Department of National Events established -President Granger assures of well executed national events

Colonel Nazrul Hussain, Head of the Department of National Events, under the Ministry of the Presidency

President David Granger on Monday established the Department of National Events, under the Ministry of the Presidency.

The Department will be headed by Colonel Nazrul Hussain of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) and will be tasked with the planning and execution of all national events in the country, the Ministry of the Presidency said in a statement.

Formation of the department came weeks after there were insufficient seats for People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) members of parliament at the 50th Independence Anniversary Flag Raising Ceremony.  Concerns had been also raised about plastic crockery and cutlery at the Independence Anniversary State Dinner. Some observers had also noted that major jubilee events did not reflect Guyana’s rich racial and cultural diversity.

President David Granger, in an invited comment, said that National events are occasions for the country and Guyanese people to feel pride and patriotism and the events must, therefore, be planned and executed in such a manner, that these feelings are expressed and felt by all Guyanese.

“Public events are important for our political culture, for our national identity; who we are and my expectations are that Guyanese must feel proud of their national symbols, monuments, their national festivals. We have already seen over the last year how proud Guyanese feel even to see the national flag being raised and we want to ensure that this feeling permeates Guyanese at all levels and in all of the regions and my expectations are that Guyana will emerge more unified and more proud of their identity, history and heritage than ever before,” President Granger said.

The Head of State noted that national events, especially of a large magnitude, require extensive coordination and collaboration among a number of Ministries and Government agencies. Therefore, he said, it is important for someone to assume specific responsibility for these events so that they receive the required attention.

“We want to ensure that they [national and international events] are done and performed in a very high standard and there has to be a high level of coordination as well. Many of these events involve the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Education which has responsibility for Culture, Youth and Sport, the Ministry of the Presidency, the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, the Ministry of Communities. So you need somebody who can coordinate the work of the various Ministries in ensuring that these public events are done at the highest possible level so we felt that it would be good for us to have that function within the Ministry of the Presidency… We expect that we will be having, not only a high standard of performance and coordination among the various ministries but that the public will be satisfied that the purposes of these occasions…” he said.

President Granger assured Guyanese can be sure to expect events of excellence, reflective of nationalism and pride.

“People are very proud of Mashramani, they are proud of Independence, they are proud of Enmore Martyr’s, they are proud of honouring our Veterans on Remembrance Day, they are proud of Emancipation Day and all of the other celebrations and I expect that once they are well organised, there will be greater participation and there will be greater satisfaction on the part of the general public. This is what we want to see, Guyanese who are proud of being Guyanese,” the President said.

In the meantime, Col. Hussain, in an invited comment, at the Ministry of the Presidency, said that he is honoured by the responsibility bestowed on him.  He vouched to ensure that all events under his watch, are executed in an efficient manner, one in which Guyanese will be proud.

“I am elated to be selected to head the Department of National Events as was established in the meeting today and the President based on the previous events, would like us to do things with a better flair, with the watch word being excellence. This department was established to standardise all of our national activities and to execute all national activities with excellence in mind. It will entail having a diary, which reflects all of the national events and observances and to plan and execute some of the traditional and some new ones that we will be working on and to ensure that we have a manual of standards that we can refer to ensure that there is no deviation from the standard of excellence that we are going to establish,” he said.

Granger's PNC elitists were not happy when they showed up in GT to a mediocre sport for Jubilee celebrations.  He has to follow instructions and do what they want.  No more paper plates for the rich diaspora boys. Yugi say money talks and bullshit walks!

Granger has a weird sense of priorities.

While I won't use the word weird, I think President Granger needs to establish a Ministry of Economic Justice embodying SARU and SOCU to penalize all the culprits mentioned in the dozens of forensic audit reports. And there is also need for a Ministry of Accelerated Development to eliminate sloth in government. Another day I'll talk about a possible Ministry of Transparency. 

Bibi Haniffa posted:  Yugi say money talks and bullshit walks!

Thank you for quoting my best friend, but I am deeply hurt that you have misspelled his eminently simple first name [yuji] and carelessly dropped his honorable last name: 22. 

Can you also please add the Ministry of Corruption to jail the thiefing PPP boys, or is that in the works already?

The Ministry of Economic Justice should attend to that. There is great hope in the criminal justice system under the DPP Shalimar Hack.

HEHEHE  I tell Al YUh GADAHAS running Guyana!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bhai you saved that sentence in Note Pad.

