Guyana Tourism Authority- January 12, 2016

Guyana, South America Undiscovered- On the cusp of the 50th Independence Anniversary celebrations Guyana has been accorded yet another distinction, having been featured in the Business Insider UK’s  ‘ 12 Emerging destinations you have to visit in 2016’.

In this most recent feature, Broadcast journalist and photojournalist, Anisha Shah explains that 2016 is all about emerging destinations.

“Wilderness, wildlife and culture; these themes will illuminate the year’s travel itineraries. Escapism and authenticity are key and nowhere offers them quite like fledgling and far-flung nations,” she said.

In sharing her perception of the destination, Shah, who is now a freelance journalist for CNN, BBC Travel and Huffington Post wrote,   “Dripping in rainforests, Guyana’s untouched pristine interior is sparsely populated, home only to few Amerindian villages. Wildlife far outnumbers the people, with jaguars, pumas and sloths the real locals. The majority of people inhabit the Northeastern narrow Atlantic Ocean coastline of blonde castaway beaches backed by dense forest, home to endangered sea turtles. Kaieteur Falls, one of the grandest falls you’ve never heard of, is the world’s widest single-drop waterfall, peaking at 76m and encased in virgin ancient jungle. Seeing it by tiny charter flight is unforgettable.”

“Why Now? You’ve heard of Iguazu and Angel Falls, read about Galapagos wildlife and Brazil’s rainforest but Guyana is a small nation with all of the above, where you won’t come across another tourist…just yet.”

Also making the list of the 12 Emerging Travel Destinations to visit in 2016 were, Glacier Bay National Park: Alaska, Japan, Gabon, Uganda, Iran, Taiwan, Madagascar, the Arctic: Iceland, Greenland, and Norway, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea and Kyrgyzstan.

These recent accolade augurs well for Guyana, as the destination prepares to celebrate its  Golden Jubilee with great fanfare and welcomes any opportunity to promote the vibrancy, raw authentic adventure, stunning scenery and rich culture that is unique to this South American country.

According to the Hon. Tourism Minister, Catherine Hughes, Guyana’s unique blend of tourism products is as rich and as attractive as those found in any part of the world.

She noted too that the Destination has the potential to attract a wide cross section of travelers with varying interests , and the ability to lure those looking for unique adventures in ‘off the beaten path’ destinations .

Over the years, Guyana has cemented its position as a leading Sustainable Tourism Destination, and has gained international recognition as ‘National Geographic Traveler 2014’s must-see places on planet earth. Guyana earned a coveted spot on this exclusive, very short list for the very first time in 2014’ and  BBC Travel’s  ‘Five destinations you should know more about’, among many others.

“The tourism sector is very important for showcasing a country’s cultural diversity, as well as its socio-economic potential. With the attention that ‘Guyana- South America Undiscovered’ is receiving, there is no doubt that the sector will be propelled to greater heights in 2016. We have made great strides in promoting Guyana, and the country is now internationally recognised as a viable eco-tourism destination. We have much more to offer through our many niche products,” the Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority, Mr. Indranauth Haralsingh explained.

The Destination  features an irresistible combination of captivating natural beauty; pristine Amazonian rainforests; immense waterfalls; amazing wildlife,  blended with a vibrant indigenous culture, rich heritage and the most hospitable and friendly people in the world; niche products include Bird Watching, Sport Fishing, Community Based Tourism, Wildlife Spotting and Yachting.

I wonder which hotel they are going to stay

What's on your mind ?

I think she might be planning to provide service to the guests?....which is all legal by the way.....

Come to Guyana, the Land of Choke and Rob, Bribe Police or go to Jail, Sleep with one eye open to save your life.  Adventure that will make you loose weight and sanity.  Come one, come all.!!!

What's on your mind ?

Guyana - is the country for suicides where poison is a cowards weapon. Whether you want to commit suicde or want others to take your life Guyana is your destination. 

Dondadda posted:

What's on your mind ?

Guyana - is the country for suicides where poison is a cowards weapon. Whether you want to commit suicde or want others to take your life Guyana is your destination. 

