Guyana looks at T&T’s pepper success

CGL CEO Sharma Lalla shows crates of pepper produced by the company

(TRINIDAD GUARDIAN).- Guyana is looking at T&T’s model of hot pepper production and the sharing of production of marketing information and exchange facilities by Caroni Green Limited (CGL) and personnel from the Agriculture Committee of the Private Sector Commission (PSC) of Guyana.

This follows a visit by Beni Sankar, chairman of the PSC’s Agriculture Committee, who visited CGL’s Mon Jaloux farm in Cunupia last week. CGL CEO Sharma Lalla told the T&T Guardian Sankar was impressed with what he saw.

“Mr Sankar expressed a strong desire to deepen the relationship between CGL and agriculture stakeholders in Guyana,” said Lalla.

He noted that the farm model developed and implemented by CGL was worthy of replication and the foreign exchange earning potential of the venture is a desirable outcome for his country.”

Lalla said CGL exported just over US$100,000 worth of hot peppers to the United States market in the last quarter of 2015. He said Sankar see potential in integrated agriculture which can be profitable and provide sustainable income for farmers.

“He also spoke of initiatives in Guyana to provide persons with 25-acre parcels of land to stimulate the agricultural sector,” he said.

Lalla said CGL has achieved a great degree of success with its hot pepper production and export marketing and plans to expand its range of crops with continued focus on the export sector with its associated benefit of generating foreign exchange.

He said Sankar’s visit was in furtherance of the terms of reference and mandate of the PSC’s Agriculture Committee for mobilisation of Guyana’s private sector to play more of a role in agriculture development including non-traditional crops, livestock and aquaculture. He said the intent is to engage all stakeholders in a way that could assist T&T and Guyana in realising their full agricultural potential with the objective of improving food security in the region.

Sankar is CEO of the Kayman Sankar Group of Companies in Guyana, one of that country’s most successful rice farming and milling companies. He has also served as chairman of the Caribbean Rice Association and president of the National Aquaculture Association of Guyana (NAAG).

His visit was arranged by Liaquat Ali, president of the Couva Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce.

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...-tts-pepper-success/

When you cannot even plant chili pepper....(amerindians were doing it for 20 thousand years)...it says something. How come no one wants to boot strap them as part of the new pepper industrial project?

I tried once. It is not easy to contact the right person. Part of the program was to choose the community. Grow and process right in the community with a smaller than average processing plant. Powered by several mini hydro-power stations. In return, transfer payments, medical facilities and a better educational program.

In a Guyana, selfishness even infected the native people as well. If they could work as a community, there are so many better opportunities for them. Personally, I think they have a better chance at agriculture. 

I tried once. It is not easy to contact the right person. Part of the program was to choose the community. Grow and process right in the community with a smaller than average processing plant. Powered by several mini hydro-power stations. In return, transfer payments, medical facilities and a better educational program.

In a Guyana, selfishness even infected the native people as well. If they could work as a community, there are so many better opportunities for them. Personally, I think they have a better chance at agriculture. 

I was there in 2010/2011 and looked into the processing and export of products like peppers, tomatoes, etc.  It worked out cheaper to ship the raw product to T&T and have it processed there as power in Guyana was too expensive.  This effectively took the value-chain out of Guyana and the benefit accrued oversees.

Had Guyana had a reliable cheap source of power, the mid/down stream Agro industry would have taken off and established beach-heads and foot holds in overseas markets.  The then GoG was well aware of this as it was their constituency who knew this first-hand!  For this reason, Amelia was a game changer.  And all the clowns touting Solar, it was more expensive then the already existing expensive source.

Of course, the welfare [leech] class got together with their [insignificant] Other and scuttled the program.  But the welfare class have no clue.

Tola posted:

Parika black-dam grow a lot of pepper, but its only for local use. They need to find a better overseas market.

Back-dam talk is cheap.  You need to stick to your area of expertise, in which you ain't scoring too good.

Goa nah!!  Yuh bais in powah now.  What you think, stargazing goa mek it happen?  Alyuh got nuff nuff mouth, when put to the test, you scurrying like cock-roaches in sunlight!!

Guyana can try another route like Peru. Be a supplier for a large pepper sauce company like Tabasco.

Prash, I agree with you. There is also Barron Hot Pepper Sauce in St. Lucia.

Baseman text book approach would not work.

