Guyana legislators approve cuts to presidential pension, but bill expected to be vetoed

GEORGETOWN, Guyana - Guyana's opposition-controlled Parliament has approved a bill that would slash the benefits of the South American country's former president.

Legislators voted to give Bharrat Jagdeo two bodyguards, three maids and assistants and two state-owned and maintained cars. Jagdeo currently enjoys unlimited access to such benefits, along with a $6,000 monthly pension.

The bill was approved late Friday by the Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change, which have a one-seat majority in the 65-member House. However, President Donald Ramotar has said he will not sign the bill. Both Ramotar and Jagdeo belong to the People's Progressive Party.

Jagdeo's original pension plan was approved in 2009 when the People's Progressive Party had a majority in Parliament.

The President of Guyana has the exclusive authority to veto a bill.

The President of the US-of-A also has the authority to veto a bill.

Mits, It is not easy to teach DUNCES!

It is you who is the dunce. The idea of mutual ability to stymie the other is the reason the legislative branch should be and is independent of the Executive contrary to the PPP. The point is legislation ought to be a cooperative enterprise unlike what the PPP was accustomed to, rubber stamping from its parliament majority. Now they are forced to do what was their duty, discuss, deliberate and then craft reasonable legislation. They bullied the original legislation on the President salary. It is clearly excessive and needs redress. If the President vetoes this note it will be excluded from the coming budget.

Originally Posted by Manishman:
i will when you stop blowing Granger for a minister work Originally Posted by redux:

Let these fools do what they want, the honorable Dr Jagdeo is set for life, he is not too worried and so am i.

get up off your knees fool

which island you living on.  Granger will never be President of Guyana, so no need to beg him for anything.  STOP your untruthfulness.

your dotish accomplice TK and the bunch of AFC baboons just got that message Dave, Originally Posted by Devindra:
i will when you stop blowing Granger for a minister work Originally Posted by redux:

Let these fools do what they want, the honorable Dr Jagdeo is set for life, he is not too worried and so am i.

get up off your knees fool

which island you living on.  Granger will never be President of Guyana, so no need to beg him for anything.  STOP your untruthfulness.

no i am one of them that is on record of diong what it takes to protect myself Originally Posted by warrior:

you donot have to worry about i being scare,you can take care of yourself.i hope you is not one of those collie that drop your gun and run

Why dont you follow the conventional protocol of answering below the post to which you respond? You may be of a habit of acting contrary but this habit is making your responses useless. 

no i am one of them that is on record of diong what it takes to protect myself Originally Posted by warrior:

you donot have to worry about i being scare,you can take care of yourself.i hope you is not one of those collie that drop your gun and run

Why dont you follow the conventional protocol of answering below the post to which you respond? You may be of a habit of acting contrary but this habit is making your responses useless. 

thanks bro