What are you saying bhai,may i ask who are the cowards.

FC posted:

No way!!!! Haven't they heard, Guyana falling apart under new government. Oh my bad they don't read GNI. Home of doom and gloom.

There are problems under this new gov't.  Even Freddie K, who is very friendly to them, has to warn about the cruelty which mid and lower levels of the bureaucracy display to its poorer citizens.

In fact recently it appears as if city constables seem to have decided that shaking down Indian minibus operators is lucrative.  This because they are more inclined to tears, than the black drivers who seem more likely to gang up and give them a good "cut ass".

NOT GOOD, and those who support the gov't need to speak out when they aren't doing right.  While there is no reason to believe that Granger is responsible, I am hearing loads about Royston King.  NONE of it good!

Can APNU afford to have G/town residents angry with them with LGE a mere 2 months away?

sachin_05 posted:

I suspect strongly that this picture was from BEFORE May 11th.  Since then the new gov't has been trying to resolve this problem.

sachin_05 posted:

I suspect strongly that this picture was from BEFORE May 11th.  Since then the new gov't has been trying to resolve this problem.

It is,Sachin post it to highlight the condition the city was in  before May 11.

FC posted:

No way!!!! Haven't they heard, Guyana falling apart under new government. Oh my bad they don't read GNI. Home of doom and gloom.

There are problems under this new gov't.  Even Freddie K, who is very friendly to them, has to warn about the cruelty which mid and lower levels of the bureaucracy display to its poorer citizens.

In fact recently it appears as if city constables seem to have decided that shaking down Indian minibus operators is lucrative.  This because they are more inclined to tears, than the black drivers who seem more likely to gang up and give them a good "cut ass".

NOT GOOD, and those who support the gov't need to speak out when they aren't doing right.  While there is no reason to believe that Granger is responsible, I am hearing loads about Royston King.  NONE of it good!

Can APNU afford to have G/town residents angry with them with LGE a mere 2 months away?

Nuff respect for that comment.  (except the Freddie K part, I don't trust him)

They did not mention, #1 in suicide and #2 in crime,Georgetown the City of Garbage.

From news sources that place is cleaned up.

It's the same stink hell hole when I was there one month ago, the city is playing Musical Chairs, moving the street vendors from one street to the next, you can't walk on the pavement on Water Street, there is no place. Oh, they will have to sell Guyana as green forest, fishing and hunting and Kaieteur Falls, all these are natural stuff that been there before Slavery. Bring the Tourist by night and take them to the Interior. I thought the country is soooo screwed up by the PPP, that it will take many years to make it good for Tourist, you have only 4 months for 50th. celebrations, lucky for the Marriott, the Stadium, the good roads etc.

FC posted:

Nuff respect for that comment.  (except the Freddie K part, I don't trust him)

I don't particularly like Freddie K but he has his own integrity.  He has personal animus against the PPP, because Jagdeo has tried to kill him, and injure his wife and kids.  But he speaks out against APNU and the AFC when he feels compelled to.

He has EARNED the right to be critical of this gov't.  Rohee, Jagdeo, etc., who have yet to apologize to Guyanese for their own wrongs, do NOT have that right.

Please note that the person who is drawing attention to disparate treatment of Indo and Afro minibus drivers is an African, and an Afro-centric one at that.  But when he sees wrong he will talk out, even when the perps are blacks, and the victims are Indians.  I have NOT seen any comments on FB suggesting that he is an Uncle Tom.  To the contrary, I have seen comments PRAISING him, and from blacks (based on their names).

I suggest that when Indians develop a similar appetite for speaking out against Indian racism towards blacks, even if this means being damned as a "dirty Indian", neemakaram, or what ever, then there will be a drop of distrust directed towards them from blacks. 

We don't see this, even though rational thinking will suggest that not every Indian is a racist. This is why the notion of the "clannish" Indian is so broad based among non Indians.

Agreed, Carib. The coalition is finding out what it is like to be the government. There will be miss steps and challenges.  Granger has some challenges but that is what he signed up for.

