Granger shuns AFC pro-democracy alliance proposal

Kiana Wilburg, December 13, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News

Opposition Leader, David Granger, has said that while he has not received an official invitation, he is not interested in the pro-democracy alliance proposal by the Alliance For Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan.

Opposition Leader, David Granger

Opposition Leader,

David Granger

Ramjattan had made the announcement in an address to his party’s conference which was held at the St. Stanislaus College auditorium last Saturday.

“Hard decisions would have to be made, and indeed the AFC is ready to enter, if necessary, into negotiations and to lead a pro-democracy alliance of progressive forces comprising civic groups, workers’ unions, political forces…and by political forces here we are talking about even PPP members who have been disenchanted with the performance of the PPP thus far, and even APNU,” he said to a loud round of applause.

Granger was asked during his press conference, yesterday, whether he had started discussions with the AFC Leader on the said proposal. The Opposition Leader told the media that he has been in contact with the AFC and is expected to meet with the party within a few days time.

To the best of his knowledge, the politician said that Ramjattan is supposed to submit a proposal for discussion as well.

At the conclusion of the press briefing, Kaieteur News asked Granger for his opinion on the pro-democracy proposal and whether his meeting with AFC leader is an indication of his interest in joining the alliance.

“I am not interested in that alliance. I am interested in the APNU which is committed to forming a government of national unity and that is the pro=democracy front –APNU. We have invited AFC but they haven’t taken the bait for the last three years and we haven’t received that invitation formally,” Granger firmly stated.

APNU’s financial point man, Carl Greenidge, in a previous interview with this publication had said that Ramjattan’s initiative will pose some negotiating challenges.

Greenidge said that Ramjattan has, in the past, maintained that his party would not join the APNU whose major constituent is the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) that had governed Guyana from 1964 to 1992.

The politician had reminded that the AFC, which has been tapping into the traditional East Indian support-base of the governing People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C), has in the past reasoned that it wanted to preserve its identity as an alternative to both major parties.

Ramjattan, he said, sought to justify the shift towards engaging APNU by arguing that there was need for collective patriotic action and cooperation of all Guyanese in undertaking the “herculean task” of voting out the ruling party.

But even with such an initiative, the former Finance Minister emphasized that the question of negotiation skills will again be an issue, if the proposal is to materialize and bear fruit.

It is on this premise that the Opposition leadership will be put to the test to demonstrate that it has the very negotiating skills which the PPP demonstrably lacks, he said.

Greenidge also said that the current administration will pose difficulties for the process of meaningful negotiations, as demonstrated before, on constitutional matters to say the least.

He added that engraved in the PPP government’s psyche is a cuss-out-and-mislead culture, hence its actions reflect scathing and damning acts of corruption, as opposed to those which show that it is interested in achieving some element of common goals by way of meaningful negotiations.

The Shadow Finance Minister opined that the PPP’s view is that it is dealing with political inferiors or election-losers rather than spokespersons. (Kiana Wilburg)

Source - http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....y-alliance-proposal/

Opposition Leader, David Granger, has said that while he has not received an official invitation, he is not interested in the pro-democracy alliance proposal by the Alliance For Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan.

Ramjattan had made the announcement in an address to his party’s conference which was held at the St. Stanislaus College auditorium last Saturday.

Granger shuns AFC pro-democracy alliance proposal, Kiana Wilburg, December 13, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News

Playing games, perhaps?

The 2 Parties working behind the scenes BUT KFC is TERRIFIED to be seen near the PNC. Is it strategy or lack of HONESTY, TRANCPARENCY and TRUTHFULNESS???

The AFC is aware of PPP anti black racism and they don't want to encourage it.

The 2 Parties working behind the scenes BUT KFC is TERRIFIED to be seen near the PNC. Is it strategy or lack of HONESTY, TRANCPARENCY and TRUTHFULNESS???

The AFC is aware of PPP anti black racism and they don't want to encourage it.

If that is how you see it, your opinion is noted.

There is something called Leadership, the PNC and KFC lacks it badly.

That can only be found in the low breed establishment?

So you were derive from Vegetable waste or from Meat products waste????

D_G, from here on, it will be a political game of domination.

Domination, perhaps in the voting perspective.

However, when the PPP/C again are elected to govern in the next election, the will, as usual, manage the affairs for all Guyanese.

