Eighteen days have now passed since the Guyanese people participated in a relatively simple exercise to elect a government of their choice. At close of play today we still do not have a final outcome. What we have are the individual declarations of the results of the ten electoral districts by the respective Returning Officers.

There have been requests for recounts in a number of districts but, by far, the most controversial declaration was the one made with respect to District 4.

The largest district, with approximately 285,000 voters, as well as a stronghold of the governing coalition, this was the last of the ten districts to conclude the process of tabulating its votes from its statements of poll. This process descended into chaos and disorder on Wednesday, March 4th resulting in a declaration being made by Returning Officer Mingo on Thursday, March 5th. This declaration placed the APNU+AFC coalition ahead of the PPP/C opposition by some 59,000 votes in District 4 and by approximately 7,000 votes overall in the General Election.

There was immediate and widespread rejection of this declaration, based primarily on procedural grounds and a lack of transparency. I too have taken a position (personal) on the Mingo Declaration – I don’t buy his numbers.

Who vex, vex! I am not attempting to convince anyone that my position is the right one. I’ve gone beyond that. I am also not condemning anyone for whatever position they may wish to take. Life is too short.

As a people, our post-election behavior has not been exemplary. We seem to have little concern for the young Guyanese who are looking on in astonishment, and who have to live together in the aftermath of the hot mess that we are creating.
There are a number of serious issues arising out of the events of the last two weeks.
1. The loss of confidence in GECOM, a critical national institution: regardless of who is wrong or right or good or bad, GECOM cannot purport to hold credible elections in the future unless it can satisfactorily address the major concerns that have been raised about its declared results and the post-election processes leading to those declarations.
2. The inability of APNU and/or the AFC to win another election in the near future: whether through public perception or bias, this is a very likely consequence of what has taken place and doesn’t bode well for our future. I personally find the prospect of the PPP/C winning elections and remaining in power for another decades-long stretch quite frightening.
3. Societal damage from exacerbated ethnic tensions: all that has been said, implied and displayed since March 2nd, has severely damaged the fragile but admirable co-existence of our two major ethnic groups. In my view, race voting is not necessarily racism. Neither is the passionate advocacy for better conditions for a particular ethnicity. However, a lot of our recent behavior has crossed the line and is clearly racist and harmful to social cohesion.
These are major problems, but there is a bigger issue, and now may be a good time for all of us to question whether western style democracy in a plural society with our particular demography is a model we should continue to embrace. Tyranny of the majority or minority is a valid concern for both Afro- and Indo-Guyanese respectively. The former can prevail almost indefinitely without so much as a raised eyebrow from the international community, as long as it is punctuated by regular free, fair and credible elections. The other can only prevail in the absence of free, fair and credible elections. Neither option is good for Guyana.
We need a new model of governance which works for us and which doesn’t incite this level of divisiveness every five years. This is not something that can be left to any incumbent to address. It will never happen. There must be a binding commitment from all parties as part of a packaged resolution of the current situation. Finding a permanent solution is not rocket science. Those who are not up to the task should step out of the way and allow better minds to figure it out – lots of bright young people in Guyana.
The real big men and women have to start talking to each other, or stop pretending to be leaders. Various other stakeholders need to set side aside their emotions and adopt a more conciliatory posture which puts the nation first.
Unless we can bring ourselves to understand that there are good people on both sides of the 2020 elections controversy who genuinely believe the narrative coming out of their camps, we risk detonating the fuse that has been burning slowly for over six decades.
In the meantime, all voters deserve to know the true result of the process in which they innocently and dutifully participated. There needs to be a full investigation to ascertain whether there was any wrong-doing on the part of individuals within GECOM as it relates to the integrity of statements of poll or the tabulation of results thereof.
Elections 2020 has been a national embarrassment. If we cannot manage a simple election, how the heck do we plan to manage an oil economy? We seem to be doing everything possible to make up for the absence of natural disasters in this dear land of ours.

JAMES BOND & DUARTE HESTBERGER MEETING

A short while ago one of our operatives spotted James Bond of the APNU+AFC in the vicinity of the Fish Shop. Bond emerged from a Range Rover SUV which bore trade plates. He was spotted in the company of Duarte Hetsberger. Hetsberger is the personal assistant of GECOM CEO, Keith Lownefield and a central figure in the APNU+AFC’s attempt to rig the 2020 elections.
The two had a lengthy discussion and it comes at a time when many believe that the removal of containers with ballot boxes today was done to facilitate tampering by APNU+AFC operatives at GECOM.
Bond works closely with Volda Lawerence, one of the central figures in the rigging. Lawrence’s signature also appeared on the fake declaration issued by Region 4 RO Clairmont Mingo. Hetsberger is the person who produced the fraudulent spreadsheet used by Mingo which inflated votes in favour of the APNU+AFC.

