Guyana offers land to build sustainable tourism training facilityPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Sandra Ann Baptiste   
Saturday, 09 June 2012 23:52
THE Guyana government has offered the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) land to construct and manage a Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Development Institute to cater for Regional and international sustainable tourism training needs.
The proposed facility would be linked to a state-of-the-art eco-tourism resort so that theoretical training can be combined with practical experience for students.
The offer to provide a facility to cater for Regional and international sustainable tourism training needs was made by Guyana’s Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce Irfaan Ali to the CTO’s Council of Ministers meeting during Caribbean Week activities in New York.
Ali, who was heartened by the positive response of his fellow Tourism Ministers, advised that the government is looking to allocate around 10 to 15 acres of land on the East Bank of Demerara.
In addition to the land, the government is offering the exemption of duties and taxes for all materials and equipment required for the construction and operation of the training facility.
Minister Ali, in outlining the offer to the CTO, said sustainable development is linked to environmental management and eco-tourism studies. He said given Guyana’s tourism product and its international profile in the area of climate change, as well as its Low-Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS), it is well positioned to make a major contribution to human resources development in sustainable tourism.
He explained that training professionals will come from within the Region and internationally, and attempts will be made to get a high calibre of training professionals who have expertise in the areas to be covered in the curriculum of the proposed institute.
CTO’s Chairman, Richard Skerritt, Minister of Tourism and International Transport for St. Kitts, told a news conference that the organisation will set up a working technical group to move the proposal forward, and see how the CTO can make use of this offer, which includes “generous fiscal incentives” and other support to facilitate its implementation.
Ali said Guyana will push to get this project off the ground soon, so that the CTO can facilitate the building of skills to address the challenging issues that the Region’s faces in the areas of climate change, sustainable tourism development, environmental science and biodiversity.
He said that Guyana is also committed to helping identify sources of financing to make this project a reality.
Last Updated on Sunday, 10 June 2012 00:01

God BLESS our Leaders for their Vision and Wisdom.

After 20 years of touting eco-tourism, finally offer incentives to set up a training facility!  Is this vision or almost hindsight?  But never too late anyway.  I think they finally taking some advise from the Chinese on how to do things.

Rome was NOT built in a day Bhai. One, one Duty does build DAM.

As I said, good project.  At this rate the PPP would build a desk model of Rome in 100 years.  It's least a decade late, now practically hind-sight "vision".  But maybe, a "B" from a mediocre benchmark.

Bhai, You cllaim to have interests in Guyana BUT is unable to see the difference in Guyana from 1992 to now. Everyone that comes back from Guyana are AMAZED at the difference but you are blind to it. I believe you said sometime back that you will be as Fair and balance as possible. Should we believe that?

every one that return to guyana was amazed that in this age and time every time the rain falls georgetown flood.when going to GT for a holiday walk with your long booths.i wonder who in hell beside guyanese will go to guyana for holidays.i will bet 100 to 1 that no country will take up this thiefing minister offer.in fact i guess those people is having a good laugh

Bhai, You cllaim to have interests in Guyana BUT is unable to see the difference in Guyana from 1992 to now. Everyone that comes back from Guyana are AMAZED at the difference but you are blind to it. I believe you said sometime back that you will be as Fair and balance as possible. Should we believe that?

Go back to the original question posted, not all this giberish.  I will agree with betterment from a mediocre benchmark.

I have a view of Guyana and has always held it.  I was more forgiving and sympathetic to the PPP earlier as I was giving more time.  There comes a time, however, when one must face the truth.  Ask Yuji22 why he changed his views.

Everyone is "amazed", who is everyone and what is the "amazement"? How many of the "amazed" are willing to venture back and put capital or limb at risk?  Ask Yuji22 what is it he saw that made him back away.  What have you put at risk and how are you involved in Guyana, apart from this blog?

mE AND jAGDEO WAS AT cABANA LAST WEEKEND WITH HALF A DOZEN BEAUTIES. eAT YUH HEART OUT.

Wait till the news paper start publishing pictures of you an he hangin out.

Birds of a feather banna, birds of a feather..

Then after BJ get ketch and he complain about how you does hang out with him...the next post from you out of the slammer would be

me and jagdeo at the jail this weekend with half a dozen Bubbas.

..... yuh batty out.

Cain, Are you Gay?? Please note that my nick is " ELEPHANT RAMMER"

Hmm, does your friend BJ like your characterization of him as an Elephant?

Bannas, BJ is more man than you can ever be and has dozens of women that he takes care of.

Not my words, yours!

Yes my words because I know of the women he services daily. Something you are not capable of.

Not my words, yours!

Yes my words because I know of the women he services daily. Something you are not capable of.

Sorry i offended you, didn't know you were his chaperone.

Well I have to forgive you cause you dont know that Elephant Hammer does service some of the same women.

Well, congrats on being BJ's hand-me-down.  It must feel like a noble accomplishment.

Well I have to forgive you cause you dont know that Elephant Hammer does service some of the same women.

Well, congrats on being BJ's hand-me-down.  It must feel like a noble accomplishment.

Thank you Sir and I am enjoying every bit of it.

Originally Posted by Lucas:

Offer me a piece of land in front of the beach and I build a hotel where I will employ the tourism graduates...

No one offer you anything, you have to go, do your due diligence and decide if to invest.  It takes entrepreneurship and courage, not just waiting for someone to "offer" something and see what you do.

Originally Posted by Lucas:

Offer me a piece of land in front of the beach and I build a hotel where I will employ the tourism graduates...

No one offer you anything, you have to go, do your due diligence and decide if to invest.  It takes entrepreneurship and courage, not just waiting for someone to "offer" something and see what you do.

I just want to contribute to the development of Wayana by providing some source of employment

Wayana means the 'land of many waters; it was the original name of the country, which the Spaniards spelled as Guayana and then the English changed to Guyana.

Where dis place "Wayana" deh?