GEORGETOWN, Guyana - The South American country of Guyana says it is buying pirated textbooks for public schools as a cost-saving measure in the first public announcement of its kind.

Cabinet Secretary Roger Luncheon says officials are buying pirated books from printing firms and companies that photocopy books because of their high quality and lower prices.

Luncheon said the government's move is justified despite complaints from a London-based company that previously sold textbooks to Guyana. The Publishers Association accused the government of violating local and international laws in a statement late Friday.

Local companies have been photocopying books to sell to Guyana's Education Ministry for more than a decade, forcing the closure of several legitimate bookstores that sold copyrighted volumes at a higher price.

Classes in Guyana resumed two weeks ago.

Read more: http://www.montrealgazette.com...y.html#ixzz26ZR0ffTv

Dear Editor,

The Cabinet’s decision in Guyana to procure pirated textbooks for public schools is an indisputably illegal act. This decision is in contravention of Guyanese law, Caribbean law (Caricom’s revised Treaty of Chaguaramas) and the international Berne Convention.

The Guyanese government has not contacted publishers to discuss supply of legitimate books.  This makes the government’s claim that this illegal action is justified by concern over price totally redundant and disingenuous, if not hypocritical.

The real victims of the government’s actions are the Guyanese children, who are now being provided with sub-standard resources by the Ministry of Education. In light of the official confirmation by the Ministry of Education that the procurement of pirated books is approved policy, publishers will now be assessing their legal options to ensure that an end is put to this unlawful behaviour.

Yours faithfully,
Emma House
International and Trade Director
The Publishers Association
London

Sunil

One should never condone breaking the law, but in it's quest to educate the people, the Govt has reverted to questionable practices.  This is "Robin Hood" and I have some sympathy for the Govt.  As a parent, one would do anything to further the interest of their child without harming another.  This could be viewed in that light.

Rather than criticizing the Govt, international groups should try to help fund books and/or negotiate lower prices.  This is no different than making patented drug copies and giving to people who could never afford it anyway.  The children of Guyana will benefit from the accessibility of books and I just find it difficult to criticize the GoG.

Originally Posted by TI:
From my experience, text books are the biggest rip off in prices. I paid as much as $140 for 1 text book, and the average price of my college textbooks was over $50 per book. And that was a few years back. Most people buy used books, and that is expensive too.

I had to buy two Spanish Textbook this Semester cause one child used another Edition for Spanish 1 and the Disc is not useless so both Kid in Spanish but have different Editions.  FRIGGIN RIP OFF. I SAY BOOTHLEG THE SHIT!!!!

One should never condone breaking the law, but in it's quest to educate the people, the Govt has reverted to questionable practices.  This is "Robin Hood" and I have some sympathy for the Govt.  As a parent, one would do anything to further the interest of their child without harming another.  This could be viewed in that light.

Rather than criticizing the Govt, international groups should try to help fund books and/or negotiate lower prices.  This is no different than making patented drug copies and giving to people who could never afford it anyway.  The children of Guyana will benefit from the accessibility of books and I just find it difficult to criticize the GoG.

What nonsense!

The only interest the GOG is furthering with their illegal acts is the enrichment of cronies and disempowerment of the legitimate private sector.

The PPP reserves the right to arbitrarily sanction who can [or cannot] break the law and make large money [see PPPCrime narco policy] . . . and you have the nerve to come here and dissemble stupidly about "Robin Hood."

of course you "just find it difficult to criticize the GoG" . . . it's a race thing 

What nonsense!

The only interest the GOG is furthering with their illegal acts is the enrichment of cronies and disempowerment of the legitimate private sector.

The PPP reserves the right to arbitrarily sanction who can [or cannot] break the law and make large money [see PPPCrime narco policy] . . . and you have the nerve to come here and dissemble stupidly about "Robin Hood."

of course you "just find it difficult to criticize the GoG" . . . it's a race thing 

HOW IS IT A RACE THING IDIOT???? YOU SUCH A DUMB ASS!!!!

What nonsense!

