Home > TOP STORY > Never mind what he says… Granger is a carbon copy of Burnham
The late Head of State, Forbes Burnham

Never mind what he says… Granger is a carbon copy of Burnham

CONTRARY to the APNU+AFC’s Presidential Candidates’ claim that he has no intention of reverting to systems of the late President Forbes Burnham, his actions as Opposition Leader, as well as campaign promises and touted policies and initiatives all reflect the dictatorial style of the late Burnham.Last weekend, Granger sought to assure supporters at a New York meeting that “I am not Burnham, I am David Granger, Burnham died 30 years ago in 1985”. Nevertheless, Granger has kept Burnham’s legacy alive through the APNU’s current ideology and philosophy, to the extent that he seeks to reintroduce Burnham’s burdensome political system of a heavy government inclusive of three Vice Presidents, a Prime Minister and a President.

Opposition Leader David Granger

Granger has also touted the re-introduction of hydro power as a large scale project, which was tried and failed by the PNC causing tax payers to lose millions of dollars.

Hence, Granger is not dissimilar to Burnham in that he has refused to apologise to the people of Guyana for the atrocities committed against them under the iron rule of the PNC founder leader Burnham.

It was the implementation of Burnham policies that resulted in much disunity in Guyana and Granger has followed the pattern that has clearly resulted in disunity and infighting in his party.
Granger’s dictatorial behaviour and leadership have resulted in the rigging of party elections and the locking out of former Member of Parliament, Vanessa Kissoon.

It is because of the emulation of these and other strong personality traits of the founder leader that Guyanese have drawn a comparison between Granger and Burnham.
The current leader’s adoration for Burnham was evident in his party’s announcement that they would have launched their 2015 elections campaign on Burnham’s birth anniversary. However, this was delayed because of the coalition talks.

"Last weekend, Granger sought to assure supporters at a New York meeting that “I am not Burnham, I am David Granger, Burnham died 30 years ago in 1985”.

The Chronicle can continue splashing images of Burnham

who died 30 years ago,this will not help them.The PPP

is grasping at straws.

Never mind what he says… Granger is a carbon copy of Burnham

CONTRARY to the APNU+AFC’s Presidential Candidates’ claim that he has no intention of reverting to systems of the late President Forbes Burnham, his actions as Opposition Leader, as well as campaign promises and touted policies and initiatives all reflect the dictatorial style of the late Burnham.Last weekend, Granger sought to assure supporters at a New York meeting that “I am not Burnham, I am David Granger, Burnham died 30 years ago in 1985”. Nevertheless, Granger has kept Burnham’s legacy alive through the APNU’s current ideology and philosophy, to the extent that he seeks to reintroduce Burnham’s burdensome political system of a heavy government inclusive of three Vice Presidents, a Prime Minister and a President.

Granger has also touted the re-introduction of hydro power as a large scale project, which was tried and failed by the PNC causing tax payers to lose millions of dollars.

Hence, Granger is not dissimilar to Burnham in that he has refused to apologise to the people of Guyana for the atrocities committed against them under the iron rule of the PNC founder leader Burnham.

It was the implementation of Burnham policies that resulted in much disunity in Guyana and Granger has followed the pattern that has clearly resulted in disunity and infighting in his party.
Granger’s dictatorial behaviour and leadership have resulted in the rigging of party elections and the locking out of former Member of Parliament, Vanessa Kissoon.

It is because of the emulation of these and other strong personality traits of the founder leader that Guyanese have drawn a comparison between Granger and Burnham.
The current leader’s adoration for Burnham was evident in his party’s announcement that they would have launched their 2015 elections campaign on Burnham’s birth anniversary. However, this was delayed because of the coalition talks.

OK, so what?

yuji, it warms my heart to see Burnham's picture early this morning. Thank you bhai and may Lord Krishna shower his choicest blessings upon you for sharing this lovely photo. Me go print and frame um.

