• RingGuyana

Private bridge owners want 55% toll hike

September 1, 2015 | By | Filed Under

Govt. will not consider increase– Jordan

“Alas, there now appears to be other forces who want to use the Government as a compensatory mechanism for a faulty investment model of the Berbice Bridge.” – Minister of Finance Winston Jordan

New GPC’s owner, Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, yesterday expressed “grave concern” about the inaccuracies contained in a press release issued by the Berbice Bridge Company Inc. (BBCI), on the tolls charged by the Company.

He also noted that the Berbice Bridge Company, is seeking to impose a further 55% increase in tolls on an “already suffering population.”

Commenting on the BCCI statement, the Minister noted that “there is no toll reduction to the Company.”

He said that the company will continue to receive the full amount of the existing toll; if there is a reduction the company would receive the difference from the Government. Therefore the Bridge Company would not lose a cent.

Jordan also raised concerns about BCCI reporting on a statement he allegedly made at the meeting on August 12, last.

BBCI has stated that Jordan “accepted that ‘the company would like further discussions to take place on the proposal and an extension in the concession period from 21 years to 40 years: or for the Government to give consideration to an application for an increase in toll made to the PPP/C Government on March 15, 2015.”

But, the Minister said that contrary to that assertion, his record of the meeting indicates that he restated the intention of the Government to facilitate lower tolls for users of the Bridge to bring some relief to the people of Regions Five and Six.

“I further indicated that the Company would not suffer any loss.”

Minister Jordan said that he was prepared to enter into a series of discussions on matters of mutual interest, “beginning with the reductions announced in the Budget Speech.

“It was with Mr. (Christopher) Ram, and not with me, that the Company indicated that it would like discussions to take place on extending the Concession period from twenty-one years to forty years, or for the Government to consider its letter to the PPP/C as an application to this Government for a toll increase.”

The Minister stated yesterday that he was given false hope by the “spirit in which both meetings of August 12 were conducted. It gave hope of an expeditious conclusion of this matter.”

“Alas, there now appears to be other forces who want to use the Government as a compensatory mechanism for a faulty investment model of the Berbice Bridge, one that seeks to impose a further 55% increase in tolls on an already suffering population.

“Such an unreasonable charge will not be countenanced by our Government.”

Jordan also noted that it is now approaching three weeks since his meeting with the officials of BBCI. He said that meanwhile, the public is being inconvenienced and “I hope that the Company will move swiftly to demonstrate its commitment to achieving the objective of reducing the burden on the people of Guyana caused by prohibitively high tolls.”

It was recently revealed that the current contractual arrangements allow for two entities to control 50 percent of the company: The New GPC and Hand In Hand Trust Corporation. New GPC, a company owned by Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop, former President Bharrat Jagdeo’s best friend and, according to an article on chrisram.net some time ago, that company has two Directors on the Board. The structure of the company allows equity shareholders whose investment is less than five percent ($400 million) of the total funds of the company to exercise controlling interest over the company. Of the $400 million, the Ramroop Group owns 40 percent and the Hand-in-Hand Group owns 10 percent. The contract also provides for the equity shareholders to receive 23 percent on their investments. The coalition government, in the lead up to the May 11, 2015 elections, had accused the previous administration of hijacking the Berbice Bridge Company Inc. (BBCI), deliberately structuring operations in a manner that allowed investors and their close friends with disproportionately small investment to control the company. To ease the burden on users of the bridge, Finance Minister, Winston Jordan, pursued the reduction of the tolls in a phased manner. The first phase sees the toll reduction for cars, from $2,200 to $1,900. This was announced during the budget presentation. It was set for implementation today (September 1). Jordan had also indicated a 10 percent reduction on other categories of vehicles.

But, the Finance Minister at a recent post Cabinet press briefing revealed that the implementation of the reduction seems to be in limbo at the moment.

He disclosed that the prescribed toll reduction was in limbo because BBCI’s Directors decided to take that matter to its shareholders.

The current Directors of the Company are said to be Keith Evelyn, Ravi Ramcharitar, Avalon Jagnandan, Gillian Burton, Egbert Carter, Paul Cheong, Cecil Kennard, and Maurice Solomon. Jagnandan and Ramcharitar are both Directors in New GPC. Government’s lead negotiator in the toll increase is Attorney-at-Law, Chris Ram, while for the BBCI, Ravi Dev, is representing New GPC on the Board.

The mode and manner of structuring the nations finances so that crooks can take excesses is one thing. Deliberately leaving the citizenry to open to predation of this sort is absolutely the worse sort of corruption by an administration.

I hope the finance ministry take it to heard and dump these bastards as onerous to the good offices of the state and use some form of eminent domain to remove their asses from the management. They have less than one percent investment and yet want complete control on how this important national asset.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

The mode and manner of structuring the nations finances so that crooks can take excesses is one thing. Deliberately leaving the citizenry to open to predation of this sort is absolutely the worse sort of corruption by an administration.

I hope the finance ministry take it to heard and dump these bastards as onerous to the good offices of the state and use some form of eminent domain to remove their asses from the management. They have less than one percent investment and yet want complete control on how this important national asset.