As a PNC privilege insider, you would hardly understand the reality of a struggling person and what drives them to do what it takes to get to their kids what they need in life.

It's not a race thing, I support the African Govts producing patented drug copies for their people who cannot afford the original.  You are consumed by race and sees everything thru these lenses.

I believe the time will come where digital access will drastically reduce the cost of content to schools in Guyana, then the issue will become somewhat mute.

HOW IS IT A RACE THING IDIOT???? YOU SUCH A DUMB ASS!!!!

ask Baseman nuh

I AM ASKING YOU SINCE IT IS YOU WHO MADE THE IGNORANT AND ILLITERATE STATEMENT.

bai, if my statement is news requiring elaboration . . . ah cyaan help yuh

i THINK YOU EAT WITH YOUR ASS AND SHIT WITH YOUR MOUTH!!!!

What nonsense!

As a PNC privilege insider, you would hardly understand the reality of a struggling person and what drives them to do what it takes to get to their kids what they need in life.

It's not a race thing, I support the African Govts producing patented drug copies for their people who cannot afford the original.  You are consumed by race and sees everything thru these lenses.

I believe the time will come where digital access will drastically reduce the cost of content to schools in Guyana, then the issue will become somewhat mute.

I await a response to the substance [truths!] of my post, not just the last paragraph which simply places your nonsense in perspective

What nonsense!

I await a response to the substance [truths!] of my post, not just the last paragraph which simply places your nonsense in perspective

My position is stated on the matter.  How you chose to politicize the issue and define "substance [truths] is a personal choice.  As I said, no one should support "breaking the law", but if the choice given is no education or no medicines, then I cannot criticize them on the basis of principle, not law.

What nonsense!

My position is stated on the matter.  How you chose to politicize the issue and define "substance [truths] is a personal choice.  As I said, no one should support "breaking the law", but if the choice given is no education or no medicines, then I cannot criticize them on the basis of principle, not law.

but THAT, you fraud, is not the choice . . .

And THAT you see, is YOUR choice to see or not to see.

actually, no . . . it's a matter of facts; and no amount of smoke blowing out of your ass can obscure the "truths" . . .

Now, let me re-post, lest we get sidetracked by your diversions:

[redux]: "The only interest the GOG is furthering with their illegal acts is the enrichment of cronies and disempowerment of the legitimate private sector.

The PPP reserves the right to arbitrarily sanction who can [or cannot] break the law and make large money [see PPPCrime narco policy] . . . and you have the nerve to come here and dissemble stupidly about "Robin Hood.""

actually, no . . . it's a matter of facts; and no amount of smoke blowing out of your ass can obscure the "truths" . . . now, let me re-post, lest we get sidetracked by your diversions

[redux]: "The only interest the GOG is furthering with their illegal acts is the enrichment of cronies and disempowerment of the legitimate private sector.

The PPP reserves the right to arbitrarily sanction who can [or cannot] break the law and make large money [see PPPCrime narco policy] . . . and you have the nerve to come here and dissemble stupidly about "Robin Hood.""

Enjoy the monologue!

actually, no . . . it's a matter of facts; and no amount of smoke blowing out of your ass can obscure the "truths" . . . now, let me re-post, lest we get sidetracked by your diversions

Enjoy the monologue!

i accept your surrender

This government is so corrupt that it will now try to rationalize thievery. I commented to this practice many years ago when one of their "family" was producing copies of science text enmass and openly. Now they want to legitimize that practice.

A professor gets no mass volume sails and the writing of these text are time consuming and arduous task. It takes many years since peer review process and placing ones work under academic scrutiny is not easy. They make little. For a country not to attempt to deal with the publishers and to mass produce these works as if it has the right is so bad on many levels it is astonishing.

This bloody government was the same one trying to cover its ass with sugar being labeled "Demerara" and for reasons no less than I stated. They know the value of a brand and according due diligence to it so why should they now want to legitimize theft?

In Pakistan people learn to read in the Quram. As for the text books, these are second hand books donated by the UK which are only given to those upper class kids who receive an education in English. Guyana as an English speaking country could ask UK to donate second hand textbooks.