https://assets.bwbx.io/images/users/iqjWHBFdfxIU/iMsAZyVYOZLc/v1/1000x-1.jpg

Change is coming. Photographer: Luis Acosta/AFP via Getty Images

September 1, 2020

By

This time last year, Guyana’s future looked bright. The first oil from the Western Hemisphere’s biggest new find in decades was ready to flow. The economy was on track to expand by 86% in a year and, soon enough, transform one of the poorest countries in the Americas. Even corruption, Guyana’s legacy scourge, seemed to be somewhat in retreat.

Instead, 12 months on, this small nation of 750,000 people on South America’s northern rim is reeling. The March 2 presidential election, a shambles that took five months to settle, left traditionally feuding elites more deeply divided by racial and ethnic loyalties. The political turmoil has imposed costly setbacks for oil extraction and exploration and made investors uneasy. Institutions vital to managing the geyser of oil revenue remain flimsy, where they exist at all. And all this has unfolded amid an international oil glut and the coronavirus pandemic.

This tale looks familiar. Frontier oil nations too often are easy marks for the resource curse, under which the sudden gift of a bounteous natural asset subverts national institutions and blights politics and society. Yet Guyana is a reminder that the hex can work both ways. 

Cronyism, graft and self-dealing have long made Guyana’s identity-riven politics a race to the bottom. Unless Guyanese society holds its carping political establishment to a higher bar, South America’s breakout nation risks sabotaging a centuries-deferred vision of creating common wealth and democratic stability, and instead enriching only the oil behemoths.

Undoubtedly, getting blindsided by plenty can be problematic. “The nation’s ports, power supply, supply bases — all are rudimentary and industry in Georgetown is basic at best,” said Marcelo de Assis, head of upstream research at Wood Mackenzie, an energy consultancy. Yet Guyana’s race-fueled partisan strife adds a toxic twist. “One of the worst circumstances you can have is a country polarized politically and ethnically that is about to be awash in a huge amount of money,” said Francisco Monaldi, an oil and energy expert at Rice University’s Baker Institute for Public Policy.

Start with the no-confidence vote against President David Granger’s government in late 2018, which threw the system into turmoil. Instead of a smooth segue to new elections, as the U.K.-inspired constitution prescribed, Guyana got a 19-month political stalemate: Granger appealed to the courts, demanded an election recount and then challenged the international auditors who validated the balloting. Making matters worse, the electoral quarrel was cloven along centuries-old fault lines: Guyanese of African descent lined up behind Granger’s outgoing People’s National Congress while Indo-Guyanese descended from indentured servants hewed to the ranks of the rival PPP party, now back in power under President Irfaan Ali.

Oil majors are no strangers to turbulent markets: Look at Angola and Chad, where the crude kept flowing through ethnic animosities and civil wars. However, the disarray in Guyana has given investors pause and threatened production setbacks. A likely 12-month delay on the Payara oil development in the prized Stabroek block could cost Guyana around $1.6 billion. Adding to the murk are suspicions that sticky-fingered officials gave away oil concessions in 2016, shortly after Guyana’s fabulous oil find.

Those claims were bolstered earlier this year when Global Witness, an industry watchdog, accused Exxon Mobil Corp. of imposing an “abusive” production-sharing agreement, which it said could shortchange the country by around $55 billionaround 12 times Guyana’s gross domestic product in 2019. Guyanese authorities and Exxon denied any undue advantages, arguing the terms of the agreement reflected the risk of operating in a frontier hydrocarbon province.

Public misgivings over the contracts have triggered demands that the government renegotiate them. Perhaps more important, however, Guyana should get its own house in order. “Guyanese youth is the key. I say forget about local content and oil and gas jobs for the moment. We need to build a country from scratch. There’s so much work to be done,” Guyanese oil expert Jan Mangal, who advised the Granger administration but has been critical of both competing factions, told me. Instead, Mangal added, “we have all the red flags.”

Transforming Guyana ultimately depends on solving a bigger riddle: Can the country kick the habit of incapacitating rivalries based on skin color and cousinry? While Guyanese of Asian and African descent have lived side by side for centuries, “they mix but they do not combine,” said Christopher Charles, a professor of psychology at the University of the West Indies, in Jamaica. “Indians and Africans see themselves as locked in a zero-sum game for power.” The struggle for power and influence has turned diversity into enmity, now aggravated by the prospect of fabulous oil rents. “Given its access to resources and gateway location to South America, Guyana could be a little Singapore by now. Instead, the politicians have used race to stay in power,” said Mangal.

