Granger feels that removing presidential immunity is not as important as empowering communities. - Hogwash!

Constitutional Reform…Guyana cannot have a “cut-and-paste Constitution”- Granger

DECEMBER 15, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- “We need to move away from beer garden talk and find out from the people what reforms they would want to see.”

By: Kiana Wilburg

Since the prorogation of the Parliament, the pressure for constitutional reform has increased, with some political parties putting forward their own menu of necessary changes to certain articles.
One such party is the Alliance For Change (AFC), whose Chairman Nigel Hughes had recently put forward his party’s constitutional reform proposal, which includes tempering the powers of the President along with his immunities to suit.
Even business mogul, Dr. Yesu Persaud recently spoke to the urgent need for constitutional changes, particularly the powers vested in the Executive.

Opposition Leader, David Granger

However, Opposition Leader, David Granger believes that considering the political state of the country, it is also important to examine other parts of the Constitution and not just the powers of the President. While he shares Dr. Persaud’s view, Granger said that there is “nothing new about that.”
The Leader of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) said that as far as Constitutional Reform is concerned, it has become a very popular topic nowadays, but “we need to move away from beer garden talk and find out from the people what reforms they would want to see.”
Granger recently told the media that everyone has a package of reforms in their back pockets. He reminded of some who opined that Guyana should return to the 1970’s Constitution. Granger then emphasized, “We cannot have a cut and paste constitution.”
He asserted, “We can’t have one that just selects a bit from South Africa, a bit from India, and a part from the USA …There are like hundreds of suggestions coming up and the problem is that many of the reforms which have been recommended as of 2001 have not yet been implemented, so we need experts. We also need to go back to the people to find out what the people themselves want and not what was discussed in a beer garden or some coffee house.”
The Opposition Leader said that attention should also be given to the experiences of the Tenth Parliament over the last few years, particularly because they have brought out some new issues which the Constitution will have to remedy, such as the matter of prorogation.
On that premise, Granger said that a more careful look at the Constitution needs to be taken as opposed to what some have been suggesting.
“I respect Dr. Persaud but we need to go to the people and we need to get experts in public law to redraft the Constitution. There is no point at this stage of Guyanese history to be cherry picking issues, saying ‘oh there is a good clause here in the USA and a good one here in India and another there’ … we finish with that. We need to hear the voices of the people in this country. There are too many “experts” who have never written a Constitution in their life and suddenly dictating what needs to be done,” Granger expressed.
He expressed that he was in the Pomeroon area recently, and after listening to the plight of the citizens there, with regard to their living conditions, he observed that more attention needs to be paid to Local Government.
“A lot of problems exist there and everyone is talking about presidential powers but they don’t speak on the way communities are administered, and this is what the Local Government system is meant to remedy. Everyone knows the President must do this and the President must do that but the people are suffering at the bottom because the system is not working for them…we need to do a deeper Constitutional consultation,” Granger commented.
The APNU leader then said that his coalition will continue to push for constitutional reform.
Chairman of the AFC, Nigel Hughes had outlined that one of the important things the Constitution speaks to is the distribution of power and how it should be exercised. Referring to Article 51, the Attorney-at-law had said that supreme democratic power should be vested in three organs; the Presidency, Parliament and Cabinet.
He had emphasized that a worrying problem exists in that equation.
“What you have is the President being a part of the parliament and then when you go to Cabinet, you have him there, where he has supreme executive power. So in effect, he has power of all three organs of the state.
“He dominates them, and this is long before we come to discuss his immunities from suit, which means that in the exercise of his executive power, he is not answerable to the court or anyone and can only be removed by grave misconduct, ill-health or loss of confidence in him by the House.”
Hughes had said that the current structure of the Constitution gives the President absolute power to govern, and that the AFC has advocated for this to be addressed with urgency, for power, he had opined, must be distributed evenly.

Originally Posted by kp:

The AFC are like Monday morning quarter back and they will always be, because they never get pick to play on a real game.

you like when kwame play on your back what you call that give it to me in the back----side

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The AFC is trying hard to stay in this race.

AFC giving all yuh belly wuk daily. Every marnin PPP wake up dem does run to the toilet hallering AFC AFC AFC.....

Where did Granger say that he his against removing immunity of the president.  Indeed its this very cherry picking that he is against.

Is the only problem with the constitution the fact that the president has full immunity?  No.  There are many other issues which need to be addressed and ought to be dealt with at simultaneously.  Amending constitutions are very difficult so changing a bit here and a bit there isnt going to work.

What about pre and post election alliances?  What about how our local govt is constituted.  Are there any fixes that can reduce the impact of ethnic anxiety on our poltics.  I am sure that constitutional experts can come up with many other fixes that need to get done.

Guyanese are an interesting people is all I can say.

Actions Caribny Actions........speaks louder than words.

Wasn't Granger the chairman of the constitution reform committee since 2011?

What has he done aside from collect tax payers money since 2011 in this regard? please do enlighten us.

AFC giving all yuh belly wuk daily. Every marnin PPP wake up dem does run to the toilet hallering AFC AFC AFC.....

Maybe it is true that the AFC is giving the PPP and people of Guyana bellywuk. The bellywuk will stop when those fools in Berbice recognize the AFC for what it is and stop voting for them. They have given us enough bellywuk. 

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Maybe it is true that the AFC is giving the PPP and people of Guyana bellywuk. The bellywuk will stop when those fools in Berbice recognize the AFC for what it is and stop voting for them. They have given us enough bellywuk. 

Oh berbicians are fools now eh? is that so?

Why you dont get Ramotar to go and call them fools, this is priceless. Let me cut this out and send this to errol so they can make a poster of this comment from Billy Goat. This representative of how your government thinks of you.

Actions Caribny Actions........speaks louder than words.

Wasn't Granger the chairman of the constitution reform committee since 2011?

What has he done aside from collect tax payers money since 2011 in this regard? please do enlighten us.

What has the AFC done about? Aren't the ones who need constitutional change the most?

There you go again with your racist rant that the PPP owns Indians.  If Indians don't vote for the PPP then it is their choice. Obviously the PPP has done lots to anger them for so many to be so angry at a party which their families have supported for generations.

The PPP, rather than screaming that the AFC is stealing their "property", the Indian vote, ought to change their behavior and maybe they might even win Nagamootoo back.