Guyana is stuck in a “sugar and rice” mindset

MAY 5, 2016 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…Fifty years and no major development in Guyana’s manufacturing industry—Dr. Thomas Singh.

By Jeanna Pearson
Fifty years have passed since Guyana became an independent state but there has been no significant development in the country’s manufacturing industry, Economist Dr. Thomas Singh said in a recent interview with the Kaieteur News.

Thomas Singh

Professor Singh stated that he believes that Guyana has grown comfortable with producing sugar and rice alone on a large scale, while there are other areas of manufacturing to invest in. He stated that so far the production of sugar and rice and the manufacturing of beverages—particularly alcohol by Banks DIH and the Demerara Distillers Limited—have dominated the manufacturing industry.
“But what is happening to manufacturing of glass products? Where are the factories?” he questioned, adding, “It seems that companies like Banks and DDL are at ease with making only rum and pastries.”
Dr. Singh asserted that prior to a “socialist experiment” under the Burnham administration, the economy was up and coming; foreigners were settling in the country top seek employment; and Guyana was the chief envy of the Caribbean market.
“There was a well regulated market economy. Guyana was doing rather well relative to the rest of the Caribbean. People were migrating from the Islands to come to Guyana to work…and this might have been one of the reasons to nationalize companies, but the socialist experiment was really a failure in Guyana.
“It brought collapse, the standard of living fell and there was a steep increase of Guyanese migrating,” he explained.
He stated that Guyana was known for exporting cotton, rice, sugar, timber, gold, diamonds, bauxite and even confectionaries.
The country’s infrastructure was developed and its education sector was thriving because of an efficient public/private schooling system orchestrated to meet the demand for a literate and skilled labour force.
Further, the establishment of a self-governing administration in 1962 led to development of Guyana’s first industrial estate at Ruimveldt. After independence, manufacture accounted in 1972 for 5.9 percent of GDP.
However, shortly after this period, Dr. Singh said, the market economy was quashed and the government began experimenting with a socialist theory where the government controlled everything, including the manufacturing sector.
Consumers were no longer the focus as it relates to manufacturing. Importation of many goods was restricted, giving rise to the black market and eventually the fall of the once thriving economy.
In spite of all this, Guyana managed to preserve its natural resources, and its human capital, Dr. Singh said. The country remained rich in exploitable resources. On the other hand, he said, the country remained poor while the rest of the world progressed.
He said that for decades the industry had limited itself to the processing of rice and sugar; bauxite; gold and diamond; and food and beverage but there is no evidence to show viable growth.
He said there has been no growth of the value-added, export-oriented industry, where Guyana moves beyond manufacturing these few products to large scale manufacturing of clothing, forest products, and technology and glass products.
“It is not as though we do not have human capital. The people are there. But the problem is trust—trust in each other. The problem is proper education, standard of living, corruption and high electricity rates,” he indicated.
Currently, Guyana’s manufacturing industry contributes about 10 per cent toward the country’s gross domestic product (GDP), providing employment for a meagre 12 per cent of Guyana’s population.
Singh purported that a basis for the seemingly stunted economic growth is dismantling of the market economy in the 70s. “Socialist-centrally planned economy is generally difficult to manage,” he said, indicating that when a country depends on a market system to say what needs to be produced, the economy grows.
“The people know the market better than the government. The government wouldn’t know what the market’s demand is. They would need information and information is costly,” he noted.
He said that this factor caused the government to produce things people did not want and to produce them at high cost. “Coupled with that, the government had a macro-economic problem which was expected in losses.
The government’s losses became the country’s loss and their debt became the country’s debt and things spiralled downward. A lot of corruption that emerged in that period; we ran short of foreign exchange,” he explained.
The new economic policy, which favoured the import-substitution model, witnessed state control of the “commanding heights” of the economy in terms of public ownership of the operating entities in the production and distribution of both essential and non-essential services.
According to the National Development Strategy, the policy was accomplished via an extensive nationalisation programme, which focused on foreign investment and later on domestic investment.
There was deficient management of the public sector enterprises (PSEs) and tax policies that worked unremittingly against the manufacturing sector as the economy became subject to harsh supply management measures.
There were tax policies which recommended control of foreign exchange, which would soon become scarce. This contributed to a significant decline of the GDP for a period of eight years.
According to the National Development Strategy it became obvious that the “core of the problem was rooted in a mixture of incorrect policies administered by the political directorate as well as too tight a stranglehold of the Government on economic activities”.
Thus, he stated that by the time Guyana introduced the economic recovery programme, the rest of the Caribbean was already ahead of it. “If Guyana did not experiment with the socialist experiment, the country would have progressed with other countries. Our trajectory of progress would have been much higher but instead the economy took a nose dive.
“However, the country should not be satisfied with where they are now. We should stop comparing ourselves with other Caribbean countries because we took a fall while other countries just kept on progressing,” he continued.
Additionally, he said the economy was stunted further by corruption. He said when the country’s resources were raped by foreign investors—allowed by the former government—it not only destroyed economic trust but it snuffed out the opportunity a viable manufacturing industry.
However, he mentioned that the mischief that occurred in the previous administration [the PPP/C government] will continue to rear its head in Guyana’s newly elected government since corruption does not lie with a political party but with governments.
Singh indicated that the degree of interpersonal trust in a society is crucial for the development. Therefore, he stated that no one wants to work together in an unlevelled playing field, so investors would not want to invest in manufacturing products.
Nevertheless, there is some hope for potential growth in the industry. Guyana has competitive labour cost, in which it has one of the lowest manufacturing wage rates in the Caribbean and Central America; there availability of human capital; and the country’s is in close proximity to the US market.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ar-and-rice-mindset/

