Guyana needs a new capital cityPDFPrintE-mail
Written by N. AUGUSTUS   
Monday, 04 June 2012 21:43
IT is indeed good to hear that a new housing project is being considered for the professional and middle-income markets in Guyana. Housing Minister Irfaan Ali mentioned the concerns about climate change and a wish to build on higher ground, while talking about a new road. This seems to be a good time to consider whether sufficient land around this area should not be marked off for a future capital away from flood- susceptible Georgetown. A new capital site should be considered with this project as a possible new residential starting point, followed by the move of government offices and records in phases until the new city or capital can be completed.

Guyana needs a more modern, well planned-out city and now may be as good a time as any to start planning for one.

Two facts are clear: we need to move to higher ground and such a move, regardless of the site chosen will have to be done in phases depending on finances and other considerations.  It would take a lot more to build a new city than rebuild Georgetown, regardless of how one feels about the city.   Hopefully, someone is listening and can see how to tie in private investment with future public benefit and a long-term plan.

My VOTE is for Skeldon. You need access to shipping and also the BNridge to Surinam will make a very strong case for Skeldon.

I second Skeldon. In addition, access to the Atlantic is easy for shipping and international trading.

The county of Berbice has been ignored by both the PNC and PPP governments for too long.

My VOTE is for Skeldon. You need access to shipping and also the BNridge to Surinam will make a very strong case for Skeldon.

I second Skeldon. In addition, access to the Atlantic is easy for shipping and international trading.

The county of Berbice has been ignored by both the PNC and PPP governments for too long.

I addition, the racial make up of Berbice can change to reflect the true diversity in Guyana.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

It's fair enough that all Guyanese should have an input where the new capital should be located. Unfortunately, it cannot be on ten locations, but one that if fully considered to be safe from flooding and central to an airport. I think providence is more suitable.

Nothing wrong in building a new airport in Berbice with a new capital city. 

Why build a new airport when you can improve CJIA? I think the cost is a significant factor.

The current cost of improving CJIA is a padded number. It would cost as much to develop a new airport in Berbice. Why are you against a new airport in Berbice ?

It would serve Guyana better in having two airports. It would mean more economic activity for Guyana.

A large segment of Guyanese living abroad are from Berbice. Many Berbicians do not want to experience the hassle of crossing the river and traveling all the way to CJIA.

Many have expressed concerns especially safety concerns when traveling to and from the airport especially at night. 

Skeldon would develop if a bridge over the river were built, it doesn't need to become a capital. The idea of moving the capital is to develop a region that otherwise wouldn't develop.  Lethem as capital would create an axis of development right accross the geography of Guyana from one end to the other.

What nonsense. If Gtwn isnt acceptable because it will sink as oceans riose why will Sledon be any better?   Further more the vast majority of Guyanese live in and around the capital and Berbice has seen its population decline faster than any other region.

My vote is for Bartica. It's more central.

This makes more practical sense. Reality is that much of the future development of Guyana lies in economic activity in the interior.  Bartica and Linden have access. Skeldon doesnt.

The only problem is that Bartica is also low lying so poses the same problems as Gtwn.

It's fair enough that all Guyanese should have an input where the new capital should be located. Unfortunately, it cannot be on ten locations, but one that if fully considered to be safe from flooding and central to an airport. I think providence is more suitable.

Nothing wrong in building a new airport in Berbice with a new capital city. 

Except that no international carrier will fly there.  GEO is enough for them.

What nonsense. If Gtwn isnt acceptable because it will sink as oceans riose why will Sledon be any better?   Further more the vast majority of Guyanese live in and around the capital and Berbice has seen its population decline faster than any other region.

At least in Skeldon don't have choke and rob or you don't have to pass Buxton or  any of those crime ridden villages. When last did you visit Skeldon?

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The Rev, If I win the Lotto I will seek license from the Gov't of Guyana to operate a horse riding business in National Park. I will target Guyanese returning home for holiday.  US$15 per hour will be my charge. I bet this venture will succeed and create at least a dozen jobs.

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

That's what Guyana needs--entrepreneurs like yourself---one hundred small entrepreneurs like you and Guyana will have a thousand new jobs.

While frauds and quacks like Moses and Khamraj of the AFC are taking jobs away from Guyanese--here we have Billy Ram Balgobin planning on adding jobs.

The Rev likes your thinking Billy.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Guyana does need a new capital city--what it needs are two free trade zones---one in Linden and the other in Berbice---developing deep water ports in Berbice and Linden and having free trade zones there would encourage the Brazilians and other investors to invest more in Guyana.

the lack of infra structure will kill that idea. guyanese doan wuk cheap, that is annah killah. dey tiefing bad, and will fetch away the ppl's products.

Reminds of this story, "An Indian fella in Bramption decided open a factory in India." Long story short, he close the place down, the indians stole every piece of brass they could lay their hands on.  

Move it to Mabaruma, that would put the Venezs in a quandry.  Seriously, it should move inland to cooler, higher grounds and defendable.

But poor access to the sea and waterway. This would pose a quandary for transportation type concerns. 

I would say that is fine.  You don't want the capital city to de-generate into another commercial hub.  And bear in mind the fault line under the Atlantic between S-America and Africa......Tsunami one day.

Move it to Mabaruma, that would put the Venezs in a quandry.  Seriously, it should move inland to cooler, higher grounds and defendable.

But poor access to the sea and waterway. This would pose a quandary for transportation type concerns. 

Fella, like u nah reading-the sea slowly encroaching. Suh, by the time water stop rising, the sea aint goan b too far from mabaruma.

 faster than any other region.

At least in Skeldon don't have choke and rob or you don't have to pass Buxton or  any of those crime ridden villages. When last did you visit Skeldon?

Funy though loads of Berbicians have fled to live in Regions 4 and 5 bnecause the economy is better.

Plus the fishermen in berbice who suffered at the hands of pirates will be shocked to know that they are safe.

I would say that is fine.  You don't want the capital city to de-generate into another commercial hub.  And bear in mind the fault line under the Atlantic between S-America and Africa......Tsunami one day.

If that happens its all over a sthe East Coast USA will also be wiped out.

BTW its not a fault.  Its two volcanoes. One in the Canaries and the other in Cape Verde.  the Atlantoc fault is pulling apart, not coming together.