Guyana has made some strides in overcoming its dysfunctions. Transparency International recently rated Guyana as one of the most improved nations on its annual Corruption Perceptions list, ranking 85 of 180 countries in 2019, (compared with 93 the year before). Racial tensions have generally not exploded into violence and, encouragingly, some parts of society also may already have bridged its atavistic cultural moats. The number of Guyanese self-identifying as racially mixed (20% of the total population) doubled between 1980 and 2012 (the date of the last complete census), the fastest growing demographic alongside those of Portuguese ancestry.

A longtime expatriate aid official in Georgetown — who works with all Guyanese groups and so asked not to be identified — recalls throwing a house party during the 2014 World Cup and being surprised at the easy interaction among the diverse guests. “I had a big crowd with many mixed couples. It was all very natural. I realized then that Guyana had changed for the better,” the official told me. “I hadn’t noticed because I’d been living in my bubble.”

Sadly, half a century after independence, politicians are still living inside of theirs.

At least with the PPP, the oil is in good hands.

Guyana had tensions since the 60s when Burnham tried to steal Jagan’s position as leader of the PPP.

Sycophancy and rewriting of history--a sad combination.

@Django posted:

Twisting of history.

Did Burnham not sought the leadership of the PPP and when he was unsuccessful branched off and formed his own PPP party and used racial politics to bring blacks to his side? Denying history doesn’t make it go away.

Rewriting history eh!

At least with the PPP, the oil is in good hands.

Guyana had tensions since the 60s when Burnham tried to steal Jagan’s position as leader of the PPP.

Ilum ...

That was in 1950's; after the suspension of the Constitution; not the 60's.

Ilum ...

That was in 1950's; after the suspension of the Constitution; not the 60's.

Thanks. My mistake. Shows that Burnham began the tensions since the 50s. Even worse.

Tensions have always been inflamed, fanned by the PNC, throughout Guyana’s history and nothing to do with oil.  Oil is just the latest excuse. 

Only when PNC is not in power there will be racial tensions. Go figure who is causing trouble. They are an organization that thrives on violence, thuggery, bullying, and thefts.

You have to be some brain dead to not know this.

The oil bonanza will not inflame any ethnic divisions of the Guyanese nation.  President Ali is the President for all Guyana and he will take care of everybody.

The covid-19 problem is being taken care of.

The Amerindians have been singled out to enjoy a better life.

Money has been approved for constitutional agencies.

The Government will be supporting ventures like the Mahaica project.

Get the picture?

Last edited by Ramakant-P
@Ramakant-P posted:

The oil bonanza will not inflame any ethnic divisions of the Guyanese nation.  President Ali is the President for all Guyana and he will take care of everybody.

The covid-19 problem is being taken care of.

The Amerindians have been singled out to enjoy a better life.

Money has been approved for constitutional agencies.

The Government will be supporting ventures like the Mahaica project.

Get the picture?

Chupidness na gat cure.

Thanks. My mistake. Shows that Burnham began the tensions since the 50s. Even worse.

Bhai, don't just read or watch TV about Guyana. Come and see that all Africans are not as hateful as some of the things you experience in the 60's in GT. Racist politics causes some people to poison their minds and there might never be unity in Guyana. No thanks to the British. 

Don't put blame only on de blackman, because Jagan and Jagdeo PPP are not angels. Research why the sugar workers housing schemes after the logies did not get any better, after Bookers Jock Campbell initiated their development. Also, why Jagdeo lives in a mansion, while the PPP voters continue to struggle for a livelihood. That causes all kinds of problems in the family.

Please don't tell me it will improve this time, because they had 23 years previous to make improvements for the voters.     

You have to be some brain dead to not know this.

So why are the writers not explicitly saying that the PNC supporters will resort to rioting and killing of Indians and the PPP supporters?

I for one never, will never blame Afros, I BLAME the CRIMINAL Entity called the PNC and the FEW barefoot, whitemouth supporters who are as naive as those who traveled 6000 miles to join Jim Jones in a JUNGLE!!!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Why did the token Indians embrace the hooligans?

That is standard practice for Parasites, worms and Rats. However, it does not matter if is Indian or African: Right VS Wrong and Good VS Evil should be the test!!

@Ramakant-P posted:

You should learn how to write and read.  Now get lost until I posted again.

You are a recurring decimal.  

A "recurring decimal" to deal with recurring chupidness.  Chupidness na gat cure.  Now, here is a guy telling me to learn how to read and write and he wrote as follows: "Now get lost until I posted again".  Unbelievable! 

