Guyana Marriott costs three times more than Jamaica

January 6, 2013, By , Filed Under News, - Source

-   Government remains mum on investors
Quick Facts
·       Jamaica project – US$23M versus Guyana project US$58M
·       Average cost per room in Jamaica – US$176, 923 verses Guyana cost US$294, 416
·       Guyana’s project cost is 152 per cent more than Jamaica
·       Jamaica project is privately funded (private equity) versus GOG investment

Full disclosure on Jamaica project, little disclosure on Guyana project

Construction cost of the Guyana Marriott hotel is more than three times the comparative cost of a Jamaica Marriott.

The cost for constructing the Guyana “Marriott” Hotel and Casino is projected as at almost US$60 million, while the Jamaican project has been announced at US$23 million. Guyana projects to build 197 rooms while the Jamaican project is 130 rooms.

Using the Jamaican cost, the comparative cost for Guyana project should be in the vicinity of US$35 million.

Taking the average cost per room, if one were to use the overall cost in Jamaica and divide it by the projected number of rooms, it would mean that the cost per room is US$176,923. The comparative price in Guyana should be the same. But, Guyana is building a room for US$294,416.

International construction companies peg an average cost for a 130-room hotel at US$22.8 million which matches the Jamaica project cost. According to one analyst, “Guyana defeats logic in its projection of costs on its projects.”

The Guyana “Marriott” project should be cheaper than a comparative Jamaican projects for many reasons including the low labour cost and the free land. It must be noted that the Jamaica cost includes the cost of land whereas in Guyana the land is Government-owned and therefore would be free to the Government project.

Despite pressure by opposition parliamentary parties and a Parliamentary motion to halt Government funding for the project, the government is stubbornly pushing ahead with the project.

With existing hotels in Guyana struggling to fill their rooms, it is strange that government is insisting that the Guyana “Marriott” hotel is viable, but it is refusing to make public the studies which justify the project.

The government is so far using tax dollars to fund the project. It has already handed over US$10million (G$2 billion) to SCG Shanghai Construction Group International (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd, which was awarded the contract to build the hotel.

Private investors are expected to contribute US$27 million.

The government has some special arrangement that guarantees the private investors that they would get their money if the project folds.

So, if in a scenario where the project fails and the value of the property depreciates to a value below what the investors have plugged, then the investors will get back their money, and there would be nothing to return to NICIL. Taxpayers’ dollars would go down the drain.

The government will participate in the project, by way of equity, in the sum of US$4 million. This will be committed through NICIL, one of the investment arms of the government which holds its assets.

The equity contribution determines the government’s strength in Atlantic Hotels Incorporated – the company created to see the project through. As it stands, the government is currently the sole shareholder in the company.

However, apart from the equity contribution, financing for the project would also come from “subordinate loan stocks” of US$15 million invested by NICIL.

Adding the US$2 million, NICIL will end up spending in development costs for the project, including design and other preliminary studies altogether, US$21 million into the project.

So, in total, the amount of money the government is pushing into the project is just about what the Jamaica hotel project is costing, and just about what it should cost in Guyana to complete the project, industry experts say. The additional US$40 million remains a mystery to everyone.

Taking the average cost per room, if one were to use the overall cost in Jamaica and divide it by the projected number of rooms, it would mean that the cost per room is US$176,923. The comparative price in Guyana should be the same. But, Guyana is building a room for US$294,416.

Whether average or median values are used, there are always costs which are much higher and lower that the quoted estimates.

Over US$117 K

Wah de rass dem ah put in de room GOLD amenities 

Pointblank

Average or median? Is there a difference? What's the difference. I have never seen a engineer until you who sucks at mathematics. What you wrote there is nonsense, BTW. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Average or median? Is there a difference? What's the difference. I have never seen a engineer until you who sucks at mathematics. What you wrote there is nonsense, BTW. 

There is a profound difference between average and median.

Become educated if you do not know the difference.

Originally Posted by TK:

HEHEHE When wan Techa becomes a DUNCE.

Originally Posted by TK:

Hahaha...tell when the median is not an average. 

Originally Posted by TK:

HEHEHE When wan Techa becomes a DUNCE.

Pavi this is not the kind of stuff you can ever understand. You throw back in yuh cold corner and enjoy the white rum until a PPP big-wig comes over here to offer you henny and poke cuttahs. 

Originally Posted by raymond:

SO...Guyana does get more tourists than Jamaica nowadays?

I always choose a mud and garbage filled landfill for my holidays

Where else can one sup on such delicacies as deep fried egg ball, shot de buss up, curry de hassar, and of course bhunjal of labba

Originally Posted by TK:

You might know the difference of average and median when you become educated on their application.

Originally Posted by TK:

You might know the difference of average and median when you become educated on their application.

Hehe...what a load of nebulous crap.

Originally Posted by TK:

You old knuckle head, he is speaking of the average cost of build out based on the number of rooms to be built.  Where the hell does your intervention of mean and median come into play except that  you are a piddling old fool?

Originally Posted by TK:

You old knuckle head, he is speaking of the average cost of build out based on the number of rooms to be built.  Where the hell does your intervention of mean and median come into play except that  you are a piddling old fool?

Lack of knowledge and comprehension, which you continue to profoundly demonstrated, expand at an alarming rate.

Originally Posted by TK:

Lack of knowledge and comprehension, which you continue to profoundly demonstrated, expand at an alarming rate.

