Record amounts of British fruit, veg juices sold overseas
British firms are now selling record amounts of fruit and vegetable juices overseas. Sales of juices reached an all-time high of more than £65m in 2013, according to analysis by the Department for Environment Food & Rural Affairs of HM Revenue & Customs figures.

The new figures, released today, show how apple and orange juice are Britain's biggest international sellers with a combined £35m in sales. And juices produced in Britain, some of which are from home-grown fruit and others from imports, are now shipped to 96 countries including Spain, Italy, Brazil and the United States.

The demand for British-produced fruit and vegetable drinks has soared by almost 40 per cent since 2010, up from £46m to £65m, and making the UK the fourth biggest juice exporter in the European Union. The countries to which Britain started exporting juices for the first time in 2013 include the Cayman Islands, Croatia, Grenada, Guyana, Ivory Coast, Senegal and Seychelles.

The growing demand for British juices is part of a food and farming sector worth £103bn, which employs one in eight people in Britain. And exports of food and drink are at £18.9bn – a record high.
One British company which has benefited from this boom in exports is fruit juice and cordial firm Belvoir Fruit Farms. The Lincolnshire company is best known for its Elderflower PressÉ, which is made from flowers that are grown locally. Its exports rose 60 per cent between 2013 and 2014, to £2.6m.

Source: independent.co.uk

Publication date: 1/5/2015

This is not good. Guyana should be exporting fruit and vegetable juices.

Investors and entrepreneurs need to take a look at the feasibility of canning fruits and vegetables grown in Guyana. Also, local consumption habits need to change. It's not true that foreign is better. One example: Banks beer is a high quality product, yet some folks buy foreign beers at a higher price.

Trinidad Carib beer empty bottles are the worse polluters.

Broken on beaches like #63, they are dangerous for the feet.

Grace is a successful canning company in Jamaica, why cant Guyana do the same. Also Trinidad canned orange juice.

I visited a farm at Parika back-dam with ample amount of  fruits for canned export.  

Companies in Thailand and Philippines are flooding the Canadian market.

It would seem Guyana lacks vision and leadership. Too busy thinking of themselves.  

Originally Posted by Tola:

Grace is a successful canning company in Jamaica, why cant Guyana do the same. Also Trinidad canned orange juice.

I visited a farm at Parika back-dam with ample amount of  fruits for canned export.  

It would seem Guyana lacks vision and leadership. Too busy thinking of themselves.  

Why export canned juice when you can fill the tins with cocaine instead? Guyanese exporters have been caught time and time again with using bottled and canned produce as a cover for their coke smuggling ring.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Why export canned juice when you can fill the tins with cocaine instead? Guyanese exporters have been caught time and time again with using bottled and canned produce as a cover for their coke smuggling ring.

Canned Cocaine....a Guyana export brand, a quality of strength.

The PNC would have accomplished that by now with their GUY campaign. Instead, the 1992 PPP closed the GAIBank and closed GUYMIDA. Jagan made investment a free for all. And the crooks moved in for business, then the men and women of the PPP envy the investors and introduced corruption.

NICIL was supposed to facilitate many expansion projects under the PNC. But the PPP uses the government arm for their own personal use.    

Guyanese today consume more imported milk than they have ever consumed in history.

Guyana has an economy of consumers not producers.

Even the basics we can no longer produce, we have to import. We are importing chicken for example.

Soon Guyana will be producing nothing and living on narco money and remittances.

Guyanese today consume more imported milk than they have ever consumed in history.

Even the basics we can no longer produce, we have to import. We are importing chicken for example.

Soon Guyana will be producing nothing and living on narco money and remittances.

they breeding lots of donkeys in freedom house 

Great observation, HM_R.

Guyana is essentially a nation of merchants and traders, not a nation of makers and manufacturers.

Meanwhile health officials and dieticians around the world are talking of the benefit of giving up processed food for fresh ones. Looks like Guyanese are two decades behind the curve.