I agree with Dr. Singh, but until we find new industries that can sustain the economy we have to stick with sugar and rice.  The PPP started some work with Gold Mining, Forestry, and Tourism which came under heavy attack from non PPP supporters who promised better when they take over the country.  So far nothing doing though!!

One of many things we can do to improve our economy is encourage our local industry to spy on the consumer technologies and manufacturing methods use by foreign producers. The Americans pirated British Goods in the 18th and 19th Centuries to build America. Charles Dickens complained that his books were illegally printed in America and sold in Europe. The Chinese are pirating American Goods just like what the Americans did to the British centuries ago. Guyana has to do the same. 

Just yesterday I spoke to a relative to get some genuine Guyanese Ground coffee. His first response was "about 80% of people in this country drink Brazilian Nescafe". I said why they don't drink our locally grown coffee?? He replied that it does not taste the same.  Well, I think the our Coffee industry should send out people to investigate and research how the Brazilians get their coffee to taste better and duplicate it. It will take time to accomplish this goal but if we are determined and patient success will come. If the local coffee industry can capture just 30% of the Brazilian coffee market in Guyana it will create hundreds of jobs for our people.

The PPP started some work with Gold Mining, Forestry, and Tourism which came under heavy attack from non PPP supporters who promised better when they take over the country.  So far nothing doing though!!

Gold grew because world prices soared.  NOT  thing to do with the PPP.

Forestry under the PPP consisted of Asians exporting RAW timber, because no other country would permit it.  This being the point of the writer, who asserts that there is scant attention to value added manufacturing.

Please don't make me laugh about tourism.  Guyanese will return home to see their relatives, regardless as to which gov't is in power.  They did so under the PPP, and continue to do so now!   Furnish proof that others visited Guyana in large numbers!

. If the local coffee industry can capture just 30% of the Brazilian coffee market in Guyana it will create hundreds of jobs for our people.

Coffee flavors largely reflect growing conditions.  Guyana collapsed as a coffee (and cotton) exporter as others had better growing conditions.  Highland coffee has a better flavor. 

Jamaica, Colombia, Ethiopia, Kenya, Brazil.  All grow coffee in their higher elevations.  High humidity and mud don't make good coffee.

Guyana needs to find niche markets for its exports, as by definition we will be a small scale, high cost producer. Competing in commodity type markets will not work. Our sugar and rice only survive because of protected markets, and to the chagrin of these producers, those days are over.

Brazil is one of the world's largest rice importers, and yet we cannot compete into this market, as others grow rice more cheaply.

I agree with Dr. Singh, but until we find new industries that can sustain the economy we have to stick with sugar and rice.  The PPP started some work with Gold Mining, Forestry, and Tourism which came under heavy attack from non PPP supporters who promised better when they take over the country.  So far nothing doing though!!

Bibi, where is the vision that says we can process all those non traditional agri products using the proper fiscal incentive (investment tax holiday; rebates for capital equipment; favorable foreign investment terms). Think of upstream packaging and marketing of byproducts of coffee, cocoa, coconut and ground provisions from the Essequibo north east. And that's just a start.

