Guyana ministry grants 50% duty wavier on chicken imports

//20 Jun 2012

Guyana’s Ministry of Commerce and Industry has granted 12 individuals licence to import up to 453.6 tonnes of chicken meat for a three month period. The waiver comes after weeks of price monitoring and market scrutiny.

Scarcity of chicken products and a increase in the price of chicken on the domestic market prompted the acting Minister of Commerce and Industry, Irfan Ali, to take this step.

Importers were granted a 50% waiver on import duties instead of the 60% they requested, for permission to import one million pounds over the next six months.

The duty waiver licenses will expire on September 12, 2012 to discourage permit hoarding.

Permits will be regularly reviewed to protect consumers and ensuring that they can buy chicken in adequate supply and at affordable prices. The minister said that the sector will be evaluated in the next six weeks to see whether the poultry market has stabilised.

Cabinet Secretary Dr Roger Luncheon seconded the minister’s statements. Chicken prices in Demerara are now €2.97 and €3.41 per kg for chicken.

“Apparently poultry meat is going to the hinterland….. Shortage on the cost which led to the price increase Cabinet agreed to imports” the Minister said.

When the National Communications Network visited markets around Georgetown earlier in the month, many vendors explained that the escalating prices are due to a glut experienced in the market. They added that the increase is a normal phenomenon after such an occurrence.

Source: NCN Guyana

http://www.worldpoultry.net/ne...n-imports-10522.html

When the National Communications Network visited markets around Georgetown earlier in the month, many vendors explained that the escalating prices are due to a glut experienced in the market. They added that the increase is a normal phenomenon after such an occurrence.

I guess this is a Lumumba U grad.

PPP economics

Pointblank

DEm Bhias Brite, Brite pun dis Forum. Guyana Govt has given unlimited access for Chicken Farmers to produce Chicken foe the population. The Poultry Industry has failed, the caring and compassionate Govt take stepts to HELP the Guyanese People BUT hear these people. Bhai Ah does tell Al YUh to be GRATEFUL that we have the PPP and NOT these SNAKEOIL Nincompoops!!!!

Wow, surprise us for a change.

I refuse to believe that you so stupid...somebody paying you by the post

Originally Posted by raymond:

I refuse to believe that you so stupid...somebody paying you by the post

Maybe too much "oiling the snake".

Well tell me what is wrong with my statement. Al Yuh believe the Guyanese People STUPID. Well I have news for Al YUh, they are smarter than all of you put together. There is NO restrictions on importation of the necessary items for the Chicken Farmers to do their Business. They have FAILED and GOVT intervention IS necessary to save a Nation from a shortage of Chicken. Man it really aint dat hard yuh know. Al yun think just a little bit and I am sure Al Yuh will get it Bhias.

Originally Posted by alena06:
It's the mindset of the people....no one wants to rear chickens anymore...they want fancy jobs like 'drug dealers.'

They prefer to import chicken that is loaded with antibiotics.

Yuh keching lil sense gyal.  See alyuh ah senn dem coolies noff remittance suh wah dem muss wuk fah.  Me cyaant evan geh peeple fuh do lil wuk, dem a price dem time wid dah 100 dalla alyuh senn evry month.  Mi tell mi wife fuh larn fuh cut grass, she mo cheap dann cane cuttas.

Di adda prablim is tiefman, baad baad, yuh staart mine lil fowl, yuh cyaant goa no way, come back haaf gaan.  Den di adda pramblim is Govt a gi house latt, lil piece land close togedda an peeple cyant da lil garden an' farm laka lang time.  Peeple a move from ****ry an come town, datts why dem house gardan dead out and abie goa buy food.  Mi natt too worry, lang as abie geh lil gold, nuff drugs and nuff remittance, abie Govt seh ting goa be ok. 

Imagine, a country like Guyana is importing chicken.  Absolutely a lack of a coherent economic plan.  I can expect a shitload of crap from blind, but loud-mouthed PPPites.

you are saying that the govt should be running the chicken industry after the wonderful job they did for the sugar and rice industry? Private enterprise is failing the nation in this arena. 