It is a Guyanese thing. They love Apples and Grapes, Cadbury Choclate, Gouda Cheese, Pizza and Choclate. The only one I have frequently is Gouda with my Coronas.

On the other hand, I am dying for Guava, Sumutoo(Sweet, SWeet), Buxton Spice, Nenwa and Ginjee.

What a world we live in. Every time cadbury go on Sale at Rite Aid is like is like a rush for Gold, Right Cobra??

The consumers in Guyana associate quality and value with anything that's imported from the US, Canada, UK, Australia, or any other developed nation. This is a myth. The health ministry and other institutions in Guyana will have to find ways to debunk these myths of imported foods from developed countries. This is the only way to get people to change their perceptions.

Great observation, HM_R.

Guyana is essentially a nation of merchants and traders, not a nation of makers and manufacturers.

Subsequently we have no innovation no true agro entrepreneurs and basically via remittances we have created a welfare state of sorts.

Gotta love dis PPP.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The consumers in Guyana associate quality and value with anything that's imported from the US, Canada, UK, Australia, or any other developed nation. This is a myth. The health ministry and other institutions in Guyana will have to find ways to debunk these myths of imported foods from developed countries. This is the only way to get people to change their perceptions.

Billy, we don't have to re-invent the wheel. Burnham tried 40+ years ago to get Guyanese to change their perceptions. The upshot was the rapid growth of a new class of contraband traders, particularly in Berbice. The suitcase traders transiting Timehri airport couldn't compete with the Corentyne boat traders. Many Guyanese were consuming anything imported, including poor quality Venezuelan canned sardines.

The Problem Gilly is that the PPP brainwashed the people into believing that everything Burnham was advocating was evil and racist.

When Burnham was promoting wider use of Mung Dhal as a cheaper alternative and more protein loaded than split peas the PPP rejected that.

When he was promoting free education and grow more food campaign the PPP rejected that wholesale.

Today they are now recycling all of Forbes ideas and also his failures.

you right keep buying from china,china#1

The Problem Gilly is that the PPP brainwashed the people into believing that everything Burnham was advocating was evil and racist.

When Burnham was promoting wider use of Mung Dhal as a cheaper alternative and more protein loaded than split peas the PPP rejected that.

When he was promoting free education and grow more food campaign the PPP rejected that wholesale.

HM_R, I can go back before Burnham to the earlier PPP government. I mentioned on this BB before that I had come across a Thunder newspaper report dated 1960 in which then Premier Cheddi Jagan called upon Guyanese to switch from imported wheat flour to local rice flour. Even before that, during the Second World War when Hitler's submarines were destroying British and Canadian merchant ships in the Atlantic, Guyanese were urged to use local substitutes.

You all go find out what comparative advantage in economics is about then debate what should be produced locally and what should be imported.

So the UK has a comparative advantage in fruits and vegetables.  Guyana only has in being an intransit point for cocaine.

OK I learned something today.

You all go find out what comparative advantage in economics is about then debate what should be produced locally and what should be imported.

Remember, Billy, we're talking about Guyanese consumers' preferences, namely foreign before local. You agree on the need to change perceptions, hence preferences.

Naturally, preferences for foreign goods will translate into more demand for foreign goods and less demand for local goods. Investors/manufacturers will not be encouraged to produce local equivalents if adequate demand is lacking. And that goes back to the need to change preferences and tastes.

Remember, Billy, we're talking about Guyanese consumers' preferences, namely foreign before local. You agree on the need to change perceptions, hence preferences.

Naturally, preferences for foreign goods will translate into more demand for foreign goods and less demand for local goods. Investors/manufacturers will not be encouraged to produce local equivalents if adequate demand is lacking. And that goes back to the need to change preferences and tastes.

The commentary "DEMOCRACY" on www.timehritoday.blogspot.com touched on the issue of food preference among Indo-Guyanese.

Hey hey yu na bin a seh de same ting too. Hey hey hey...