Mega-mall connection…Giftland hooks up with major fast food franchise holder

November 30, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Fast food franchise holder Camex Restaurants Inc. (Church’s Chicken, Mario’s Pizza and Quiznos), yesterday signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Giftland OfficeMax, which would see the company investing over $50 million, while occupying sections of the latter company’s multi-billion-dollar mega-mall which is expected to open its doors early in 2013 at Liliendaal, East Coast of Demerara.

(From left) Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Camex Restaurant Inc. Terrence Campbell, and Director of Finance Christine Bennett-Blair look on as CEO of Giftland OfficeMax Ian Ramdeo signs the MoU in the presence of Giftland’s President Roy Beepat.

All agreements will be renewable annually. The signing was held at the Georgetown Club, 208 Camp Street, South Cummingsburg, Georgetown. In attendance were several representatives of the establishments:- Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Camex Restaurants Inc. Terrence Campbell, Director of Finance at Camex Inc. Christine Bennett-Blair, CEO of Giftland OfficeMax Ian Ramdeo, and President of Giftland OfficeMax, Roy Beepat. The MoU was signed between Ms. Bennett-Blair and Mr. Ramdeo. The mega-mall is being financed through support from Commercial Banks as well as ‘two private investors. It will include over 140 specialty stores, a modern interior design with nine 20-ft aquariums, spacious walkways and convenient seating areas with six escalators and four elevators, famous restaurant franchises and a food court with over 20 local and international cuisine choices, secure parking for over 600cars, bus terminal and valet parking. Services such as ATMs for all banks, beauty salons, and barbershops, spas, postal and bill payment services will also be available, and expansion plans include more shops, entertainment outlets, supermarkets and a multi-level car park. The mall will reportedly be the largest of its kind in Guyana – a little over 170,000 square feet. The 10-acre plot of land was acquired by Giftland OfficeMax in 2007, through the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-Invest), but construction did not commence until 2009

Where are the investments that will grow more produce that can be exported and bring in valuable foreign currency??? This project, like all the others are designed to take out currency from the country.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Where are the investments that will grow more produce that can be exported and bring in valuable foreign currency??? This project, like all the others are designed to take out currency from the country.

YOU GRADUATED FROM hARVARD bUSINESS sCHOOL, RIGHT?

LET PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY CONTINUES. FIVE MORE YEARS!1 FIVE MORE YEARS.

AH WEH DEM CUNUMUNU , LAMATAS AND LAGUBAGUS DEH????????  TK WAKE UP.

Oh meh Gaad. This cunumunu and lamata tink Trinidad, Barbados and de place nah get mall lika this. De nation suffa when de leaders nah gat vision and low expectation. 

Originally Posted by PRK:

Oh meh Gaad. This cunumunu and lamata tink Trinidad, Barbados and de place nah get mall lika this. De nation suffa when de leaders nah gat vision and low expectation. 

You went to School August Month!!!

The Lord said in the Bible that when de leaders lack vision de people suffer. Guyana a wan fact case foh this.

And yuh BLIND too. God have mercy on this POOr Soul.

Nehru,

This young primary school drop out wants to play witht the big boys. Always callin' on rich daddy to save her. Just ignore this irresponsible and immature juvenile. She has alot to learn yet. She does not have the intellectual capability to comprehend what she reads. I think she went to school in August month on week ends.

Nah worry she tell yu she ah go UG; she ah prappa lie. She ah hear from dem maid and she ah come pan dis site and write down wah de maid seh.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Look how yuh stupidee. You a only focas pun wan few tings. Wah happen to all dem people a Berbice? Dem a live in poverty. All dem new buildin you post hey dem gat wan set a old wan nearby. Go fuh show how only wan few a benefit. 

Nehru,

This young primary school drop out wants to play witht the big boys. Always callin' on rich daddy to save her. Just ignore this irresponsible and immature juvenile. She has alot to learn yet. She does not have the intellectual capability to comprehend what she reads. I think she went to school in August month on week ends.

Nah worry she tell yu she ah go UG; she ah prappa lie. She ah hear from dem maid and she ah come pan dis site and write down wah de maid seh.

Me see Mr Shortie come back fuh mo licks. Meh go finish UG and ACCA and tek ova meh daddy empira. Eat yuh heart out you ole sour fax. 

Nehru,

Me see Mr Shortie come back fuh mo licks. Meh go finish UG and ACCA and tek ova meh daddy empira. Eat yuh heart out you ole sour fax. 

Wen yu get yu UG diploma, walk wid am ah tailet. Da na go good outside the West Indies. Me se yu go finish ACCA. Da ah same ting like kacca(kaka). Suh yu pappa gat wan empira? Wah da now? Da sometin new? Weh dah deh?

Nehru,

Wen yu get yu UG diploma, walk wid am ah tailet. Da na go good outside the West Indies. Me se yu go finish ACCA. Da ah same ting like kacca(kaka). Suh yu pappa gat wan empira? Wah da now? Da sometin new? Weh dah deh?

Shortie...Meh a train fo tek ova de family empire. Meh don't need fuh wuk foh Jagdoe and PPP and you lowlife fools. Me diploma dem a fo me. I wuk foh pappa. Keep dat in mind you ole short sour fax. Many people don't need to rape de poor people treasury to get up in life like Jagdoe/Irfat and you short jackass. We family do it wid hard wuk. 