I'm getting a supply of Guyanese coffee. I will test it out and let you know if it can compete with what's on the market. Carib does not have to be told that many products touted as the best by the big corporations are not necessarily the best. They are being promoted. Think about an American Corporation saying that Hawaian or Guatemalan pineapples are the best the world when we Guyanese know it's all B.S. Lets not be eternal pessimists. We have something that is special and can be a money maker.

Kari posted:

Bibi, where is the vision that says we can process all those non traditional agri products using the proper fiscal incentive (investment tax holiday; rebates for capital equipment; favorable foreign investment terms). Think of upstream packaging and marketing of byproducts of coffee, cocoa, coconut and ground provisions from the Essequibo north east. And that's just a start.

Oh, lord, a bunch of hot air.  Anyway, alyuh Govt in power, so make your moves!!

. Carib does not have to be told that many products touted as the best by the big corporations are not necessarily the best...

No one thinks that "corporate coffee" is the best.   Coffee connoisseurs go for flavor and will laugh at you if you think that it can be found at Starbucks.  

And when it comes to mass coffee, the cheapest supplier will get the market.  Guyana is never low cost.

In fact as you mention it Guyanese pineapple is high quality, that is if they can maintain the sweetness once its shipped. 

Many of our "local" drinks might enjoy a niche demand, where price isn't the issue.  A Senegalese woman did well selling bissap (sorrel) in Whole Food. 

. If the local coffee industry can capture just 30% of the Brazilian coffee market in Guyana it will create hundreds of jobs for our people.

Coffee flavors largely reflect growing conditions.  Guyana collapsed as a coffee (and cotton) exporter as others had better growing conditions.  Highland coffee has a better flavor. 

Jamaica, Colombia, Ethiopia, Kenya, Brazil.  All grow coffee in their higher elevations.  High humidity and mud don't make good coffee.

Guyana needs to find niche markets for its exports, as by definition we will be a small scale, high cost producer. Competing in commodity type markets will not work. Our sugar and rice only survive because of protected markets, and to the chagrin of these producers, those days are over.

Brazil is one of the world's largest rice importers, and yet we cannot compete into this market, as others grow rice more cheaply.

Rather than talking endless nonsense from the USA, why don't you go and advise them what to do, how to do it and where to do it.  You seem to have all the answers with no skin in the game and on a white board from Brooklyn!!

. Carib does not have to be told that many products touted as the best by the big corporations are not necessarily the best...

No one thinks that "corporate coffee" is the best.   Coffee connoisseurs go for flavor and will laugh at you if you think that it can be found at Starbucks.  

And when it comes to mass coffee, the cheapest supplier will get the market.  Guyana is never low cost.

Useless banter!!  Go make yourself useful and consult for Granger!

ba$eman posted:

Rather than talking endless nonsense from the USA, why don't you go and advise them what to do, how to do it and where to do it.  You seem to have all the answers with no skin in the game and on a white board from Brooklyn!!

How do you know that I am not?

ba$eman posted:

How do you know that I am not?

I know you talk endless nonsense!!  Caribj, you are a liar, you don't go to Guyana, you take a little figment you hear in Brooklyn then embellish it with a lot of lies and try to make it sound like you know.  You talk hogwash!!

Kari posted:

You talking to me???  I never said anything about packaging and coffee and cocoa or nothing like that.  In the case of fiscal incentive that is for the coalition government to figure out.  Tell yuh boy Granger to get going.  Me hear he "splurging" in the US.  Maybe he might show up at Jagdeo meeting tonight!!!

Kari posted:

You talking to me???  I never said anything about packaging and coffee and cocoa or nothing like that.  In the case of fiscal incentive that is for the coalition government to figure out.  Tell yuh boy Granger to get going.  Me hear he "splurging" in the US.  Maybe he might show up at Jagdeo meeting tonight!!!

....but until we find new industries but until we find new industries..... 

yuh boy Granger.........

Me hear he "splurging" in the US.....

I have been reiterating this so many times so many years ago that sugar and rice are 'dead'.  None of the Political Parties has been innovative in slowly pursuing other avenues besides rice and sugar to earn foreign exchange.  Our natural resources are being exploited by Foreign based companies and at the end of the day we get a small cut. 

