guyanese Brothers and Sisters, PNC and AFC do not have your interests at heart, they want power at all costs. They illegally cut the last two budgets denying the masses needed funds for economic and social development.The President of Guyana for the longest time keep calling on the PNC and AFC to discuss policies/projects to benefit the country. They have not honestly fulfill the mandate given to them in the last election. They concern themselves in confrontations, media lies, accusations, and rigged election in their parties etc. May God remove the evils of these people and guide them. Sheik.       

You are so much stuck in the past you cannot make your way to the present where the PPP is out performing the PNC on every measure. They thief more, murder more, run a cartel of PP friends and family that has no parallel. Come to the present! BTW Ramotar did not need a vote to make himself dictator. He used the PNC constitution!

Sheik bhai, you frozen in an era that is about 4 decades ago. Is this what you want?