Eight consecutive years of economic growth

Eight consecutive years of recorded economic growth, is no ordinary jack in the box economics, or pull a rabbit out- of- the- hat planning. It is a particularly laudable achievement, and could have only been achieved through what can be described as the most detailed growth and development policies, supported by prudent management of the funding capacity and the nation’s fiscal affairs on the whole, that have allowed for sustainability of an economy that has continued its momentum.And for Guyana, to which the above refers, a recorded 5.2% economic growth in 2013 is testimony to the visionary planners in the PPP/C Government who have been overseeing the transformative process. This latest stats will bring no comfort of any kind, to the perennial critics, bad “mothers” and prophets of doom, whose voodoo economic predictions, have been defeated each year by socio-economic policies that continue to advance this country and its people to the safety ground of economic security and social justice. All Guyanese should now feel proud and confident of a government, which has vindicated their trust of governing in their interests, ensuring in the process that they are always the prime beneficiaries of initiatives meant for better living. Therefore, it is no idle boast to say, that the future for Guyana and its people, has never been so glorious. Such growth is especially astounding, taking into consideration the debilitating and harrowing effects of the international economic meltdown that caused many other economies to ground to a halt, with the inevitable consequences of severe social dislocation and unrest. The truth is, for most of those affected countries, the crisis exposed planning that hardly ever took into consideration, the essentials of long term economic planning and safeguards. It is even more significant that in such circumstances that would have forced so many affected countries to exact drastic cuts to social programmes-no such occurred in Guyana. In fact, all programmes designed for the advancement of citizens, continued unabated. It is interesting to note that the key sectors: Housing and Water, Health, Education, Human Services, and Security, continue to receive more budgetary funding. No more is this evident, than in infrastructure, where roads, bridges, and culverts, for example, continued to be constructed in many parts of the country. A well-managed economy that has continued to benefit its people can only continue to grow, because of the strong belief of Guyanese workers that their productive input is very much a part of this continued economic success. And selflessly supported by a government, which commitment to the mission of bettering the lives of all, is assured and 2014 will again be another one of further advancement.

Pavi, it would be helpful to post the source of the article, its date and author. The purpose of posting someone else's article is that it either articulates in a nice way how we think about a topic, or it provides us an opportunity to rail against the topic. I presume this is a Chronicle article by a ghost author and you agree with everything in it. True Bhai?

Bhai, This is not the Wall Street Journal.

Pavi, that editorial is a joke. The author "Such growth is especially astounding, taking into consideration the debilitating and harrowing effects of the international economic meltdown that caused many other economies to ground to a halt, with the inevitable consequences of severe social dislocation and unrest." 5.2% GDP  growth is indeed praise-worthy on its face, but given the low base of Guyana's economy requiring 10% growth or more to lift over one-third of the populace out of poverty, would you call it astounding?

Would you also not agree that the economic meltdown referred to by the author took place over 5 1/2 years ago and the world's economy is on a normal course now for a couple of years?

Don't you have a problem when someone goes hyperbolic and say that this 5.2% GDP growth is "testimony to the visionary planners in the PPP/C Government who have been overseeing the transformative process."? Have you not questioned what contributed to this growth? a price increase in the two leading commodities. Have you not questioned what is transformative about Guyana when the major export earners are still primary commodities subject to he vicissitudes of the international markets and technology? Do you not question why so much of government spending is on wasteful contracts relating to maintenance of infrastructure to repair drainage and irrigation? Digging a hole to fill it, repeating it, and then some will generate a growth statistic, but for what purpose? Do you not question where this growth goes to?

You need to be more critical of editorials like this that are 99% propaganda. Use that little gray matter above your ears for a change.

Last edited by Kari

What I know and can prove is most of the World are NOT growing at 5%.

Ppavi, you get a new shirt----yeah, whoop-de-doo your life has just grown by 5.2%. It has been transformed. But wait, the shirt is too tight....a button is missing....see where I'm heading Pavoi. A little intellect and you will look under the hood of what this number means. China grows by 10% (of $3 trillion) and GDP increases by $300 billion. The US grows by 5% (of 17 trillion) and GDP increases by $850 billion. What you say? 5% is larger than 10%?

5.2% is better than ZERO should Moses ever become President.

Those numbers are fudge.

Tonight I gun bring yuh real FUDGE.

Those numbers are fudge.

Skeldon yuh Rass wicked yuh kno, deh Gal like Fudge with Nuts.

Those numbers are fudge.

You sure she nah like lallipap wid whip cream too?

Those numbers are fudge.

Yo Bannas, Don't talk to my Girl like that!!!!!!!!

Those numbers are fudge.

Yo Bannas, Don't talk to my Girl like that!!!!!!!!

Sarri bhai. Me beg you pardon.

This thread has degenerated to the farce it was in the first place - from economic growth in Guyana to fudge and lollipop with JB, authored by Nehru and Skeleton

Good observation mullah kari.

fair enough.  As uneducated as you are what Kari is trying to tell you is beyond your grasp.

Let me tell you this.  As of now the GDP of Barbados is still double that of Guyana, even though that island has no commodities, and therefore hasn't been able to benefit from a commodity boom.  Even though that lsland has an economy based on tourism, which depends on discretionary (do you understand what they work means?) expenditures, and so fewer visit, and those who do spend less.  The other plank is financial services, which faces increased pressure from OECD countries.

So can you tell me why a tiny island produces DOUBLE the value of goods and services that Guyana does after 21 years of PPP rule?