Granger probably not “fit and proper” to select GECOM Chairman – Jagdeo

By Devina Samaroo

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Thursday said if his third list of nominees is rejected, then President David Granger is probably not “fit and proper” to make a decision on the appointment of the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

The President has had three lists so far, with 18 names to select a chairman for the country’s elections body. The last list was submitted over a month ago, but the President is yet to decide.

President David Granger

According to Jagdeo, “maybe he [Granger] is not fit and proper to make the selection.”

Granger on Wednesday said he wants to meet with Jagdeo sometime next week to discuss the matter.
The Opposition Leader said he hopes the President’s request for a meeting means he has made a decision.

“In the past, he has just written me to say ‘I did not find anyone acceptable. So I am hoping the departure from how I get the news, means that its positive news,” he stated.

The last set of nominees includes Major General Joseph Singh, TeniHousty, Sanjeev Datadin, Annette Arjoon-Martins, Onesi La Fleur, and Krishnadatt Persaud. Meanwhile, Jagdeo also took a swing at the President for not addressing the fact that the Acting Chief Justice Roxanne George Wiltshire ruled against his initial interpretations of the Constitution.

The Opposition Leader asserted that the President keeps saying that the ruling does not interfere with his authority to select a “fit and proper” without addressing his “false” interpretations from the inception.

“Whoever claimed in this country that the ruling interfered with his authority to appoint a fit and proper person? Nobody said anything about the ruling interfering with his authority to appoint a fit and proper person. What we said was that the ruling dealt with some positions the president had taken publicly,” Jagdeo stated and accused the President of implementing diversionary tactics to hide from the truth.

GECOM has been without a Chairman since November 2016 following the resignation of Dr Steve Surujbally.

https://newsroom.gy/2017/10/05...com-chairman-jagdeo/

Excerpts:

“In the past, he has just written me to say ‘I did not find anyone acceptable. So I am hoping the departure from how I get the news, means that its positive news,” he stated.

Keep them toes crossed, Jaggy.

Jagdeo mury (head) shine fuh days and getting bigger, but his popularity is holding up strongly in Guyana.  Anyone notice his head side? I mean the top head for some smart ass.

Jagdeo is being juvenile. Right now Granger  dealings with him is purely perfunctory.

Mits this is one big word bana, sounds dirty. Wha rass is a perfunctory?

Our brave Hon Dr B. Jagdeo is fighting for the rights of all Guyanese.  He is the main hindrance to Hon H.E. David A. Granger becoming another PNC dictator.  Hon Dr B Jagdeo must be loved, supported and honored by all Guyanese for his efforts.  He must have a loving woman next to him who is not a blabber mouth.  Madame secretary, queen of queens and queen of GNI is such a blabber person he don't need.  In a earlier posting she blabber that no person of high caliber want to be on the list of Hon Dr B Jagdeo.  Madame secretary even said Hon Dr B. Jagdeo submitted a bottom-notch list which tell Hon H. E Granger could reject.  Madame secretary should let us know who better and tell to Hon Dr B. Jagdeo and not just blabber on this site.  Hon Dr B Jagdeo does not need such a ignar blabber mouth by his side.  Let us pray for Hon Dr B Jagdeo and for all Guyanese that he succeed and become President in 2020 and my niece first lady.

“if our President cannot find 1 from 18 persons, 18 persons who are all professionals, who have some standing in society, who have demonstrated independent positions and actions, who are impartial, (if) he cannot find a single person—most of them are more technically qualified than the President himself and most of his ministerscan’t find a single of 18 fit and proper, then something is wrong not with those people anymore or the process, something is wrong with him, and maybe he is not fit and proper to make the selection.”     Nehru will tell you what's wrong with him.

Hon, Bharrat Jagdeo 

Excerpts:

http://www.inewsguyana.com/gec...-the-process-jagdeo/