PNC and AFC are always intimately intertwined behind the scene, in particular after the 2011 elections.

You are finally showing some glimmer of hope. Did you get some special insulin shot this morning?

You know what angers the PPP the most.  The fact that APNU has consistently refused to cooperate with them to crush the AFC.  You see the PPP knows that APNU is no threat to them.  They fear that the AFC might be if they succeed in splitting the Indian vote.

You are another fool who continues to try and insult the intelligence of the average person - CARIBNY.

What you have stated above is complete and utter bullshit, I will explain so you don't have to hurt that brain of yours.

- Did the PNC join with the PPP to put a bill in parliament to prevent parliamentarians from moving from one party to another?

- Did that ***** hole Robert Corbin not sign a bill with fagdeo to suspend local govt elections prior to 2011 and deprive the AFC of funds for scrutineering? They instead divided up the millions between corbin and fagdeo? is that not accurate?

- Did the PNC say or do anything when the PPP stole a seat from the AFC in linden?

- Did the PNC not collude with the PPP to keep the AFC out of any boards and also out of GECOM?

You are a dishonest ****er of the highest level.

Is how many times Carib has to be told that repeating his lies won't make them any more true?

The PPP and PNC regimes are running scared that the AFC will expose corruption on a colossal scale that has been going on since Jagan and Burnham agreed to share the spoils. Jagdeo and Corbin further cemented that sharing of the corruption takings.

Guyana has few choices left in this day and age. If the people are dumb enough to keep in power those that are robbing them blindly, then that is their problem. But let me point out that many PPP ministers increased their weight by more than 100% since getting their position. Ramotar is the exception, since he was already being fattened up for the job before he actually got it.

Prior to the 2011 elections, indeed the AFC projected the impression that it was an independent political organization.

Immediately after the election AFC publicly worked in unison with and remains firmly in the "hip pockets" in the PNC.

Next election slated for 2015, will determine the electors choice.

carib bhai

You will have a heart attack if the AFC announced Nigel as their Presidential candidate. He will steal Afro votes from the PNC.

Opposition Leader,

David Granger

“Hard decisions would have to be made, and indeed the AFC is ready to enter, if necessary, into negotiations and to lead a pro-democracy alliance of progressive forces comprising civic groups, workers’ unions, political forces…and by political forces here we are talking about even PPP members who have been disenchanted with the performance of the PPP thus far, and even APNU,” he said to a loud round of applause.

Granger was asked during his press conference, yesterday, whether he had started discussions with the AFC Leader on the said proposal. The Opposition Leader told the media that he has been in contact with the AFC and is expected to meet with the party within a few days time.

To the best of his knowledge, the politician said that Ramjattan is supposed to submit a proposal for discussion as well.

At the conclusion of the press briefing, Kaieteur News asked Granger for his opinion on the pro-democracy proposal and whether his meeting with AFC leader is an indication of his interest in joining the alliance.

“I am not interested in that alliance. I am interested in the APNU which is committed to forming a government of national unity and that is the pro=democracy front –APNU. We have invited AFC but they haven’t taken the bait for the last three years and we haven’t received that invitation formally,” Granger firmly stated.

APNU’s financial point man, Carl Greenidge, in a previous interview with this publication had said that Ramjattan’s initiative will pose some negotiating challenges.

Greenidge said that Ramjattan has, in the past, maintained that his party would not join the APNU whose major constituent is the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) that had governed Guyana from 1964 to 1992.

The politician had reminded that the AFC, which has been tapping into the traditional East Indian support-base of the governing People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C), has in the past reasoned that it wanted to preserve its identity as an alternative to both major parties.

Ramjattan, he said, sought to justify the shift towards engaging APNU by arguing that there was need for collective patriotic action and cooperation of all Guyanese in undertaking the “herculean task” of voting out the ruling party.

But even with such an initiative, the former Finance Minister emphasized that the question of negotiation skills will again be an issue, if the proposal is to materialize and bear fruit.

It is on this premise that the Opposition leadership will be put to the test to demonstrate that it has the very negotiating skills which the PPP demonstrably lacks, he said.

Greenidge also said that the current administration will pose difficulties for the process of meaningful negotiations, as demonstrated before, on constitutional matters to say the least.

