Guyana sending 80 member contingent to CARIFESTA XII at cost of $65M

August 8, 2015 6:06 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[File Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – An eighty member contingent will be representing Guyana at the 2015 Caribbean Festival of Arts (CARIFESTA) in Haiti. Minister within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry told the media that the contingent will represent all aspects of Guyanese culture.

Speaking at a press briefing at the Department of Culture, Youth and Sport on Friday, August 07, the Minister said that the group will include artists and cultural workers representing the following disciplines:  

Visual Arts (5 persons,) Craft (3,) Literary Arts (3) Symposia (2) Storytelling (1) Fashion (3) Youth (2) Body Art (1) Culinary Art (4) Film and Media (3) Drama (12) Dance (18) Music (17) Indigenous (2) and Body Soul (1). Accompanying the delegation will be three officials.

According to Minister Henry, sending the contingent to CARFIESTA will cost the Government $65 million. This cost includes, preparatory works, transportation, accommodation and material for the entire delegation, she said.

The Minister advised that the investment in the contingent for CARIFESTA must be looked at beyond the dollar value. She said that it must be assessed in terms of the positive impact it will have on the development of culture in Guyana and the region.

Junior Education Minister, Nicolette Henry

“Culture is said to be the oil that keeps society running. Through culture, you get a better understanding of traditions and it also allows us to showcase what we have, and it also increases knowledge level,” the Minister said.

She pointed out that both knowledge and tradition in many quarters are the main pillars of development. They are, as well the sustenance of many societies, she noted.

The investment in Guyana’s participation in CARIFESTA 2015 will also ensure the country continues its rich legacy with regards to the cultural event. As the Minister pointed out, when it comes to CARIFESTA, Guyana has not only hosted the event twice (in 1972 and 2008) but has also been one of the front-runners in participating in the event.

Guyana has participated in all eleven (11) CARIFESTAS held so far. The nation has also been participating in all the disciplines at the event, she noted. [Extracted and modified from GINA]

WINE AND GO DOWN LOW. BACKBALL AND ENJOY LIFE TILL MONDAY MORNING YUH GUN BEG FUH A PIECE OF CIGARETTE.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA AND THERE IS NO TURNING BACK UNTIL 2020!!

CHANGE, AL YUH TEK CHANGE IN AL YUH KAKAHOLE!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by asj:

Sixty Five Milliions is too much to spend on this excursion, Guyana can ill afford that luxary at this time.

US$375,000 is too much.   Who is pocketing the money.  The buck stops with the Prime Minister and the President.

This makes me shake my head.

I am not against Guyana sending a small group but sending 80 persons at a cost of 65 million is quite excessive.

This government does not appear to know how to save, they are behaving like how Burnham did. They will spend and spend and destroy the economy just like Burnham.

President Granger needs to have a chat with some of his ministers. They just cannot empty the treasury when the economy is headed into a recession.

a bit of perspective:

Jagdeo sent 100 people to Carifesta XI (2013) in neighboring Suriname with most traveling overland by bus

that cost was prior budgeted at G$20million . . . anybody know or care what the final cost was?

i suspect that much of the G$65 million budgeted for Carifesta XII in Haiti is taken up by airfare and accommodations

yaaaawwn

a bit of perspective:

Jagdeo sent 100 people to Carifesta XI (2013) in neighboring Suriname with most traveling overland by bus

that cost was prior budgeted at G$20million . . . anybody know or care what the final cost was?

i suspect that much of the $65 million budgeted for Carifesta XII in Haiti is taken up by airfare and accomodations

yaaaawwn

What exactly is your point Dummy????

a bit of perspective:

i suspect that much of the $65 million budgeted for Carifesta XII in Haiti is taken up by airfare and accommodations

yaaaawwn

look up "perspective" in the dictionary then come again better, arite?

a bit of perspective:

i suspect that much of the $65 million budgeted for Carifesta XII in Haiti is taken up by airfare and accomodations

yaaaawwn

Let us look at this slowly so that you MAY be able to follow.  First, 100 is greater than 80, yuh gat dat?  If not I will wait, tell me when yuh ready.  OK, 65 is much greater than 20, I know dem dis a big numbers so I will wait.  When yuh ready give me a shout.

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

Let us look at this slowly so that you MAY be able to follow.  First, 100 is greater than 80, yuh gat dat?  If not I will wait, tell me when yuh ready.  OK, 65 is much greater than 20, I know dem dis a big numbers so I will wait.  When yuh ready give me a shout.

exactly what about my last paragraph yuh drunken ass doan understand?

Suriname is right next door . . . reachable by minibus

Haiti is more than 2000km NWest of Guyana over water . . . u gotta fly

airfares and logistics banna . . . do the math

smh

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

what about my last paragraph yuh drunken ass cannot comprehend

smh

You are indeed a DUMB, STUPID ASS but I was trying to help you slow brain FOOL.  DEm walk to suriname??/

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

smh

. . . DEm walk to suriname??/

exactly what about "minibus" or air travel or distance u are having problems grasping?

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

smh

exactly what about "minibus" u are having problems grasping?

Minibus ah wuk wid Wata???   DEm fly to Suriname maybe. But regardless, the cost of Transportation to Surimane will be more than 50% of the Airfare to Haiti PLUS everything else in Haiti is cheaper.  I know you dont have a favorite subject and math is usually the killer.  And remember 100 greater than 80,  65 much greater than 20.