The coconut water company might be a good starting point, coffee production, cassava flour, pepper sauce, seafood.  Maybe they can start with exporting some of this to the Caricom countries as well.

Tourism can have some potential but people need to feel secure first and that seems to be a long way in coming.

ba$eman posted:

I know you talk endless nonsense!!  Caribj, you are a liar, you don't go to Guyana, you take a little figment you hear in Brooklyn then embellish it with a lot of lies and try to make it sound like you know.  You talk hogwash!!

It might shock you to know that one can be actively involved in a nation, through interacting with those who live there, using 21st century technology.

You must try it some time.

BTW I don't live in Brooklyn.  Do you live in an RH basement?

alena06 posted:

The coconut water company might be a good starting point, coffee production, cassava flour, pepper sauce, seafood.  Maybe they can start with exporting some of this to the Caricom countries as well.

Tourism can have some potential but people need to feel secure first and that seems to be a long way in coming.

There have been endless market surveys done to establish market potential for Guyanese products in the Caribbean.

I saw one done several years ago.  It claims that Guyanese account for 8k people (out of a population of 90k) in Antigua.  These people are familiar with Guyanese products, and they have Antiguan, Jamaican, and other friends, who they can introduce.  25% of Antigua consists of migrants from other parts of the Caribbean, so it acts as a good platform for marketing elsewhere.

Tourism will be good as a side show, but will never become a major industry.  I do see it generating income in G/town (if they reduce crime and restore the city to what it was in 1972) and in parts of the interior.  But we will never be a Barbados, or even a Belize.

Kari posted:
!!!

yuh boy Granger.........

I have been hearing "until we find new industries" for 40 years.  I remember asking some one why the endless begging for Guyana sugar into the UK, when it was clear that they didn't wanted.  The "until we find new industries" was peddled.

I bet my father heard this in the 40s when he was in school.  I guess kids in 2040 will hear the same thing, this while our sugar lands become salty, thanks to global climate change.

Kari posted:
!!!

yuh boy Granger.........

I have been hearing "until we find new industries" for 40 years.  I remember asking some one why the endless begging for Guyana sugar into the UK, when it was clear that they didn't wanted.  The "until we find new industries" was peddled.

I bet my father heard this in the 40s when he was in school.  I guess kids in 2040 will hear the same thing, this while our sugar lands become salty, thanks to global climate change.

The question remains, what is the govt's role in "finding new industries" or is this a private sector responsibility? In PPP time you claimed it was their task, now you have taken the opposite approach once PNC in power. 

Kari posted:
!!!

yuh boy Granger.........

The question remains, what is the govt's role in "finding new industries" or is this a private sector responsibility? In PPP time you claimed it was their task, now you have taken the opposite approach once PNC in power. 

Did I suggest to you that this gov't has any lesser a role in assisting the private sector to develop new opportunities.  You will note my reference to 2040, which suggests that I consider it to be the obligation of the existing gov't, and any that replace it eventually.

Your racist mentality suggests to you that because you genuflect to Jagdeo and consider him God, only because he is Indian, that I will do the same to Granger because he is black.

Like you forgot how Mars and Redux called me a traitor when I began to criticize this gov't as soon as they raised their salaries.  In fact I even did so as soon as they selected their ministers.

As much as you want to pretend that I unconditionally support APNU, because they are majority black, I will leave you to supporting a party only for racial reasons.  I don't. They need to earn it.  The coalition has yet to do so.

Like you forgot how Mars and Redux called me a traitor when I began to criticize this gov't as soon as they raised their salaries.  In fact I even did so as soon as they selected their ministers.

Dude, when you're ready to make up your bullshit stories, please don't involve my name. There's a search feature on this board. I dare you to find me calling you a traitor in regards to salaries being raised. If you had a run in with Redux, don't involve me in your foolishness. Thank you.

Kari posted:
!!!

yuh boy Granger.........

True, but we did have Manganese, then it died and we got Bauxite, when it died and we got Gold.  I take it now, we hoping for oil.  All this time we still have sugar an rice.  Our focus all our history has been on basic product, be it Agro or mining.

The PNC did attempt in the 70's to find new products with the establishment of the "Other Crops" division in Guysuco, thus the Palm Oil plantation.  The issue you have, none of this sells as basic products like rice and sugar, they need down streaming to create any real value.  What continues to stymie any such development is cost of production, mainly costs of energy and logistics.