He added that engraved in the PPP government’s psyche is a cuss-out-and-mislead culture, hence its actions reflect scathing and damning acts of corruption, as opposed to those which show that it is interested in achieving some element of common goals by way of meaningful negotiations.

The Shadow Finance Minister opined that the PPP’s view is that it is dealing with political inferiors or election-losers rather than spokespersons. (Kiana Wilburg)

Granger uses the AFC as puppets by default. He does not want troublemakers from the AFC to create disturbances in his APNU coalition. He is quite content with what he as going for him.

You are another fool who continues to try and insult the intelligence of the average person - CARIBNY.

What you have stated above is complete and utter bullshit, I will explain so you don't have to hurt that brain of yours.

- Did the PNC join with the PPP to put a bill in parliament to prevent parliamentarians from moving from one party to another?

- Did that ***** hole Robert Corbin not sign a bill with fagdeo to suspend local govt elections prior to 2011 and deprive the AFC of funds for scrutineering? They instead divided up the millions between corbin and fagdeo? is that not accurate?

- Did the PNC say or do anything when the PPP stole a seat from the AFC in linden?

- Did the PNC not collude with the PPP to keep the AFC out of any boards and also out of GECOM?

Whattax... !!

Opposition Leader,

David Granger

Granger uses the AFC as puppets by default. He does not want troublemakers from the AFC to create disturbances in his APNU coalition. He is quite content with what he as going for him.

These are very difficult topics for the unschooled to understand and really comprehend what is going on.

- Did the PNC join with the PPP to put a bill in parliament to prevent parliamentarians from moving from one party to another?  "J"is this so?

- Did that ***** hole Robert Corbin not sign a bill with fagdeo to suspend local govt elections prior to 2011 and deprive the AFC of funds for scrutineering? They instead divided up the millions between corbin and fagdeo? is that not accurate?"J"is this so?

- Did the PNC say or do anything when the PPP stole a seat from the AFC in linden? "J"is this so?

- Did the PNC not collude with the PPP to keep the AFC out of any boards and also out of GECOM? "J"is this so?

You are a dishonest ****er of the highest level. "J"is this so?

Is how many times Carib has to be told that repeating his lies won't make them any more true?"J"is this so?

The PPP and PNC regimes are running scared that the AFC will expose corruption on a colossal scale that has been going on since Jagan and Burnham agreed to share the spoils. Jagdeo and Corbin further cemented that sharing of the corruption takings."J"is this so?

Guyana has few choices left in this day and age. If the people are dumb enough to keep in power those that are robbing them blindly, then that is their problem. But let me point out that many PPP ministers increased their weight by more than 100% since getting their position. Ramotar is the exception, since he was already being fattened up for the job before he actually got it."J"is this so?

I guess racist vulgarity which GNI doesn't allow you to print.

Tell you what if Granger wanted to cooperate with the PPP he would have voted down the MONC and made the AFC quite foolish, and his excuse would have been his demand that the LGE should be a priority, and that it wouldn't occur if there was a national election.

His LARGEST constituency, that of Georgetown is demanding LGE as indeed are Linden and New Amsterdam, the latter two now run by PPP appointees under their sham that they construct once the local govt collapses.

Granger didn't embarrass the AFC, and indeed mashed his own corn as now there will not be any LGE, before national elections.

Now continue to write ****er, and show what a vulgar person you are.

Tell you what if Granger wanted to cooperate with the PPP he would have voted down the MONC and made the AFC quite foolish, and his excuse would have been his demand that the LGE should be a priority, and that it wouldn't occur if there was a national election.

But he didn't.

It was your PNC who sided with Jagdeo to postpone LGE.

are.

And it is APNU who was demanding it and YOUR AFC sabotaged it with this MONC nonsense, which might well back fire if the PPP wins again, which most predict that it will.  So what will the MONC have achieved other then further delaying LGE.

are.

And it is APNU who was demanding it and YOUR AFC sabotaged it with this MONC nonsense, which might well back fire if the PPP wins again, which most predict that it will.  So what will the MONC have achieved other then further delaying LGE.

The only reason that you are claiming that the AFC is bad is because you are worried that Guyanese will wake up to the fact that racists like you have been preventing them from having a better living standards. The PNC in all its years in power has never improved the living standards of blacks, let alone Indos and Bucks. I am yet to meet a single black Guyanese who can say that things were better for them as an individual under the PNC. The PPP at least improved the living standards of a few people like their friends in the drugs and gold smuggling trade.

are.