Imagine, a country like Guyana is importing chicken.  Absolutely a lack of a coherent economic plan.  I can expect a shitload of crap from blind, but loud-mouthed PPPites.

you are saying that the govt should be running the chicken industry after the wonderful job they did for the sugar and rice industry? Private enterprise is failing the nation in this arena. 

No, not at all, but they should have a larger agro program where Govt soaks/guarantees some excess production to ensure adequate supplies even at peak time.  Many progressive nations do this as Agro, being in a perfect market, will always be susceptible to marginal underproduction and shortages.  On the other hand, one would think that the GoG would have opened up export markets for local produce where Guyana is courted for food, rather than the other way.

Now, don't say they don't have the money, they seem to have for everything else.

This attests to the business acumen of local Guyanese businessmen. It is now cheaper to import chicken than raise them locally. Poultry rearing on a commercial scale locally is an expensive proposition.
Originally Posted by TI:
This attests to the business acumen of local Guyanese businessmen. It is now cheaper to import chicken than raise them locally. Poultry rearing on a commercial scale locally is an expensive proposition.

It attest to the failure of a credible macro-economic plan.  Power, infrastructure and delivery costs are usually outside of their control.  It takes fairly large operations to compensate and corruption, cronyism and nepotism have dissuaded such investors.  With the small-scale operations, flexibility and scalability is absent as such costs remains high.

Bear in mind, they will be importing cheaper products from nations with a higher per-capita GDP.  Now, go figure that.

Perhaps they should turn to smuggling like how you  made a fortune from the ban of sardines.

Originally Posted by Sunil:

The duty waiver licenses will expire on September 12, 2012 to discourage permit hoarding.

Permits will be regularly reviewed to protect consumers and ensuring that they can buy chicken in adequate supply and at affordable prices. The minister said that the sector will be evaluated in the next six weeks to see whether the poultry market has stabilised.

This gives reasons for bribes, cronyism and corruption.

No, not at all, but they should have a larger agro program where Govt soaks/guarantees some excess production to ensure adequate supplies even at peak time.  Many progressive nations do this as Agro, being in a perfect market, will always be susceptible to marginal underproduction and shortages.  On the other hand, one would think that the GoG would have opened up export markets for local produce where Guyana is courted for food, rather than the other way.

Now, don't say they don't have the money, they seem to have for everything else.

There are ample arguments against agriculture subsidies. You are just replacing one set of issues with another. Should govt subsidize chicken you critics would take the anti subsidy stance claiming that PPP cronies filling their pockets with govt subsidies. Both way you win the argument. ahahhaah

Originally Posted by TI:

It attest to the failure of a credible macro-economic plan.  Power, infrastructure and delivery costs are usually outside of their control.  It takes fairly large operations to compensate and corruption, cronyism and nepotism have dissuaded such investors.  With the small-scale operations, flexibility and scalability is absent as such costs remains high.

Bear in mind, they will be importing cheaper products from nations with a higher per-capita GDP.  Now, go figure that.

Poultry rearing can only operate on economies of scale if you looking at competitive pricing. Also the most important factor is reliable electricity since the chickens are hatched in incubators. Add the high cost of feed and security, and this is a losing business. Even without croneyism and corruption, it is still a losing business.
Originally Posted by TI:

Poultry rearing can only operate on economies of scale if you looking at competitive pricing. Also the most important factor is reliable electricity since the chickens are hatched in incubators. Add the high cost of feed and security, and this is a losing business. Even without croneyism and corruption, it is still a losing business.

No, that's a "loser mentality". How come other nations are producing and being able to export to us at a profit when we cannot even produce and sell at the imported costs at a profit.  How come, even under the PNC era, there were large and thriving poultry farms in Guyana.

We are one of the few nations who have an excuse for the inexcusable.  Saudi Arabia is producing grain in the desert at world prices and Guyana cannot produce a paltry poultry.  You must be a joker.

There are ample arguments against agriculture subsidies. You are just replacing one set of issues with another. Should govt subsidize chicken you critics would take the anti subsidy stance claiming that PPP cronies filling their pockets with govt subsidies. Both way you win the argument. ahahhaah

Every nation, except those in perennial shortage conditions do apply such intervention.  Why do you think the Western nations could flood the spot market with produce.  It is due to the guaranteed production and price of their central Govt.  Have you studied Economics 101, do you understand the dynamics of a "perfect market"?  If you don't then go back, study and come back.  Who do you think is the largest milk wholesaler in the USA?