The GoG could give all sorts of incentives, tax holidays, etc and these are important, however, as long as the core costs remain high, it will present a big hurdle.

Again, the core costs are energy and logistics.  Energy for obvious reasons and this needs Govt involvement.  Logistics because of the vastness of the nation and remoteness of some of the base products.  The power grid is not built out so products need to be moved to central locations.  Then there is the road/ground transport network.

Barring mining, I don't see how any new industry could take off without  power being addressed, then some roads.  This is the best incentive any Govt can provide for potential investors.  Tax and other incentives could then be bolted on!!

Did I suggest to you that this gov't has any lesser a role in assisting the private sector to develop new opportunities.  You will note my reference to 2040, which suggests that I consider it to be the obligation of the existing gov't, and any that replace it eventually.

Your racist mentality suggests to you that because you genuflect to Jagdeo and consider him God, only because he is Indian, that I will do the same to Granger because he is black.

As much as you want to pretend that I unconditionally support APNU, because they are majority black, I will leave you to supporting a party only for racial reasons.  I don't. They need to earn it.  The coalition has yet to do so.

You need to ketch some sense and read Baseman's post. The govt is supposed to facilitate, incentives, infrastructure etc. Not dictate what industry should be developed. So far we have seen the PNC/aFC block hydro project without a suitable replacement anytime in the near future.  You are a sucker for Black leaders as long as the Indians are kept hidden in the background like dirty laundry. 

Carib, don't you think the PNC uses Indians in their gov't as a facade to let the public believe that they are well represented?  Don't give me answer such as the PPP does the same with Afros.

I have said on many occasions that BOTH the PNC and the PPP have been guilty of racism, using tokenism to hide this.

When have you said the same?  Have you ever admitted that the PPP was guilty of this behavior?

Did I suggest to you that this gov't has any lesser a role in assisting the private sector to develop new opportunities.  .

You need to ketch some sense and read Baseman's post. The govt is supposed to facilitate, incentives, infrastructure etc..

OK I made it easy for you. Now this should indicate to you what an idiot you are.

..  You are a sucker for Black leaders as long as the Indians are kept hidden in the background like dirty laundry. 

More indication that you are an idiot.

Listen you aren't at my intellectual level, so don't even bother.

ba$eman posted:
.  The issue you have, none of this sells as basic products like rice and sugar,.

The only reason why we had sugar was because of the massive subsidies that we got from the EU. They paid us the same subsidies that the EU farmers got.  The imported sugar from us, when the EU was a huge sugar exporter.

These facts led to the demise of preferential treatment when Australia and other sugar exporters claimed, and the EU was forced to tell its former colonies that it could no longer subsidize their sugar.  And they provided some compensation, and time to transition.

Your jackass Jagdeo refused to listen. He had a hysterical break down, and gave the EU a lesson on British colonial history.  Now if the idiot had a proper Minister of FA, she would have told him that the vast majority of EU nations never had colonies, and had no interest in being burdened by the fact that a few EU nations did.

Having gotten over his hissy fit, he proceeded to EXPAND the sugar industry, even though all indications are that he should have done the opposite.  

In addition he packed Guysuco with his cronies, who robbed Guysuco blind.  Now after record losses and soaring costs, he screams "blackman a starve ahbe", this when it has become obvious that Guyana can no longer sink BILLIONS of dollars into a failing industry.

Where is the $$$ to come from. If Granger raises taxes you all will scream that he is stifling economic activity.

And baseman please don't embarrass yourself that  an island like St Kitts, which was connected to sugar longer than was Guyana, and with an economy that was summarized in one word "sugar" until the 80s, can find something else to do.

Guyana can transition away from sugar and will have to!

. I dare you to find me calling you a traitor in regards to salaries being raised. .

Oh we had several run ins over the coalition gov't.

Sure we had several run ins. You doubted that the coalition would win and you were proven wrong. I said they would win from the inception.

I never called you a traitor in regards to anything so don't go making up stories now to try and big up yourself. If you want to argue about something I said, bring it on. I can defend anything I say. However, don't go making up lies about me. Leave my name out of your bullshit stories.

. I dare you to find me calling you a traitor in regards to salaries being raised. .

Sure we had several run ins. You doubted that the coalition would win and you were proven wrong. I said they would win from the inception.

