Guyana has exempted the operators of the Stabroek Block from a series of taxes, and it will cost the people dearly, according to a Canadian Engineer, Darshanand Khusial.
The Lead Operator on that block is ExxonMobil subsidiary, Esso Exploration and Production Guyana Limited (EEPGL), with 45 percent interest. Its partners are Hess Guyana Exploration Limited (30 percent interest) and CNOOC Petroleum Guyana Limited (25 percent interest).

A homeless man sleeps outside Parliament Building.

In a letter to the editor, the professional wrote that as taxes are fundamental to developing the social, physical and economic infrastructure of a country, the waiver granted by Government to these companies is unfair, especially when compared to what commercial enterprises in Guyana are made to pay.
According to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA)’s website, the current tax rate for commercial enterprises is 40 percent.
“One cannot help but notice the irony of small Guyanese businesses struggling to pay 40% taxes but wealthy multinational companies having to pay no taxes,” he wrote.
“Guyana is helping the rich foreign shareholders get richer while its poor sleep on planks with cardboard sheets.”
The Engineer wrote that ExxonMobil has paid US$110B in taxes to the United States Government in the decade to 2015, and that it has probable paid more than US$500B in taxes in its history.
In Guyana’s case, he wrote “We know that Exxon has stated Guyana will receive revenues of US$7 billion for Liza Phase 1 which contains 450 million barrels of oil. The oil companies’ profit will be slightly less than that, let’s assume US$6.5 billion.”
Scaling up that figure from 450 million barrels to six billion barrels, he calculated that ExxonMobil would earn at least US$87B from extracting the current discovered reserves.
If they were required to pay taxes at the commercial rate, Khusial pointed out that those reserves would secure Guyana almost US$35B for the Guyanese people.
“That is more than enough to provide world class services to our 775,000 citizens.” Khusial stated.
He asked, “Why is it fair for Exxon to pay U.S. government hundreds of billions of U.S. dollars in taxes on oil profits but none to Guyana? Shouldn’t our citizens have reliable electricity like the Americans? Don’t our citizens deserve world class healthcare like the Canadians?
“What about social safety nets like affordable housing for our poor? Not to mention, reinforcing the sea wall to reduce floods? Or do the foreign oil companies view us as a ‘shithole country’ to be exploited for the benefit of rich foreign shareholders?”

The two had nothing to do with each other.  Ayuh don’t start blaming this new industry with all Guyana’s problems!

What the Rass you talking about?

Same ting you talking bout!!

antabanta posted:

Amazing how PPP supporters only now see Guyana's homeless.

They were blind about the high suicide rates (even among their own supporters) and domestic abuse cases. 

No one was ever blind to that!!  But there are those who blamed it all on the PPP and now they are quiet!

antabanta posted:

They were blind about the high suicide rates (even among their own supporters) and domestic abuse cases. 

You are the chief knucklehead- the suicide and domestic abuse has no race in Guyana.. read what them Negros doing. You Fck tard . 

antabanta posted:

Bai Vish, like yuh lend out yuh handle. Yuh writing like wan former poster. 😀

antabanta posted:

Bai Vish, like yuh lend out yuh handle. Yuh writing like wan former poster. 😀

You notice the writing also. Heh heh 

antabanta posted:

You are the chief knucklehead- the suicide and domestic abuse has no race in Guyana.. read what them Negros doing. You Fck tard . 

Not saying its about race...but you would think that since the PPP was in power, and it was so high among dem country “coolies”...they would find innovative ways to deal with the issues....

antabanta posted:

Not saying its about race...but you would think that since the PPP was in power, and it was so high among dem country “coolies”...they would find innovative ways to deal with the issues....

Hey, one subject professional student, you are in America. Why don't you advise Donald trump and the rest of the country how to deal with gun violence seeing you know so much? When you finished here, maybe you can assist your grand uncle Granja as how to deal with all the murders in Buxton, Wismar, Plaisance, and Linden. You might be in demand someday.

LIke how suddenly PNC supporters not seeing theft and corruption, disrespect for law, constitution and citizens. I will stop at this point fore the FILTH HEADs to reflect!!

Somebody get the toilet paper quick!

antabanta posted:

No one was ever blind to that!!  But there are those who blamed it all on the PPP and now they are quiet!

All current and previous administrations have been blind to the needs of the poor. We cannot blame one or the other individually. We need to make government accountable and transparent.

antabanta posted:

All current and previous administrations have been blind to the needs of the poor. We cannot blame one or the other individually. We need to make government accountable and transparent.

Vish invoked suicide. I was answering that specifically!

antabanta posted:

Hey, one subject professional student, you are in America. Why don't you advise Donald trump and the rest of the country how to deal with gun violence seeing you know so much? When you finished here, maybe you can assist your grand uncle Granja as how to deal with all the murders in Buxton, Wismar, Plaisance, and Linden. You might be in demand someday.

Go easy on the dougla, he went to stupidee class, still finding it difficult to graduate after 20 years.