Works on US$130M CJIA Expansion Project progressing – Dr. Luncheon

AN Instrument Landing System (ILS) and Distant Measuring Equipment (DME) were relocated to the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) at a cost of $56.3M, in the context of the CJIA Expansion Project. 

This was disclosed by Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon at the weekly post- Cabinet meeting yesterday.

Dr. Luncheon noted that the project is ongoing, “teething problems on just two occasions whereby officials of the CJIA had to resort to further engagements with Cabinet to review the design of the expanded CJIA.”
However, he said that although they faced these two problems, works in other areas of the project are still ongoing as planned.

PROJECT OBJECTIVES
According to Public Works Minister, Mr. Robeson Benn the project will improve Guyana’s capacity to accommodate larger aircraft, thereby realising its potential as a hub for flights to and from North and South America and further afield.

Guyana’s main port of entry will boast a runway of a total of 10,800 feet, while the current runway precludes large aircraft from coming to Guyana, the expansion project will also see to the implementation of a new terminal building, eight boarding bridges, elevators, escalators, three dimensional x-ray scanners, flight information and security monitoring systems.
He went on to say: “We want to develop a hub, not only a regional hub for South America and the Caribbean, but also for Trans-Atlantic flights from Southern Africa and other parts going out to the East,” Benn declared.

BIG OPPORTUNITY
He explained that there are a large number of flights from Latin America flying over Guyana’s territory and the implementation of the expansion presents an opportunity for them to land here and transfer passengers.

“So there’s a big opportunity we’re foregoing if we don’t do this project,” Benn emphasized. On an annual basis an average of 4,000 international flights and 600,000 passengers arrive at the CJIA, and these numbers are expected to double in the near future and by the year 2030 this CJIA project will also enable the effective and efficient handling of passengers and aircraft.

This is a complete scam and a full out illegal expenditure not authorized by parliament.

This is clear as day evidence of the thief man gang raping the treasury to full Gerry Gouveia and others pockets.

We cannot get a reliable flight into the country yet we are to build this monstrosity to tax our unborn children for generations to come only so the PPP can enhance their graft options

Comedy isn't it? but make no mistake this is a run on the treasury and part of the thief man gang's plan to rape Guyana of every last cent.

Any new govt has to get rid of Gouviea from CJIA, plug the drugs outflow at the airport. 

Stormy, respectfully, you have no business sense. Stop concentration on what you don't have and pay attention to what you can achieve.

Since you got business sense, show us the ROI for this project nuh?

Show us how this will benefit the Guyanese people break it down so it mek sense fuh abee who nah gat sense. (Only Thief man gat sense).

Wecannot get a reliable flight into the country yet we are to build this monstrosity to tax our unborn children for generations to come only so the PPP can enhance their graft options

We .. ??? perhaps, you and close ones??

Surely, there are reliable flights on a regular basis to and from Guyana.

On an annual basis an average of 4,000 international flights and 600,000 passengers arrive at the CJIA, and these numbers are expected to double in the near future and by the year 2030 this CJIA project will also enable the effective and efficient handling of passengers and aircraft.

Note.

The Amaila Hydro Power Plant would have been a major addition to accelerate every ongoing projects moving apace. More money would have poured in to finance these projects based on the country's confidence to create renewed energy that is cheap enough for foreign investors and manufacturers. Big companies move to foreign countries to pay cheap wage and make more profit. The same logic applies to companies where energy is cheap, clean and reliable. Companies today want to do business in an environmental friendly atmosphere.

BS cobra, storm is correct in this. Guyana needs much more than a dam airport to get it out of the quagmire the PPP government has placed it in.

The Amaila Hydro Power Plant would have been a major addition to accelerate every ongoing projects moving apace. More money would have poured in to finance these projects based on the country's confidence to create renewed energy that is cheap enough for foreign investors and manufacturers. Big companies move to foreign countries to pay cheap wage and make more profit. The same logic applies to companies where energy is cheap, clean and reliable. Companies today want to do business in an environmental friendly atmosphere.

