Green seeking write-off of debt owed by wife’s business

– Sooba says she will not dance to his tune

Acting Town Clerk Carol Sooba

By Svetlana Marshall

Acting Town Clerk Carol Sooba said City Mayor Hamilton Green’s offensive against her is a tactic to hold her hostage as he seeks a write-off of a $9 million debt owed to the council by his wife’s business – Jelante Pharmacy.

The two city officials have been at loggerheads for weeks and on Thursday Green led a march to the Local Government Ministry, pressing demands for Sooba’s sacking (see story on page 13).

In an interview with Guyana Times, Sooba said that the Jelante Pharmacy owned by Green’s wife has never paid rates and taxes. The entity which opened its doors many years ago now owes in excess of $9 million, she said. “He wrote me… and requested that I deal with the taxes, because he wanted to have some exemption as he claimed on behalf of the doctor, his wife, because it’s not justifiable for him to pay,” Sooba said as she showed a letter written by Green on the matter to Guyana Times.

The acting town clerk declined offering any exemption to the mayor’s wife, noting that she will have no part in any illegal activity. “The mayor being a former prime minister and mayor would know that there is no provision in law that would allow me to do so. I advised him to contact the minister of local government on the matter.”
The ministers of local government, Ganga Persaud and Norman Whittaker have been formally informed.

It was after her refusal to adhere to the mayor’s request Sooba alleged that he started a ruckus in the municipality. According to the acting town clerk, Green’s recent move to increase calls for her to demit office is just a tactic being used to distract the cash-strapped municipality from the bigger picture, noting that the vendors are just being used to fulfil his own need.

In his call for Sooba to be removed from office, Green on Thursday led the protest in front of the Local Government Ministry, saying Sooba has consistently failed to execute her duties in keeping with the decisions made by the council.

However, Sooba told this newspaper that Green’s allegation stemmed from a recent incident. She explained that Green requested that the operation of the City Council come to a halt to facilitate a general meeting to discuss the restoration of Georgetown, although a meeting was previously held.

According to her, the mayor would use meetings and other forums for his own political agenda such as “to cuss out at the government and the PPP”. She made it clear that she will not be fulfilling such requests in the future if they do not have merit.

Street vending

Turning to the issue of street vending, Sooba reflected that in 2000, Chief Justice Desiree Bernard had ruled that vending along the pavement of Water Street was illegal.

“The city council members should be jailed for breaking their own by-laws and this was a situation where they have allowed and in some cases, pay the vendors to sell on the pavements and the road ways and they collected a cleansing fee. In other words, they were saying ‘you sell, we will clean’.”

Additionally, she pointed out that acting Chief Justice Carl Singh had also ruled on the matter.

“For Mayor Green to be holding these meetings inviting the vendors and to tell them they must sell, but to keep a black bag is totally against the by-laws and order of the council. And I can’t allow the staff when the meetings are political in nature to cuss the government out.”

Sooba said since her appointment, she has been trying earnestly to bring the municipality up to speed with the aim of better serving the residents of the city, but the mayor and his clique of councillors have been very reluctant.

“I have taken office about nine months and I have been trying with the staff to turn the organisation around financially, so that we can lift this city from the slump that I inherited,” Sooba noted.

She has pledged to be a prudent manager who has the best interests of the city and its people at heart, and said she will not dance to the music of the mayor. (svetlanam@guyanatimesgy.com)

"The acting town clerk declined offering any exemption to the mayor’s wife, noting that she will have no part in any illegal activity. “The mayor being a former prime minister and mayor would know that there is no provision in law that would allow me to do so."

Originally Posted by Conscience:

"The acting town clerk declined offering any exemption to the mayor’s wife, noting that she will have no part in any illegal activity. “The mayor being a former prime minister and mayor would know that there is no provision in law that would allow me to do so."

You think the PPP would be able to keep someone like Carol in their clique?

Nahhhh.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

This old Macdonald should have been in jail a long time ago.

A section of Guyana like People like Green, Law Breaking, Fraud, theft are he things they live for. He screw GT so badly both physically and Financially but some LOVE him. Go Figure.

It is people like Green that the AFC/PNC want to put in power to run Guyana. This is what I have been saying all along, replacing the PPP with the AFC/PNC is merely replacing one set of crooks with another. 

They are out of power and still want those perks from the PNC days. What will they do next if Green doesn't get his way? Burn!!!!

