Guyana signs onto China’s Belt and Road initiative:

By Bibi Khatoon

In observance of 48 years of diplomatic relations, the Government of Guyana today signed onto China’s ‘Belt and Road’ initiative.

Guyana is the 74th country to sign onto the massive trade and infrastructure project that aims to link China — physically and financially –with the rest of the world.

The Cooperation agreement was signed by Guyana’s Foreign Minister, Carl Greenidge and China’s Ambassador to Guyana, Cui Jianchun in the presence of President David Granger; Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo; Finance Minister, Winston Jordan and other senior Government Ministers at the Chinese Embassy at Mandela Avenue, Georgetown.

While 73 countries in Asia, Europe, and Africa signed onto the agreement launched in 2013, Guyana is the first country in the Caribbean and South America to formalize its commitment to the project.

CARICOM recently signaled its interest in the initiative to ascertain how the region’s goals and priorities can be best linked to that of the East Asian country’s project.

Greenidge told the media that Guyana is particularly interested in infrastructure development as well as access to funding from the East Asian Country to build such facilities.

The Minister described Guyana’s infrastructure as “grossly inadequate” which he said has served as a constraint to investment and the attraction of economic opportunities.

“One of our main priorities at this point in time is to work on the development of infrastructure,” Greenidge told reporters.

The China-LAC Cooperation Fund (hereinafter referred to as “the Fund”) is initiated by the Chinese Government with an investment of 5 billion USD by Chinese institutions.

The Minister said China’s ‘Belt and Road’ initiative “provides another occasion on which to look beyond our immediate vicinity and our traditional metropolis to the vast potential and economic space that lies also in the east.”

The areas earmarked for cooperation comes under five headings: policy coordination, Facilities connectivity, Unimpeded Trade, Financial integration and People to people bond.

China’s Ambassador to Guyana noted that the two countries started off its partnership in 1972 by pushing political cooperation but has now expanded to pushing people-to-people benefits.

“We are embarking on a new path leading to greater friendship, shared development, peace, harmony and better future,” he told those gathered at the Chinese Embassy.

Meanwhile, asked about cooperation on the topical Linden-Lethem road and the new Demerara Harbour Bridge, the Foreign Minister disclosed that seven Chinese companies have so far bid for the construction of the bridge.

As it relates to the road, Greenidge said during the Government’s earliest discussions with Brazil, it looked at utilizing funds from the China-Latin American Cooperation fund to complete the Kurupukari to Lethem phase as it continues to seek funding.

Under the ‘Belt and Road’ initiative, China is building a network of railroads and shipping lanes linking itself with as many countries as possible. According to international reports, the main focuses of the project are in infrastructure, transportation, and energy.

The “Belt” recreates an old Silk Road land route –an ancient land route across Europe and Asia that was used by traders and travellers from regions like the China, Persia, and the Roman Empire to transport silk and other commodities by camel or horse –while the “Road” is a route through various oceans.

Reports are that China has invested at least US$900 billion in projects along the belt and road including a gas pipeline in Pakistan, a motorway in Hungary, and a high-speed rail link in Thailand.

While 73 countries in Asia, Europe, and Africa signed onto the agreement launched in 2013, Guyana is the first country in the Caribbean and South America to formalize its commitment to the project.

While the US has recognized the project even without signing onto it, Britain refused to formally

The project has its critics with some saying the initiative is actually a series of exclusive bilateral deals between China and other economies but is touted as a multilateral project which would violate EU standards.

To operationalize the Memorandum of Understanding with Guyana, it was explained that intended projects will be pushed by both governments through the Embassies.

Guyana and China established relations on June 27, 1972.

Chinese nationals have since been contributing to Guyana in the areas of health through its medical brigades to the South American country, infrastructure through the building of major projects such as the Arthur Chung Conference Centre and the trade among others.

https://newsroom.gy/2018/07/27...and-road-initiative/

What has become of BRICS?

The story of the BRICS—or technically, BRIC countries (South Africa joined in 2010)—begins with Goldman Sachs chief economist Jim O’Neill, who wrote a paper in 2001 arguing that these were the emerging superstars most likely to dominate the 21st-century globalized economy. Taken together, these five countries cover 40 percent of the world’s population and more than 25 percent of the world’s land. The sky seemed the limit.

http://time.com/4923837/brics-...amen-mixed-fortunes/

Look how the AFC/PNC love the Chinese Brush.

37893783_1012926042221968_1447574729471819776_o

Dem GNI's AFC Slop Can Crew mouth shut now.