We had way more run ins than that.  AFTER the election, by which time they already had won.

I am sure even you cannot be that happy with them at this point. If so, you are one of the few.  Even Freddie K, and David Hinds, are gradually shifting away from them.

We had way more run ins than that.  AFTER the election, by which time they already had won.

I am sure even you cannot be that happy with them at this point. If so, you are one of the few.  Even Freddie K, and David Hinds, are gradually shifting away from them.

Whatever runins we had, I never called you a traitor in regards to salaries being raised. That is an outright lie. All I'm telling you is don't make up stories and include my name. Make up whatever lies you want but leave me out of it.

And baseman please don't embarrass yourself that  an island like St Kitts, which was connected to sugar longer than was Guyana, and with an economy that was summarized in one word "sugar" until the 80s, can find something else to do.

You are such a liar, Saint Kitts is not a bed of roses, they are lucky to have beaches to attract tourists along and banks looking to launder money.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Economy Profile 2014

Home > Factbook > Countries > Saint Kitts and Nevis

Economy - overviewThe economy of Saint Kitts and Nevis depends on tourism; since the 1970s tourism has replaced sugar as the traditional mainstay of the economy. Following the 2005 harvest, the government closed the sugar industry, after several decades of losses. To compensate for lost jobs, the government has embarked on a program to diversify the agricultural sector and to stimulate other sectors of the economy, such as export-oriented manufacturing and offshore banking. Roughly 200,000 tourists visited the islands in 2009, but reduced tourism arrivals and foreign investment led to an economic contraction in 2009-2012, and the economy returned to growth only in 2013. Like other tourist destinations in the Caribbean, St. Kitts and Nevis is vulnerable to damage from natural disasters and shifts in tourism demand. The government has made notable progress on reducing its public debt—from 154% of GDP in 2011 to 83% in 2013—although it still faces one of the highest levels in the world, largely attributable to public enterprise losses.

You are such a liar, Saint Kitts is not a bed of roses, they are lucky to have beaches to attract tourists along and banks looking to launder money.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Economy Profile 2014

Home > Factbook > Countries > Saint Kitts and Nevis

Economy - overviewThe economy of Saint Kitts and Nevis depends on tourism; since the 1970s tourism has replaced sugar as the traditional mainstay of the economy. Following the 2005 harvest, the government closed the sugar industry, after several decades of losses. To compensate for lost jobs, the government has embarked on a program to diversify the agricultural sector and to stimulate other sectors of the economy, such as export-oriented manufacturing and offshore banking. Roughly 200,000 tourists visited the islands in 2009, but reduced tourism arrivals and foreign investment led to an economic contraction in 2009-2012, and the economy returned to growth only in 2013. Like other tourist destinations in the Caribbean, St. Kitts and Nevis is vulnerable to damage from natural disasters and shifts in tourism demand. The government has made notable progress on reducing its public debt—from 154% of GDP in 2011 to 83% in 2013—although it still faces one of the highest levels in the world, largely attributable to public enterprise losses.

It's funny listening to this clown talk about this and that country yet he has never attempted anything in Guyana.  He sees a solution to Guyana's problems in every other country sitting in NY and never setting foot in Guyana.  These are jokers!!

I believe CaribJ is one of those Monday morning armchair quarterbacks.

Section 8 benefits tends to afford their recipients loads of time to speculate on subjects they know nothing about. 

Section 8 benefits

This is not a dog-whistle. This is not just a string of code words. This is downright racism and Druggie, you ought to apologize to ALL of us participating in this forum. You demean us. You thrash us. You make us look like we have no education. Take it back, Now!

I believe CaribJ is one of those Monday morning armchair quarterbacks.

Section 8 benefits tends to afford their recipients loads of time to speculate on subjects they know nothing about. 

Not that someone on Section 8 is any less a person but you seem to be a connoisseur on this Section 8, been with it a long time?

Kari posted:

Section 8 benefits

This is not a dog-whistle. This is not just a string of code words. This is downright racism and Druggie, you ought to apologize to ALL of us participating in this forum. You demean us. You thrash us. You make us look like we have no education. Take it back, Now!

I apologize if I offended you, didn't realize that you may be a recipient. However if true, then this goes to show that it is an equal opportunity benefit to all regardless of race or creed.  God bless America.

That being said, the original statement remains true, section 8 recipients do have more time on their hands to formulate uninformed opinions.