Do we have constitutional scholars who are solely responsible for the interpretation of the constitution of Guyana when there are doubt? In recent months, the speaker of the house needed legal consultation in reference to his ruling on Minister Rohee, an elected Minister from tabling bills and speaking in the house of parliament. The speaker was dissatisfied with the (CJ), Ian Chang's ruling that Minister Rohee can speak and function as any other Minister in Parliament. Where does the buck stop? I find that the speaker shoots first and ask question later or he simply don't have any respect for the constitution. Guyana is facing a constitutional crisis.

I would like to see the dishonorable speaker use the same parliamentarian law to gag Moses Nagamootoo for lying in Parliament and represents corruption. Would he do that?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Do we have constitutional scholars who are solely responsible for the interpretation of the constitution of Guyana when there are doubt? In recent months, the speaker of the house needed legal consultation in reference to his ruling on Minister Rohee, an elected Minister from tabling bills and speaking in the house of parliament. The speaker was dissatisfied with the (CJ), Ian Chang's ruling that Minister Rohee can speak and function as any other Minister in Parliament. Where does the buck stop? I find that the speaker shoots first and ask question later or he simply don't have any respect for the constitution. Guyana is facing a constitutional crisis.

I would like to see the dishonorable speaker use the same parliamentarian law to gag Moses Nagamootoo for lying in Parliament and represents corruption. Would he do that?

Bhai, I warned you not to discredit the word Speaker by linking it to the name Trotty. Deh man is a KANTA Sp----r.

Constitutional scholars are always needed in a society. However, the new street corner hustler class will say dem constitutional scholars have book sense; dem don't have de sense to smuggle and perform graft; and to cheat and set up murder when necessary. Dem would not be doers because dem only gat book sense; dem need fuh learn to smuggle and cheat. That said, there is precedence in the Caribbean (yep dem same black people country) where decency prevails - once a Minister faces no confidence he/she resigns. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Constitutional scholars are always needed in a society. However, the new street corner hustler class will say dem constitutional scholars have book sense; dem don't have de sense to smuggle and perform graft; and to cheat and set up murder when necessary. Dem would not be doers because dem only gat book sense; dem need fuh learn to smuggle and cheat. That said, there is precedence in the Caribbean (yep dem same black people country) where decency prevails - once a Minister faces no confidence he/she resigns. 

Are you throwing this book sense on my friend Nehru?  I notice you started to prop up other countries in the Caribbean and denouncing your own. As a professor, you should at least seek to help Guyana graduates to start studying the nation's constitution.

Even cricket clubs has constitutions that member and leaders are guided by and you must understand it before you amend it. When passing a constitution, a meeting is called and members voted based on a common interpretation before it becomes law. If a member don't understand an article it must be explained to him or her. That's all it takes.

Its amzing that when Burnham introduced this constitution the PPP ran around the world screaming that Burnham was evil for doing this.

Yet 21 years later the PPP has kept the SAME constitution with minimal changes.

Why dont you address the fact that this constution is not LEGAL because the referendum that was held to determine whether it ought to have been introduced was RIGGED???!!!!

guyana donot need to study the constitution guyanese have to change it

I agree, the Constitution should be Ammended to create Checks and balances.

You mean that you finally admit that Burnham held a RIGGED election to introduce a constitutioon with the aim of cementing his DICTATORSHIP!!

And the PPP after 20 years has done NOTHING about this!!!

Its amzing that when Burnham introduced this constitution the PPP ran around the world screaming that Burnham was evil for doing this.

It requires, at least, 66% of the MPs to make this change.

Has the AFC and PNCR made any initiative to address the matter?

Originally Posted by TK:

That said, there is precedence in the Caribbean (yep dem same black people country) where decency prevails - once a Minister faces no confidence he/she resigns. 

Are you suggesting that the PPP should actually listen to black people?  After all blacks are only good to pay as mercenaries or to beat drums and dance.

Originally Posted by TK:

That said, there is precedence in the Caribbean (yep dem same black people country) where decency prevails - once a Minister faces no confidence he/she resigns. 

Are you suggesting that the PPP should actually listen to black people?  After all blacks are only good to pay as mercenaries or to beat drums and dance.

I did not know that. Thanks for the Info.

When we talk about the constitution of Guyana, you have to be reminded of Trotman who think his position upholds the laws of the land and the buck stop with him. Is there any good man among us who notice the bias that is taking place our nation's parliament recently? This brings us to the matter of trust...and who should we trust when it comes to fairness?

The crafters of the Magna Carta were not experts. The founding father of the American constitution were not experts. The two knuckle heads that fabricated this dictatorial one were not constitutional experts. We do not need experts to tell us of our rights. We know what they are, as we have hundreds of examples to peruse and compare and craft a good one to serve our needs. We only need the expert hand as scriveners to cast our desires into sound legal code ( not like the Amerind act of 2006).

Originally Posted by TK:

Are you throwing this book sense on my friend Nehru?  I notice you started to prop up other countries in the Caribbean and denouncing your own. As a professor, you should at least seek to help Guyana graduates to start studying the nation's constitution.

=======

I am not a constitutional expert so I cannot help anyone in that regard. However I interact actively with and help numerous UG students. I work closely with a few extremely bright ones and will make sure they get scholarships. However I go with the saying - let not the left hand know what the right hand does. 

It requires, at least, 66% of the MPs to make this change.

Has the AFC and PNCR made any initiative to address the matter?

The opposition have a vested interest in changing the constitution to make it more transparent. The PPP doesnt want to change it and so stop fooling yourself that they do.

Do you think that the PNC was happy when the PPP amended the constitution to prevent post election alliances.  Its the very event that happened last year with the PPP getting less then 50% of the votes, which terrified Janet into making that move.

So come up with another excuse.

Let us fire the Burnham / Jagdeo constitution!