Guyana Forms Mental Health Ministry to Fight Suicide

Published 22 September 2014, Source - Telesurtv

The South American country has the highest suicide rate in the world, according to the World Health Organization.​

Guyana has announced plans to launch a Mental Health Council to address the country's high suicide rate, which was recently reported to be the highest in the world. The plan was announced by Minister of Health Bheri Ramsaran on Sunday, when he revealed that the council will comprise of members from various recognized religious communities and other stakeholders.

In September, the World Health Organization (WHO) released an in depth report about global suicides in which they found that Guyana has the highest suicide rate in the world. The highest rates appear among those who are 70 years of age and older.

The WHO report – titled "Preventing Suicide a Global Imperative" – also found that worldwide over 800,000 people die from suicide each year, which is approximately one death every 40 seconds. About 75 percent of those happen in low and middle income countries.

However, these numbers are likely under-reported, according to the WHO – it is stigmatized in many communities, is considered a sin in some religions and is illegal in many countries, so it is often misclassified as an accident or other cause of death.

Stigma also exists worldwide for both people with mental health problems and against those who seek help for suicidal behavior. This decreases people's access to help, or willing to seek it out, and increases vulnerability to suicidal behavior.

Executive member of the Indian Arrival Committee (IAC), Neaz Subhan, said Guyana's world suicide standing is nothing to be proud of. The IAC has long-ago called on suicide prevention to be a national priority.

“All of us, community groups, religious groups, non-governmental organizations or others, we need to ensure that we do our part, that we can be able to say that, in a very short time Guyana is not the suicide capital of the world. We must be able to work towards that,” said Subhan.

As part of Guyana's new initiatives to tackle the high suicide rate in the country, over 200 nurses, and some 150 persons from the Health Ministry, Guyana Police Force, Prison Service and the Social Services Ministry have already received specialist training from mental health professionals to address those who need assistance to cope with issues that may lead to suicide.

The Pan American Health Organization also called to reduce the access to the commonly used pesticides in the country, which are used by many to commit suicide. Initiatives with the Education Ministry may also be sought to offer mental health and suicide awareness to high risk groups.

Source - http://www.telesurtv.net/engli...e-20140922-0076.html

With my mental illness I am surprised that I am alive today. Before I dropped my body on the road for about 15 times total and hit my head on the concrete on occasion. I put an IBM computer power adapter in my rectum and put the anode high voltage of my TV on my forehead and was shocked. The insanity made me do it. I am glad I am better now and I don't do harmful things to myself fearing hospitalization in a mental ward. People in Guyana probably commit suicide probably because of loss of a loved one and loss of financial support from them. Maybe their wife took another man. Don't commit suicide Guyanese, I want to see you one day and so that you can tell me what caused the insanity (I think it is God's love)

Ronald Anthony Arjune

People kill themselves bcz life is hard under the PPP regime. I doan think Granger is concerned about that.

Wah raas me ah hear hey. You want fuh tell me everybady ah kill demsef becas ah de PPP. Gimme a break.  

Originally Posted by Ronald Anthony Arjune:

With my mental illness I am surprised that I am alive today. Before I dropped my body on the road for about 15 times total and hit my head on the concrete on occasion. I put an IBM computer power adapter in my rectum and put the anode high voltage of my TV on my forehead and was shocked. The insanity made me do it. I am glad I am better now and I don't do harmful things to myself fearing hospitalization in a mental ward. People in Guyana probably commit suicide probably because of loss of a loved one and loss of financial support from them. Maybe their wife took another man. Don't commit suicide Guyanese, I want to see you one day and so that you can tell me what caused the insanity (I think it is God's love)

Stay strong Ronald. Never give up.

Oi Nehru...dem boy seh if you put an IBM computer power adapter in yo rectum and put the anode high voltage of yo TV on yo forehead,might do you some good

this shit had me cracking up

SOmetimes I wonder about ROnald

actually, it could be more like the man tek anadda woman

Oi Nehru...dem boy seh if you put an IBM computer power adapter in yo rectum and put the anode high voltage of yo TV on yo forehead,might do you some good

this shit had me cracking up

SOmetimes I wonder about ROnald

ROTFL................priceless.......