J let us agree that the

PNC sided with Jagdeo and PPP .....

so Local Govt Elections were removed off the Table.

"J"is this so?

AFC could jump as high as they want

but there will be no LGE

because of PPP & PNC (PNC joined with PPP) ......

"J"is this so?

"J" you cant try to twist it

or apply Vaseline

but nothing would not change.

"J"is this so?

AFC showing Leadership...

Let us hope PNC will stop bending over for PPP.

and hopefully APNU learn from the past....

and APNU follow AFC.

"J" let us hope

APNU do not sell out

like PNC did.

are.

Your PNC lacks leadership. PNC becomes conveniently sick when it comes time to vote on motion. Granger would have failed to pass a motion calling for LGE. He is only interested in the pension package. Your Afro bruddas are better off  today than they were under the PNC/R.

Last edited by Mitwah
are.

Demanding what local government elections? when yuh ***** hole PNC led by that whore corbin joined with the PPP for 15+ years to delay LGE all of a sudden it is important because granger is calling for LGE?

Now you coming like a lil puss and grumbling here. Look guh and drink some friggin hot chocolate or something. Haul yuh ***** one side.

You are a bloody racist and thank goodness there are black folks out there who do not think like you do.

There is something called Leadership, the PNC and KFC lacks it badly.

They are good at stabbing each other in the backs.

Granger has to stay clear of the AFC.

D_G, from here on, it will be a political game of domination.

And I thought these PPP monkey was spreading the falsehood that the AFC is now party of the PNC.

Shucks.  More snake oil from the PPP Cobras.

His LARGEST constituency, that of Georgetown is demanding LGE as indeed are Linden and New Amsterdam, the latter two now run by PPP appointees under their sham that they construct once the local govt collapses.

Granger didn't embarrass the AFC, and indeed mashed his own corn as now there will not be any LGE, before national elections.

Again you cannot be honest with yourself or anyone else.

Granger had no choice but to go along with the AFC on the MONC. His own party would have skinned him up. APNU supporters made it crystal clear to Granger support the MONC or else.

Had Granger sided with the PPP it would have created a greater implosion on the heels of the complete disaster that was the Congress of 2014. 

You gonna have to come better dan dis.

Originally Posted by kp:

AFC just clutching at straws. Where is Errol[ Charrandas Persaud, the word is he did not attend congress.

The AFC experienced a flat tire at the conference where delegates sat on patio chairs, ate unsanitary food from the back of a minivan.

The AFC wheels have fallen off.

PPP is headed for a 54 percent majority while the AFC eats dirt.

RIP AFC.

Originally Posted by kp:

AFC just clutching at straws. Where is Errol[ Charrandas Persaud, the word is he did not attend congress.

EH, Rohee got his spies in the AFC Congress.

Charan was there KP aka Rohee

Again you cannot be honest with yourself or anyone else.

Granger had no choice but to go along with the AFC on the MONC. His own party would have skinned him up. APNU supporters made it crystal clear to Granger support the MONC or else.

Had Granger sided with the PPP it would have created a greater implosion on the heels of the complete disaster that was the Congress of 2014. 

You gonna have to come better dan dis.

Well if they did it would just prove my point how foolish APNU is.

G/town is in crisis, as is Linden, New Amsterdam and Bartica.  No local govt in villages like Buxton.  So why is MONC a greater priority than LGE?  As a result of no LGE the PPP is de factor running these PNC strongholds.

Who elected Carol Sooba?  So why is she allowed to run rough shod over G/town?  What of those people who lost property in the recent flooding?  Those issues can only be addressed with strong LOCAL gov't.  One cannot expect national gov't to be competent to deal with those local issues.

Face it, the PPP is NOT going to lose because APNU is NOT going to win.

So what will this MONC have achieved.  NOTHING other than delaying LGE which is critical when we see our the infrastructure is crumbling leading to massive flooding, and increasingly unhealthy environments!

PPP/C will win every elections.

PNCR will be the opposition party.

AFC gaining about 6% of the votes.

PPP/C will win every elections getting 43% of the votes.  APNU will get its usual 41% and the AFC will get the rest.

PNCR will be the opposition party.