Grisly reminder of what Guyana has become

April 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon 

When you read the critical, acerbic, hair-raising response of the Director of Pubic Prosecution (DPP) to the botched investigation into some gruesome murders by the Guyana Police Force, then one conclusion comes immediately to mind – our country is not a viable, modern state. The level of outrage contained in the DPP’s statement should not surprise us. For a long time now, the Guyana Police Force has become dysfunctional. The brutal, savage murders of many homosexuals have just been contemptuously dismissed by the police. Eminent Guyanese have been killed and though robbery was not a motive, the cases are stored in old freezers buried deep in the cemetery of the dilapidated office of the Eve Leary and Brickdam offices of the police. Life has no value in this country and it is questionable whether this country can survive another twenty years. The police force and the people who control it have no apology to make to this nation for the contempt with which they treat the Guyanese people. Some of the most horrible criminal situations just go unattended in this land. The co-owner of Nabi and Sons, the famous architecture firm that did the Caricom Secretariat, was shot and killed on a work site in East La Penitence. He wasn’t robbed. His murder has become a footnote. The particular case that is extremely obscene over which the Police Commissioner at the time should have been dismissed peremptorily reads like a movie script. An ordinary driver stood to benefit handsomely from an heiress who wanted to pay him back for his years of devoted service. There was a drive-by shooting directed at him but he survived. Any rookie policeman would tell you that family business is where the conspiracy originated. Yet to date there is no investigation. Did the wealthy family pay Henry Greene off? My answer is yes. Not only Greene but many of the seniors in the force take money. This writer knows that none of the close family members of the heiress was questioned. This is the same police force that is quick to pulverize teenage males that they pick up for loitering. This is the same police that would brutalize young men for stealing mangoes from a private yard. This columnist and three other members of the People’s Parliament went to pay a visit to the relatives in Leopold Street of a murdered homosexual. This young man was brutally slaughtered. Do you know the police did not take possession of his cell phone? This is a basic method of modern police investigation. This columnist believes that a highly placed individual has killed his homosexual lovers and he will kill again because he knows the  police do not serve this nation, do not intend to do professional policing and that Guyana has gone to the dogs. So he knows he will kill again and walk free. Back to the DPP’s shocking revelations. She tells the Guyanese people that the files of many murder investigations are sent to her office three years later. She tells us a botched investigation into the deaths of a Cuban doctor and his female partner led the police to conclude it was murder-suicide when an examination of the autopsy report leads to double homicide. But why is the DPP shocked at this? Inside the police force, homicides occur and the police couldn’t be bothered. In Berbice, the police came up with a theory of murder-suicide when it was alleged that a superintendent shot a lower rank then put two bullets into his own brain. The post-mortem result revealed that the senior officer could not have fired two bullets because the first would have killed him. If you blow your temple off with the first round, from where are you going to get the muscular movement in your hand to take a second shot? It is so sad that the relatives of these victims cannot get closure. But when citizens live in a failed state there can be no answers for anything because nothing makes sense in a failed state. If you follow the history of Nazi Germany the way I have as a trained historian then you would conclude that such a dent in civilization cannot happen again. But it will because selfish people will always support an Adolph Hitler for their own financial gain. The DPP’s response to police incompetence will not move the Private Sector Commission to condemn the 20-year-old government we have in Guyana as incompetent too. No they think only of their profits. Death comes so easily in Guyana, a land that time forgot long ago.

GUYANA WAS AT ITS BEST YESTERDAY, THOUSANDS AT BARTICA REGATTA, THOUSAND AT THE SEAWALLS AT GT, #63, WEST DEMERARA AND AT EVERY VILLAGE AND TOWN HAVING A GREAT TIME. IN NA AND ON GNI A SMALL GROUP OF CUNUMUNU ARE TRYING TO SELL SNAKEOIL FOR A LIVING. GOD BLESS GUYANA!!!

only insecure lil gurls run around GNI screaming for attention

Uncle Bob said " Who Dah Cap Fit let dem wear it:. Yuh Aunty tell you anymore stories???

the late Bob Marley is not your "uncle" in any sense . . . find another more suitable to locate your race prejudice

When a Racist, Power and Wealth Hungry one like you call me a racist, I does feel I won the Nobel Prize. People like you will be anything for the moment, I am sure you know what I mean. Then again with a Pea brain, who knows.

You are the biggest Poke I have ever come across, honestly!!!

Here oit is that the writer is saying in simple english language that the crime situation in Guyana is worse in the Carribean and you responsd that Guyana is at it's best.

You PPP fools has no shame, none!! 

Here oit is that the writer is saying in simple english language that the crime situation in Guyana is worse in the Carribean and you responsd that Guyana is at it's best.

I responded with FACTS, something you cant handle and dont practise in your daily life.