With this move, people will live long and happy lives.

It's just an announcement of a plan.  For now , Guyana remains  the suicide capital of the world.

At least there is hope.

Cainster a Batty Boy Ho like you who make a living sucking Kack would most likely do something like that. You get hot flashes in yuh Batty and run to get anyone to STICK ANYTHING in yuh BATTY. You did not get the name BATTY BOY for no reason. I does also call you SUCKING BOY!!!

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

@ Demerara_Guy - it's a council not a ministry. Your headline is misleading.

A day late and a dollar short ..................

Perhaps, you may realize that it is the headline of the media source.

It's just an announcement of a plan.  For now , Guyana remains  the suicide capital of the world.

At least there is hope.

One of the primary causes of suicide is " No Hope". Most religious leaders in Guyana are perverted.  After 22 years, the PPP is still running around like a turkey without a head.

At least there is hope.

One of the primary causes of suicide is " No Hope". Most religious leaders in Guyana are perverted.  After 22 years, the PPP is still running around like a turkey without a head.

It's still a social issue, Mitwah.

At least there is hope.

I guess you are saying, there's no such thing as society, only individuals and their families. Right?

You can’t change what you don’t acknowledge.

Look at the ignorant responses on this topic. The mental health community in the US has been trying for decades to educate the average Joe about the signs and symptoms of mental illnesses and how it affects the not only the person suffering from it but their families. The most common form of mental illness is depression. 20% of depressed patients commit suicide. People speak of depression loosely and not it the clinical sense. It's a dreadful illness if not treated professionally.

Ever wonder why there are so many mental health centers across America?  There are there to help people. Ted Turner suffers from manic depression which is controllable but not curable.

We must commend the gov't. of Guyana for making such a bold step in tackling a problem that many of us have little understanding of. Increase in sensitivity about this problem will go a far way in helping to save others from dying. It may not be you today, but it might be friend or close family member tomorrow. It could be you too, so don't make fun of this matter.

At least there is hope.

I guess you are saying, there's no such thing as society, only individuals and their families. Right?

You can’t change what you don’t acknowledge.

No, that's not what I am saying. Society do play an integral part of people's lives, but the family and individual will face the ultimate faith of a suicide, God forbid.

Bhai, CRACK mess up Cainster. He needs help among other things.

You do need help banna. That stupidness you said in the other post about me is that all you got? I lash you rass out for a six with that IBM power adapter thing up ur anus ( your brain area) and the game over now u rass want make a silly comeback.

So, you try dat ting yet again with the anode or adapter?

Bhai, CRACK mess up Cainster. He needs help among other things.

You do need help banna. That stupidness you said in the other post about me is that all you got? I lash you rass out for a six with that IBM power adapter thing up ur anus ( your brain area) and the game over now u rass want make a silly comeback.

So, you try dat ting yet again with the anode or adapter?

Suh yuh win. Happy for you. Al YUh hear Cainster win wid his crack and all.

Mr. Ronald A. Arjune, I am just reading your post. I am sorry for what you have been through, and thanks for sharing your concern with others.

People kill themselves bcz life is hard under the PPP regime. I doan think Granger is concerned about that.

Wah raas me ah hear hey. You want fuh tell me everybady ah kill demsef becas ah de PPP. Gimme a break.  

you dont have to kill your self i will personally slap you to death

Keep dah haan fuh wipe you battie. You will need it. The last man I kicked  still has my shoe size imprinted on his crack.

Skelly

Leave the mental case man alone. The big house in Canjie refused him.

AFC = KFC

AFC = Burger Man Party

Watch your Back

Skelly

Leave the mental case man alone. The big house in Canjie refused him.

AFC = KFC

AFC = Burger Man Party

Watch your Back