Pepper sauces and chutneys manufactured on a large scale and marketed in the diaspora can bring in significant amounts of revenues and create many jobs in the local economy.  Inexpensive energy and transportation are critical to make this industry work.

Baseman, you have no idea of the pepper business. You text book theory would not work.

If you are very familiar with Baron's in St. Lucia then there is a possibility that you are related to the AFC Big Comrade.

Guyana can try another route like Peru. Be a supplier for a large pepper sauce company like Tabasco.

Prash, I agree with you. There is also Barron Hot Pepper Sauce in St. Lucia.

Baseman text book approach would not work.

Baron is a terific product line. Their pepper sauce is great. They also make essences and spices. The company happens to be owned by Prakash Ramjattan's cousin. 

I see Grace hot sauce and a Jamaican hot sauce all the time in the supermarkets in the US but cannot find Baron's products though it is a better product. 

Dont know why. Maybe they have not tried to market here or don't produce enough. 

Baseman, you have no idea of the pepper business. You text book theory would not work.

If you are very familiar with Baron's in St. Lucia then there is a possibility that you are related to the AFC Big Comrade.

I visited his operation.  Remember he got Knighthood for his pepper sauce.

I visited his operations too as well as Ramkissoon's in Jamaica. The Ramkissoon's are more into the production of Scotch Bonnet peppers. They went to Guyana to invest in the agri. sector but did not because of the costs affiliated with production.

baseman posted:
Tola posted:

Parika black-dam grow a lot of pepper, but its only for local use. They need to find a better overseas market.

Back-dam talk is cheap.  You need to stick to your area of expertise, in which you ain't scoring too good.

The Phoenix has risen from the ashes.

ball posted:

So he is now, Sir or Baron hot hot pepper sauce

Guyana Ronald Ramjattan knighted by Queen Elizabeth II

October 19, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Although he left these shores more than a decade ago, Ronald Ramjattan still has a very

Ronald Ramjattan receives his award from Queen Elizabeth

prevailing presence in Guyana, throughout the Caribbean and further afield. He is the business mogul standing firmly behind the well known Baron Foods Limited.
As a Food Entrepreneur for many years he has maintained a flawless and distinguished reputation which was perhaps enough for him to be awarded with the Order of the British Empire (OBE) at Buckingham Palace. The award was bestowed upon him on October 9, last, by Queen Elizabeth II.
According to Ramjattan in an invited comment to this publication yesterday, “it was indeed a humbling experience for me as a Guyanese coming from a normal background.” With unreserved modesty, he spoke of being an entrepreneur in Saint Lucia, his adopted home, for more than 24 years, and was elated to not only be recognized, but be auspiciously honoured by the Queen.
“I am indeed fortunate,” said Ramjattan who has been exporting his over 125 food products from Saint Lucia to Guyana for the last 20 years. All of his products have also been consistently maintaining an ISO 22000 Standard and are also exported throughout the English, Dutch and French Islands of the Caribbean, North America and Europe.
His integral support to the Saint Lucian economy saw the Government there nominating him for the OBE award which was accepted by the Queen. Though grateful for the recognition, Ramjattan is of the belief that the honour “is a plus for Guyana and Guyanese living outside.”
His cousin Khemraj Ramjattan, prominent Attorney at Law and leader of the Alliance For Change, said that he is “over the moon with pride and joy” because of the achievement. In a congratulatory note, he outlined that he is “proud of this magnificent moment, this crowning achievement for a man of such humble beginnings. Sir, you have not only walked with us ordinary mortals, but now with Royalty. You are our Champion and Hero. Continue making us proud brother.”
But Ronald Ramjattan is however convinced that had he remained in Guyana he would not have been bestowed with such a high honour. This is in light of the fact that since becoming a Republic, Guyana does not currently have the capacity to nominate a candidate to receive an award from Her Majesty the Queen.
Like a number of other Caribbean territories, the Queen remains the head of Saint Lucia and can accept nominations for such awards.
But according to Ramjattan, what Guyana can seek to continuously embrace is the notion of national accolades for those who so deserve.  He turned his attention to West Indies star batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, whom he believes should have long been the recipient of, at least, Guyana’s Order of Roraima, a feat that “(many) people have been clamouring for.”
In fact it was very concerning to the OBE awardee that “the Government of Guyana has not even been recognizing the lawyers of Guyana for the longest while…”
The Guyana-born Ramjattan has manufacturing plants in St Lucia and Grenada and has plans to expand further with the introduction of a plant in Trinidad. He has been constructing the latter proposed plan for the past two years.
He is a well known personality when it comes to outstanding business performances, evident by the fact that he had copped, for the fifth consecutive year, the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year award for OCEC countries. Ramjattan coveted the Best Pepper Sauce Prize (2014) in Brussels, ahead of being awarded the OBE.
He is currently President for the Saint Lucian Manufacturers Association and Chairman of the Trade Export Council of Saint Lucia.
“That alone shows my background and my export capabilities and what I am doing must be right for the last 15-20 years to be receiving all these awards,” said an ecstatic Ramjattan who noted that “my products have been receiving awards locally, regionally and internationally.”
The married father of one was born in Den Amstel, West Coast Demerara, and grew up at Number 47 Village, Corentyne, Berbice. He worked his way up the food business chain first as a Laboratory Technician at the Guyana Sugar Corporation then as Production Manager at Ricks and Sari.
While his heart remains in Guyana, Ramjattan is currently not too keen on returning to these shores. According to him, “the situation has to change; the crime rate has to reduce…Guyana itself has to scale up fiscal incentives for manufacturers who just don’t have to go and sit down and make request to the Government.”
“I feel just like Trinidad (for instance), you apply, you get through…in Saint Lucia you apply and you go to the Trade Export Board or something like that…but Guyana you have to come and appeal and be singled out…there is not a fiscal incentive for manufacturers alone or for every sector; you have to come and make your case to get (that),” said Ramjattan. According to him, he has in the past made a few applications, but none were successful to the point of getting off the ground.
He nevertheless was keen on emphasizing that young local entrepreneurs must seek to remain focused although he is somewhat pessimistic about the business climate.
“So many of us are so successful outside of Guyana, but when you come here it is a few companies that are so successful, but the young entrepreneurs in the manufacturing sector remain at a low level,” said Ramjattan. This state of affairs he has linked to the low disposable income in Guyana and a lack of an enabling environment.
“I am reading with concern what is happening with Kaieteur News and its owner; I am reading with concern about several other business owners who are trying to do good and yet they are not being successful, because the enabling environment is not there,” said Ramjattan, whose products have however found much favour on the local market.