Under the PNC there were no really large scale profitable poultry operations. There were chicken shortages periodically. Also the price fluctuated erratically. Price of chicken was higher than price of beef sometimes. Most of the poultry rearers also had alternate businesses that were more profitably, fishing and trawling, for example. If you can get cheaper prices globally in today's free market, consumers will go that route. I really can't see Guyana competing globally in this market.
Originally Posted by alena06:
How does the KFC Franchise operate in Gy? do they use imported chicken?

Is probably not real chicken... and dat special seasoning, is the Kernel himself, they grind him rant up after he passed away and that's the secret spice.

Originally Posted by TI:
Under the PNC there were no really large scale profitable poultry operations. There were chicken shortages periodically. Also the price fluctuated erratically. Price of chicken was higher than price of beef sometimes. Most of the poultry rearers also had alternate businesses that were more profitably, fishing and trawling, for example. If you can get cheaper prices globally in today's free market, consumers will go that route. I really can't see Guyana competing globally in this market.

Well, lets say we have differing views.  I don't say the PNC was a good benchmark, but banna, my parents had relatives and close friends who made a killing rearing poultry.  A lot ran into problems due to unstable power which caused large losses in hatcheries and shortage of certain concentrates which affected feed.

So tell me, what is Guyana capable of producing in your book?

Originally Posted by TI:

Well, lets say we have differing views.  I don't say the PNC was a good benchmark, but banna, my parents had relatives and close friends who made a killing rearing poultry.  A lot ran into problems due to unstable power which caused large losses in hatcheries and shortage of certain concentrates which affected feed.

Unconscious Albert

Originally Posted by TI:

Guyana's most abundant resource is land but population base is small and concentrated on the coast. Any profitable production has to be export oriented. If you look at the neighbors, 60% of Suriname's export is Bauxite. French Guyana is smaller and 75% of exports are fishing, and the economy is aided of course by the space center. Nowadays, creating wealth from small scale operations is a thing of the past. You can subsist but you will always be at the mercy of world markets. To be competitive, you need global supermarkets with huge investments. Given these constraints, if I wanted to get into production in Guyana, I would focus on seafood, fishing, and canneries. You can make a killing on prawns alone.
Originally Posted by TI:

...You can subsist but you will always be at the mercy of world markets. To be competitive, you need global supermarkets with huge investments. Given these constraints.....

Now, what are these constraints, why are these exceptional for Guyana??  I agree 100% with your Fishing industry thoughts.  I don't fully see it with bauxite as you are at the mercy of world markets and Alu is the most recycled metal.  However, China will drive demand for a while.  Remember, Guyana had a thriving bauxite industry, where is it now?

You came back the the crux of the matter which I originally raised, large-scale investments and export markets.  I also believe cattle ranching is also a viable option for Guyana, but once again, the GoG has to open the markets thru trade agreements.

TI, I don't disagree with you, but as I said, you have to create the industry and all other successful nations did.  The PPP has failed in this area.  I was there and met farmers who got screwed by the GoG and don't want to see the M of A.

Every nation, except those in perennial shortage conditions do apply such intervention.  Why do you think the Western nations could flood the spot market with produce.  It is due to the guaranteed production and price of their central Govt.  Have you studied Economics 101, do you understand the dynamics of a "perfect market"?  If you don't then go back, study and come back.  Who do you think is the largest milk wholesaler in the USA?

Again you continue to compare apples to oranges. A 3rd world nation to the developed world. When Guyana has moved up the economic ladder then it will be able to extend these business welfare type programs. Meanwhile private enterprise and local market forces will have to suffice. Currently the govt is artificially controlling the market by giving out import licenses when prices rise.  

A country the size of Guyana with so much land just sitting there wasted and with so much unemployed young people should not be importing chicken.  Put the people to work on government chicken farms.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

A country the size of Guyana with so much land just sitting there wasted and with so much unemployed young people should not be importing chicken.  Put the people to work on government chicken farms.

Hahahah, bring back guyfarms? hahahahahha