What facts?? Brother stop your nonsense, if you belive in a God or in Karma then you will stop your bullshit. The PPP Gov't is putting a blind eye that in Guyana anyone with money can pay and get someone killed. One of your own comrades was massacared, Sat Sawh, and here you coming with your nonsense about Easter Monday. For all we know on Esater Monday someone was killed and the crime will go unsolved, thanks to the corrupt PPP.

Guyana must be a terrible place for justice when we think of attorney and member of the bar association illegally confiscating a camera that recorded the murder of a businessman and refusing to release to the proper authorities.

Can anybody re-call who is that attorney?

"Here oit is that the writer is saying in simple english language that the crime situation in Guyana is worse in the Carribean"

Chief, Something needs to be done about the GPF. ASAP. Those guys are no joke. The people in Guyana prefer to give them a raise and call it George, besides, who will they complain to? All this talk talk from the commish about being professional is to no avail. That's like taking a piss in the wind. There is no Internal Affairs Bereau. These guys have no intention of fighting crime for the most part. Collecting bribe money for tinted windows is more their forte. Nuff said.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

"Here oit is that the writer is saying in simple english language that the crime situation in Guyana is worse in the Carribean"

Chief, Something needs to be done about the GPF. ASAP. Those guys are no joke. The people in Guyana prefer to give them a raise and call it George, besides, who will they complain to? All this talk talk from the commish about being professional is to no avail. That's like taking a piss in the wind. There is no Internal Affairs Bereau. These guys have no intention of fighting crime for the most part. Collecting bribe money for tinted windows is more their forte. Nuff said.

Under the PNC Gov't , Guyana was a police state, so to speak. 

The PPP came into pwere and made no reforms, it even got worse.

Welcome back Bhai. How much Bribe you paid?

Not yet, buddy. still here. Sammy came in last nite. I have to stay for a few more days. No big deal.

OK, keep enjoying our Beautiful Guyana. I do AGREE with you about the GPF and I am also disappointed that those BASTARDS are not caught and Prosecuted. You dont need Einstein to trap those BASTARDS!!

Let tell you how professional these guys are.  Went to the food fair saturday nite  at Everest.. Was a fund raiser by Woon-tai for the Karate college. So while Irfan Ali was giving his lecture, all dem police outside brace up  and on their cell phones. The bad part was, and inspector was right there. From all appearance he couldn't give a rat's ass. Now these are the same people who made an oath to serve and proctect. Ayuh try deh.

OK, keep enjoying our Beautiful Guyana. I do AGREE with you about the GPF and I am also disappointed that those BASTARDS are not caught and Prosecuted. You dont need Einstein to trap those BASTARDS!!

outside of Providence police station yuh does see some real action. money changing hands so much. yuh might think is a bank. Must go and see.

Let tell you how professional these guys are.  Went to the food fair saturday nite  at Everest.. Was a fund raiser by Woon-tai for the Karate college. So while Irfan Ali was giving his lecture, all dem police outside brace up  and on their cell phones. The bad part was, and inspector was right there. From all appearance he couldn't give a rat's ass. Now these are the same people who made an oath to serve and proctect. Ayuh try deh.

GPF are not Professionals, they are more like Hoodlums!!!!! They are allowed to be like that because of a Govt that is afraid of their potential to disrupt and Destroy. This cannot go on forever, Mr Ramotar has to grow some Balls and fix these Bastards!!!

They're just criminal in uniforms, Nehru, That's all are they are. That's how I perceive them. As I said before, the people don't like this. But they have no choice in the matter.

It is indeed a SHAME. When you can trust and depend on the Security Forces, it is Anarchy.

what is a karate college which other country have a karate college just asking

Meh think dem ah teach karate.

Yuh shoulda come down. I woulda demonstrate couple katas fuh yuh.

The Commissioner and his Assistants are ALL involved. They are SHAMELESS themselves cause I KNOW ther ARE aware of what is going on.

They need to put a body in place to deal with such situations. But how much good that would do to remedy this situation, I couldn't tell.

ass i know that i help teach karate there it is a karate school not a college there is nothing like a karate college it all karate school

I see you've resorted to your uncivilised behavior again. you don't learn, do you. Well, we're going to have to fix that.

ass i know that i help teach karate there it is a karate school not a college there is nothing like a karate college it all karate school

So you are a JACKASS to ask the question!!!!

no it is the ppp government that like to make fancy names for somethings they give the people some land and told the people they have to call it a college

Bannas yuh dat STUPID??? What the govt has to do with a Karate College??? GEEEEEEEZ!!!

fool you know nothing about this karate college it is going through the minister of sport how you think they get the land in liliendaal from the government i use to be part of this fool

no it is the ppp government that like to make fancy names for somethings they give the people some land and told the people they have to call it a college

Bannas yuh dat STUPID??? What the govt has to do with a Karate College??? GEEEEEEEZ!!!

Hahahahahahaha. Leave him alone, Nehru. He's not a worthy opponent, just a distraction. Anyway, got some errands to run. chat u late off.

I hear you Bhai, FOOLS are better left alone. Bring wan glass Cane Juice fuh Uncle Nehru.