Image may contain: 1 person

Statement - Mike Pompeo - United States Secretary of State

I congratulate Luis Almagro on his re-election as Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS). Under his principled leadership, which the member-states have now renewed, the United States will continue to work with our partners at the OAS to promote and defend democracy, human rights, security, and economic prosperity for the people of the Americas.

Today’s vote by OAS Member States shows that even in the most challenging of times, such as what we are facing with the COVID-19 pandemic, our Hemisphere of Freedom remains steadfast in safeguarding our shared values.

As we overcome the threat to public health posed by COVID-19, the peoples of the Americas and theCaribbean face other challenges, such as the full restoration of democracy in Nicaragua and Venezuela; adherence to free, fair and credible electoral processes in Guyana; and holding the Cuban regime accountable for its malign activities. Opportunities abound as well, including the upcoming democratic elections in Bolivia and implementing an array of OAS programs and initiatives to boost resilience; strengthen democratic governance, human rights, and fundamental freedoms; and bolster economic competitiveness and development in the region.

With Secretary General Almagro continuing at the helm, I am confident about the future of the OAS and the Americas.

"There are a number of serious issues arising out of the events of the last two weeks.

1. The loss of confidence in GECOM, a critical national institution: regardless of who is wrong or right or good or bad, GECOM cannot purport to hold credible elections in the future unless it can satisfactorily address the major concerns that have been raised about its declared results and the post-election processes leading to those declarations.
2. The inability of APNU and/or the AFC to win another election in the near future:" - Gaskin

This has already happened. Guyanese silently watched as Granger and his Coalition blatantly defied the constitution following the successful passage of the NCV and decided that they will get the opportunity to submit our verdict if Granger does allow them to vote. Even some folks here argued that a few in the PPP assisted by Charrandas should not override the votes of the 2015 elections even though the PPP as well as Charrandas complied fully with the Constitution.

Well those voters have voiced their preference on March 2, 2020 and so far the PNC as they did with the NCV is denying the voters their right to choose.

If the US is serious about something they will act indecively. Venezuela as an example of the US actions then Granger and his PNC has nothing to be concerned about.

Granger has the solution and he alone. He is like Trump, very smart.

But the contents are genuine. Perhaps, the influences of Gaskin are being tapped for a transition of Guyanese politic. It is an excellent effort and no current politician in either camp will endorse a transition. It is a peoples movement. And it should push for a SELECTED government and not an ELECTED one.

I have written about a Peoples Movement for decades and the level of Amerindian participation.

I would believe the moment is right for it, every thing is lined up. 

Jagdeo and Irfaan Ali's imposition on the citizens of Guyana. The inaction of the membership of the PPP demonstrated they have no say. There is no PPP organization, there are Jagdeo's puppets. As for the PPP electorate, dem blind as bats. And he Jagdeo having dem breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Black People perceptions, dey see wah took place with Ramotar Presidency. Jagdeo had him on a leash. The same thing wid Irfaan Ali is going happen. The Black people may have started off with that desent, later it became a full fledged racist act while the votes were counted. Granger is for Black people and not for Guyanese. If Jagdeo thinks in Region 4 he has the support of sizeable black votes, then these voters should let it be known. I suggest all Black PPP supporters march to the CONTAINERS. As for the PNC electorate, dey want Black people rule, democracy for them will never be in the Ballot Paper. Dey beyond that form of goverance. And to think coolie ppl votes is a vote against their principles. AND WE KNOW THERE ISN"T ONE BLACK PERSON educated or highly educated or uneduacted who differ. Any Disguises as APNU, AFC is a mole for the PNC, an organization whose ultimate aim is to marginalize indian ppl.

Guyana is without leadership.

Without a government.

Money sitting in the bank for a Genisis.

Untold wealth juss like the Native City of Manoa.

Then, there is Lennox Shuman an integarl part of Guiana, Land of many waters or the Wild Coast..

My ink on paper was worthy. 

I listened to Ben Chop sticks last night on the radio. It looks like some Koolie called him a monkey. I would like to meet that koolie because Ben Chop sticks is a Koolie trying real hard so black people can call him brother.

race voting is not necessarily racism. Neither is the passionate advocacy for better conditions for a particular ethnicity. However, a lot of our recent behavior has crossed the line and is clearly racist and harmful to social cohesion.

Where are all the PNC apologists who call coolies racist for voting for the PPP?

I listened to Ben Chop sticks last night on the radio. It looks like some Koolie called him a monkey. I would like to meet that koolie because Ben Chop sticks is a Koolie trying real hard so black people can call him brother.

Have you seen any coolie monkey? BenLar is a duggla, not coolie. He identifies himself with the monkeys.