Freedom House sees Hammie's small-time shenanigans as a necessary political 'cost' - a nice distraction really - such that PPP tiefmen can go about doing big-time crime nationally with 'less' scrutiny

he is also a convenient destination to locate blame for PPP failure . . . THAT is why we have had no local gov't elections . . . Freedom House likes it that way

alyuh kneepad wearers will need another plan soon

Freedom House sees Hammie's small-time shenanigans as a necessary political 'cost' - a nice distraction really - such that PPP tiefmen can go about doing big-time crime nationally with 'less' scrutiny

he is also a convenient destination to locate blame for PPP failure . . . THAT is why we have had no local gov't elections . . . Freedom House likes it that way

This is a like perpetuated by the AFC/PNC. In fact they are the ones that are responsible for the lack of local govt elections as they seek to plunder as much as they can from the residents of Georgetown with thief man Green at the helm.

Let us examine the reasons for my conclusion.

Following mo fiah slow fiah of 97, the Herdmanston Accord ensued. After which years later, Jagdeo and Hoyte agreed on a specific set of requirements before local elections can be held. Committees were set up comprising of  opposition members and the PPP. When meetings were held the opposition, comprising members of the pNC and defectors to the now AFC, did not show up, hence the reforms were stalled. This was a tactic of the joint opposition to stall the legislation and ensure an additional 2 decades of thieving by the Green and his cronies. As we see today the afc/pnc enjoys spoils of not paying taxes via Green's wife and multiple others yet to be named. The AFC/PNC now rule parliament for the past year +. They continue to employ stalling tactics to ensure legislation on the specifics requirements for local elections reform.

Hence, in some way, former President Dr Bharrat Jagdeo and Opposition Leader Mr. Desmond Hoyte had put together a task force to look at local government reform with the understanding that no local government election would be held without those reforms being completed.
He pointed out that that process had, however, ended in 2010, at the “scale weight”, and the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) had sought to push the reform agenda by taking it into Parliament.
He noted that all the bills had been laid in the Ninth Parliament; the opposition at that time had been the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) and the Alliance for Change (AFC); they were on the “Select Committee”, which had been very lethargic; and their attendance at committee meetings reflected a serious “lack of commitment” and “lack of dedication”.
The committee consequently moved at a “snail’s pace”, and the government, although having at that time a majority on the Select Committee, could not have pushed the process through.

This is a like perpetuated by the AFC/PNC. In fact they are the ones that are responsible for the lack of local govt elections as they seek to plunder as much as they can from the residents of Georgetown with thief man Green at the helm.

Let us examine the reasons for my conclusion . . .

yaaaaaaawwn . . . another day klowning @ the 'office' for druggie er, wile e coyote

Hahahahah, the kanta phd ducking for cover when I lash him with the facts. Like mitjuanita, he only know to cuss and buse. ahahahah

suuuure ting, mr wile e coyote

Don't respond to my post if you don't have a proper rebuttal. Every time I hit you with the facts you run for cover and respond with a one liner. hahahaha

Don't respond to my post if you don't have a proper rebuttal . . .

yaaaaaaaaaawwwn

Don't respond to my post if you don't have a proper rebuttal. Every time I hit you with the facts you run for cover and respond with a one liner. hahahaha

He mek Merika at the bottom of the Table in education.

yaaaaaaawwn and har har har.

This is their mantra when he and his boys rendevous for some lolo and battie jammin. Come on Redux, come out of the closet now. No shame to be gay. You will not be the first or last. You will still be allowed to post here.

I thought tk had wife and children? Didn't know he ac/dc. 

look at y'all . . . weak, dumb as a post, and overmatched

Who brought Green back from the edge of political extinction?  Remember those pictures of Janet and Green embracing after her Presidential election victory.

Georgetown Mayor and high ranking PNC official Hamilton Green is waging a campaign to have the Acting  Town Clerk Carol Sooba removed from office. However a source at City Hall has revealed that the Mayor's current disposition towards Sooba stems from her exposure of his efforts to have $9M in rates and taxes owed by his wife written off by the cash strapped council.

In an interview with one of the local media houses Sooba said that the Jelante Pharmacy owned by Green’s wife never paid rates and taxes since it opened its doors many years ago. As such it now owes in excess of $9 million. She said she received a letter from Green in which he requested an exemption on behalf of his wife  who operates a clinic and pharmacy. A request which she denied noting that she will have no part in any illegal activity. “The mayor being a former prime minister and mayor would know that there is no provision in law that would allow me to do so. I advised him to contact the minister of local government on the matter” she said.