If Caribj wants to hear Indians condemning Indian racism against Afros  he should listen to what those Indos in the PNC have to say about the PPP and ROAR. I guess he does not think of them as spokesmen for the Indian community.

I am interested in people like YOU talking about Indo racism. 

After all the vast majority of Indians are PPP supporters.  Those who aren't are considered "self hating, black loving" traitors by people like you.  Just look at your posts about people like TK, Freddie K, Gerhard, Nagamootoo, Chris Ram, etc.

There is a common denominator among that list of names.  They are not self hating, black loving anything.  They are all power hungry.  Consumed in their narcissism. In the pursuit of a certain gratification from their own egotistic admiration of themselves.

show me examples of this...

1. Shamelessness: Shame is the feeling that lurks beneath all unhealthy narcissism, and the inability to process shame in healthy ways.
  2. Magical thinking: Narcissists see themselves as perfect, using distortion and illusion known as magical thinking. They also use projection to dump shame onto others.
  3. Arrogance: A narcissist who is feeling deflated may reinflate by diminishing, debasing, or degrading somebody else.
  4. Envy: A narcissist may secure a sense of superiority in the face of another person's ability by using contempt to minimize the other person.
  5. Entitlement: Narcissists hold unreasonable expectations of particularly favorable treatment and automatic compliance because they consider themselves special. Failure to comply is considered an attack on their superiority, and the perpetrator is considered an "awkward" or "difficult" person. Defiance of their will is a narcissistic injury that can trigger narcissistic rage.
  6. Exploitation: Can take many forms but always involves the exploitation of others without regard for their feelings or interests. Often the other is in a subservient position where resistance would be difficult or even impossible. Sometimes the subservience is not so much real as assumed.
  7. Bad boundaries: Narcissists do not recognize that they have boundaries and that others are separate and are not extensions of themselves. Others either exist to meet their needs or may as well not exist at all. Those who provide narcissistic supply to the narcissist are treated as if they are part of the narcissist and are expected to live up to those expectations. In the mind of a narcissist, there is no boundary between self and other.
  1. Shamelessness: Shame is the feeling that lurks beneath all unhealthy narcissism, and the inability to process shame in healthy ways.
  2. Magical thinking: Narcissists see themselves as perfect, using distortion and illusion known as magical thinking. They also use projection to dump shame onto others.
  3. Arrogance: A narcissist who is feeling deflated may reinflate by diminishing, debasing, or degrading somebody else.
  4. Envy: A narcissist may secure a sense of superiority in the face of another person's ability by using contempt to minimize the other person.
  5. Entitlement: Narcissists hold unreasonable expectations of particularly favorable treatment and automatic compliance because they consider themselves special. Failure to comply is considered an attack on their superiority, and the perpetrator is considered an "awkward" or "difficult" person. Defiance of their will is a narcissistic injury that can trigger narcissistic rage.
  6. Exploitation: Can take many forms but always involves the exploitation of others without regard for their feelings or interests. Often the other is in a subservient position where resistance would be difficult or even impossible. Sometimes the subservience is not so much real as assumed.
  7. Bad boundaries: Narcissists do not recognize that they have boundaries and that others are separate and are not extensions of themselves. Others either exist to meet their needs or may as well not exist at all. Those who provide narcissistic supply to the narcissist are treated as if they are part of the narcissist and are expected to live up to those expectations. In the mind of a narcissist, there is no boundary between self and other.

Ow Bibi, Mitwah is only on suspension. He will be back. Why yuh hustling to tek de man CUT AND PASTE WUK, eh? 

And yet when the PPP was in power, and all had despaired that they would ever be thrown out, these folks were fervently anti PPP.

Does that sound like power hungry to you, when soup licking would be a faster route to power during the Jagdeo era?  Better yet if it involved bribery, corruption, money laundering or drug trafficking!

We saw endless screams from the Indo KKK set, calling these folks all sorts of names, all implying self hating traitorous behavior for refusing to become Jagdeo's slaves.

Are you attempting to describe Jagdeo here?