BTW, there are provisions for vice presidents under the Constitution of Guyana which the PPP is most comfortable with. David Granger has explained that he would pay his vice presidents the same salaries as senior ministers, not one dollar more.

Indeed, David Granger will be a game changer, no matter what the disreputable and sycophantic Chronicle says. Dem Chronicle editors go soon have to look fo wuk at Guyana Times and Mirror.

Hope Estate, No wheat Flour, Breadfruit Curry, Kick down Doors Security Force, Absolute POWER, Helicopter Ride over the Mighty Essequibo for Union Leaders- OH was a glorious time under Burnham.

Yugi, Continue to make him the center of attraction.

Nice to see the father of Guyana back on the front pages of the Chronicle

Are you guys ok, praising fat boy who made all of you flee your beloved country?  I guess it's understandable because the wonderful lives you are now living would have never been possible in Guyana. 

Originally Posted by Observer:

Are you guys ok, praising fat boy who made all of you flee your beloved country?  I guess it's understandable because the wonderful lives you are now living would have never been possible in Guyana. 

I left because of Jagan.

That is the only good thing dat Monster did!!!

I left because of Jagan.

I left because of Burnham !

Originally Posted by Churchill:

I left because of Jagan.

My praises go to Jagan.

I left because of Jagan.

Seriously?

Originally Posted by Churchill:

I left because of Jagan.

I left for school. I do remember the older people complaining about having to bribe everyone. I guess they will not miss that in the present.

The article in the lead post in this thread (source???) has done nothing to validate the thread's headline - Granger is a Carbon Copy of Burnham

• How does a million VPs make him Burnham?
  • How do campaign promises and touted policies and initiatives all reflect the dictatorial style of the late Burnham?
  • How not apologizing makes Granger a Burnham?
  • What personality traits Granger inherited from Burnham?

Yuji, stop insulting people's intelligence. Attack Granger's vision, economic programs, record in Parliament and any character traits that should disqualify him from being a President. When you do so we'll take you seriously. Otherwise the shrill nonsense your posted here from some author (unknown) has no place in sensible discussion on the serious matter of elections in Guyana.

Can you please explain this Observer?

I left because of Jagan.

Everybody left because of Jagan.  Because of Jagan, Burnham came to power and was protected by the US until the USSR collapsed.  Today, because of the anti-US PPP, the Burnham party is back in power.

RiffRaff, not sure what's your point, baseman avatar was for people like you.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!   AL YUH TEL WHA AL YUH GET!!!!  BACK TO DOOM AND GLOOM!!!!!!!!!

One slip and there will be an exodus of the Indians the world has never seen before. Then and only can the PNC win a fair election. 

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!   AL YUH TEL WHA AL YUH GET!!!!  BACK TO DOOM AND GLOOM!!!!!!!!!

I man like channa. I had my Doubles everyday when  I was in T&T recently. Channa and aloo curry is great.

The article in the lead post in this thread (source???) has done nothing to validate the thread's headline - Granger is a Carbon Copy of Burnham

• How does a million VPs make him Burnham?
  • How do campaign promises and touted policies and initiatives all reflect the dictatorial style of the late Burnham?
  • How not apologizing makes Granger a Burnham?
  • What personality traits Granger inherited from Burnham?

Yuji, stop insulting people's intelligence. Attack Granger's vision, economic programs, record in Parliament and any character traits that should disqualify him from being a President. When you do so we'll take you seriously. Otherwise the shrill nonsense your posted here from some author (unknown) has no place in sensible discussion on the serious matter of elections in Guyana.

Lard have mercy, PPP/Jaganite convert to PNC/Burnhamite done mek moral judgement on new govt APNU/Grangerite.  Alyuh prapa shallah rass, alyuh can't even get alyuh keel out much less a rudder fuh find some direction.

Baseman remains cautiously optimistic, but me wait and see.  I don't think Granger is Burnham.  Burnham never offered a hand out for unity Govt.  Granger is his own man and will chart hid own path.  Let's see where that path leads.

