New year’s sales flat for city vendors, businesses

Posted By Staff Writer On January 11, 2015 @ 5:18 am In Local News | No Comments

Several city businesses and vendors are dissatisfied with the recent back to school sales, saying Chinese businesses and talks of general elections have had a major effect on profits.

Devon McCartney, a shoe vendor who operates in the Shoppers’ Arcade, said yesterday although back to school sales were “alright,” he is convinced that persons were holding back because of talks of general elections.

“People holding back because of the elections and thing. Is not like them nah got money, dem got. But people smart, you know…? Same thing happen for Christmas. Plus, we got the Chinese… they don’t pay tax, they don’t bless (contribute) nothing, from food to clothes they selling… next thing them opening is a rice factory. Guyanese people like buy cheap stuff and them buy the expensive ones online, so the struggle is real man. Dem boys in parliament living large and we scraping pots…,” McCartney said.

Robert Chand, a pavement vendor who sells stationery, said yesterday that the New Year’s back to school sales are always poor due to the holiday season. Asked how this year’s sales were compared to last year’s, he replied, “You for real? I don’t know what to say.

The Chinese mashing up things, man… too much mack (inferior) things them selling. Guyanese people need to support one another.

Then ‘daddy’ talk about election and got everybody stashing them money… I punishing, budday. I didn’t mek no money…,” he lamented.

A Regent Street businessman, Brian Shah, who sells backpacks and clothing in large quantities, said yesterday that he was sickened at the back to school sales, while also accusing the Chinese stores of dominating the market with “cheap stuff,” which he blamed for major losses to many businessmen like himself.

“Business not like before. Everybody knows that. Since the Chinese take over Regent and Robb (streets) with them cheap stuff, we, the Guyanese businessmen, losing. We can’t afford to keep our staff. Guyanese businessmen bank their money. We help build this country. But the Chinese change their money to US [and] send it to back to China. We have to pay rent and one set of taxes. We fighting but how long more can we…?” Shah asked.

The manager of the Discount Store on Regent Street, Ridwan Khan, said sales were not too bad but indicated that it could have been better, while noting intense competition from both the local and foreign business entities.

A tailor, who asked not to be named, said he has been plying his trade at the Stabroek Market for more than 10 years and expectations for this back to school sales were shattered. “Back in the day,” he recalled, clients would usually await his arrival at his stall. However, this time around, he had to call clients to remind them that he was alive and still carrying out his trade.

“People use to line up for me to sew their children uniform. Now, I calling them and telling them that I still alive,” he said, chuckling.

“I don’t know what really going on. I don’t know if people stop sewing school uniforms or they buying ready made one. Is the election too, you know man. People don’t want to be bruks because they don’t know what will play out yet…. I still got to work, though, rent and bills to pay, children going to school…,” he added.

Sales during the recent Christmas season were also not satisfactory as several representatives of key businesses in Georgetown complained about the Chinese businesses dominating the market.

While some chose to accept their takings, others resorted to expanding their options by reducing wholesale price requirements and limiting incentive packages for workers.

Guyana is heavily dependent on welfare remittances........without that the people would be starving.

Aheh...de freeness mek dem na kay wah de opposition political genius dem sey. Ehehehehe...hey hey hey...Ehehehehe...

The ever-increasing footprints of Chinese capital and labour on the Guyana economy will adversely affect small local businesses. Not to mention the big PPP deals with giant Chinese companies in Guyana's extractive and tourism industries. Voters should take note of Sri Lanka where the too-Chinese-friendly Rajapaksa regime was ousted in general elections last week.

What does my bud Cobra have to say about this?

The Chinese selling our brothers and sisters cheap goods, the Chinese sending their money out of the country, our own brothers and their families hurting...this is the real Guyana...

We deh pon trak?

What does my bud Cobra have to say about this?

The Chinese selling our brothers and sisters cheap goods, the Chinese sending their money out of the country, our own brothers and their families hurting...this is the real Guyana...

We deh pon trak?

Now I know what kneru was saying all along - going to the moon he mean the Chinese gona take over and relocate Guyanese to the moon.

Last edited by sachin_05

The ever-increasing footprints of Chinese capital and labour on the Guyana economy will adversely affect small local businesses. Not to mention the big PPP deals with giant Chinese companies in Guyana's extractive and tourism industries. Voters should take note of Sri Lanka where the too-Chinese-friendly Rajapaksa regime was ousted in general elections last week.

The USA is hugging up the communists:

111118_uschina_poll_reu_328

• 111118_uschina_poll_reu_328

We could have written this script. We knew exactly what would happen because we saw it, the destruction of African fledgling businesses with the introduction of cheap bull crap Chinese products.

Dummy, The chinese economy depends on the US not the otherway around. The us has surrounded the Pacific with bases and not because they like china.

This is a prescient observation Gilly especially when you look at Suriname and see how the Chinese Supermarkets have removed the mom-and-pop Surinamese stores to a large extent.

Thirty years ago, Vancouver, British Columbia a had a small population of people from the Orient, with only one street as China Town. Now more than 50% of the population are Chinese. The neighbourhoods, once white,  are now Chinese, sometimes one mega house built on a city block.

Guyana is heading in the same direction, due to greed and corruption by the PPP.  

This is a prescient observation Gilly especially when you look at Suriname and see how the Chinese Supermarkets have removed the mom-and-pop Surinamese stores to a large extent.

The Chinese have had a strong presence in Suriname for more than 150 years. Most mom and pop corner shops have been owned by Chinese folks since the 19th century. Unlike in Guyana, Indos, Indonesians, and African descendants have had next to no presence in grocery shops for some reason.

The lack of a proper education can be a debilitating thing....