Yeah right, sounds soooo much like Guyana banna.

BS cobra, storm is correct in this. Guyana needs much more than a dam airport to get it out of the quagmire the PPP government has placed it in.

Business is for people with optimism and long term strategic plan, Cain.

On an annual basis an average of 4,000 international flights and 600,000 passengers arrive at the CJIA, and these numbers are expected to double in the near future and by the year 2030 this CJIA project will also enable the effective and efficient handling of passengers and aircraft.

Note.

Misprint some body add too many 0's behind the

numbers.

I am a Guyanese by birth, Cain.  BTW, Happy new year to you. 

Happy new year to you too Cobra. Now, let's commence the fight

And you do? Give me a break fool....

These crooks can only measure t heir development with how much t hey spend. The crap about if you build they will come would make sense if we had good sanitation, safe roads, low crime rates, less noise pollution, police one can rely on  and orderly process to common things. This crooked government has not been able to solve passport or birth certificate processing, safe mail service, easy licensing process etc

Business is for people with optimism and long term strategic plan, Cain.

Optimism don't do crap for you. Every start up is on optimism and 9o% fails. What good is is long term plans when you have your short term blindness. The PPP cannot take care of the little things and so far, all of the big things failed, we do not have one ongoing productive enterprise at the state level so what business are you talking about? Pointing to nicely painted houses when you know it is remission, begging, and drug money funding growth in the midst of a most corrupt society you are not talking about much. 

Everything will make sense to you in time, Stormy.

22 years on and only the crooks and those on the take prosper there!

When we can see Guyana's future through a crystal ball, then government will see and do things accurately.

Most decent countries dont need crystal meth or balls they have leaders that have vision and who are reasonably honest.

The PPP is a thief man operation you understand serpent piss?

These crooks can only measure t heir development with how much t hey spend. The crap about if you build they will come would make sense if we had good sanitation, safe roads, low crime rates, less noise pollution, police one can rely on  and orderly process to common things. This crooked government has not been able to solve passport or birth certificate processing, safe mail service, easy licensing process etc

They are probably crooks indeed, but I have no proof, however, I can speculate when I see the mansions they are putting up in Pradovile 1 and 2.

Sanitation is indeed horrible and the people do not help the situation either their understanding of good hygiene is different from ours.

By safe roads if you mean better trained drivers I agree because there are good highways and roads in villages even far out of the city, but by the same token I saw a few city roads in horrible condition when I was there and it made me laugh at the tourism drive they so much shout about - the loud mouths in the government have no idea of what tourism. 

Crime rate is indeed bad and is probably one of he highest in the world, but the murder rates are surpassed by many other Caribbean countries, including some that considered tourist paradise.

Regarding passports; one person I know went home for Xmas and wanted a Gy passport to make travel easier in SA and the Caribbean - they were able to get it in one week but it cost 4k Gy dollars which I thought was high for the local population. That person also told me for the three weeks he was there he experienced no water or power outages. In June I was there for a week and experienced a half hour power outages and no water issues - we normally stay in the GT and the GTA

However, just like me, my friend sees an epidemic of corruption at all levels; seems like many people in authority want a "raise" but him and I both see many signs of progress in the public and private sector. And like him I also feel that many Guyanese in Gy are very lazy and do no want to give an honest days work for an honest days pay. 

On another note corruption at governmental and the elite levels in all countries exist and many of them including in Gy will never answer for their crimes, the hope is that at least some of them will be held accountable.

I travel to Gy once per yr so what I say is not hearsay but based on personal experience. 

But tourism????? HAHAHAHAHA I have to laugh! . I hope the government officials in Gy are reading this forum.

Here is one simple tip for the fools in Government; how about providing a few "hop on hop off" tourist city buses for free that go around a fixed route and stop at rourist destinations in the city to pickup and let off tourists and do it daily say between the hours of 8 am to 7 pm; Just a thing that countries that claim to be tourist destinations provide for tourists.... smh

shut up fool,a crystal ball no wonder all of guyana project is a failure