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

smh

Minibus ah wuk wid Wata???   DEm fly to Suriname maybe. But regardless, the cost of Transportation to Surimane will be more than 50% of the Airfare to Haiti PLUS everything else in Haiti is cheaper.  I know you dont have a favorite subject and math is usually the killer.  And remember 100 greater than 80,  65 much greater than 20.

the trek for most to Suriname was bus-ferry-bus . . . i know this for a fact!

oh, and of our 100-strong delegation, 60 were gov't sponsored

http://guyanachronicle.com/car...hort-of-spectacular/

anything else?

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

smh

anything else?

Make some sense, oh I forgot that is like asking Balgobin to spell wan big, big thing like Cow!!!!

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

smh

anything else?

Make some sense, oh I forgot that is like asking Balgobin to spell wan big, big thing like Cow!!!!

yuh finally come up empty nah . . . is arite

The PNC and the 2 House Slaves got to collect their shares!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When the wins in 2020 those are the two we are going to jail.

Who guh jail them,the PPP..ah notice allyuh label the

two as House Slaves..etc,they are Guyanese and have

a vision for the [people of Guyana]..let me emphasize

the people are Indians,Africans,Amerindian,Mixed.

Portuguese..etc

Tell alyuh PPP..Indians are not the only people in

Guyana and are superior to any other race that

are citizens of the nation.

Suh kerry alyuh ra...s who thinks their ethnicity

are superior.

Originally Posted by Django:

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Are you saying House Slaves are superior???????????!!!

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Bhai..you na see me seh they are Guyanese.

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Yes, but plenty Guyanese are also Neemakarams, Crabdaaags, Cut-throats and WORST!!!!!

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Yes, but plenty Guyanese are also Neemakarams, Crabdaaags, Cut-throats and WORST!!!!!

I know bhai.. and they from all color's you can think about.

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Django, If you want to be serious and objective, look at the actions, words and attitudes of these two prior to May 11 and since May 12.

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

Django, If you want to be serious and objective, look at the actions, words and attitudes of these two prior to May 11 and since May 12.

Will look in to it more deeply,that means i will have to

find reasons[not rumours] for the fall out of the two

from the PPP,and not only them there are more, after

the death of Hon.Dr J..problems started within the party.

We should start a thread to discuss this with civility.

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

The problem started when POWER got the best of Jagdeo and he took full control of the Party!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

I would love to share my two cents.  Excellent idea.

Portuguese..etc

are superior.

The problem started when POWER got the best of Jagdeo and he took full control of the Party!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Exactly..he is the cause of the PPP down fall,i admired

his first term of Presidency,young leader with a vision,

after that he got power drunk ah dunno what he was

drinking.

a bit of perspective:

i suspect that much of the G$65 million budgeted for Carifesta XII in Haiti is taken up by airfare and accommodations

yaaaawwn

yes the Indo KKK screamers ranting as usual on a Saturday.

When Guyana hosted Carifesta Trinidad came with a huge team as did other Caribbean nations.

Tell the screamers what.  Guyana needs the diplomatic support from the rest of the Caribbean, when Maduro is waving cash in front of them.  So let the Indo KKK scream that Guyana shouldn't engage the rest of the Caribbean.

Of course we do know that the bulk of the Indo KKK wish Maduro back, as they think that he will install the PPP.

Given the lack of direct airlinks to Haiti, and the paucity of links between that island and the rest of CARICOM its likely that Fly Jam is operating a charter.

a bit of perspective:

yaaaawwn

yes the Indo KKK screamers ranting as usual on a Saturday.

When Guyana hosted Carifesta Trinidad came with a huge team as did other Caribbean nations.

Tell the screamers what.  Guyana needs the diplomatic support from the rest of the Caribbean, when Maduro is waving cash in front of them.  So let the Indo KKK scream that Guyana shouldn't engage the rest of the Caribbean.

Of course we do know that the bulk of the Indo KKK wish Maduro back, as they think that he will install the PPP.

Given the lack of direct airlinks to Haiti, and the paucity of links between that island and the rest of CARICOM its likely that Fly Jam is operating a charter.

Didn't you  post that Guyana was bankrupt.  How the hell can they afford so much money?..  You keep putting your foot in your mouth. 

Didn't you  post that Guyana was bankrupt. .. 

Tell your PPP thieves to hand back over the money that they stole. At this point in time Guyana CANNOT isolate itself from the rest of the Caribbean, because that is all that we got to exercise diplomatic pressure.

Bet if it was a trip to India you would scream something different.

Didn't you  post that Guyana was bankrupt. .. 

Tell your PPP thieves to hand back over the money that they stole. At this point in time Guyana CANNOT isolate itself from the rest of the Caribbean, because that is all that we got to exercise diplomatic pressure.

Bet if it was a trip to India you would scream something different.

The PNC cannot find any money missing so far.  They are very ignorant when it comes to running a country.  They are also very undemocratic.

You supposition if it was a trip to india does not make it right to spend money that you do not have.  It's corruption.  US$375,000 is going into the pockets of the PNC members going on the trip. 

The PNC cannot find any money missing so far. 

Really.  the money that Jennifer stole was enough to pay for this trip.  And they are still conducting the forensic audits.

Why you think that a bunch of ex PPP ministers suddenly found jobs outside of Guyana, so that they can be far away from Guyanese courts?

Whatever the 65M will be used for, it could be put to better use locally. This is money that GY can ill-afford! We don't have to be at every party. 

The PNC cannot find any money missing so far. 

Really.  the money that Jennifer stole was enough to pay for this trip.  And they are still conducting the forensic audits.

Why you think that a bunch of ex PPP ministers suddenly found jobs outside of Guyana, so that they can be far away from Guyanese courts?

Name these ex PPP ministers that found jobs outside of Guyana. What are their crimes?