Nehru,

Shortie...Meh a train fo tek ova de family empire. Meh don't need fuh wuk foh Jagdoe and PPP and you lowlife fools. Me diploma dem a fo me. I wuk foh pappa. Keep dat in mind you ole short sour fax. Many people don't need to rape de poor people treasury to get up in life like Jagdoe/Irfat and you short jackass. We family do it wid hard wuk. 

Ah yu family bin wid Burnall. Ah yu choke an rab dem poe pepple and get rich. You go have fuh atone fu yu fadda sins. Dem use to seh gad na Bajan.

Me family dont tieff like you. Suh na worry wid me soul.

Nehru,

Ah yu family bin wid Burnall. Ah yu choke an rab dem poe pepple and get rich. You go have fuh atone fu yu fadda sins. Dem use to seh gad na Bajan.

Yuh stupid ass. Meh daddy mek money in Burnam. He mek money in Hayte. He mek money in Jagan. He mek money in Dr Dr Dr Jagdeo. Pure business sense. No lines. Meh daddy is not wan soupatunist lika you. 

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Look how yuh stupidee. You a only focas pun wan few tings. Wah happen to all dem people a Berbice? Dem a live in poverty. All dem new buildin you post hey dem gat wan set a old wan nearby. Go fuh show how only wan few a benefit. 

Berbice nice baad, dem people living large up deh bai.

NEHRU the joker a long time ago a trinidad company want to build a mall in guyana and janet jagan said guyana was not ready for a mall.that is to show you that guyana is backward by 20 yrs compare to the carribean that is under the ppp government

Now dem gatt nuff nuff malls

Nehru,

HAHAHAHA!!! ROTFLLLLLLL!!!!

On one hand Guyana i the greatest country with the best leaders and on the next hand, the greatest country, SWEET, SWEET Guyana, the TOP UNIVERSITY, UG, diploma is no good. Goes to show you that you can't stand on de fence. Tek a side, it either good or no good. And if it good then everything about it including the university, should be good.

MEK UP YOU MIND OLD MAN. DE mad house calling you name. Just raise up you hand and say "Present sir"

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Every type of business contributes to Guyana's economy. Guyana already exporting many items such as rice, sugar, timber, bauxite, aluminum...and the list go on. What's your point?

Don't post all these pictures of progress, you will send the AFC/PNC crooks into convulsions. They will surely catch fits and start frothing at the mouth. They would rather Guyana be a backwards nation, remember the worse off Guyana the better the chances of the AFC/PNC to usurp power. ahahahha

Mr T want Guyana to start exporting baigan and bora and leave us with none to eat. Eggplant and string beans is all over the world already 

guyana have shopping mall,now i am laughing

What you laughing about? Guyana only seen development since PPP came into power. What you're seeing is only the begining. Guyana should have been ten years ahead of its time with all the resources we have. Soon, we will pass Trinidad.

guyana have shopping mall,now i am laughing

..and that fact is used to claim that Guyana is like New York.

Hey, Lethem also has shopping mall, and there are more international visitors in Lethem thatn in Georgetown..

Bhai, G/T is not competing...Lethem is a border zone and you will find thing that interest you. G/t has the main ingredients of Brazilian women, Spanish exotic dancers and sex workers who would go where no other woman has gone before. Last but not least, shup you poke hole.

Yo, do you know Guyana have basement in them new structured building like the one Jagdeo has? There is where the PPP hide their money. The more yall cry out for corruption the more the PPP with screw alyou backside. Ask Nehru if you thing it's a like.  

If someone from Barbados or Trinidad see this heading of this topic they will die with laughter.

I was on a 7 days cruise not long ago and I met  Barbradian. She  commented to me that after visiting the smaller Islands especially Dominica and St Lucia she does not have enough words to thank God for her Barbados. So I ASKED HER IF SHE EVER VISITED Guyana, she said Guyana is even worse that those small Islands and that she was afraid like hell when she was there.

If someone from Barbados or Trinidad see this heading of this topic they will die with laughter.

I was on a 7 days cruise not long ago and I met  Barbradian. She  commented to me that after visiting the smaller Islands especially Dominica and St Lucia she does not have enough words to thank God for her Barbados. So I ASKED HER IF SHE EVER VISITED Guyana, she said Guyana is even worse that those small Islands and that she was afraid like hell when she was there.

She has a right to be afraid, the PNC hoodlums are still out there and taking their cue from other political operatives, ready to rob, beat and loot.  Decent Guyanese need to keep a tab on them.

Baseman:

this is a most unfortunate statement, but we must agree some 30% of Guyana is rabid and dotish racist like you.

Watch yu daughter, is she hanging out with the black boys in Brooklyn and that is why you so bitter against black people?

Originally Posted by Mahen:

Baseman:

this is a most unfortunate statement, but we must agree some 30% of Guyana is rabid and dotish racist like you.

Watch yu daughter, is she hanging out with the black boys in Brooklyn and that is why you so bitter against black people?

Who ever says PNC hoodlums are all black and who says all Afro-Guyanese are PNC hoodlums?  Seems to me, you are the one inferring this.