I once live with my family in this condition. I enjoy every day of being poor with a simple living environment. Not knowing the difference between rich and poor it never did bother me. We never blame the government for our poorness, and never expected anything from them either. I can do away with all my American lifestyle and go back to that simple and beautiful life of yesteryear. Yes, I would in a New York minute. That was all we had, a hidden paradise. I would never called it a slum because it serves its purpose to keep our family together for many years. Our richness was love, respect, family unity and discipline.

That's right my friend. hard work and dedication. Most importantly, I never forget where I came from and never shame to talk about it. Not everyone born with a silver spoon in them mouth. I am very much ashame how some people behaves on this forum and denounce poverty as a crime.

Dont let them sway your thoughts and understanding... They have their Agendas and as we know some  were born to fool, rob and wish for negative things.  Let the Bhagavat Gita be your guide.

I once live with my family in this condition. I enjoy every day of being poor with a simple living environment. Not knowing the difference between rich and poor it never did bother me. We never blame the government for our poorness, and never expected anything from them either. I can do away with all my American lifestyle and go back to that simple and beautiful life of yesteryear. Yes, I would in a New York minute. That was all we had, a hidden paradise. I would never called it a slum because it serves its purpose to keep our family together for many years. Our richness was love, respect, family unity and discipline.

You are a nut job. A real basket case.

This reminds me of a Kathaa from one of the Puraanas where the devotee was pretending to be a Gareeb.. The Lord said to him: "Since it's so, let it be so." He lost every thing...wealth, family.... and eventually his mind. Be careful now.

That's right my friend. hard work and dedication. Most importantly, I never forget where I came from and never shame to talk about it. Not everyone born with a silver spoon in them mouth. I am very much ashame how some people behaves on this forum and denounce poverty as a crime.

Who on this board says that poverty is a crime? 

Being poor is not a criminal action but I'd say that those in Govt who live in mansions (paid for by the poor people) while keeping their people in poverty, should be considered a crime.

Who on this board says that poverty is a crime? 

Being poor is not a criminal action but I'd say that those in Govt who live in mansions (paid for by the poor people) while keeping their people in poverty, should be considered a crime.

Bai cain, those ministers mansion came from hard work and dedication, along with remittances from family members abroad. Definitely not off the backs of the Guyanese taxpayers.

This reminds me of a Kathaa from one of the Puraanas where the devotee was pretending to be a Gareeb.. The Lord said to him: "Since it's so, let it be so." He lost every thing...wealth, family.... and eventually his mind. Be careful now.

You're right on the money, Mitts. It was Gay Purana who started this thread. So the kathaa must be true.

May be some of you failed to remember that I always say that I was poor as church rat. How can I be insensitive to poor people when I was one myself? Yall rass get it too fat to cuss down Guyana poverty as though you never shit in bush and wipe you ass with leaf.  

who cuss down Guyana's poverty?

poverty sucks...dats all

Poverty will always be in Guyana. It depends how you look and describe poverty. In my days it was different than today. Today every body stretching their hands out and begging rather than go out and make a living. Every body cannot afford a mansion in Guyana. So, chose your living condition according to how much you have and be content.

back in your days, many people did not have family overseas to send money and barrells, so they "content" with what they have....nowadays, people see plenty overseas money make poor people "rich"...so poor people aint as content as they used to be

Originally Posted by raymond:

back in your days, many people did not have family overseas to send money and barrells, so they "content" with what they have....nowadays, people see plenty overseas money make poor people "rich"...so poor people aint as content as they used to be

Ray, And whose fault is that???  If they are NOT content then they should do like Cobra did: Roll up his sleeves and get down to Brass Tacks. That is the American way. If you want to live like a Yankee, you need to WUK like a Yankee.

CObra and Nehru making fun of poor people by saying it's ok to be poor...

Is that what yuh understand then so be it Murderator.

Ray, In every Society those that sacrifice, work hard and be positives are the ones doing well. It is as simple as that.

That is pure self refuting crapola. Poor people are often the ones working the hardest. After all, the others get rich in the undervaluing of their labor.  Marx got almost everything wrong but his evaluations about social economics is on cue. Most rich people got that way by undervaluing work of the poor and valuing their's in excess. Check the disparity between the CEO's of major corp and their mailroom clerk...or rather their mid level workers.

Ray, In every Society those that sacrifice, work hard and be positives are the ones doing well. It is as simple as that.

That is pure self refuting crapola. Poor people are often the ones working the hardest. After all, the others get rich in the undervaluing of their labor.  Marx got almost everything wrong but his evaluations about social economics is on cue. Most rich people got that way by undervaluing work of the poor and valuing their's in excess. Check the disparity between the CEO's of major corp and their mailroom clerk...or rather their mid level workers.

Well put Stormy. I have always said that rich people created god to instill fear in the poor so they can exploit their hard labor.

Skeldon man, shut yuh rass and try to get rich yourself.  Self-made rich people and well deserving and should not be over taxed.  I pity poor people, but many are lazy.

Is this Guyana?  I hope not.

Skeldon man, shut yuh rass and try to get rich yourself.  Self-made rich people and well deserving and should not be over taxed.  I pity poor people, but many are lazy.

Baseman,

Material wealth is not everything in life. Did you ver see a U-Haul carrying a rich man's wealth to this funeral? Use your good fortunes to help your fellow man. You will feel better. The more money a rich man accumulates, the more he wants.

Baseman,

Material wealth is not everything in life. Did you ver see a U-Haul carrying a rich man's wealth to this funeral? Use your good fortunes to help your fellow man. You will feel better. The more money a rich man accumulates, the more he wants.

Correct, but teach a man to fish, not just throw fishes at him.

Caribbean politicians in general and the PPP in particular have no interest in teaching people how to fish.  Dependent people do not question them as they fear if they do so they will get no more fish.