Oh Kunt Hilter is Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  COMMUNISM IS ALIVE AND WELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  HAHAHAHAHA  Laad Ah Mercy Some Guyanese Prapa STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dude, go to uncle dalton drygoods and ask him for an ounce of good sense...maybe he can help you. Lacking that you are truly pitiful.

You are a FOOL and I will not try to help you.  It is better to have FOOLS in our society.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Nehru, what is your solution to this problem ?

Or do you feel this is the way of doing business, on the backs of the poor ?  

The way you deal with such problems is with negotiations. The Company has a VALID CONTRACT.  A Court MAY be able to change the clause of the Contract, I am not a Lawyer so I cannot confirm. The interest of the Investors and the welfare of the Guyanese People MUST both be considered. To go back and try to change the deal is COMMUNISM.  D2 is entitled to be a COMMUNIST, there are many COMMUNIST Parties in America and his membership is Active!!!

Let the government run back the ferry and cripple the bridge. It wouldn't be the first thing they destroyed. Bobby is right to demand 55% increase in toll. He shouldn't take shit from the PNC.

Come in Nehru let us hear what you have to say,

increasing bridge tolls looks like sabotaging the present

gov't,firstly there should be a hearing on the impending

increase.

Guyanese can't afford these increases,the cost to put

food on the table is high.

No Federal Government in the USA or Canada can tell the States what to charge for tolls. When I choose to travel to the USA , I must pay tolls or be jailed or fined. This is how capitalism works.

Those who sit behind their computer screens in Canada and USA posting nonsense must be more honest.

Let the toll companies charge what they want and the citizens decided if they want to use the bridge.

The 407 Toll in Toronto was built using taxpayers money, yet it is the most expensive to use.I use it and pay the tolls, it is MY CHOICE.

If the new Burnham type PNC communists want to set tolls on a private bride then they are sending the wrong message to investors.

The Government is free to start a Free Ferry service across the river if they so choose.

To hell with the Burnhamite PNC dogs. 

At the current pace, the PNC communists will destroy the Berbice Bridge. And then again, PNC is capable of destroying everything. Their past record is there for all Guyanese to see.

Yuji, people were happy with the reduction, but when them see is just $300 and all the extra headache, is like telling them to push it up their ass and forget about it. It's a shitty promise to the people.

No Federal Government in the USA or Canada can tell the States what to charge for tolls. When I choose to travel to the USA , I must pay tolls or be jailed or fined. This is how capitalism works.

Those who sit behind their computer screens in Canada and USA posting nonsense must be more honest.

Let the toll companies charge what they want and the citizens decided if they want to use the bridge.

The 407 Toll in Toronto was built using taxpayers money, yet it is the most expensive to use.I use it and pay the tolls, it is MY CHOICE.

If the new Burnham type PNC communists want to set tolls on a private bride then they are sending the wrong message to investors.

The Government is free to start a Free Ferry service across the river if they so choose.

Comparing US and Canada to Guyana is like comparing apples and oranges...

Al Yuh been doing it for 23 years.

The way you deal with such problems is with negotiations. The Company has a VALID CONTRACT.  A Court MAY be able to change the clause of the Contract, I am not a Lawyer so I cannot confirm. The interest of the Investors and the welfare of the Guyanese People MUST both be considered. To go back and try to change the deal is COMMUNISM.  D2 is entitled to be a COMMUNIST, there are many COMMUNIST Parties in America and his membership is Active!!!

As I said go read a book if you cannot buy some sense at the corner store. That you have the gall to scream communism when we are speaking recovering of rescuing crooks who were facilitated by the pillagers of the state to squat on an important national infrastructure and charge poor people larcenous rates simply because of greed.

It is not their money. It is the states money. They put in less than 5 percent. The state had the rest on its back. These crooks want 23 percent returns, tax concessions and to top it off, they do not show the books so no one knows how much they make.

Communism my behind. Go read a book on the subject before you start screaming nonsense into the wind.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Somebody spiked this man's Paiwari.

No you dumb assed racist. I do not drink and even if I did it would have no bearing on the facts before you.

I am pointing out a simple matter of predation on the nations poor by cronies of the PPP who were afforded a path to such theft.

No you dumb assed racist. I do not drink and even if I did it would have no bearing on the facts before you.

I am pointing out a simple matter of predation on the nations poor by cronies of the PPP who were afforded a path to such theft.

YOU ARE A JACKASS AND A RACIST. A DEADLY COMBINATION YOU BRAINLESS ASS!!!!!!!!!!!

In your mind you may think yourself a genius but reality bears itself with every sentence you attempt to construct.

You are the bloody FOOL that thinks he is a genius when in fact, you are nothing but a loud mouth FOOL!!!!!!

The government should allow Bobby to make his 55% increase and restore the ferries, with prices affordable for the ordinary folks like in Essequibo and let those greedy bastards go bankrupt.

Free enterprise with competition and the poor win.    

You are the bloody FOOL that thinks he is a genius when in fact, you are nothing but a loud mouth FOOL!!!!!!

I guess it is your smarts that compels you to scream like a banshee with every post. What a sensible boy!