Granger hints at 2020 presidential run

Leader of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), President David Granger, has stated that he will not run away from service to his party and the coalition if called upon to run as the presidential candidate for the upcoming 2020 General and Regional Elections.
During a press conference on Friday – his first for the year- Granger shied away from directly answering whether he would accept a nomination to run as the President Candidate at the upcoming national polls, which is expected to be a critical election for the country.
“I cannot answer that question at this point in time, it is speculative, but I am a servant of my party, I’m a servant of the partnership, I’m a servant of the coalition and my duty is to serve and I will not run away from service; that is as much as I

President David Granger

can say,” he said.
The Head of State, who is also the leader of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) – the largest party in the five-member APNU – went on to outline that he became the presidential candidate for both the APNU and then the APNU/AFC (Alliance For Change) coalition via a democratic process and several steps, which he will have to abide by in the future.
“There were several steps… and I have to bear in mind that my elevation to the presidency was as a result of popular support, it was a result of democratic processes and I will not abandon those processes. So once those processes function, I will observe them. But at present, I cannot say what the outcome of those process will be,” he asserted.
Back in 2010, Granger contested for and came out victorious as the PNCR’s presidential candidate for the November 2011 General Election, leading the APNU – an alliance of the PNCR, Working People’s Alliance (WPA), Justice For All Party (JFAP), National Front Alliance (NFA) and the Guyana Action Party (GAP).
However, he was defeated at that election. The Granger-led APNU subsequently join forces with the AFC to form a coalition, which ousted the People’s Progressive Party/Civic from Government after some 23 years at the 2011 elections.
Since then, Granger has managed to remain the leader of the PNCR, having recently been unopposed for the position at the party’s recently concluded 19th Biennial Delegates Congress.
While both the APNU and the AFC have reiterated their commitments to coalition governance, there has been reports of disunity both within the APNU alliance as well as the APNU/AFC coalition.
In fact, the AFC last month announced that it will be contesting the upcoming Local Government Elections (LGE) in November separate from the APNU. The minority party in the coalition Government has been on the receiving end of heavy criticisms for the submissive role it has been playing since joining forces with the APNU. This resulted in the top leadership of the AFC had decided back mid-November to revise the governing agreement with its majority coalition partner.
Moreover, within the APNU alliance, the WPA over the past year has been complaining bitterly about being sidelined. In fact, only the party executives had even hinted that consideration is being given as to whether the WPA should remain within the APNU alliance given the treatment it is being dealt with.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/gran...20-presidential-run/

Balahoo bai...Granger gat a reputation foh being no corrupt. Ayoo bai gat foh put somebady who was not in de kickback racket. De bess man now gat foh be Mr Frank wid wan serious blackman and amerindian. Reepu daughter Ms Vindya was wan good choice. Dem days wen coolie was 50% done and it all gat to do wid ayoo not brining security in 1992 and keeping Laurie there. Hey hey hey...

Granger is eligible to run for a second term whether he hinted at it or not. Someone will be named PM at the appropriate time. It could be Roopnarine or Nagamootoo, depending on how APNU floats in 2020.

Balahoo bai...Granger gat a reputation foh being no corrupt. Ayoo bai gat foh put somebady who was not in de kickback racket. De bess man now gat foh be Mr Frank wid wan serious blackman and amerindian. Reepu daughter Ms Vindya was wan good choice. Dem days wen coolie was 50% done and it all gat to do wid ayoo not brining security in 1992 and keeping Laurie there. Hey hey hey...

I agree.   

@ Bai Prince,

No one is denying Granger's eligibility to run. Roopnarine is out of the running.

@Labba

Granger runs one of the most corrupt governments in Guyana, so many scandals and kickbacks.  Their kickbacks are worse than a Donkey Kick. Like you na drink you Caffee dis morning ?

Hey Hey Hey.

@ Bai Prince,

No one is denying Granger's eligibility to run. Roopnarine is out of the running.