@Totaram posted:

A "recurring decimal" to deal with recurring chupidness.  Chupidness na gat cure.  Now, here is a guy telling me to learn how to read and write and he wrote as follows: "Now get lost until I posted again".  Unbelievable! 

You have a lot of enemies.  Your enemies are stupidness, ignorance, illiteracy, mental instability, psychotic behavior.

Whenever you can conquer one of your enemies, you have my permission to raise the red flag.

Guyana will be fine under the PPP. There will be tension and PNC kicking up dust.  But the PPP is strong and well entrenched. BJ is not making the same mistake as before. Ali is coming across confident and sure footed. And that First Lady will only increase his premium value. 

The break for the PPP made them reflect and recharge. PNC/AFC are compounding their mistakes. They ain’t changing anytime soon.  Some of their foot soldiers will end up in jail. 

@Nehru posted:

I for one never, will never blame Afros, I BLAME the CRIMINAL Entity called the PNC and the FEW barefoot, whitemouth supporters who are as naive as those who traveled 6000 miles to join Jim Jones in a JUNGLE!!!

Sometimes yuh dozz talk lil sense. 

Guyana will be fine under the PPP. There will be tension and PNC kicking up dust.  But the PPP is strong and well entrenched. BJ is not making the same mistake as before. Ali is coming across confident and sure footed. And that First Lady will only increase his premium value. 

The break for the PPP made them reflect and recharge. PNC/AFC are compounding their mistakes. They ain’t changing anytime soon.  Some of their foot soldiers will end up in jail. 

A lil gyaff on the realities of development of a nation.

You have travelled and worked in India. So you have some experience in seeing poverty and how ppl in that region makes the effort to overcome it.

Guyana is not in that state. However, it is a suspended country going neither forward nor backward. Is like being in a rocking chair, lots of movements but no translation.

Take the Asian countries, from the ashes they strive to develop, in an ordered fashion. I cannot see that mindset in Guyanese politicans. They doan have a leader that can be Atta Turk. A person who aims for transformation. The PPP lacks vision and it can only exist with all the quiet conflicts, without it they be lost. Eversince in 1953, it is one conflict after another, they are only political. They are not builders, they see only the opportunties to be enriched from it. Infrastructures floats away and erodes. The do not have the capacity as Asian or White countries. 

@seignet posted:

A lil gyaff on the realities of development of a nation.

You have travelled and worked in India. So you have some experience in seeing poverty and how ppl in that region makes the effort to overcome it.

Guyana is not in that state. However, it is a suspended country going neither forward nor backward. Is like being in a rocking chair, lots of movements but no translation.

Take the Asian countries, from the ashes they strive to develop, in an ordered fashion. I cannot see that mindset in Guyanese politicans. They doan have a leader that can be Atta Turk. A person who aims for transformation. The PPP lacks vision and it can only exist with all the quiet conflicts, without it they be lost. Eversince in 1953, it is one conflict after another, they are only political. They are not builders, they see only the opportunties to be enriched from it. Infrastructures floats away and erodes. The do not have the capacity as Asian or White countries. 

You are overly pessimistic. Guyana will be pulled by exterior forces which will force changes over time. 

Many of the changes you see in India are coming from the rise of literacy and what the people see happening externally.  They are demanding more out of life and better for their kids.  I visited some remote areas and they are very aware of the world outside.  They know their destiny/karma is in their hands.

Guyanese are no different and they will demand more as the nation breaks out of its current multi-generational rot.

If nothing, Burnham left us with two everlasting sound bites to ponder.

One People, one nation, one destiny ......and

A destiny to mold.

Be optimistic. Don’t lay it all at the feet of the politicians.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You have a lot of enemies.  Your enemies are stupidness, ignorance, illiteracy, mental instability, psychotic behavior.

Whenever you can conquer one of your enemies, you have my permission to raise the red flag.

Chupidness na gat cure. 

@seignet posted:

The PPP lacks vision and it can only exist with all the quiet conflicts, without it they be lost. Eversince in 1953, it is one conflict after another, they are only political. They are not builders, they see only the opportunties to be enriched from it. Infrastructures floats away and erodes. The do not have the capacity as Asian or White countries. 

The more one looks at the PPP ,your insights are valid ,their governance thrives on conflicts.

@Django posted:

The more one looks at the PPP ,your insights are valid ,their governance thrives on conflicts.

Politics is a dirty game. It was overplayed by the PNC. Now it's their turn to be sh*t upon.