Mr, Granger is not Mr. Burnham.  Mr. Burnham knew and could have cooked ( if he wanted to) the main Indo-Guyanese foods.  He knew all the indo Guyanese foods and ate them all.    The man could out cook Cheddi Jagan any day of the week when it came to the main indo-Guyanese food.  Could Mr. Granger do that. I don't think so.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Mr, Granger is not Mr. Burnham.  Mr. Burnham knew and could have cooked ( if he wanted to) the main Indo-Guyanese foods.  He knew all the indo Guyanese foods and ate them all.    The man could out cook Cheddi Jagan any day of the week when it came to the main indo-Guyanese food.  Could Mr. Granger do that. I don't think so.

Banna, leave the people, maybe Sandra Granger, being the boss at home, runs things her way and does chase the man out the kitchen.  Viola, on the other hand, allow fat boy to huff and puff and "big-up heself" outside, but put him to peel potato, wash dishes and stir the hassa curry.  So he learn fuh cook.

Like you are still for some happiness?

PPP had 23 years to present alternatives to Burnham, they were all worse than forbes hands down.

The PPP used to present themselves as masters of finance, business and industry. Masters at manufacturing.

Bullshit, they are masters at one thing and one thing only. Banditry, thieifin is what they were very very good at.

In a statement out of the Washington Headquarters, Deputy Spokesperson for the State Department,  Marie Harf said the US government commends “the Guyana Elections Commission for conducting a free, fair, and credible electoral process.”

She said moving forward, the US government urges all parties and their supporters to work together to focus their collective efforts on addressing the issues that are important to the Guyanese people, including economic development, citizen security, broader social inclusion, and the protection and effective management of the nation’s vast resources. ... “We also look forward to supporting President Granger’s efforts to promote inclusive governance and national development”, the State Department spokesperson said.

IT'S TIME

TO MOVE ON....

WE DO NOT NEED TO.... DISCUSS ANY JIHAJI OR GAOTSHIT INTERPITATION

OR ANY NEGATIVE VIEWS....

US State Department commends GECOM on Free, Fair and Credible Elections

In a statement out of the Washington Headquarters, Deputy Spokesperson for the State Department,  Marie Harf said the US government commends "the Guyana Elections Commission for conducting a free, fair, and credible electoral process."

US State Department commends GECOM on Free, Fair and Credible Elections

Even as the ousted People’s Progressive Party is calling for a total recount and has declared that the recent national elections were fraudulent, the State Department of the United States has offered congratulations to the Guyana Elections Commission for hosting elections that were “free, fair and credible”.

In a statement out of the Washington Headquarters, Deputy Spokesperson for the State Department,  Marie Harf said the US government commends “the Guyana Elections Commission for conducting a free, fair, and credible electoral process.”

She said moving forward, the US government urges all parties and their supporters to work together to focus their collective efforts on addressing the issues that are important to the Guyanese people, including economic development, citizen security, broader social inclusion, and the protection and effective management of the nation’s vast resources.

The US government reiterated earlier statements from the local embassy that it is looking forward to working with newly-elected President David Granger and all those who were also elected to office.  

Marie-Harf

U.S State Department Deputy Spokesperson Marie Harf

“We also look forward to supporting President Granger’s efforts to promote inclusive governance and national development”, the State Department spokesperson said. 

The US State Department has also extended its appreciation to former President Donald Ramotar and the members of his government for their service to the people of Guyana.

The State Department said President Ramotar is to be congratulated for the numerous achievements that his government made under his leadership.

The US, British and Canadian missions in Guyana have all declared that the elections were free, fair and credible. The Observer groups which overlooked the elections also offered the same assessment.

Poor PPP

The People’s Progressive Party is however convinced that they may have all gotten it wrong and in a statement on Tuesday night, the PPP said the international community and the observers were all “duped” into believing that the elections were free and fair.

The PPP intends to file an elections petition to challenge the outcome of the elections.