I gat it as a Desktop Prime Event. WATAK!!!   When Progress comes.

Granger just creating jobs for some of his lesser educated followers.  These jobs do neither right nor wrong, just an excuse to consider for the next event!  It's a way to pay people for nothing, sort of welfare!

HEHEHE  I tell Al YUh GADAHAS running Guyana!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bhai you saved that sentence in Note Pad.

I gat it as a Desktop Prime Event. WATAK!!!   When Progress comes.

ba$eman posted:

Granger just creating jobs for some of hislesser educated followers.  These jobs do neither right nor wrong, just an excuse to consider for the next event!  It's a way to pay people for nothing, sort of welfare!

"The Department will be headed byColonel Nazrul Hussain of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) and will be tasked with the planning and execution of all national events in the country, the Ministry of the Presidency said in a statement."

Seems like he is on GDF payroll,some extra work for him to do.

And on top of that he put a Mussalman in charge. Looks like Granger want only halal sport going forward.

Beef curry - Main Course.  Mittai, Vermicelli Cake - Dessert  Cultural Diversity!!!!

And on top of that he put a Mussalman in charge. Looks like Granger want only halal sport going forward.

You watch, Chief will get the falaffel contract!!  He ain't cussing PPP coolies for nothing, no Chief!!

No he heard baseman and the rest of the brown bai KKK scream "blackman a kill ahbe", so he found an Indian to put on the payroll with a make believe job.

Beef curry - Main Course.  Mittai, Vermicelli Cake - Dessert  Cultural Diversity!!!!

There we go,i will pass the Beef curry add mutton to the menu.

No he heard baseman and the rest of the brown bai KKK scream "blackman a kill ahbe", so he found an Indian to put on the payroll with a make believe job.

If he is an "Indian" like Chief and the Fullahman club, he will be worse for baseman-type coolies than Caribj-type Blacks will ever be!!

ba$eman posted:

If he is an "Indian" like Chief and the Fullahman club, he will be worse for baseman-type coolies than Caribj-type Blacks will ever be!!

Baseman types are black hating racist bigots. Why should any one be nice to them.

ba$eman posted:

Granger just creating jobs for some of hislesser educated followers.  These jobs do neither right nor wrong, just an excuse to consider for the next event!  It's a way to pay people for nothing, sort of welfare!

"The Department will be headed byColonel Nazrul Hussain of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) and will be tasked with the planning and execution of all national events in the country, the Ministry of the Presidency said in a statement."

Seems like he is on GDF payroll,some extra work for him to do.

The got big plans to party.

Don't Stop This Party!!!

Bai Django, yuh nah kno whah yuh ah miss. Beef curry is de bestest. My wife's sister like the beef which is really fatty. It tastes phenomenal but it will kill you really quickly. Pour some of that curry onto a plate and it sets into a fatty cake in seconds.

Bai Django, yuh nah kno whah yuh ah miss.Beef curry is de bestest. My wife's sister like the beef which is really fatty. It tastes phenomenal but it will kill you really quickly. Pour some of that curry onto a plate and it sets into a fatty cake in seconds.

Kaz,I know used to have it on the menu,i quit red meat years ago,once in a while i will have some.

Bai Django, yuh nah kno whah yuh ah miss.Beef curry is de bestest. My wife's sister like the beef which is really fatty. It tastes phenomenal but it will kill you really quickly. Pour some of that curry onto a plate and it sets into a fatty cake in seconds.

Kaz,I know used to have it on the menu,i quit red meat years ago,once in a while i will have some.

I hear you. I hardly eat beef anymore. 2-3 pounds per year is probably a lot for me these past four years.

Same here mostly goat meat,Quit about 15 yrs ago,every one reducing my age by a decade,knock on wood i man going good no problems.

Alcohol i don't touch for months,the lika in the house watching me.

ba$eman posted:

Baseman types are black hating racist bigots. Why should any one be nice to them.

Nah, you got baseman wrong bai.  As long as we can agree to live and let live, we can agree on something.  Baseman is a pragmatist and knows everyone must feel a sense of equity!

Them fullah bais is live and let die!!

Same here mostly goat meat,Quit about 15 yrs ago,every one reducing my age by a decade,knock on wood i man going good no problems.

Alcohol i don't touch for months,the lika in the house watching me.

Quit eating beef and pork since 1994. No duck or lamb either. I drink a beer or two every six months or so.