Imagine this foolishness this man is exporting food to Guyana. guyana should be exporting food to him. It is nonsense like this that celebrating Guyana 50 years as a Republic is a waste of time and energy.

baseman posted:

Baseman, your knowledge is obsolete. You are being archaic and negative.

Mitwah, wah me done forget, you ain't learn yet!!

2010/2011 is obsolete!!

Well, how bout all them [resurrected] geriatric cases alyuh PNC/AFC Govt "pregnant" with!!  Talk about obsolete, I mean even close to biological!!

You ever own and run your own business?

baseman posted:

2010/2011 is obsolete!!

Well, how bout all them [resurrected] geriatric cases alyuh PNC/AFC Govt "pregnant" with!!  Talk about obsolete, I mean even close to biological!!

Several, and since I was youth in GT!!

I intended again back in 2010/2011 in Guyana but the alternatives favored the USA!!

Base,looks like your foresight caused you change your intent.

baseman posted:

2010/2011 is obsolete!!

I intended again back in 2010/2011 in Guyana but the alternatives favored the USA!!

You have no royalty nor residual income. So what stopped you from investing during the PPP/C reign?

baseman posted:

Well, not sure to what you referring.  It was just too expensive to do what I wanted and making it work would have meant "high-touch", something prohibitive seeing I wanted, and needed, to be mostly State side!!

Foresight in the change of govt,anyway one foot here and one there is kinda tough when you have commitments to the kids.

baseman posted:

Well, not sure to what you referring.  It was just too expensive to do what I wanted and making it work would have meant "high-touch", something prohibitive seeing I wanted, and needed, to be mostly State side!!

Foresight in the change of govt,anyway one foot here and one there is kinda tough when you have commitments to the kids.

Truthfully, I was not expecting them to lose, but at the back of my mind, I wondered what if they did!!  PNC still appeared despotic and I worried about a coup d'etat, which did materialize!

However, in the end t was the latter part that was more decisive!!  To make it work was going to be a drain on my time!!

You real jokey. What coup d'etat? PPP got their asses whupped. They tief too much.