I am sure I know more math than you and clearly grasp that median and the mean can have deviations in the presence of  outliers in a data set. But this is the case of hotel rooms and whether the deviation in price from one to the other varies the result cannot be in such wide differences in cost of this build out. This has little to do with inefficacy in use of mean vs median in the example above.

Something else has to intervene and if it is not crookedness then you can tell us. Instead of telling us you are just being your usual piddling self and pretending you are in possession of some vastly superior intellectual reach of things that us mere mortals are as ants to you!  The fact is you are an ass plain and simple. Manufacturing an explanation in the variance of mean and median has little explanatory power here.

I am sure I know more math than you and clearly grasp that median and the mean can have deviations in the presence of  outliers in a data set. But this is the case of hotel rooms and whether the deviation in price from one to the other varies the result cannot be in such wide differences in cost of this build out. This has little to do with inefficacy in use of mean vs median in the example above.

Something else has to intervene and if it is not crookedness then you can tell us. Instead of telling us you are just being your usual piddling self and pretending you are in possession of some vastly superior intellectual reach of things that us mere mortals are as ants to you!  The fact is you are an ass plain and simple. Manufacturing an explanation in the variance of mean and median has little explanatory power here.

After non-related expressions are removed from your constant idiotic ramblings, the miniscule remainder is your constant day-dreaming.

Your usual bull. Tell us why you think the numbers presented are wrong. Your intellectual constipation as to the definition  of the ball vs the sphere is irrelevant. 

Your ineptness continues to spiral downwards.

(QUOTE)Guyana Marriott costs three times more than Jamaica

Quick Facts
·       Average cost per room in Jamaica – US$176, 923 verses Guyana cost US$294, 416
·       Jamaica project is privately funded (private equity) versus GOG investment

So, in total, the amount of money the government is pushing into the project is just about what the Jamaica hotel project is costing, and just about what it should cost in Guyana to complete the project, industry experts say. The additional US$40 million remains a mystery to everyone.(Quote)

OI DG, I notice you finally seeing the light and realize the PPP are a corrupt group?

(QUOTE)Guyana Marriott costs three times more than Jamaica

Quick Facts

So, in total, the amount of money the government is pushing into the project is just about what the Jamaica hotel project is costing, and just about what it should cost in Guyana to complete the project, industry experts say. The additional US$40 million remains a mystery to everyone.(Quote)

OI DG, I notice you finally seeing the light and realize the PPP are a corrupt group?

Nah he wasn't. He thought he can mamaguy us here with fancy sounding terms like median and get away with it.  

Originally Posted by TK:
Nah he wasn't. He thought he can mamaguy us here with fancy sounding terms likemedian and get away with it.  

When you understand the meaning, application plus difference of mean and median, you might then be the path to progress.

Originally Posted by TK:
Nah he wasn't. He thought he can mamaguy us here with fancy sounding terms likemedian and get away with it.  

When you understand the meaning, application plus difference of mean and median, you might then be the path to progress.

Meh na know...that is why meh a ask GNI Plato to explain when de median a not an average. 

Originally Posted by TK:

This man sounds like he studied statistics. Thanks for the info bhai.

Originally Posted by TK:

Oh yeah...he can be a great stats 101 teacher for you. Hook up with the man.

Originally Posted by TK:

Never did statistics. I'll be happy to learn about out liers, median and mean etc.

Thanks for the advice. Mabe both of us can learn.

Originally Posted by TK:

Never did statistics. I'll be happy to learn about out liers, median and mean etc.

I have an excellent idea what the measures of central tendency are and how to measure dispersion. I just want the great PPP apologist and GNI Plato to you when the median is not an average. 

Originally Posted by TK:

I have an excellent idea what the measures of central tendency are and how to measure dispersion. I just want the great PPP apologist and GNI Plato to you when the median is not an average. 

There are no PPP apologists on this board. They are all men with integrity. I doubt you could say the same for your jokers and rumor mongers who are posting garbage and filth.

As I said, I am not statistics savyy and do not pretend to be one; unlike some of the posters here.

Originally Posted by TK:
... when the median is not an average. 

The median and average values are similar/close only when the sets of numbers are very close.

Tell that to Skeldon...he would be impressed. I am not yet impressed. 

Originally Posted by TK:

There are no PPP apologists on this board. They are all men with integrity. I doubt you could say the same for your jokers and rumor mongers who are posting garbage and filth.

As I said, I am not statistics savyy and do not pretend to be one; unlike some of the posters here.

There are PPP APOLOGISTS on this board. 

Originally Posted by TK:

The median and average values are similar/close only when the sets of numbers are very close.

When you indeed take the time to learn, understand and know the appropriate uses of expressions, you might then see some light.

Originally Posted by TK:

You are spewing APNU/AFC hogwash.

Originally Posted by TK:

You are spewing APNU/AFC hogwash.

Infinitesimally smaller than the PPP hogwash you disgorge here. 

Originally Posted by TK:

When you indeed take the time to learn, understand and know the appropriate uses of expressions, you might then see some light.

Keep trying...

Originally Posted by TK:

Hear de mud head mix up wid shit. 

Originally Posted by TK:

You dunce fuh learn. Only shit yuh good fah. 

Originally Posted by PRK:
Originally Posted by TK:

You dunce fuh learn. Only shit yuh good fah. 

YOU KNOW WHO ELSE ME ME BIN GOOD FAH? ME NA WANT FU SEH DAH HAY.

This marriot project is nothing more than a caddillac lifestyle funded by a dnakey kart economy.

Just like how Baseman banking Babby billions in the Baroda bank in India and thinking he is a millionaire.

He want to be a millionaire so ****ing bad that freak Baseman.