Why do you think Granger married a chiney woman? Ample supply of chiney blush. He can even blush sideways too you know.

If it's not China, it will be someone else to compete with America. Is China doing something wrong? NO. It will create a monopoly in a competitive world. 

China will make Guyana a desert, given the chance. They will eat all the wildlife...alligators, snakes, yawari and yes, even the cats and dogs.

Weh dem CERTIFIED SHIT HEADS deh?? Raise Al Yuh hands DUMMIES, yes you all are so DUMB and Stupid that you all will NEVER be nothing but SLAVES!!!!

Wasn't it the PNC and AFC said they would not honor any agreement signed by the Chinese and the PPP government? Now they are in bed with the enemy? 

Weh dem CERTIFIED SHIT HEADS deh?? Raise Al Yuh hands DUMMIES, yes you all are so DUMB and Stupid that you all will NEVER be nothing but SLAVES!!!!

Wasn't it the PNC and AFC said they would not honor any agreement signed by the Chinese and the PPP government? Now they are in bed with the enemy? 

Yes, it was the same AFC/PNC liars and conmen. The GNI AFC/PNC slop can crew can do or say NOTHING about it now, they are scared to speak out.

The are taking the Chinese Brush good and proper now.

The government will tell you anything and do the same. Granger wanted the votes and many believe him.  That's why I said you have to take government promises with a grain of salt and hope for the best. 

China has been in Guyana for decades. Is seem they are slow in eating up Guyana's wildlife and its pristine forest. 

Your memory seems to fail you. When they were building the Skeldon factory, dogs and cats were missing daily. Alligators, anacondas and the regular garden variety snakes were killed and eaten without any concern for their populations. When I visit Skeldon, I can hardly see any alligators in the canals. Keep the Chinese SOBs out of Guyana.

Hmmm..somebady din take their meds dis marning.

China has been in Guyana for decades. Is seem they are slow in eating up Guyana's wildlife and its pristine forest. 

Your memory seems to fail you. When they were building the Skeldon factory, dogs and cats were missing daily. Alligators, anacondas and the regular garden variety snakes were killed and eaten without any concern for their populations. When I visit Skeldon, I can hardly see any alligators in the canals. Keep the Chinese SOBs out of Guyana.

Then we should thank the Chinese for giving the Venezuelans the idea to consume dogs, cats, etc., for survival. Not long ago in India, rats used to eat out people's cops and the State Minister said to solve the problem, people need to consume the rats. The problem was solved and hardly any rats running around.  

No one has to give anyone any idea about consuming an animal. When mankind has to survive, he will even consume his fellow human being. Don't blame the Chinese for Venezuelans consuming dogs and cats. Most of SE Asia eat dogs and cats. Indians eating rice rats is also a survival necessity. I have seen documentaries where Indians still do eat rats for survival.

Yes, Skelly. The chinese will exploit and utilize whatever suits their game plan. But I cant believe u actually went to guyana fuh check see how much alligator leff back in dem canals. U must be joking, rite?

Sheik, We live in Skeldon and we normally see alligators and small anacondas in the drainage canals. The past two trips, I saw two alligators. I went to the trenches where the sugar cane punts were being transported. Usually we a lot of them there. I barely saw one. Not sure where they all went. The people there said the Chinese ate all the eggs and the alligators. There is still a decent size of Chinese in Skeldon area.

But you just feel good to blame the Chinese even though you didn't have any proof of where they went? You focus on Skeldon. Did you found out if entire Guyana has the same problem as Skeldon?

But you just feel good to blame the Chinese even though you didn't have any proof of where they went? You focus on Skeldon. Did you found(find) out if entire Guyana has the same problem as Skeldon?

You think I would travel the entire country checking on alligators? Where would the alligators go if they don't have natural predators other than man? Are you that dense? Can you not read and comprehend what the local people said? You need to make good use of the half brain you possess.

But you just feel good to blame the Chinese even though you didn't have any proof of where they went? You focus on Skeldon. Did you found(find) out if entire Guyana has the same problem as Skeldon?

You think I would travel the entire country checking on alligators? Where would the alligators go if they don't have natural predators other than man? Are you that dense? Can you not read and comprehend what the local people said? You need to make good use of the half brain you possess.

Bhai, it's you started this story and blaming it on the Chinese. I really don't think you and I can carry on a decent conversation. I thought I would give it a try but it's not working. Man, you are all over the place. Thank for having you on board, but you're not for me.

That was a cracking shot tru the covers