@Labba

Granger runs one of the most corrupt governments in Guyana, so many scandals and kickbacks.  Their kickbacks are worse than a Donkey Kick. Like you na drink you Caffee dis morning ?

Hey Hey Hey.

Balahoo bai I not sayin Granger government NOT corrupt. Dem tekkin nuff nuff kickback like some of yuh bais and gurls dem did. What a sayin Guyanese gat foh hold dem nose and vote. Dem will see Granger as wan person not tekkin de kickback. Unless ayoo find wan way foh daub daag shit pon he. I tink some daag shit can rub pon he...but is not my job foh do doh. 

Yuji

The art of politics is to deny that you're drenched in corruption and make believe all is good. Jagdeo was running Guyana in deep corruption too. I know this is something you don't want to hear, but I am not in denial like some folks around here. 

Bai Prince,

Politics is the science and art of governing. Wake up na Banna, Jagdeo is not running for President.

BTW, AFC/PNC is still to prove PPP corruption. A recent case was thrown out. Read up the news na bai.

It is like someone calling you a thief without any proof. 

Hey Hey Hey.

@Labba

Granger runs one of the most corrupt governments in Guyana, so many scandals and kickbacks.

I ain't saying Granger Gov't clean as a whistle,hinting the ''most" corrupt is an overstretch.

@ Bai Prince,

@Labba

Hey Hey Hey.

Balahoo bai I not sayin Granger government NOT corrupt. Dem tekkin nuff nuff kickback like some of yuh bais and gurls dem did. What a sayin Guyanese gat foh hold dem nose and vote. Dem will see Granger as wan person not tekkin de kickback. Unless ayoo find wan way foh daub daag shit pon he. I tink some daag shit can rub pon he...but is not my job foh do doh. 

Watch the name calling there Bai. I can fire back with some Big Big Cannons. Anyway, I will not respond in kind. I like to engage with you since I find some of your posts very funny.

The electorate in Guyana is "corruption wary". 

The next National Election campaign will be all about bringing out the Base. PPP's base will be out in full force. I am doubtful that the APNU base will be energized as the last time.

They screwed up on the goodwill shown to them. The Youths who were a major part of their support base have been dashed aside, a bunch of old men are in charge. Corruption is rampant and they are seen as a bunch of politicians living the high life.

The people will decide in 2020. The fear of rigging still hangs over our heads. 

@ Bai Prince,

@Labba

Hey Hey Hey.

Watch the name calling there Bai. I can fire back with some Big Big Cannons. Anyway, I will not respond in kind. I like to engage with you since I find some of your posts very funny.

The electorate in Guyana is "corruption wary". 

The next National Election campaign will be all about bringing out the Base. PPP's base will be out in full force. I am doubtful that the APNU base will be energized as the last time.

They screwed up on the goodwill shown to them. The Youths who were a major part of their support base have been dashed aside, a bunch of old men are in charge. Corruption is rampant and they are seen as a bunch of politicians living the high life.

The people will decide in 2020. The fear of rigging still hangs over our heads. 

Bai yuh can call me a dutty Indian juss like yuh call Mr TK. Is not going to hurt. Hey hey hey...

Granger is not being given the credit due.  There is a "cold war" low intensity power struggle with the PNC diehards sitting just below him, headed by Harmon.

This PNC diehard clique want to supplant the corrupt PPP cabal with a PNC cabal.  There is a nexus formed between the fledgling PNC cabal and the same businessmen in with the PPP cabal.  As they say, money talks, BS walks.

Granger want no part of it and is fighting them off.  However, he needs them onboard to bring out the masses to vote in 2020.

Granger wants to be a friend to the Indian masses and wants their vote come 2020.  He has plans for a smaller but more profitable and vertical sugar industry.  He also has big plans for the general Guyana Agro industry.

I agree with this:

"There is a "cold war" low intensity power struggle with the PNC diehards sitting just below him, headed by Harmon."

Harmon is building up a war chest, he was here in Canada for three days.