Probe launched into maternal death at Diamond Hospital

July 6, 2016 11:11 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

A mother of four was pronounced dead at the Diamond Diagnostic Centre (the East Bank Demerara Regional Hospital) on Tuesday after carrying a dead baby inside her womb for five days.

DEAD: Carol Suniram

The woman, Carol Suniram, of Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara, had suffered a miscarriage on Friday and was prescribed pills by a doctor at the Diamond hospital to pass out the five-month-old foetus.

Speaking with the media, the dead woman’s sister-in-law, J Singh, stated that on Friday last the 39-year-old woman was told that the baby had died inside her. “She told me that she lose the baby and that it still inside of her, so I tell her come leh we go to the hospital and get it out, but she was determined that the doctor told her to use the pills and return today (Tuesday),” the woman said.

On Tuesday, Suniram went to the hospital to do the operation but died while in surgery.

Public Health Minister, Dr George Norton, when contacted, stated that he was unaware of the maternal death and would be looking into the matter immediately.
The woman’s body was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital where a post-mortem would be done. An investigation has since been launched.

Only on Monday, the Minister disclosed that Guyana’s maternal mortality rate was declining. Recently, a United Nations report disclosed that Guyana was among five countries in the Region with the highest maternal mortality rate.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/pro...at-diamond-hospital/

And Uncle Tom told them " Vote fuh me NEE NEE NEEmakaram Crabdaag" me gun stop all that. He went on to tell them he parted a sea muchless stopping Medical malpractices, crimes and Corruption"

Now this lying DAAG cleaning Toilets and shining shoes.

Hospital is a place where sick people go the get cure and professional attendance from doctors and nurses. Now it seems like a hopeless place where death comes faster and your stillborn eaten by stray dogs. I am dying to say something good about Guyana, but I can't find anything good after reading these heart wrenching stories. The government and its ministries are totally responsible for this continued failure and lack of professionalism in our hospitals, doctors and nurses.

Public Health Minister, Dr George Norton, when contacted, stated that he was unaware of the maternal death and would be looking into the matter immediately.

How can he, his head up his ass!!!!!!!!